DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 11-20 are directed to a computer program product. A computer program does not fall into one of the four categories of statutory subject matter (See MPEP 2106.03, subsection I).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Per step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test (See MPEP 2106), claim 1 is directed to method, which is a process and falls within a statutory category (See MPEP 2106.03).
Per step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites dividing an incident report into a plurality of text portions; assigning a plurality of text confidence values to the plurality of text portions; determining a report characteristic including a non-textual data type for the incident report; training a neural network model; inputting the plurality of text confidence values and the report characteristic into the neural network model; and outputting a network confidence value from the neural network model in response to inputting the plurality of text confidence values and the report characteristic. The claim limitations require observation of a incident report and making judgments or opinions about the contents of the incident report including assigning text confidence values and a network confidence value. The claim limitations describe activities that can be performed in the human mind and fall into the mental processes grouping (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 1 does not recite any additional elements.
Per step 2A, prong 2, The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because claim 1 does not recite any additional elements.
Per step 2B, claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claim 1 does not recite any additional elements.
Claims 2-6, 9 and 10 depend from claim 1 and recite further details of the abstract idea. Claims 2-6, 9 and 10 do not recite any additional elements. Since there are no recited additional elements, claims 2-6, 9 and 10 are not integrated into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7 recites an additional element of generating a user interface including a plurality of visual representations corresponding to the plurality of text confidence values and the network confidence value, each visual representation indicating a flag status of the corresponding confidence value. The generation of a user interface with visual representations is insignificant post solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, claim 7 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, the courts have recognized that outputting the result of an abstract idea in various manners is well-understood, routine and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II). Therefore claim 7 is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Per step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test (See MPEP 2106), claim 11 is directed to computer program product, which does not fall within a statutory category as discussed above (See MPEP 2106.03). However, even if claim 11 recited a statutory category the limitations of claim 11 recite an abstract idea similar to that recited in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 12-16, 19 and 20 depend from claim 11 and recite further details of the abstract idea. Claims 12-16, 19 and 20 do not recite any additional elements. Since there are no recited additional elements, claims 12-16, 19 and 20 are not integrated into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 17 recites an additional element of generating a user interface including a plurality of visual representations corresponding to the plurality of text confidence values and the network confidence value, each visual representation indicating a flag status of the corresponding confidence value. The generation of a user interface with visual representations is insignificant post solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, claim 17 does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, the courts have recognized that outputting the result of an abstract idea in various manners is well-understood, routine and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II). Therefore claim 17 is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13-15, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2024/0232609 to Penfield et al. (Penfield).
Claims 1 and 11
With regard to dividing an incident report into a plurality of text portions; Penfield teaches generating vectors representing fields of a document (Fig. 2, step 202; par. 40, 48-51).
With regard to assigning a plurality of text confidence values to the plurality of text portions; Penfield teaches determining a probability that a vector representation is of a lessons-learned record (Fig. 2, steps 203, 204; par. 40).
With regard to determining a report characteristic including a non-textual data type for the incident report; Penfield teaches a numerical vector (par. 43).
With regard to training a neural network model; Penfield teaches training a deep neural network (Fig. 1, training model; Fig. 3, par. 41).
With regard to inputting the plurality of text confidence values and the report characteristic into the neural network model; Penfield teaches using the vectors representations to determine whether a document is a lessons-learned record or not (Fig. 2, step 206, par. 40).
With regard to outputting a network confidence value from the neural network model in response to inputting the plurality of text confidence values and the report characteristic; Penfield teaches using the vectors representations to determine whether a document is a lessons-learned record or not and outputting the classification (Fig. 2, step 206, par. 40).
Claims 3 and 13
Penfield teaches that determining the report characteristic including the non-textual data type includes determining the report characteristic using the incident report (par. 43).
Claim 4 and 14
Penfield teaches that the non-textual data type includes at least one of a Boolean value, a categorical value, or an identification value (par.43).
Claims 5 and 15
Penfield teaches determining a flag status for the incident report after comparing the network confidence value and a flag threshold, and comparing the plurality of text confidence values and a plurality of flag thresholds (par. 40).
Claim 7 and 17
Penfield teaches generating a user interface including a plurality of visual representations corresponding to the plurality of text confidence values and the network confidence value, each visual representation indicating a flag status of the corresponding confidence value (pars. 73, 74).
Claim 8 and 18
Penfield teaches that training the neural network model uses historical text confidence values, historical report characteristics, and historical network confidence values (pars. 41-44).
Claim 10 and 20
Penfield teaches determining a plurality of report characteristics, each including a non-textual data type, at least one of the report characteristics being a non-normalized numerical value, at least one of the report characteristics being a normalized numerical value, and at least one of the report characteristics being a categorical value represented by one hot encoding (pars. 36, 37, 44).
Conclusion
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857