Detailed Office Action
1. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 12, and 19 are independent.
Objection to Specification
2. The specification is objected to because of the following:
The title is not descriptive of the invention.
“ICC” is not spelled out. “ICC” should be spelled out at least once in the specification.
Objection to Claims
3. Claims 4, 5, 6, 13, and 20 are objected to because of the following:
Claims 4/1, 5/1, 6/1, 13/12, and 20/19 each recite “ICC profile”. “ICC” should be spelled out at least once in a claim chain.
Double Patenting Rejection
4. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
5. Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18608040 (reference application) (Publication No. US 2025/0291527 A1). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are identical to claims 1-20 of the copending application.
35 U.S.C. 102 Rejection
7. Claims 1-3, 5, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 2023/0071492 A1).
Chang et al. defines International Color Consortium (ICC) in para 21.
Regarding claim 1, Chang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Chang) discloses a method for managing color printing resources within a printing system (see para. 3 to 5+, Chang discloses the method for printing operations using paper catalog; also details in Fig. 4+), the method comprising:
determining a shared attribute related to color reproduction of a plurality of papers in a paper catalog (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper......");
aggregating a set of papers from the plurality of papers within the paper catalog based on the attribute through a user interface (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper……");
selecting a first paper of the set of papers, wherein the first paper is calibrated by an earlier calibration; performing a new calibration using the first paper (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper……"); and
updating the set of papers having the first paper with the new calibration (see para 105+, Change discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper…… "; also see the additional details in para 106 to112+).
Regarding claim 2/1, the updating the set of papers includes replacing an existing calibration for each of the set of papers (see para 76 and 78+, Chang discloses that "[0076] Step 404 executes by receiving the data, performing a search of a paper catalog 124 using the data for an existing ICC profile that satisfies the customer precision requirement. In particular, at least one search parameter used during the search of the paper catalog depends on a level of the customer precision requirement.” and "[0078] Step 406 executes by determining whether paper catalog 124 includes an ICC profile that satisfies the customer precision requirement. When the computing device determines that the paper catalog includes an ICC profile that can be used by the printer requesting the ICC profile to complete the print job at a level that satisfies the customer precision requirement, flowchart 400 proceeds to step 408. Step 408 executes by, responsive to identifying a particular ICC profile that satisfies the customer precision requirement during the search of the paper catalog, transmitting the particular ICC profile to a printing device 104 via a network 106. The printing device is configured to use the particular ICC profile to complete a print job on the paper type according to the customer precision requirement……").
Regarding claim 3/1, Chang further discloses determining the first paper is not available for the new calibration (see Fig. 4, steps 406 and 410, and para 84, Chang discloses that "flowchart 400 proceeds to step 410. Step 410 executes by determining that the paper catalog lacks the ICC profile, transmitting an indication that no existing ICC profile is available to satisfy the customer precision requirement to the printing
device via the network. Providing an indication may alert that a new ICC profile may need to be created to complete the print job.");
selecting a second paper of the set of papers for the new calibration (see para 85, Chang discloses that [0085] In some examples, flowchart 400 may further involve receiving additional data indicating a second customer precision requirement. In particular, the second customer precision requirement is different from the original customer precision requirement……"); and
updating the set of papers having the first paper and the second paper with the new calibration (see para 85, Chang discloses that "[0085] In some examples, flowchart 400 may further involve receiving additional data indicating a second customer precision requirement. In particular, the second customer precision requirement is different from the original customer precision requirement. The customer may adjust the precision expectation in response to learning that an existing ICC profile is not available for the printing device to use to complete the print job according to the original precision expectation. As such, responsive to receiving the additional data, the computing device may perform a second search of the paper catalog using the additional data for an existing ICC profile that satisfies the second customer precision requirement. In some instances, the computing device may transmit the given ICC profile to the printing device via the network responsive to identifying a given ICC profile that satisfies the second customer precision requirement during the second search of the paper catalog. The printing device may be configured to use the given ICC profile to complete the print
job on the paper type according to the second customer precision requirement……").
Regarding claim 5/1, Chang further discloses determining that the new calibration failed; and updating a status for an ICC profile associated with a selected paper of the set of papers that the ICC profile is invalid (see para 32+, Chang discloses that "[0032] In other cases, the computing device may fail to identify an existing ICC profile that can be used by the printing device model for the paper type and satisfy the customer precision requirement. In such a situation, the computing device may transmit an indication to the printing device (or corresponding computing device) that indicates the paper catalog does not include an existing ICC profile for that printing device model that can complete the printing device job at a precision level that satisfies the customer precision requirement……").
Regarding claim 19, Chang discloses a method for managing printing
operations (see para 3 to 5+, Chang discloses the method and system(s) for printing
operations using paper catalog; also see details in Fig. 4+), the method comprising:
determining a shared attribute for a plurality of papers available for printing at a printing device catalog (see para 105+, Chang disclose that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper......");
aggregating a set of papers from the plurality of papers based on the shared attribute; (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper……");
receiving a print job at the printing device, wherein the print job specifies a first paper of the set of papers (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper…… ");
determining a color printing resource is not available at the printing device (see Chang, Fig. 4, steps 406 and 410);
determining a second paper of the set of papers has the color printing resource (see Chang, Fig. 4, steps 406 and 408+); and
indicating the second paper is available for the print job along with indicating the color printing resource (see para 4+, Chang discloses that "[0004] A method for using a paper catalog for printing operations is disclosed. The method includes defining a plurality of paper groups within a paper catalog map of the paper catalog. The method also includes receiving a print job using a color printing operation. The method also includes indicating a first paper type within a first paper group of the plurality of paper groups to complete the color printing operation. The method also includes indicating a second paper type within a second paper group of the plurality of paper groups to complete the color printing operations......").
Regarding claim 20/19, Chang further discloses that the color resource is a calibration, a paper catalog entry, an ICC profile, or a spot color adjustment
(para 114+, Chang discloses that" [0114] Using paper catalog map 514, the print
shop of system 100 should have a real sense of the inventory of higher quality color resources, such as calibration data and ICC profiles that were custom-made for a select subset of papers......").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2023/0071492 A1) in view of Morales (US 2022/0094816 A1).
Chang et al. defines International Color Consortium (ICC) in para 21.
Regarding claim 4/1, Chang is discussed for claim 1 above.
Chang does not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to "deleting an existing calibration for a selected paper of the set of papers, wherein the selected paper is within the paper catalog; and deleting an ICC profile associated with the existing calibration for the selected paper from the paper catalog".
However, Morales discloses an analogous invention relating to systems and methods that manage information relating to paper media to enhance the quality of printing by printers. The systems and methods efficiently maintain color management profiles for different papers and ensure that the most appropriate (e.g., optimal) color management profile is employed for color conversion on a specific paper. In particular, embodiments may employ dynamic management of data stored in paper catalogs of printing systems. As such, a paper catalog of a printer can effectively associate a paper with a color management profile that provides the best possible color reproduction on that paper (see Morales, the abstract). More specifically, in para 53+, Morales disclose that "[0053] The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include adding a new record 12, 14 for a new measured paper or a new standard paper to the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include deleting a record 12, 14 from the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a measured paper to a standard paper by removing the respective color management profile 12a from the corresponding record 12. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a standard paper to a measured paper by adding a color management profile to the corresponding record 14 ……”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to include the features discussed and taught by Morales, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior art are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to printing art. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang by the teachings of Morales, and to incorporate the features discussed and taught by Morales, thereby "…… to enhance the quality of printing by printers" (see Morales, para 1+).
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses a method for managing color printing
resources (see para 3 to 5+, Chang discloses the method and system(s) for printing
operations using paper catalog; also details in Fig. 4+), the method comprising:
determining a shared attribute related to color reproduction of a plurality of papers in a paper catalog (see para 105+, Chang disclose that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper…… ");
aggregating a set of papers from the plurality of papers within the paper catalog based on the attribute through a user interface (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper......");
selecting a first paper of the set of papers, wherein the first paper is calibrated by an earlier calibration; performing a new calibration using the first paper (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper…… ");
updating at least one paper of the set of papers having the first paper with the new calibration (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper also see the additional details in para 106-112+); and
deleting an existing calibration for a selected paper of the set of papers, wherein the selected paper is within the paper catalog (see para 53+, Morales discloses that
"[0053] The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include adding a new record 12, 14 for a new measured paper or a new standard paper to the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include deleting a record 12, 14 from the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a measured paper to a standard paper by removing the respective color management profile 12a from the corresponding record 12. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a standard paper to a measured paper by adding a color management profile to the corresponding record 14......".).
Chang does not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to "deleting an existing calibration for a selected paper of the set of papers, wherein the selected paper is within
the paper catalog".
However, Morales discloses an analogous invention relates to systems and methods manage information relating to paper media to enhance the quality of printing by printers. Systems and methods efficiently maintain color management profiles for different papers and ensure that the most appropriate (e.g., optimal) color management profile is employed for color conversion on a specific paper. In particular, embodiments may employ dynamic management of data stored in paper catalogs of printing systems. As such, a paper catalog of a printer can effectively associate a paper with a color management profile that provides the best possible color reproduction on that paper (see Morales, including the abstract). More specifically, in Morales, i.e. in para. 53 and etc., disclose that "[0053] The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include adding a new record 12, 14 for a new measured paper or a new standard paper to the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include deleting a record 12, 14 from the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a measured paper to a standard paper by removing the respective color management profile 12a from the corresponding record 12. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a standard paper to a measured paper by adding a color management profile to the corresponding record 14……".
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to include the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Morales, with the aspect(s) discussed above, as the cited prior arts are at least considered to be analogous arts if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to printing arts. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang by the teachings of Morales, and to incorporate the limitation(s) discussed and also taught by Morales, thereby " to enhance the quality of printing by printers" (see Morales, para 1+).
Regarding claim 13/12, Morales further discloses deleting an ICC profile associated with the existing calibration for the selected paper from the paper catalog (see para 53+, Morales disclose that [0053] The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include adding a new record 12, 14 for a new measured paper or a new standard paper to the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include deleting a record 12, 14 from the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a measured paper to a standard paper by removing the respective color management profile 12a from the corresponding record 12. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a standard paper to a measured paper by adding a color management profile to the corresponding record 14…… ").
Regarding claim 14/12, the updating at least one paper of the set of papers includes updating at least one paper having a print condition of the first paper (see para 3+, Chang discloses that "[0003] A method for using a paper catalog for printing operations is disclosed. The method includes defining a plurality of paper groups within a paper catalog map of the paper catalog. The method also includes indicating a first paper type within a paper group of the plurality of paper groups. The method also includes indicating a second paper type within the paper group. The first paper type
and the second paper type use color printing resources for a color printing operation. The method also includes receiving a print job using the color printing operation. The method also includes determining whether the first paper type is a primary paper type within the paper group and whether the second paper type is a secondary paper type within the paper group. The secondary paper type borrows the color printing resources from the primary paper type. The method also includes displaying the first paper type as the primary paper type and the second paper type as the secondary paper type using the paper catalog map. The method also includes selecting the first paper type to complete the color printing operation for the print job at a printing device "; and further in claim 11, disclose that "11. The method of claim 9, wherein the first paper type
includes a first print condition and…… ").
Regarding claim 15/12, the updating at least one paper of the set of papers includes updating at least one paper in a project with the first paper (see para 3+, Chang discloses that "[0003] A method for using a paper catalog for printing operations is disclosed. The method includes defining a plurality of paper groups within a paper catalog map of the paper catalog. The method also includes indicating a first paper type within a paper group of the plurality of paper groups. The method also includes indicating a second paper type within the paper group. The first paper type and the
second paper type use color printing resources for a color printing operation. The method also includes receiving a print job using the color printing operation. The method also includes determining whether the first paper type is a primary paper type within the paper group and whether the second paper type is a secondary paper type within the paper group. The secondary paper type borrows the color printing resources from the primary paper type. The method also includes displaying the first paper type as the primary paper type and the second paper type as the secondary paper type using the paper catalog map. The method also includes selecting the first paper type to complete the color printing operation for the print job at a printing device ").
Regarding claim 16/12, Morales further discloses modifying a setting for the first paper of the set of papers (see para 53+, Morales discloses that "[0053] The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include adding a new record 12, 14 for a new measured paper or a new standard paper to the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include deleting a record 12, 14 from the paper catalog 10. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a measured paper to
a standard paper by removing the respective color management profile 12a from the
corresponding record 12. The modification to the paper catalog 10 may include converting a standard paper to a measured paper by adding a color management profile to the corresponding record 14…… ").
Regarding claim 17/16, Chang further discloses updating the setting for each paper of the set of papers (see para 105+, Chang discloses that "[0105] Thus, the disclosed embodiments work with paper groups within paper catalog 124 to dynamically share these resources to papers within the paper groups. For each primary paper, such as shown in entry 602, with which the print shop has generated calibration data and ICC profiles, the disclosed embodiments dynamically share color printing resources with other papers, such as new entry 618, that have similar attributes or color characteristics to the primary paper, or entry 602. During raster image processing, system 100 will automatically retrieve the calibration data and the ICC profiles required, whether these are from a primary paper itself or, for a member of the paper group, borrowed from the primary paper "; also see the additional details in para. 106-112 and etc.).
Regarding claim 18/12, Chang further discloses providing a warning for each paper of the set of papers that the existing calibration is deleted (see Fig. 4, steps 410, para 84+, Chang discloses that "[0084] Returning back to step 406, when the computing device determines that the paper catalog lacks an ICC profile that can be used by the requesting printing device to perform the print job at a level that satisfies the customer precision requirement, flowchart 400 proceeds to step 410. Step 410 executes by
determining that the paper catalog lacks the ICC profile, transmitting an indication that no existing ICC profile is available to satisfy the customer precision requirement to the printing device via the network. Providing an indication may alert that a new ICC profile may need to be created to complete the print job......").
10. Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2023/0071492 A1) in view of Fukasawa et al. (US 2018/0352117A1).
Chang et al. defines International Color Consortium (ICC) in para 21.
Regarding claim 7/1, Chang is discussed for claim 1 above. Chang further discloses that the first paper includes a spot color adjustment (see para 68 to 69+, Chang discloses that "[0068] For each halftone, the print shop, or printing system 100, capture the desired per-colorant behavior over all shades of that colorant. Behavior, in this instance, relates to color measurement. The record of these colorant behaviors, and information that allows printing device 104 to be adjusted back to such behaviors, are kept in the calibration data. Colorant behaviors may vary linearly or with a curve. The calibration data relates to characteristics of each ink under the selected halftone, which reliably repeatable…… ").
Chang does not explicitly disclose the aspect relating to "the spot color adjustment".
However, Fukasawa et al. (hereinafter referred to as Fukasawa) discloses an analogous invention relating to profile adjustment method and profile adjustment system. More specifically, in Fig. 9 and para 97+, Fukasawa, discloses that "[0097] When the profile adjustment process illustrated in FIG. 6 starts, the host device 100 executes the profile and parameter setting process illustrated in FIG. 7-9 (S102). When the profile and parameter setting process starts, the host device 100 displays a UI screen 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 or 9 on the display device 115 (S202 of FIG. 7). The UI screen 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 includes an adjustment target profile selection region 805, a combination designation region 810, a target acceptance region 840, a button 841 of "designate from image", an addition button 842, a deletion button 843, an adjustment range designation field 850, an intent designation field 880, an adjustment execution button 870, a history load button 881, and a history save button 882. The combination designation region 810 includes input profile selection fields 811 and 812, a spot color selection field 813, an output profile selection field 815, an adjustment data selection field 816, an adjustment target color space selection region 830, and a detailed setting button 860. On the UI screen 800 illustrated in FIG. 9, the combination designation region 810 illustrated in FIG. 8 is changed into the combination designation region 820. The combination designation region 820 includes output profile selection fields 821, 822, and 823, an input profile selection field 825, an adjustment data selection field 826, the adjustment target color space selection region 830, and the detailed setting button 860. The combination designation region 820 illustrated in FIG. 9 includes a plurality of fields (822 and 823) for selecting the second input profile 612."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to include the limitation(s) taught by Fukasawa, with aspect(s) relating to spot color adjustment, as the cited prior art are at least considered to be analogous art if not also in the same field of endeavor relating to printing art. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang by the teachings of Fukasawa, to incorporate the limitation(s) taught by Fukasawa, thereby "provides a technology for improving convenience of work for adjusting a profile when a plurality of kinds of color conversion are executed" (see Fukasawa, para 8+).
Regarding claim 8/7, Chang further discloses preventing updating a selected paper of the set of papers with the new calibration if the selected paper does not have the spot color adjustment (see para 68, Chang discloses that "[0068] For each halftone, the print shop, or printing system 100, capture the desired per-colorant behavior over all shades of that colorant. Behavior, in this instance, relates to color measurement. The record of these colorant behaviors, and information that allows printing device 104 to be
adjusted back to such behaviors, are kept in the calibration data. Colorant behaviors may vary linearly or with a curve. The calibration data relates to characteristics of each ink under the selected halftone, which reliably repeatable; also, in Fig. 8 and para 97, Fukasawa discloses the spot color selection field 813 and etc.).
Regarding claim 9/1, Fukasawa further discloses deleting an existing calibration for a selected paper within the set of papers; and deleting a spot color adjustment associated with the existing calibration for the selected paper (see para 97, Fukasawa disclose that "[0097] When the profile adjustment process illustrated in FIG. 6 starts, the host device 100 executes the profile and parameter setting process illustrated in FIG. 7
(S102). When the profile and parameter setting process starts, the host device 100 displays a UI screen 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 or 9 on the display device 115 (S202 of FIG. 7). The UI screen 800 illustrated in FIG. 8 includes an adjustment target profile selection region 805, a combination designation region 810, a target acceptance region 840, a button 841 of "designate from image", an addition button 842, a deletion button 843, an adjustment range designation field 850, an intent designation field 880, an adjustment execution button 870, a history load button 881, and a history save button 882. The combination designation region 810 includes input profile selection fields 811 and 812, a spot color selection field 813, an output profile selection field 815, an adjustment data selection field 816, an adjustment target color space selection region 830, and a detailed setting button 860. On the UI screen 800 illustrated in FIG. 9, the combination designation region 810 illustrated in FIG. 8 is changed into the combination
designation region 820. The combination designation region 820 includes output profile selection fields 821, 822, and 823, an input profile selection field 825, an adjustment data selection field 826, the adjustment target color space selection region 830, and the detailed setting button 860. The combination designation region 820 illustrated in FIG. 9 includes a plurality of fields (822 and 823) for selecting the second input profile 612.").
Regarding claim 10/1, Chang further discloses determining that the new calibration failed; and updating a status for a spot color adjustment associated with a selected paper of the set of papers that the spot color adjustment is invalid (see para 32, Chang discloses that "[0032] In other cases, the computing device may fail to identify an existing ICC profile that can be used by the printing device model for the
paper type and satisfy the customer precision requirement. In such a situation, the computing device may transmit an indication to the printing device (or corresponding computing device) that indicates the paper catalog does not include an existing ICC profile for that printing device model that can complete the printing device job at a precision level that satisfies the customer precision requirement......"; and para 110+, Fukasawa discloses that "[0110] When the combination designation region 810 illustrated in FIG. 8 is displayed, the host device 100 accepts an operation of selecting a component in the input profile 610 and the spot color 645 stored in the storage device 114 by accepting an operation on any of the selection fields 811, 812, and 813 by the input device").
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the closest prior art, Chang et al. (US 2023/0071492 A1), Morales (US 2022/0094816 A1 ) and Fukasawa et al. (US 2018/0352117A1), do not disclose or suggest the following required limitations, in combination with all the limitations of base claim 1:
"replacing an existing calibration for a selected paper within the set of papers with the new calibration, wherein the selected paper is associated with an ICC profile;
comparing the existing calibration with the new calibration; and
based on the comparison,
remapping an association between the ICC profile to use the new calibration,
updating a status for the ICC profile to include a warning to recreate the ICC profile, or
deleting the ICC profile".
Claim 11 would be allowable over the prior of record because the closest prior art, Chang et al. (US 2023/0071492 A1), Morales (US 2022/0094816 A1) and Fukasawa et al. (US 2018/0352117A1), do not disclose or suggest the following required limitations, in combination with all the limitations of base claim 1:
“replacing an existing calibration for a selected paper within the set of papers with the new calibration, wherein the paper is associated with a spot color adjustment;
comparing the existing calibration with the new calibration; and
based on the comparison,
remapping an association between the spot color adjustment and the new
calibration,
updating a status for the spot color adjustment to include a warning to readjust the spot color adjustment, or
deleting the spot color adjustment".
Pertinent Art or Art
13. The prior art or art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Morales et al. (US 2025/0291522 A1) discloses an invention relating to methods for integrated resource management in printing system.
Morales et al. (US 2025/0291534 A1) discloses methods for integrated resource management in a printing system.
Morales et al. (US 2025/0291527 A1) discloses an invention relating to methods for integrated resource management in a printing system.
Morales et al. (US 2023/0146892 A1) disclose an invention relating to methods
and printing system for peer-to-peer resource management.
Morales et al. (US 11893286) discloses a printing system and methods for managing color printing resources.
Chang et al. (US 11544025) discloses methods for using paper catalog map with a paper catalog to manage paper types for color printing operations.
Morales et al. (US 11425280) discloses methods and printing system for multi-tier color management to control color printing resources at a printing device.
Morales et al. (US 11360720) discloses methods and printing system for multi-tier color management to control color printing resources at a printing device.
Conclusion
/CHEUKFAN LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682