Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 88 – 97 in the reply filed on July 30, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 98 – 134 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 88 and 90 – 97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vijayakumar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0054437 A1; cited on IDS, hereinafter Vijayakumar).
Regarding claims 88 and 97, Vijayakumar discloses self-limiting AAV vectors, wherein new protospacers can be added within the vector to allow for self-targeting (para. [1131]). The invention is also related to engineered Class 2, Type V nucleases and guide RNAs useful for the editing of target nucleic acids (Abstract) in which the engineered vector comprises AAV2 5’ and 3’ (FIG. 13, para. [0035]) inverted terminal repeats (ITR); a single RNA-guided RuvC domain(para. [0129]); a promoter linked to the Class 2 protein CasX (Cas12e; (para. [0382]) and a second promoter operably linked to the sequence encoding the first gRNA; guide RNA comprising a scaffold sequence (para. [0196]); one or more PAM sequences (para. [0189]). Vjayakumar teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except PAM sequences having one or more self-inactivating segments being different by at least one nucleotide from the PAM sequence of the target nucleic acid or explicitly disclosing that cleavage by the RNP reduces or eliminates the expression of the Class 2 Type V protein or the gRNA encoded by the polynucleotide. Vjayakumar does disclose engineered gRNAs that (para. [0198]) retain guide nucleic acid functionality but has reduced susceptibility to cleavage by a nuclease. Further, Vjayakumar does disclose Deep Mutational Evolution (DME, FIG. 16) methods for producing variants of biomolecules that would suggest substitutions, insertions, and deletions (para. [0322]) of a PAM sequence.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the DME methods of Vjayakumar to discover and utilize PAM sequences that have at least one nucleotide difference than the PAM sequence of the target nucleic acid. Doing so would increase the number of options available to the artisan seeking to optimize the vectors of the invention.
Regarding claim 90, Vjayakumar discloses several embodiments but embodiment 41 (paras. [0482 – 0483]) depicts if the PAM sequence of the target nucleic acid of the cell to be modified is TTC.
Regarding claim 91, Vjayakumar discloses (para. [0157]) a target sequence of a gRNA that comprises 0 to 5 nucleotide mismatches. Further, Vjayakumar discloses (para. [0403]) in some embodiments, the method of treating further comprises administering a second or plurality of gRNAs, wherein the second gRNAs have targeting sequences complementary to a different or overlapping portion of the target nucleic acid sequence compared to the first gRNA.
Regarding claim 92, Vjayakumar discloses (paras. [1005 – 1006]) RNP comprising the Class 2, Type V CRISPR and the gRNA exhibit a cleavage rate for the target nucleic acid in a timed in vitro assay that is at least about 5-fold, 10-fold, 20-fold, or 100-fold compared to an RNP of any one of the reference proteins.
Regarding claim 93, Vjayakumar discloses that the cleavage by the RNP of the self-inactivating segments of the polynucleotide in a cell transfected or transduced with the SIRV has a (para. [0229]) 2-fold, 5-fold, or 10-fold kcleave rate.
Regarding claim 94, Vjayakumar discloses (para. [0241]) CasX variants with one or more nuclear localization signals located at or near the N-terminus.
Regarding claims 95 – 96, Vjayakumar discloses several CasX proteins (SEQ ID Nos: 1046, 336, 90) that are 100% identity match to SEQ ID NO: 138 (ABSS Search-08/10/2026-SEQ ID NO. 138-Published_Applications_AA_Main, Result 1-US-17-572-208) and several gRNA scaffold sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 1067, 2292, 709, 719, 723, etc.) that are 100% identity match to SEQ ID NO: 2296 (ABSS Search-08/10/2026-SEQ ID NO. 2296-Published_Applications_AA_Main, Result 2 and 3-08/10/2026).
Claim 89 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vjayakumar in view of Police et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0032622 A1; hereinafter Police) as evidenced by Xie et al. ((2018), SaCas9 Requires 5′-NNGRRT-3′ PAM for Sufficient Cleavage and Possesses Higher Cleavage Activity than SpCas9 or FnCpf1 in Human Cells. Biotechnol. J., 13: 1800080; hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 89, Vjayakumar teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except a self-inactivating segment comprising a sequence corresponding to any 15 – 21 nucleotide portion of the target nucleic acid sequence that is 3’ adjacent to a PAM sequence recognized by an RNP of the Class 2 Type V protein and the first gRNA. However, Police discloses (para. [0210 – 0211]) that a self-inactivating site or SIN site can comprise 5’-N17-21NRG-3’ or 5’-N19-24NNGRRT-3’, wherein N17-21 or N19-24 represent protospacer sequence and NRG or NNGRRT represents PAMs for SpCas9 or SaCas9, respectively. Police further discloses/provides motivation for the technique by disclosing that the SIN site can be substantially complementary, for example, having 1 or more mismatches, to the DNA targeting segment of the DNA targeting nucleic acid to modulate timing of self-inactivation.
Xie further clarifies the dynamic of the PAM for CRISPR/Cas 9 systems (Abstract; full paper).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings from Police and Xie on the dynamics of PAM sequences in order to modulate the timing of self-inactivation.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638