DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/24 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a storage”, “a display”, and “a controller” in claim 1.
A review of the specification of the patent publication US 2024/0393991 shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification of the patent publication for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
[0035] The controller 11 controls the entire terminal device 10. The controller 11 is configured by, for example, one or more arithmetic devices (such as Central Processing Units (CPU) and the like). The controller 11 realizes its functions by reading and executing various programs stored in the storage 19.
[0036] The display 13 is a display device that displays various kinds of information to a user or the like. The display 13 can be configured by, for example, a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), an organic Electro-luminescence (EL) display or the like.
[0039] The storage 19 is a storage device that stores various programs required for the operation of the terminal device 10 and various types of data. The storage 19 can be constituted by storage devices such as a Random Access Memory (RAM), a Hard Disk Drive (HDD), a Solid State Drive (SSD), a Read Only Memory (ROM) and the like, for example.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibuya (US 2023/0273759).
Regarding claim 1, Shibuya teaches an information processing apparatus comprising (information processing apparatus 101; ¶¶ 0018-0020, Fig. 1):
a storage that stores an application capable of supporting print settings corresponding to a device in cooperation with a printer driver (printer driver and extension application 204; ¶¶ 0023-0026);
a display that displays a user interface screen on the basis of the application (print setting screen; ¶ 0029, ¶ 0048); and
a controller that determines the printer driver associated with the application (IPP Class Driver or UP Class Driver; ¶ 0030),
wherein the controller determines display contents of the user interface screen in accordance with the printer driver associated with the application (output print setting information; ¶¶ 0029-0031, ¶ 0048).
Regarding claim 2, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines to display the user interface screen with different display contents between when it is determined that the printer driver is an Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) class driver and when it is determined that the printer driver is a universal print class driver (“each of IPP Class Driver and UP Class Driver acquires capability information about the connected printing apparatus 1004 in such a way as to enable the user to designate a print function”; ¶¶ 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 3, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the display contents are contents related to some of the print settings that are not supported by the universal print class driver (print restriction information; ¶¶ 0064-0067, ¶ 0083, Figs. 6-7, ¶ 0086).
Regarding claim 4, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein some of the print settings not supported by the universal print class driver include a manuscript size, a sheet size, and a sheet type (print restrictions; ¶ 0067, ¶ 0083, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the controller determines whether the printer driver associated with the application is the IPP class driver or the universal print class driver on a basis of a compatibility identifier obtained from device information managed by an Operating System (“device ID has, appended thereto, information (for example, information indicating a prefix) indicating whether the print data generation software 202 with which the extension application 204 is associated is IPP Class Driver or UP Class Driver”; ¶ 0078).
Regarding claim 6, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the controller determines, when the compatibility identifier could not be obtained, whether the printer driver associated with the application is the IPP class driver or the universal print class driver on the basis of a driver name obtained from the device information (“device ID has, appended thereto, information (for example, information indicating a prefix) indicating whether the print data generation software 202 with which the extension application 204 is associated is IPP Class Driver or UP Class Driver”; ¶ 0078).
Regarding claim 7, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller displays the printer driver associated with the application in an identifiable manner on the user interface screen (“the name of a printing apparatus in which printing has failed, the type of a printing apparatus, and a connection configuration, can also be displayed”; ¶ 0086).
Regarding claim 8, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines the printer driver associated with the application by using selection of the device as a trigger each time a printing operation is started (¶ 0031).
Regarding claim 9, Shibuya teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines display contents of the user interface screen in accordance with the printer driver associated with the application at the time of activation of the application (¶¶ 0030-0031, ¶ 0048).
Claims 10 and 11 recite similar limitations as claim 1, arguments similar to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claims 10 and 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiohara (US 2024/0036783) teaches An information processing apparatus that performs printing with either an IPP Class Driver or a UP Class Driver.
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681