DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 12/30/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim (s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyamoto et al. (JP 2007-123468 A) hereinafter Miyamoto.
Regarding claim 1, Miyamoto discloses an electronic component comprising: a base (20;Fig.8) body having an outer surface (see top surface of 20), and the outer surface having a recess (24;Fig.8) that is a site recessed with respect to a periphery of the outer surface (top surface of 20); and a glass film (23) that covers at least a portion of the outer surface of the base body having the recess ( see 23 covering 24;Fig.8), wherein a part of the glass film that covers the recess is recessed with respect to the periphery of the outer surface of the glass film, and a ratio of a minimum value of a thickness of the glass film covering the recess to a maximum value of the thickness is 0.05 to 0.8 ( thicker part of 23 that is within 24 is around 5 times the thinnest part of 23 within 24; see thickest part and thinnest part in Reproduced Fig.8).
Regarding claim 4, Miyamoto discloses wherein the glass film covers an entirety of the outer surface of the base body (see 23 covering the top surface of 20; Fig.8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yonezawa et al. (US 2021/0166846 A1) hereinafter Yonezawa.
Regarding claim 2, Miyamoto fails to specifically disclose wherein the glass film contains, as an additive, one or more elements selected from alkali metals and alkaline earth metals.
Yonezawa discloses a glass film (20; Fig.1) contains, as an additive, one or more elements selected from alkali metals and alkaline earth metals ([0044]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the material of Yonezawa with the glass film of Miyamoto in order to provide a catalyst to speed up the process of adhering the protective layer to a body substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Miyamoto fails to specifically disclose wherein a ratio of the additive to Si contained in the glass film is 0.5 atm% to 90 atm%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use a ratio of the additive to Si contained in the glass film is 0.5 atm% to 90 atm % to provide excellent insulation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ233.
Regarding claim 5, Miyamoto discloses wherein a material of the glass film contains silicon dioxide ( 23 is made of Silicone dioxide).
Miyamoto fails to specifically disclose a multicomponent oxide containing an alkaline earth metal and Si.
Yonezawa discloses a multicomponent oxide containing an alkaline earth metal and Si ([0044]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the material of Yonezawa with the glass film of Miyamoto in order to provide a catalyst to speed up the process of adhering the protective layer to a body substrate.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent toapplicant's disclosure.
Manley (US 3305821) discloses a glass sealed resistor.
Davis (US 3069294 A) discloses a glass enamel coated resistor.
Ohkubo et al. (US 12020854 B2) discloses an electronic component.
The above references are considered of particular relevance to the claimed invention but cannot be considered to teach the limitations or combined to being obvious to a person skilled in the art to disclose the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848