CTNF 18/608,429 CTNF 81189 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings An objection to the drawings because Fig 8A has a typo: “An wake up indication” should be “A wake up indication”. Correction and/or clarification requested. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-11, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Balakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Bala)(US 2025/0227784) . Regarding claim 1 , Bala teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first device, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first device to: transmit, for a second device over a sidelink, wake up monitor information for monitoring a first wake up signal for waking up the first device based on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)( P[0003], PDCCH; P[0078], relayed wake-up of a remote UE via a relay UE; P[0110], realy UE 104 may transmit time offset to the LPWUS to the remote UE ); receive, from the second device over the sidelink, a second wake up signal, wherein the second wake up signal is based on a reception of the first wake up signal on the second device; and perform a wake up procedure based on the second wake up signal (item 804, perform wakeup procedure with remote UE; P[0101], remote UE receives data via a respective sidelink; P[0180], timer and number of wakeup attempts). Regarding claim 2 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to transmit the wake up monitor information, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first device to transmit the wake up monitor information via the transceiver, and wherein the first device is a user equipment (UE), and the second device is a companion device of the UE( Fig. 6, relay UE and remote IoT UE; P[0102], item 502 in Fig. 5 ). Regarding claim 4 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first device is a first companion device of a user equipment (UE), and the second device is a second companion device of the UE( Fig. 6, relay UE and remote IoT UE ). Regarding claim 6 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wake up monitor information comprises one or more of: search space parameters for monitoring the first wake up signal, or a monitoring timing for monitoring the first wake up signal (P[0175], The group WUS is encoded with or otherwise includes a group ID assigned to the group of remote UEs . Upon detecting the group WUS for the group of remote UEs ). Regarding claim 7 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: transmit, for a network entity, a wake up indication of the wake up procedure based on the second wake up signal(item 806 in Fig. 8). Regarding claim 8 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein to transmit the wake up indication, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first device to: transmit, via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the wake up indication(Fig. 8; item 806; uplink information from UE to base station). Regarding claim 9 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the wake up indication further comprises: a minimal time interval between the first wake up signal and a downlink or uplink allocation for communication with the network entity(P[0098], time offset between the synchronization signal(after the first wakeup signal) and the LPWUS can bge optimized so that the remote UE can keep its active duration as short as possible). Regarding claim 10 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: communicate, with the second device, sidelink wake up signal (WUS) parameters for the second wake up signal( P[0110], realy UE 104 may transmit time offset to the LPWUS to the remote UE; P[0110-0111], the relay UE 104 may configure its synchronization signal with time offset to the remote UE 106). Regarding claim 11 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the sidelink WUS parameters comprise one or more of: sequence generation parameters for the second wake up signal, a frequency domain position for the second wake up signal, or a time domain position for the second wake up signal (P[0084], wake-up sequences; P[0099], generate a LPWUS with a sequence). Regarding claim 13 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second device is one candidate device of a plurality of candidate devices, and wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: select the second device from the plurality of candidate devices for monitoring the first wake up signal (P[0175], the relay UE then selects those remote UEs for which the relay UE did not detect a group WUS ACK). Regarding claim 14 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein to select the second device, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: select, based on a battery condition of each candidate device of the plurality of candidate devices, the second device from the plurality of candidate devices for monitoring the first wake up signal (P[0086], measurement report from the candidate UEs…transmit power of the UEs; P[0166], capabilities of (candidate) relay UEs battery power). Regarding claim 15 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: receive, from the plurality of candidate devices, control information for the battery condition for each candidate device of the plurality of candidate devices (P[0086], measurement report from the candidate UEs…transmit power of the UEs; P[0166], capabilities of (candidate) relay UEs battery power). Regarding claim 16 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: transmit, for the second device over the sidelink, a verification signal to the second device; and monitor a response signal for the verification signal from the second device (P[0179], relay UE sets one or more timers to receive WUS ACKs from the remote UEs in the group). Regarding claim 17 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein to transmit the verification signal to the second device, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the first device to: transmit the verification signal to the second device periodically based on a periodicity (P[0147], the remote UE may periodically wake-up and listen for a reference signal (e.g., synchronization signal) from a relay UE. If it detects the reference signal and decodes the relay ID, it can setup a D2D, or sidelink, channel to the relay UE). Regarding claim 18 , Bala teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to: monitor, in response to a lack of the response signal for the verification signal from the second device, the first wake up signal( (P[0179], relay UE sets one or more timers to receive WUS ACKs from the remote UEs in the group; P[0182], group-wakeup had failed; failure notification). Claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Bala)(US 2025/0227784) in view of Sobol et al. (hereinafter Sobol)(US 2023/0046739) . Regarding claim 3, Bala teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the second device is a user equipment (UE), and the first device is a companion device of the UE. However, Sobol teaches in an analogous art wherein the second device is a user equipment (UE), and the first device is a companion device of the UE(Fig. 1; P[0137], wake up signal being sent from the wearable electronic device). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus having wake up signal being sent from the wearable electronic device in order to have low pwer connectivity. Regarding claim 5, Bala teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the sidelink is an ultra-wide band sidelink. However, Sobol teaches in an analogous art wherein the sidelink is an ultra-wide band sidelink (P[0046], short-range or very short-range radio signals using a suitable NFC, or in the alternative through one or more short-range protocols or wireless interfaces such as Bluetooth, WiFi, Zigbee, BLE, 6LoWPAN, IrDa, RFID or the like; also P[0072]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein the sidelink is an ultra-wide band sidelink in order to have low power connectivity . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Bala)(US 2025/0227784) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2022/0022279) . Regarding claim 12, Bala teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to, after being configured to receive the second wake up signal: receive, from the second device, downlink control information (DCI) parameters. However, Sobol teaches in an analogous art wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to, after being configured to receive the second wake up signal: receive, from the second device, downlink control information (DCI) parameters( Fig. 9; wakeup signal indicating DCI monitoring sidelink to the terminal performing SL-DRX may be transmitted ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to cause the first device to, after being configured to receive the second wake up signal: receive, from the second device, downlink control information (DCI) parameters in order to have improved efficiency . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MUTHUSWAMY GANAPATHY MANOHARAN whose telephone number is (571)272-5515. The examiner can normally be reached 6:30am-3:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison T Slater can be reached at 571-270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan et al. (hereinafter Bala)(US 2025/0227784) in view of Sobol et al. (hereinafter Sobol)(US 2023/0046739) . Regarding claim 3, Bala teaches all the particulars of the claim except the apparatus,. However, Sobol teaches in an analogous art. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the apparatus in order to have low power connectivity. Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 2 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 3 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 4 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 5 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 6 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 7 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 8 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/608,429 Page 9 Art Unit: 2647