DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 5/29/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0288030 by Tsukamoto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 13-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2023/0061533 by Sakai, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0288030 by Tsukamoto.
2) Regarding claim 1, Sakai teaches a system comprising: at least one physical memory device to store inspection template generation logic and one or more processors coupled with the at least one physical memory device to execute the inspection template generation logic (figure 2; various memories and a CPU) to: receive one or more page images of a processed print job (figure 4, item S401; paragraph 50; image data is received); analyze the page images to identify print objects and determine corresponding inspection regions in the corresponding page images at which the print objects are located (figure 5; paragraph 73; objects are identified and coordinate locations stored); and generate an inspection template comprising a page level instruction set including the inspection regions (Figure 6D; discloses specific coordinates of different detected regions within the context a page [pixel coordinates would make no sense in the context of multiple pages], while figure 6A and figure 10 disclose a single page analyzed for inspection regions) and generating the inspection template (figure 8; paragraphs 86-88; settings for inspection are collected [i.e. a template] and inspection occurs as detailed in figure 11).
Sakai does not specifically teach analyzing an inspection region to determine whether the inspection region occurs in more than a first threshold of pages in the page images; and generating the inspection template upon a determination that the inspection region occurs in greater than or equal to the first threshold of pages in the page images.
Tsukamoto teaches analyzing an inspection region to determine whether the inspection region occurs in more than a first threshold of pages in the page images; and generating the inspection template upon a determination that the inspection region occurs in greater than or equal to the first threshold of pages in the page images (paragraph 45; regions that change every page are excluded from the template thereby including every region with a threshold of two pages).
Sakai and Tsukamoto are combinable because they are both from the print quality inspection field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Sakai with Tsukamoto to add excluding inspection regions. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid false abnormal determinations from inspection processing (paragraph 45). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Sakai with Tsukamoto to obtain the invention of claim 1.
3) Regarding claim 2, Sakai teaches the system of claim 1, wherein analyzing the page images further comprises determining boundaries of the inspection regions including coordinates within the corresponding page images (paragraphs 73 and 116; coordinates of object regions for inspection are determined).
4) Regarding claim 3, Sakai teaches the system of claim 2, wherein analyzing the page images further comprises identifying one of a plurality of print object types for each of the identified print objects (figure 5; paragraphs 70 and 71; barcodes and characters are at least two object types determined; paragraph 57 discloses determination of a photo object; figure 6D).
5) Regarding claim 9, Sakai teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the inspection template generation logic further to transmit the inspection template (figure 3, item 309; inspection settings are transmitted through the bus 310 to the UI [e.g. figure 10]).
6) Regarding claim 10, Sakai teaches the system of claim 9, further comprising a printer to print the print job on a print medium (figure 2, item 101; a printer).
7) Regarding claim 11, Sakai teaches the system of claim 10, further comprising an inspection system to receive the inspection template and perform inspection of the one or more inspection regions in captured images of the printed print job using the inspection template (paragraph 53; inspection settings are applied to a print job that is output and then scanned for inspection).
8) Claims 13-15 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claims 1-3 above, respectively.
9) Claims 17-19 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claims 1-3 above, respectively.
10) Claim(s) 4-6, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2023/0061533 by Sakai, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0288030 by Tsukamoto as applied to claims 3, 15 and 19 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2021/0081732 by Manabe.
11) Regarding claim 4, Sakai teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the plurality of print object types comprise a barcode (paragraph 73; object is detected as a barcode), a control mark (examiner interprets a barcode as a more specific kind of “control mark”, as barcodes provide instruction/ID information used to perform a process) and an optical character recognition pattern (paragraphs 69 and 92; character patterns are recognized as detailed to determine a character region).
Sakai does not specifically teach print object types comprise a logo.
Manabe teaches print object types comprise a logo (paragraph 45; print objects such as a logo can be detected and have a particular quality requirement assigned to it for inspection process [figure 7]).
Sakai and Manabe are combinable because they are both from the print quality inspection field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Sakai with Manabe to add logos as an object type. The motivation for doing so would have been to make a sure a printed corporate logo was of sufficient quality. Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Sakai with Manabe to obtain the invention of claim 4.
12) Regarding claim 5, Sakai teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the inspection template generation logic analyzes the print objects to determine print object type as one of a plurality of types of the barcode and includes the one of the plurality of barcode types in the inspection template (paragraph 120; figure 16; particular orientation of a barcode [i.e. different orientation being different types] is determined and stored to the inspection settings).
13) Regarding claim 6, Sakai teaches the system of claim 4, wherein for the one or more inspection regions, the boundaries and the print object types within the one or more inspection regions are included in the inspection template (paragraphs 73 and 116; coordinates of particular object type regions for inspection are determined and stored).
14) Claims 16 and 20 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 4 above.
15) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2023/0061533 by Sakai, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0288030 by Tsukamoto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2024/0202911 by Miyazawa.
Sakai does not specifically teach the system of claim 2, wherein the inspection template generation logic comprises a trained neural network and the one or more processors execute the trained neural network to analyze the page images.
Miyazawa teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the inspection template generation logic comprises a trained neural network and the one or more processors execute the trained neural network to analyze the page images (paragraph 47; trained model can be utilized for object type detection within images to be inspected).
Sakai and Miyazawa are combinable because they are both from the print quality inspection field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Sakai with Miyazawa to add a trained neural network. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine abnormalities on label sheets from a printer (paragraph 4). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Sakai with Miyazawa to obtain the invention of claim 8.
16) Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2023/0061533 by Sakai, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2020/0288030 by Tsukamoto as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2024/0319931 by Kawabe et al.
Sakai does not specifically teach the system of claim 1, wherein the inspection template generation logic generates high resolution page images from the one or more page images and performs post-processing of the high resolution page images to extract meta parameters from the high resolution page images.
Kawabe teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the inspection template generation logic generates high resolution page images from the one or more page images and performs post-processing of the high resolution page images to extract meta parameters from the high resolution page images (paragraph 34; figure 7; object regions are determined [i.e. a “meta parameter”] and higher resolutions are specified for particular objects).
Sakai and Kawabe are combinable because they are both from the print inspection field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Sakai with Kawabe to add. The motivation for doing so would have been to detect a smaller difference in quality (paragraph 34). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Sakai with Kawabe to obtain the invention of claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683