DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is indefinite due to the fact that the phrase “at least of curved portions” fails to specify a minimum number, thereby rendering the scope of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sunde (US1635017A).
Regarding claim 1, Sunde discloses a connecting element (7 “body portion”, 9 “coupling members”, and 10 “inturned bill”, when considered together, correspond to the claimed connecting element; Figs. 1 and 2; Lines 70-82 on page 1) for connecting link chains (3 and 4 “tread chain sections”), comprising: a base portion (7 and 9) defining a centre hole (Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) comprises a plurality of curved portions (10; Fig. 2) extending from the base portion (7 and 9), to which curved portions ends of link chains (3 and 4) can be releasably connected (The phrase “can be releasably connected” merely describes a possible used of the curved portions and does not impose a structural limitation on the connecting element), and wherein each of the plurality of curved portions (10) is curved towards the centre hole (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Sunde discloses the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) according to claim 1, wherein tips (Refer to the tips in the below annotated Fig. 2) of the plurality of curved portions (10) are arranged to extend in an essentially perpendicular manner in relation to a plane defined by the base portion (7 and 9; Figs. 1 and 2).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Sunde
Regarding claim 8, Sunde discloses the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) comprises at least of curved portions (10; Claim 8 is interpreted as requiring the connecting element to comprise curved portions).
Regarding claim 9, Sunde discloses the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) has an even number of curved portions (10; Figs. 1 and 2), and wherein the curved portions (10) are arranged in pairs opposite to each other (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, Sunde discloses the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) according to claim 1, wherein the base portion (7 and 9) has a flat or curved shape (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Sunde discloses the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) according to claim 1, wherein the base portion (7 and 9) has a form of a circular or polygonal ring (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 14, Sunde discloses the connecting element (7, 9, and 10) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element is made of iron alloy (Lines 52-56 on page 1).
Regarding claim 15, Sunde discloses a traction chain (1 “chain”; Fig. 1), comprising:
wherein the traction chain (1) comprises a plurality of the connecting elements (7, 9, and 10) of claim 1 releasably connecting (Fig. 2; The hook-like coupling members 9 having inturned bills 10 releasably engage links 11, thereby providing detachable connection of the tread chain sections) the plurality of link chains (3-6) to each other (Although only a single connecting element is shown in Fig. 1, the disclosed traction chain necessarily comprises multiple instances of the anti-skid device to interconnect the plurality of tread chain sections).
6. Claims 1, 4, 6, 7-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Daniel (US4020886).
Regarding claim 1, Daniel discloses a connecting element (1 “ring” and 3 “plate member”, when welded together, form a unitary structure corresponding to the claimed connecting element; Col. 2, lines 6-34; Figs. 1 and 2) for connecting link chains (2a “end link”; Fig. 2), comprising: a base portion (1) defining a centre hole (Fig. 1), wherein the connecting element (1 and 3) comprises a plurality of curved portions (Refer to the curved portions in the below annotated Fig. 2; Daniel further discloses that an alternative suitable shape of the plate member 3 is elliptical, which teaches the claimed curved portions, although the embodiment shown in the figures is trapezoidal; Col. 2, lines 6-19) extending from the base portion (1), to which curved portions ends of link chains (2a) can be releasably connected (The phrase “can be releasably connected” merely describes a possible used of the curved portions and does not impose a structural limitation on the connecting element), and wherein each of the plurality of curved portions is curved towards the centre hole (Figs. 1 and 2).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Daniel
Regarding claim 4, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of curved portions has planar sides (Refer to the above annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of curved portions has an inner edge having a semi-circular cross section (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 3).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Daniel
Regarding claim 7, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 6, wherein a distance between the inner edge and an outer edge of the curved portion decreases towards the tip of the curved portion (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 3).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Daniel
Regarding claim 8, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element (1 and 3) comprises at least of curved portions (Refer to the curved portion in the above annotated Fig. 3; Claim 8 is interpreted as requiring the connecting element to comprise curved portions).
Regarding claim 9, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element (1 and 3) has an even number of curved portions (Figs. 1-3) and wherein the curved portions are arranged in pairs opposite to each other (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein the base portion (1) has a flat or curved shape (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein the base portion (1) has a form of a circular or polygonal ring (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element (1 and 3) is made from several parts (1 and 3) that are joined together by welding (Col. 2, lines 6-29).
Regarding claim 14, Daniel discloses the connecting element (1 and 3) according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element (1 and 3) is made of iron alloy (“The tire chain according to the invention comprises a plurality of identical, relatively large annular elements or steel rings 1” per col.1, lines 59-62; “The plate member 3 is shown in detail in Fig. 3. It is made from special steel” per col.2, lines 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunde, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Coles et al (US10266021B2).
Regarding claim 3, Sunde fails to disclose the tips of the plurality of curved portions are arranged to extend into the centre hole.
Coles et al, however, teaches the tips of the plurality of curved portions are arranged to extend into the centre hole (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 3).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Coles et al
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the connecting element of Sunde by extending the tips of the curved portions into the centre hole as taught by Coles et al, with the motivation to improve retention of the connected link chains and reduce the risk of disengagement.
11. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel, as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Coles et al (US10266021B2).
Regarding claim 5, Daniel fails to the planar sides of the curved portions are tilted relative to each other.
Coles et al, however, teaches the planar sides (6 and 7 “first and second side faces”; Figs. 4-7) of the curved portions (Refer to the curve portions in the below annotated Fig. 5) are tilted relative to each other (Figs. 6 and 7).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 5 of Coles et al
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the connecting element of Daniel by configuring the planar sides of the curved portions to be tilted relative to each other as taught by Coles et al with the motivation to facilitate manufacturing of the connecting element, angled side walls being conventionally provided in formed or forged components to enable proper forming and removal from tooling.
12. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baldry (EP0049570A2).
Regarding claim 12, Daniel fails to the connecting element is made in one piece by casting or forging.
Baldry, however, teaches the connecting element (15 “tri-radial connector element”; Figs. 3, 5, and 6) is made in one piece by casting or forging (Refer to the highlighted portions on pages 3 and 5 of the attached document of Baldry; Claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the connecting element of Daniel by forming it as a one-piece forged structure as taught by Baldry, with the motivation to replace the welded structure with a known cast or forged alternative while maintaining the same chain-interconnecting function.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose a connecting element for interconnecting traction chain links.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615