RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 25-February-2026 with respect to application 18/608,391 filed 18-March-2024.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 4, 12-15, 18 and 26-28.
Claims 1-28 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The following information disclosure statements have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file:
IDS#4, submitted 12-February-2026, 17 references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-8, 11, 13-22, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Iasso et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2022/0068115 A1), hereinafter Iasso, in view of Wu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN 115512508 A), herein Wu, and Meruva et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP 3706090 A1), hereinafter Meruva.
Consider claim 1: An apparatus for coupling a remote device to a fire alarm control panel (FACP), Iasso discloses systems and methods for network distribution of communication and power within a building management system, and in particular between multiple fire alarm units (remote devices) and a fire alarm control panel (104) [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0005-0007, 0018]; comprising:
a translation processor configured to selectively translate communications from the remote device into at least one of at least two different device protocols, each of which is a device-loop communication protocol used by the FACP, including a first device protocol and a second device protocol; a power line control device (PLCD) (208-212, 302), which may broadly be considered a processor, connected to a fire alarm unit (202-206), wherein the PLCD comprises a communication translator (304), and which may translate from a power line protocol to at least one of Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol, and/or convert one or more of these to a power line protocol [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0024, 0028-0029];
a first device protocol portion connected to the translation processor and configured to connect to a first device protocol of the FACP and provide the communications between the translation processor and the FACP using the first device protocol; The PLCD includes a first input/output component (308) in communication with the translator component and other network connected devices on a non-power communication line (312). The communication signal carried by the non-power communication line may include one or more signals based on an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol. Thus, one or more non-power line protocols may provide communication to at least one of a fire alarm control panel, a fire alarm transponder, an initiating device circuit, a notification appliance circuit, or a relay circuit [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0027-0031]; and
a second device protocol portion connected to the translation processor and configured to connect to a second device protocol loop of the FAPC and provide the communications between the translation processor and the FACP using the second device protocol; The PLCD includes a second input/output component (310) in communication with the translator component and other network connected devices on a combined power and communication line (314). The power line may include an alternating current (AC) that provides power to the PLCD and act as a carrier signal to convey the fire alarm communication in the second power line protocol. Accordingly, the carrier signal may be modulated with a communication signal bearing the fire alarm communication and, likewise, the communication signal may be demodulated from the carrier signal [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0027-0031].
Iasso discloses translation from and between a powerline protocol and at least one of an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol [Fig. 3; Para. 0029], and also that redundant PLCD devices with redundant network power/communication lines may interconnect network devices, and that PLCD devices may be contained within the housing of the associated network device [Fig. 2; Para. 0022, 0025]. Iasso also discloses that a loop interface may be used to connect the FACP to a plurality of devices [Para. 0020]
Iasso does not specifically disclose that: the redundant PLCD devices (equivalent to a first and second protocol portion) operate using different (first and second) protocols, or that first and second protocols are selectively determined. These features are known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Wu discloses a multi-detection unit compatible fire alarm system, and particularly that a multi-detection unit (portion) comprising a loop module and protocol conversion module, wherein the unit may dynamically and adaptively select a protocol for communication with a detected device, based on the identified device, and communicate using that protocol [Title; Abstract; Contents of Invention: Para. 2-9, 11; Claim 1 (translation)].
Meruva, moreover, discloses a gateway device for a fire control system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2; Para. 0001, 0005-0007] and where the gateway device (101) comprises a plurality of control panel interfaces (102) (first and second interface portions) and a library of available protocol types (104) which may be selected according to a communication need of connected device [Fig. 1; Para. 0025-0031].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to adaptively select a protocol for each of at least two gateway interfaces from a library of interfaces as taught by Meruva, and where the adaptive interface is a loop interface as taught by Wu, and applied to an apparatus, system and method of network communication, where a gateway may be accommodated within an FACP as taught by Iasso in order to accommodate a variety of network device protocols used by initiating devices (IDC) and notification devices (NAC) from different manufacturers.
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the first device protocol portion comprises a first device protocol loop interface (IF) connected to a first device protocol receiver IF and a first device protocol transmitter IF, The PLCD first input/output component (308) communicates with other network connected devices on a non-power communication line (312). The communication signal carried by the non-power communication line may include one or more signals based on an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol. Iasso does not explicitly name a receiver and transmitter, but in performing an Input/Output function, the presence of these structures is clearly disclosed [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0024,0027, 0029, 0031, 0035-0036]; and
wherein the second device protocol portion comprises a second device protocol loop IF connected to a second device protocol receiver IF and a second device protocol transmitter IF. The PLCD includes a second input/output component (310) in communication with the translator component and other network connected devices on a combined power and communication line (314). The power line may include an alternating current (AC) that provides power to the PLCD and act as a carrier signal to convey the fire alarm communication in the second power line protocol. Accordingly, the carrier signal may be modulated with a communication signal bearing the fire alarm communication and, likewise, the communication signal may be demodulated from the carrier signal [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0027-0031, 0034-0036].
Wu discloses a multi-detection unit (portion) comprising a loop module and protocol conversion module, for interfacing with devices in a loop configuration [Contents of Invention: Para. 2-9, 11; Claim 1 (translation)].
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2: The apparatus in accordance with claim 2, wherein the translation processor is connected to the first device protocol receiver IF, the first device protocol transmitter IF, the second device protocol receiver IF, and the second device protocol transmitter IF.
Iasso discloses that messages are received by the first I/O component (308) and/or the second I/O component (310), translated into a different protocol by the communication translator (304) and power line core (306), and transmitted by the other of the first I/O component (308) and/or the second I/O component (310) [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0027-0031, 0034-0036].
Iasso does not explicitly disclose the particular connections and structures, but it would have been obvious to the artisan and the time of filing that receiver and transmitter structures exist for both I/O components and that they are communicatively coupled (broadly connected) the translator for the PLCD device to operate as disclosed.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 2: The apparatus in accordance with claim 2,
wherein the first device protocol loop IF is configured to be connected to the first device protocol loop of the FACP, and
wherein the second device protocol loop IF is configured to be connected to the second device protocol loop of the FACP.
Iasso discloses that and where each of these may broadly considered a separate loop, and loop interface as described by Tice. (Iasso: Fig. 2-3; Para. 0027-0031, 0034-0036].
Wu discloses a multi-detection unit (portion) comprising a loop module and protocol conversion module, for interfacing with devices in a loop configuration [Contents of Invention: Para. 2-9, 11; Claim 1 (translation)].
Meruva discloses a gateway device for a fire control system wherein the gateway device (101) comprises a plurality of control panel interfaces (102) (first and second interface portions) [Fig. 1; Para. 0025-0031].
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 2: The apparatus in accordance with claim 2,
wherein the first device protocol receiver IF and the first device protocol transmitter IF are respectively configured to receive and transmit signals in accordance with the first device protocol, and
wherein the second device protocol receiver IF and the second device protocol transmitter IF are respectively configured to receive and transmit signals in accordance with the second device protocol.
Iasso discloses that a first Iasso discloses that the first I/O component (308) (incorporating receiver and transmitter functions) communicates using one or more protocols including: an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol, and that the second I/O component (310) communicates over a power line (314) using a (different) powerline protocol [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0025-0028].
Wu discloses a multi-detection unit that may dynamically and adaptively select a protocol for communication with a detected device, based on the identified device, and communicate using that protocol [Contents of Invention: Para. 2-9, 11; Claim 1 (translation)].
Meruva discloses a gateway device for a fire control system comprising a plurality of control panel interfaces (102) (first and second interface portions) and a library of available protocol types (104) which may be selected according to a communication need of connected device [Fig. 1; Para. 0025-0031].
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a serial interface (IF) and a hardware Input/Output IF, each respectively electrically connected to the translation processor and configured to interface the translation processor with the remote device.
Iasso discloses that first I/O component (308) connects to a non-power communication line (312) connecting a plurality of network devices using one or more protocols including: an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol, where these (particularly Arcnet, BACnet and Ethernet) are known serial protocols. The second I/O component (310) connects to a power and communication line (314) separately connecting to a plurality of network devices, providing both A/C power and data, and which may broadly be described as a hardware I/O interface [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0025-0028].
See also, citations and discussion with respect to Wu and Meruva as presented previously for claim 5.
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a wireless interface (IF) connected to the translation processor and configured to wirelessly interface the translation processor with a wireless IF of the remote device.
Iasso discloses the use of transponders (144, 146) to communicate with various wireless system devices [Fig. 1; Para. 0021] and also that a PLCD may be mounted within the housing of a network device [Fig. 2-3; Para. 0022].
Iasso does not disclose a wireless capability with respect to the PLCD.
It therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, however, that the PLCD may be placed within a transponder housing and wherein the communication translator (304) may link to the transponder through the non-power communication interface (308) within the same unit, as taught by Iasso, and as a result the device as a whole, provides a wireless and wireless protocol within the alarm system network, allowing integration of wireless devices to the network.
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1, further comprising a serial debug interface (IF) configured to electrically interface the translation processor to a remote computer.
Iasso discloses that the PLCD may contain circuits for configuration, storage and diagnostics (322) [Fig. 3; Para. 0033], and also discloses that a fire alarm system may include management devices such as work stations (106) or servers (108) that may communicate with system components via the network, and may be used to set and/or change functions of various system components.
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1, wherein the at least two different device protocols comprise at least two different data and power protocols.
Iasso discloses that first I/O component (308) connects to a non-power communication line (312) connecting a plurality of network devices using one or more protocols including: an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol, where these data protocols. A second I/O component (310) connects to a power and communication line (314) separately connecting to a plurality of network devices, providing both A/C power and data according to powerline protocol, and a third I/O component (316) provides power only of a particular potential (broadly a protocol) [Fig. 1-4; Para. 0025-0028].
Meruva discloses a gateway device for a fire control system comprising a plurality of control panel interfaces (102) (first and second interface portions) and a library of available protocol types (104) which each may be selected according to a communication need of connected device [Fig. 1; Para. 0025-0031].
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the FACP is configured to process communications in the second device protocol initially provided by a first device protocol device configured to output communications in the first device protocol, Iasso discloses that the PLCD communication translator (304) associated with an alarm device may convert the alarm device (first device) message in a particular protocol (Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol) to a power-line protocol (second protocol) which may be communicated to an alarm panel (104) (FACP) on one or more network power lines, where a second PLCD, associated with the alarm panel, may process the power-line protocol into a different protocol for reception by the FACP, (and vice versa) [Fig. 1-4; Para. 0025-0032];
wherein the translation processor, the first device protocol portion, and second device protocol portion form a communication path between the FACP and the first device protocol device, wherein both the first protocol (data only) and second protocol (data/power) are communicated on separate network lines (312 and 314 respectively), to loop/network connected devices including the alarm device (first device) and FACP [Fig 1-4; Para. 0025-0032]; and
wherein communications in the first device protocol output by the first device protocol device are processed by the first device protocol portion and translated into communications in the second device protocol by the translation processor that are processed by the second device protocol portion and provided to the FACP; wherein the respective communication translator (304) and power line core (306) associated with the PLCD for the first device and PLCD for the FACP respectively, convert a particular protocol used by the device and FACP respectively, to and from a power-line protocol [Fig 1-4; Para. 0025-0032].
See also, citations and discussion with respect to Wu and Meruva as presented previously for claim 5.
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the FACP is configured to process communications in the first device protocol initially provided by a second device protocol device configured to output communications in the second device protocol,
wherein the translation processor, the first device protocol portion, and second device protocol portion form a communication path between the FACP and the second device protocol device, and
wherein communications in the second device protocol output by a second device protocol device are processed by the second device protocol portion and translated into communications in the first device protocol by the translation processor that are processed by the first device protocol portion and provided to the FACP. This claim is rejected on the citations and analysis, as for claim 13 previously, and as applied to claim 1, where: a PLCD and (associated communication translator and power line core) are configured to receive data from either a first device or a different loop/network connected device (including the FACP through an associated PLCD in both a particular (first) data protocol, and a second power-line data protocol, provided on separate lines. The FACP may process and bi-directionally communicate using either (or both) protocols [Fig 1-4; Para. 0025-0032]. See also, citations and discussion with respect to Wu and Meruva as presented previously for claim 5.
Consider claim 15: A method for coupling a remote device to a fire alarm control panel (FACP), Iasso discloses systems and methods for network distribution of communication and power within a building management system, and in particular between multiple fire alarm units (remote devices) and a fire alarm control panel (104) [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0001, 0005-0007, 0018]; comprising:
configuring a translation processor to selectively translate communications from the remote device into at least one of at least two different device protocols, each of which is a device-loop communication protocol used by the FACP, including a first device protocol and a second device protocol; a power line control device (PLCD) (208-212, 302), which may broadly be considered a processor, connected to a fire alarm unit (202-206), wherein the PLCD comprises a communication translator (304), and which may translate from a power line protocol to at least one of Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol, and/or convert one or more of these to a power line protocol [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0024, 0028-0029, 004-0035];
configuring a first device protocol portion connected to the translation processor and a first device protocol loop of the FACP to provide the communications between the translation processor and the FACP using the first device protocol; The PLCD includes a first input/output component (308) in communication with the translator component and other network connected devices on a non-power communication line (312). The communication signal carried by the non-power communication line may include one or more signals based on an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol. Thus, one or more non-power line protocols may provide communication to at least one of a fire alarm control panel, a fire alarm transponder, an initiating device circuit, a notification appliance circuit, or a relay circuit [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0027-0031, 0034-0036]; and
configuring a second device protocol portion connected to the translation processor and a second device protocol loop of the FACP to provide the communications between the translation processor and the FACP using the second device protocol; The PLCD includes a second input/output component (310) in communication with the translator component and other network connected devices on a combined power and communication line (314). The power line may include an alternating current (AC) that provides power to the PLCD and act as a carrier signal to convey the fire alarm communication in the second power line protocol. Accordingly, the carrier signal may be modulated with a communication signal bearing the fire alarm communication and, likewise, the communication signal may be demodulated from the carrier signal [Fig. 2-4; Para. 0027-0031, 0034-0036].
Iasso discloses translation from and between a powerline protocol and at least one of an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol [Fig. 3; Para. 0029], and also that redundant PLCD devices with redundant network power/communication lines may interconnect network devices, and that PLCD devices may be contained within the housing of the associated network device [Fig. 2; Para. 0022, 0025]. Iasso also discloses that a loop interface may be used to connect the FACP to a plurality of devices [Para. 0020]
Iasso does not specifically disclose that: the redundant PLCD devices (equivalent to a first and second protocol portion) operate using different (first and second) protocols, or that first and second protocols are selectively determined. These features are known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Wu discloses a multi-detection unit compatible fire alarm system, and particularly that a multi-detection unit (portion) comprising a loop module and protocol conversion module, wherein the unit may dynamically and adaptively select a protocol for communication with a detected device, based on the identified device, and communicate using that protocol [Title; Abstract; Contents of Invention: Para. 2-9, 11; Claim 1 (translation)].
Meruva, moreover, discloses a gateway device for a fire control system [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-2; Para. 0001, 0005-0007] and where the gateway device (101) comprises a plurality of control panel interfaces (102) (first and second interface portions) and a library of available protocol types (104) which may be selected according to a communication need of connected device [Fig. 1; Para. 0025-0031].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to adaptively select a protocol for each of at least two gateway interfaces from a library of interfaces as taught by Meruva, and where the adaptive interface is a loop interface as taught by Wu, and applied to a method of network communication, where a gateway may be accommodated within an FACP as taught by Iasso in order to accommodate a variety of network device protocols used by initiating devices (IDC) and notification devices (NAC) from different manufacturers.
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising:
configuring the first device protocol portion to include a first device protocol loop interface (IF) connected to a first device protocol receiver IF and a first device protocol transmitter IF; and
configuring the second device protocol portion to include a second device protocol loop IF connected to a second device protocol receiver IF and a second device protocol transmitter IF.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 2 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 16: The method in accordance with claim 16, further comprising connecting the translation processor to the first device protocol receiver IF, the first device protocol transmitter IF, the second device protocol receiver IF, and the second device protocol transmitter IF.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claims 2 and 3 previously, and as applied to claims 15 and 16.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 16: The method in accordance with claim 16, further comprising:
configuring the first device protocol loop IF to be connectable to the first device protocol loop of the FACP, and
configuring the second device protocol loop IF to be connectable to the second device protocol loop of the FACP.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claims 2 and 4 previously, and as applied to claims 15 and 16.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 16: The method in accordance with claim 16, further comprising:
configuring the first device protocol receiver IF and the first device protocol transmitter IF to respectively receive and transmit signals in accordance with the first device protocol; and
configuring the second device protocol receiver IF and the second device protocol transmitter IF to respectively receive and transmit signals in accordance with the second device protocol.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claims 2 and 5 previously, and as applied to claims 15 and 16.
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising configuring a serial interface (IF) and a hardware Input/Output IF connected to the translation processor to interface the translation processor with the remote device. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 6 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Consider claim 21 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising configuring a wireless interface (IF) connected to the translation processor to wirelessly interface the translation processor with a wireless IF of the remote device. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 7 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Consider claim 22 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising configuring a serial debug interface (IF) to electrically interface the translation processor to a remote computer.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 8 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Consider claim 25 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising configuring the at least two different device protocols to include at least two different data and power protocols.
Iasso discloses that first I/O component (308) connects to a non-power communication line (312) connecting a plurality of network devices using one or more protocols including: an Arcnet, BACnet, Controller Area Network, Ethernet, or a proprietary fire alarm protocol, where these data protocols. A second I/O component (310) connects to a power and communication line (314) separately connecting to a plurality of network devices, providing both A/C power and data according to powerline protocol, and a third I/O component (316) provides power only of a particular potential (broadly a protocol)[Fig. 2-4; Para. 0025-0028].
Meruva discloses a gateway device for a fire control system comprising a plurality of control panel interfaces (102) (first and second interface portions) and a library of available protocol types (104) which each may be selected according to a communication need of connected device [Fig. 1; Para. 0025-0031].
Consider claim 27 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising:
configuring the FACP to process communications in the second device protocol initially provided by a first device protocol device configured to output communications in the first device protocol,
configuring the translation processor, the first device protocol portion, and second device protocol portion to form a communication path between the FACP and the first device protocol device, and
configuring communications in the first device protocol output by the first device protocol device to be processed by the first device protocol portion and translated into communications in the second device protocol by the translation processor that are processed by the second device protocol portion and provided to the FACP.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 13 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Consider claim 28 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15,
configuring the FACP to process communications in the first device protocol initially provided by a second device protocol device configured to output communications in the second device protocol;
configuring the translation processor, the first device protocol portion, and second device protocol portion form a communication path between the FACP and the second device protocol device; and
configuring communications in the second device protocol output by a second device protocol device to be processed by the second device protocol portion and translated into communications in the first device protocol by the translation processor that are processed by the first device protocol portion and provided to the FACP.
This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claims 13 and 14 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Claims 9, 10, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Iasso et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2022/0068115 A1), hereinafter Iasso, Wu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN 115512508 A), herein Wu, and Meruva et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP 3706090 A1), hereinafter Meruva, further in view of Tipton et al. (United States Patent # US 3,959,788), hereinafter Tipton.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1, further comprising an interface (IF) plate configured to interface a junction box to the remote device.
Iasso discloses that one or more PLCD units are associated with each network device, and which interface to both power and communication/data connections. Iasso further discloses that each power line control device (208-212) may be included with, or accompany externally, to a housing of the corresponding fire alarm unit (202-206) (network device or apparatus). [Fig. 2; Para. 0022].
Iasso does not describe particular structural details for mounting and interconnecting the PLCD and fire alarm units. These are well known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Tipton discloses an ionization-type fire detector (Fire alarm device) [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1-3, 8; Col. 1, 56 to Col. 2, 2; Col. 2, 30-62], and particularly a socket (20) for attachment, and an associated socket plate (interface plate) (20/28), which may be secured to a conventional junction box [Fig. 4, 5; Col. 4, 4-35].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to uses a socket and plate to mount and connect a fire alarm device to a conventional junction box, as taught by Tipton, and applied to systems and methods for network distribution of communication and power as taught by Iasso as modified by Wu and Meruva, where use of standard junction boxes is common and usual in building electrical distribution systems.
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 9: The apparatus in accordance with claim 9, wherein the IF plate comprises the translation processor, the first device protocol portion, and the second device protocol portion.
Iasso discloses at least one PLCU associated with each fire alarm device, and that the PLCU may be mounted internally or externally with respect to the device housing.
Tipton discloses a plate and socket interface arrangement for connecting a fire alarm device to a standard junction box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention to mount the PLCU unit taught by Iasso, as modified by Wu and Meruva, to an interface plate as taught by Tipton, where such combination allows a common interface arrangement with different types and configurations of alarm devices.
Consider claim 23 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising configuring an interface (IF) plate to interface a junction box to the remote device. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 9 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Consider claim 24 and as applied to claim 23: The method in accordance with claim 23, further comprising configuring the IF plate to include the translation processor, the first device protocol portion, and the second device protocol portion. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 10 previously, and as applied to claims 23 and 15.
Claims 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Iasso et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2022/0068115 A1), hereinafter Iasso et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2022/0068115 A1), hereinafter Iasso, Wu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN 115512508 A), herein Wu, and Meruva et al. (European Patent Application Publication # EP 3706090 A1), hereinafter Meruva, further in view of Escofet et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2023/0108030 A1), hereinafter Escofet.
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 1: The apparatus in accordance with claim 1, wherein the translation processor is configured to communicate with at least two separate sub-devices comprised in the remote device, the at least two separate sub-devices being configured to at least one of detect and report a potential fire condition.
Iasso discloses that each alarm device in a network is connected for both communication and power through a PLCD, comprising a communication translator, and which communicates with other network fire alarm devices which may include an alarm control panel (FACP) (104), one or more initiating device circuits (IDC) (112) devices, such as detectors, and one or more notification appliance circuits (NAC) (114) such as an alarm.
Iasso does not specifically disclose a single remote device performing both IDS and NAC functions. This is known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Escofet discloses automatic addressing of devices in a fire alarm system loop [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1; Para. 0002, 0009], that a loop may comprise one or more sensor devices and one or more indicator devices, and particularly that a single device may function as both a detector and alarm [Para. 0025-0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to provide circuits for performing separate detection and alarm functions in a single devise as taught by Escofet, and applied to systems and methods for network distribution of communication and power as taught by Iasso, as modified by Wu and Meruva, where mounting of two devices in a common housing and/or location simplifies and reduces installation effort and cost.
Consider claim 26 and as applied to claim 15: The method in accordance with claim 15, further comprising configuring the translation processor to communicate with at least two separate sub-devices comprised in the remote device, wherein the at least two separate sub-devices are configured to at least one of detect and report a potential fire condition. This claim is rejected based on the same references, citations and analysis as for claim 12 previously, and as applied to claim 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claim combinations are considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, and are presented to the Applicant for consideration:
Claim 1, and including the limitations of both claims 9 and 12.
Claim 15, and including the limitations of both claims 23 and 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 25-February-2026 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to an objection to claim 1 [Remarks: page 8]: Applicant’s amendment of the claim obviates the objection, and the objection has been withdrawn.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claims 1, 6, 15 and 20 under 35 USC §102 as anticipated by Iasso (US 2022/0068115 A1) [Remarks; page 9-13]: Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 15, overcome this rejection and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 6-8, 11, 13-15, 20-22, 25 and 27-28 under 35 USC §103 as obvious over Iasso (US 2022/0068115 A1) [Remarks: page 9-13]:
Regarding independent claim 1: Applicant’s arguments have been considered, are rendered moot by a new rejection of the claim under 35 USC §103 Iasso, Wu (CN 115512508 A) and Meruva (EP 3706090 A1), the new rejection necessitated by amendment of the claim. Wu teaches adaptive selection of a loop protocol interface, based on the requirements of connected devices, and Meruva teaches a gateway comprising a plurality (first second) interfaces, each of which may select an operation protocol from a library of protocols.
Regarding independent claim 15: The limitations of this claim, and amendment thereto, correspond to those of claim 1, and the same arguments have been presented. These arguments are also rendered moot by a new rejection necessitated by the amendment of the claim. Claim 15 is now also rejected under 35 USC §103 Iasso, Wu and Meruva.
Regarding claims 6-8, 11, 13, 14, 20-22, 25, 27 and 28: No separate or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of claims 1 and 15 from which they depend. These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 Iasso, Wu and Meruva, based on the new rejection of their respective base claims, and on the particular citations and analysis presented in this Office action.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 2-5 and 16-19 under 35 USC §103 as obvious over Iasso and Tice (US 5,357,243): Allowability of these claims is asserted based on the alleged allowability of claims 1 and 15, from which they depend. These claims are now rejected under 35 USC §103 Iasso, Wu and Meruva, based on the new rejection of their respective base claims, and where Wu and Meruva teach the additional limitations of these claims.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 9, 10, 23 and 24 under 35 USC §103 as obvious over Iasso and Tipton (US 3,959,788): No separate or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of claims 1 and 15 from which they depend. These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 Iasso, Wu, Meruva and Tipton, based on the new rejection of their respective base claims, and on the particular citations and analysis presented in this Office action.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 12 and 26 under 35 USC §103 as obvious over Iasso and Escofet (US 2023/0108030 A1): No separate or additional arguments have been made with respect to these claims, and allowability asserted based on the alleged allowability of claims 1 and 15 from which they depend. These claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 Iasso, Wu, Meruva and Escofet, based on the new rejection of their respective base claims, and on the particular citations and analysis presented in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Trivelpiece et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2018/0359220 A1) disclosing a security panel gateway system and method.
Dawes (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2018/0191720 A1) disclosing Communication protocols in integrated systems.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571)272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685