DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya (US 20210053375).
With regard to claim 1, Tsuchiya discloses a thermal printer (1) [Para. 0023; Fig. 1], comprising:
a housing (2) [Para. 0025];
a printing unit (4) [Para. 0025], which includes a head unit (41) [Para. 0029]and a platen unit (42) [Para. 0029] including a platen roller [Para. 0031], and is received in the housing [Fig. 7];
a cover (22) [Para. 0026] configured to be capable of opening and closing the housing;
an open button (82) [release button; Para. 0041] of the cover; and
a guide shaped portion (61) [Para. 0046], which is provided below a gap between the open button and the housing [Fig. 8, See also Fig. 10] and at a position corresponding to the gap [Fig. 8], and extends along an up-and-down direction in a horizontal posture that is a state of the thermal printer placed such that a sheet delivery port defined between the cover and the housing is facing upward [Fig. 7],
wherein the guide shaped portion is provided between the housing and a release lever (81) [Para. 0041] received inside the housing [Fig. 8].
With regard to claim 3, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the guide shaped portion extends downward beyond the release lever [Fig. 10].
With regard to claim 4, Tsuchiya discloses further comprising a substrate (10) [paper roll; Para. 0025] provided below the release lever [Fig. 5]
wherein the substrate is arranged closer to a center of an inside of the housing than the release lever opposed component when seen from the up-and-down direction [Fig. 5], and
wherein the guide shaped portion is provided at such a position as to be prevented from overlapping the substrate when seen from the up-and-down direction [Fig. 5].
With regard to claim 9, Tsuchiya discloses a thermal printer (1) [Para. 0023; Fig. 1], comprising:
a housing (2) [Para. 0025];
a printing unit (4) [Para. 0025], which includes a head unit (41) [Para. 0029]and a platen unit (42) [Para. 0029] including a platen roller [Para. 0031], and is received in the housing [Fig. 7];
a cover (22) [Para. 0026] configured to be capable of opening and closing the housing;
an open button (82) [release button; Para. 0041] of the cover; and
a guide shaped portion (61) [Para. 0046], which is provided below a gap between the open button and the housing [Fig. 8, See also Fig. 10] and at a position corresponding to the gap [Fig. 8], and extends along an up-and-down direction in a horizontal posture that is a state of the thermal printer placed such that a sheet delivery port defined between the cover and the housing is facing upward [Fig. 7, Fig. 10],
wherein the open button includes a downward protruding portion that protrudes downward [Fig. 7], and
wherein the guide shaped portion is provided at a position corresponding to the downward protruding portion. [Fig. 8, Fig. 10].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US 2021/0053375) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Narimatsu (JP 2009036805).
With regard to claim 6, Tsuchiya does not disclose wherein the guide shaped portion is a rib formed on an inner wall of the housing.
Narimatsu teaches a guide shaped portion is a rib (40) formed on an inner wall (20C) of a housing (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure guide shaped portion as a rib formed on an inner wall of the housing as taught by Narimatsu in order to prevent stagnation of the liquid on the printer cover.
With regard to claim 10, Tsuchiya discloses a thermal printer (1) [Para. 0023; Fig. 1], comprising:
a housing (2) [Para. 0025];
a printing unit (4) [Para. 0025], which includes a head unit (41) [Para. 0029]and a platen unit (42) [Para. 0029] including a platen roller [Para. 0031], and is received in the housing [Fig. 7];
a cover (22) [Para. 0026] configured to be capable of opening and closing the housing;
an open button (82) [release button; Para. 0041] of the cover; and
a guide shaped portion (61) [Para. 0046], which is provided below a gap between the open button and the housing [Fig. 8, See also Fig. 10] and at a position corresponding to the gap [Fig. 8], and extends along an up-and-down direction in a horizontal posture that is a state of the thermal printer placed such that a sheet delivery port defined between the cover and the housing is facing upward [Fig. 7],
Tsuchiya does not disclose wherein the guide shaped portion is a rib formed on an inner wall of the housing.
Narimatsu teaches a guide shaped portion is a rib (40) formed on an inner wall (20C) of a housing (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure guide shaped portion as a rib formed on an inner wall of the housing as taught by Narimatsu in order to prevent stagnation of the liquid on the printer cover.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya (US 20210053375) in view of Jimbo (US 2017/0182801).
With regard to claim 7, Tsuchiya does not disclose wherein the guide shaped portion is formed of a water absorbing member.
Jimbo discloses a liquid absorbing sheet (60) [Para. 0041].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a liquid absorbing sheet on the guiding portion of Tsuchiya for the purpose of absorbing a liquid e.g. water having entered the casing of the printer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the guide shaped portion of a water absorbing member for the purpose of storing liquid, since it has been held to within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin,125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 5 is the inclusion of the limitations wherein a guide shaped portion is provided at a position corresponding to the downward protruding portion. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 8 is the inclusion of the limitations further comprising a liquid retaining portion formed in a bottom surface of the housing to retain liquid guided by the guide shaped portion. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Examiner notes because a new ground of rejection was made using a different reference than what was used in the previous office action dated 02/24/2026 to reject the independent claims, the dependent claims that were rejected in that office action are no longer rejected because it would not be obvious to combine with the new reference used to reject the independent claims.
In claim 5, the open button is positioned at the front of the printer and the guide shaped portion of Tsuchiya is positioned inside the housing and therefore is not at a position corresponding to the downward protruding portion of the open button.
In claim 8 the retaining portion is attached to the platen and therefore is not formed in the bottom surface of the housing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853