Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11721805 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1-2, 11721805 teaches an active material comprising a silicon clathrate II type crystal phase, and having a composition represented by NaxSi136, wherein 0 ≤ x ≤ 10 (claim 1).
The examiner notes that 11721805 fails to explicitly teach the silicon clathrate II wherein the “x” satisfies 2.30≤x≤2.50 (instant claims 1-2).
However, 11721805’s range for “x” demonstrates an overlap in ranges taught. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, “the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain” (MPEP 2123).
Regarding claim 6, 11721805 teaches an anode layer comprising the active material according to claim 1 (claim 2).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 12, 2024, November 05, 2024, and October 15, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed April 12, 2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0380724, hereinafter Chan (IDS dated 04/12/2024).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 6-7, Chan teaches a rechargeable battery including the anode, a cathode, and an electrolyte in contact with the anode and cathode (Abstract) (instant claim 7). The anode includes a Type II clathrate have the formula MxX136 where 0<x<24, X is Si, and M is Na (Abstract and [0032]) (instant claim 6).
The examiner notes that Chan fails to explicitly teach the silicon clathrate II wherein the “x” satisfies 2.30≤x≤2.50 (instant claims 1-2).
However, Chan’s range for “x” demonstrates an overlap in ranges taught. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, “the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain” (MPEP 2123).
Regarding claim 3, Chan teaches the active material according to claim 1, wherein the active material includes a void inside a primary particle (“a cage structure is formed by Si. When “x” equals 0, no guest ion is present in the cage” (Abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that a cage structure encloses a cavity (or void) therefore as long as “x” is less than 24, there are voids present in the cage structure of the primary particle. The Type I and Type II clathrates of Fig 2A and 2B have voids within the primary particles).
Regarding claim 4, Chan teaches the active material according to claim 1, wherein, as peaks of the silicon clathrate II type crystal phase, peak “A” at a position of 2θ = 20.09 ̊± 0.05 ̊ and peak “B” at a position of 2θ = 31.72 ̊± 0.05 ̊ are observed in X-ray diffraction measurement using a CuKa ray, and when an intensity of the peak “A” is regarded as IA, an intensity of the peak “B” is regarded as IB, and a maximum intensity in 2θ = 22 ̊to 23 ̊ is regarded as IM, IA/IM and IB/IM are respectively more than 1 (The XRD spectra of Fig 3 all have peaks at both 20 and 31 that are higher than the peak between 22-23, therefore overlapping with the claimed ranges of instant claim 4. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a Prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05)).
Regarding claim 5, Chan teaches, as mentioned above, a rechargeable battery including the anode, a cathode, and an electrolyte in contact with the anode and cathode (Abstract). The anode includes a Type II clathrate have the formula MxX136 where 0<x<24, X is Si, and M is Na (Abstract and [0032]). Fig. 3 represents the powder XRD pattern of the Type I silicon clathrate, Type II silicon clathrate, and unreacted diamond cubic Si.
The examiner notes that Chan fails to explicitly teach the active material according to claim 4, wherein the IA/IM satisfies 1.02 < IA/IM and the IB/IM satisfies 1.03 < IB/IM.
However, as mentioned above, “the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain” (MPEP 2123). Chan teaches overlapping ranges for both the value of “x” in instant’s NaxSi-136 and for the peaks at 20, ̊ 22-23 ̊, and 30 ̊ for each spectra in Fig 3. The type II silicon clathrates of Chan and the instant specification were prepared in similar manners through the thermal decomposition of NaSi Zintl compunds, creating an alloy with Na, Si and Li, and removing excess lithium and sodium (Chan [0029] and claims 18-22 and instant specification [0060]) for the purpose of improving and maintaining the battery’s charge and discharge cycles (Chan [0004-0005] and instant specification [0005-0006]). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, therefore, the active material NaxSi136 at an “x” value of 2.30-2.50 will have the same XRD properties as claimed (MPEP 2112.01).
Conclusion
/M.K.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724