DETAILED ACTION
2. The Examiner has required restriction on 03/17/2026 between Group I Claims 1-13 and Group II claims 14-20.
Applicant elected Group I, claims 1-19 for continued examination without Traverse.
3. This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/18/2026 where claims 1-13, 21-27 are pending. Claims 14-20 are cancelled. Claim 21-27 are new claims.
Drawings
5. The drawings were received on 03/18/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation in line 1, “the request”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because limitation "the request" was not recited before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10, 13, 21-27 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. (US 20230025799 A1 ) hereinafter Goel and further in view of Guo et al. (US 20250392582 A1)hereinafter Guo
As to claim 1. Goel teaches A method comprising:
obtaining, by a processing system including at least one processor, a network function profile registration from a first network function of a communication network; ([0023][0030] Fig. 1, a computer readable medium located on a single device or computing platform, having stored thereon computer executable instructions that when executed by the processor obtains network function NF profile)
maintaining, by the processing system, a network function profile of the first network function in accordance with the network function profile registration, wherein for at least a first network slice serviced by the first network function, ([0044] Fig. 2NSSF 216 sends a NF profile registration message 201 that includes the services offered by NSSF 216 to NRF 214. NSSF 216 is responsible for maintaining network slice instance information of network slices the NSSF supports along with the related network slice instance identifiers (e.g., NSI-IDs). After receiving registration message 201, NRF 214 registers and records the NF profile of NSSF 216 and its associated services in a local registry.)
the network function profile of the first network function associates network slice load information of the first network slice at the first network function and at least one identifier of the first network slice;([0044] [0045] Fig. 2, NSSF 216 is responsible for maintaining network slice instance information of network slices the NSSF supports along with the related network slice instance identifiers (e.g., NSI-IDs); NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 sends a subscription request message 203 in order to request and receive the network traffic load levels for the network functions (and associated NF services) that are instantiated and/or belonging to the network slice instances spawned by NSMF 212.)
obtaining, by the processing system, a network function profile update of the first network function, the network function profile update including first network slice load information of the first network slice and the at least one identifier of the first network slice;([0044][0048]Fig. 2, NSSF 216 is responsible for maintaining network slice instance information of the network slices the NSSF supports along with the related network slice instance identifiers (e.g., NSI-IDs); , update message 206 can be provided by NSMF 212 to NSSF 216 via a push mechanism (i.e., a send message) immediately after the receiving and processing of the NF status update information (e.g., network traffic load level change information))
updating, by the processing system, the network function profile of the first network function in accordance with the network function profile update; ([0053] Fig. 4, status updates (e.g., network traffic load level data) corresponding to NF instances belonging to network slice instances (created by the NSMF) is subscribes to network traffic load level updates corresponding to network functions (and containing NF services) that were instantiated as part of network slice instances the NSMF has spawned)
Goel does not teach and providing, by the processing system to a recipient network function, network function profile information of the first network function in accordance with the network function profile.
Guo teaches providing, by the processing system to a recipient network function, network function profile information of the first network function in accordance with the network function profile. ([0296][0297] first network function network element can obtain data or a model in the service area range, or first network function network element has permission to request second network function network element to provide data or a model in the service area range first service domain information indicates a service area range allowed by a service obtaining capability of the first network function network element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Guo with the teaching of Goel because Guo teaches that receiving services from second network function network element when the verification on the first token succeeds would prevent a malicious NF service consumer from obtaining the service by using the first token without authorization, thereby reducing a potential security risk. (Guo [0018])
Claims 13 and 21 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 2 the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Goel teaches wherein the at least one identifier of the first network slice comprises at least one of
:a single network slice selection assistance information of the first network slice; or a network slice instance identifier of the first network slice. ([0044] Fig. 2, NSSF 216 is responsible for maintaining network slice instance information of the network slices the NSSF supports along with the related network slice instance identifiers (e.g., NSI-IDs).)
Claim 22 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3 the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Goel teaches wherein the network function profile information comprises at least the first network slice load information of the first network slice. ([0052] [0053] Fig. 4, NSMF registers its NF profile (which includes the NSMF services) with the NRF; the NSMF subscribes to network traffic load level updates corresponding to network functions (and containing NF services) that were instantiated as part of network slice instances the NSMF has spawned.)
Claim 23 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 4 the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Goel teaches, wherein the network function profile information further comprises at least one of: the single network slice selection assistance information of the first network slice or the network slice instance identifier of the first network slice. ([0044] Fig. 2, NSSF 216 is responsible for maintaining network slice instance information of the network slices the NSSF supports along with the related network slice instance identifiers (e.g., NSI-IDs).)
Claim 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 5. the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Guo teaches, wherein the request is from a session management function. ([0295] if an NF service consuming network element is an SMF network element, and an NF service providing network element is a PCF network element, the SMF network element requests the SM policy control service from the PCF network element.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Guo with the teaching of Goel because Guo teaches that receiving services from second network function network element when the verification on the first token succeeds would prevent a malicious NF service consumer from obtaining the service by using the first token without authorization, thereby reducing a potential security risk. (Guo [0018])
Claim 25 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 6. the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Guo teaches, wherein the first network function comprises a user plane function. ([0100] Fig. 1, CN part may include but is not limited to the following network functions (NF): a user plane function (UPF) 130,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Guo with the teaching of Goel because Guo teaches that receiving services from second network function network element when the verification on the first token succeeds would prevent a malicious NF service consumer from obtaining the service by using the first token without authorization, thereby reducing a potential security risk. (Guo [0018])
Claim 26 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 7 the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Goel teaches,, wherein the processing system comprises a processing system of a network repository function. ([0023] [0029] Fig. 1, the network includes NRF 100 and a service communications proxy (SCP) 101)
Claim 27 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
As to claim 9. the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Guo teaches wherein the request is from a network data analytics function. ([0125] Fig. 2, S201: The NF service consumer NFc (for example, an NWDAF) sends an access token request message #1 to an authorization function network element (for example, a network repository function network element NRF).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Guo with the teaching of Goel because Guo teaches that receiving services from second network function network element when the verification on the first token succeeds would prevent a malicious NF service consumer from obtaining the service by using the first token without authorization, thereby reducing a potential security risk. (Guo [0018])
As to claim 10 the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Goel teaches, wherein the obtaining of the network function profile update comprises: ([0044][0048]Fig. 2, NSSF 216 is responsible for maintaining network slice instance information of the network slices the NSSF supports along with the related network slice instance identifiers (e.g., NSI-IDs); , update message 206 can be provided by NSMF 212 to NSSF 216 via a push mechanism (i.e., a send message) immediately after the receiving and processing of the NF status update information (e.g., network traffic load level change information))
transmitting a network function profile update request to the first network function; ([0045]Fig. 2, After registering as a custom network function, NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 can be configured to subscribe with NRF 214 to receive status update information from designated NFs (e.g., NF network traffic load level information/updates/changes; NSMF 212 and/or orchestration engine 220 sends a subscription request message 203 in order to request and receive the network traffic load levels for the network functions (and associated NF services) that are instantiated and/or belonging to the network slice instances spawned by NSMF 212)
and receiving the network function profile update in response to the network function profile update request. ([0046] Fig. 2, Since NSMF 212 is subscribed to NRF 214 four network function status updates, NSMF 212 will promptly receive this network traffic load level change information from the NRF 214)
As to claim 12. the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Guo teaches further comprising: obtaining a request for network function profile information of the first network function, wherein the providing of the network function profile information is in response to the request. ([0125] [0203] Fig. 2, S201: The NF service consumer NFc (for example, an NWDAF) sends an access token request message #1 to an authorization function network element NRF, he NRF sends an access token response message #1 to the NFc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Guo with the teaching of Goel because Guo teaches that receiving services from second network function network element when the verification on the first token succeeds would prevent a malicious NF service consumer from obtaining the service by using the first token without authorization, thereby reducing a potential security risk. (Guo [0018])
Claim(s) 8 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel, Guo and further in view of Rodrigo et al. (US 20230275974 A1)hereinafter Rodrigo
As to claim 8 the combination of Goel and Guo specifically Goel teaches wherein a transmission of the network function profile registration from the first network function to the processing system
([0044] Fig. 2, NSSF 216 sends a NF profile registration message 201 that includes the services offered by NSSF 216 to NRF 214.)
the combination of Goel and Guo does not teach is a mandatory functionality of the first network function.
Rodrigo teaches is a mandatory functionality of the first network function. ([0125] Fig. 2A, Fig. 7A, , the first request 604 received at the first SCP node 10 comprises one or more identifiers (e.g. the NF instance Id of the first NF node 20) that allow the first NF node 20 to be (e.g. uniquely) identified; it can be mandatory for the first request 604 to comprise the one or more identifiers)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Rodrigo with the teaching of Goel and Guo because Rodrigo teaches that first network node supports a certain functionality to work and thus the network node operation is advantageously improved. (Rodrigo [0267])
Claim(s) 11 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel, Guo and further in view of Tornkvist et al. (US 20230412408 A1)hereinafter Tornkvist
As to claim 11 the combination of Goel and Guo does not teach wherein the obtaining of the network function profile update is in accordance with a reporting algorithm of the first network function.
Tornkvist teaches wherein the obtaining of the network function profile update is in accordance with a reporting algorithm of the first network function.([0048] [0050] Fig. 1, Fig. 2, the first NF 200, upon having received the report in step S104 from the second NF 300, responds back to the second NF 300 with updated reporting instructions; wherein the obtaining of the network function profile update is in accordance with a reporting algorithm of the first network function. S108: The first NF 200 sends the reporting instructions as updated for the session with the second NF 300)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Tornkvist with the teaching of Goel and Guo because Tornkvist teaches that computer program product, enable a reduction of the message size of reports prepared and sent by the second NF to the first NF, thus increasing the performance for both the sending NF i.e., the second NF and the receiving NF i.e., the first NF (Tornkvist [0025])
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TSUDA; Shinichiro [US 20260046211 A1] INFORMATION PROCESSING DEVICE
Shahdad; Dawood et al. [US 20240022895 A1] NRF DISCOVERY FOR INTER-NETWORK COMMUNICATION
Rajput; Jay et al. [US 20220295282 A1] METHODS, SYSTEMS, AND COMPUTER READABLE MEDIA FOR DELEGATED AUTHORIZATION AT SECURITY EDGE PROTECTION PROXY (SEPP)
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413