DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) documents submitted on March 18, 2024, Feb 11, 2025, August 27, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “ the first one-way transmission member being configured to…”, “the second one-way transmission member being configured to...” in claim 1, “ the one-way transmission member being configured to…”, “ a controller configured to…” in claim 16, “ the controller is further configured to…” in claim 17, and claim 18 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first one-way transmission member, second one-way transmission member …” in claim 1, “the one-way transmission member”, “ the controller” in claim 16, “the controller “ in claim 17, claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Yim et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2011/0268433 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Yim et al. discloses an angle controlling apparatus ( Para 9; a pan-tilt apparatus for a surveillance camera that enables only a camera to perform a panning/tilting motion by separating a motion converter and a motor installer, and thereby may readily watch even a fast moving object) comprises:
a projector (Para 9; surveillance camera wherein the camera can be considered as a projector wherein it captures light to form an image on a sensor) ;
a bracket coupled to the projector (claim 11; a bracket for receiving a camera and a sensor in an upper portion of the connection shaft of the motion converter) ;
a motor configured to generate power for rotating the bracket ( Para 12; driving unit including a first motor and a second motor ) ;
a motor driver (Para 79; power supply 531 may be supplied with an alternating current. The motor driver 532 may selectively receive first and second motor control signals to drive the first and second motors 880 and 882 of the driving unit 900 so that the support portion 500 may perform the panning motion or tilting motion by means of the motion converter 800.) configured to supply a driving current to the motor;
a one-way transmission member (Para 79; first and second worms 741 and 742 of the motion converter 800 ) connecting the bracket and the motor, the one-way transmission member being configured to:
transmit the power for rotating the bracket generated by the motor to the bracket ( Para 79-80; The controller 535 may be supplied with the DC output from the power supply 531 and receive the sensed position signals output from the first and second position sensors 533 and 534 to thereby determine a position of the support portion 500. That is, the controller 535 may receive the sensed position signal output from each of the first and second position sensors 533 and 534 to determine a panning motion angle or a tilting motion angle of the holder 504 of the support portion 500),
and prevent rotation force of the bracket from being transmitted to the motor (Para 80; the controller 535 may sequentially output the first and second motor control signals at a predetermined time interval and thereby enables the support portion 500 to be panned and then be tilted, or to be tilted and then be panned. When the portion is panned first, there is no force to transmit for it to be tilted and vice versa); and
a controller (Para 80; controller 535) configured to:
perform a driving process for rotating the bracket by controlling the motor driver ( Para 79-80; he first and second position sensors 533 and 534 may be installed in the bracket 550 to be adjacent to the first and second worms 741 and 742 of the motion converter 800, respectively, and thereby sense rotation positions of the first and second worms 741 and 742 to output sensed position signals. The controller 535 may be supplied with the DC output from the power supply 531 and receive the sensed position signals output from the first and second position sensors 533 and 534 to thereby determine a position of the support portion 500.), perform a driving detection process for detecting a result of the driving process, and perform a standby process for limiting power generation of the motor based on a result of the driving detection process (Para 80; When the position of the support portion 500 is determined, the controller 535 may receive an external control signal CTL to determine whether the external control signal CTL corresponds to an active mode or a standby mode, and may generate and selectively output first and second motor control signals for the panning motion or the tilting motion of the support portion 500. For example, in the standby mode, the controller 535 may sequentially output the first and second motor control signals at a predetermined time interval and thereby enables the support portion 500 to be panned and then be tilted, or to be tilted and then be panned.) .
Regarding claim 19, Yim et al. discloses an angle controlling method of an electronic device (Para 9; a pan-tilt apparatus for a surveillance camera that enables only a camera to perform a panning/tilting motion by separating a motion converter and a motor installer, and thereby may readily watch even a fast moving object, for example, a vehicle.), the angle controlling method comprising:
receiving an input, tilting, using a motor (Para 78; first and second motors), a bracket coupled to the electronic device (Para 68; bracket 550) based on the received input (Para 80; the controller 535 may receive an external control signal CTL to determine whether the external control signal CTL corresponds to an active mode or a standby mode),
panning, using the motor, based on the received input, determining whether the tilting and the panning are performed to an input location (Para 9, 80; the controller 535 may receive an external control signal CTL to determine whether the external control signal CTL corresponds to an active mode or a standby mode; surveillance camera with specified location), and when the tilting and the panning are performed to the input location, performing standby using a one-way transmission member ( Para 60, 79, 80, 80; first and second worms 741 and 742 of the motion converter 800; sense rotation positions of the first and second worms 741 and 742 to output sensed position signals.
The controller 535 may be supplied with the DC output from the power supply 531 and receive the sensed position signals output from the first and second position sensors 533 and 534 to thereby determine a position of the support portion 500. That is, the controller 535 may receive the sensed position signal output from each of the first and second position sensors 533 and 534 to determine a panning motion angle or a tilting motion angle of the holder 504 of the support portion 500) configured to prevent the motor from being moved by an external force, without separate power consumption of the motor (Para 80; in the standby mode, the controller 535 may sequentially output the first and second motor control signals at a predetermined time interval and thereby enables the support portion 500 to be panned and then be tilted, or to be tilted and then be panned. Since the support portion is not simultaneously panned and titled , there is no additional force to push the support portion to pan when it is tilted or tilt when it is panned).
Regarding claim 20, Yim et al. discloses wherein the one-way transmission
member comprises a worm coupled to a rotation shaft of the motor (Para 76-77; when the first and/or second motors 880 and 882 are driven, the first lower pulley 780 connected to the first motor shaft 860 of the first motor 880 and the first upper pulley 770 connected to the first belt 790 may rotate; second worm shaft 762 connected to the second upper pulley 772 rotates, the second worm gear 752 installed in the second worm shaft 762 may also rotate ) and a worm wheel engaged with the worm (Para 76; worm gear 750 installed in the first worm shaft 760 may also rotate; second worm gear 752 installed in the second worm shaft 762), and wherein the standby are performed by the worm and the worm wheel (Para 78-80; The first and second position sensors 533 and 534 may be installed in the bracket 550 to be adjacent to the first and second worms 741 and 742 of the motion converter 800, respectively, and thereby sense rotation positions of the first and second worms 741 and 742 to output sensed position signals. The controller 535 may receive the sensed position signal output from each of the first and second position sensors 533 and 534 to determine a panning motion angle or a tilting motion angle of the holder 504 of the support portion 500. When the position of the support portion 500 is determined, the controller 535 may receive an external control signal CTL to determine whether the external control signal CTL corresponds to an active mode or a standby mode, and may generate and selectively output first and second motor control signals for the panning motion or the tilting motion of the support portion 500. In the standby mode, the controller 535 may sequentially output the first and second motor control signals at a predetermined time interval and thereby enables the support portion 500 to be panned and then be tilted, or to be tilted and then be panned.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17,18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 17, Yim et al. discloses the controller (Para 80; controller 535) .
However, the prior art does not disclose “wherein the controller is further
configured to perform a space detection process for detecting a preset space and rotating the bracket to emit a preset beam when the angle controlling apparatus is located in the preset space” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, Yim et al. discloses the controller (Para 80; controller 535).
However, the prior art does not disclose the controller is further configured to perform a location detection process for rotating the bracket to emit a beam to a set position, when the projector is located in a predetermined space” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, prior art on record Yim et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2011/0268433) discloses an angle controlling apparatus (Para 9; a pan-tilt apparatus for a surveillance camera that enables only a camera to perform a panning/tilting motion by separating a motion converter and a motor installer, and thereby may readily watch even a fast moving object, for example, a vehicle) comprising:
a housing comprising an upper housing and a lower housing (Para 66; support portion 500 has upper cover and lower cover 520);
a bracket inside the housing and configured to be coupled to an electronic device (Para 68; bracket 550; Para 31; Claim 11; a bracket for receiving a camera) ;
a first motor ( Para 14; first motor and second motor that is driven to perform panning/tilting of the camera)) inside the housing and configured to generate power for rotating the bracket in a vertical direction;
a first one-way transmission member (Para 14; first and second worms) connecting the bracket and the first motor,
a second motor (Para 14; first motor and second motor that is driven to perform panning/tilting of the camera) inside the housing and configured to generate power for rotating the lower housing in left and right directions.
However, the prior art does not disclose “ the first one-way transmission member being configured to: transmit the power for rotating the bracket in the vertical direction from the first motor to the bracket, and in a state in which a first force is acting on the bracket, prevent the first force from being transmitted to the first motor; and
a second one-way transmission member connecting the lower housing and the second
motor, the second one-way transmission member being configured to:
transmit the power for rotating the lower housing in the left and right directions
generated by the second motor to the lower housing, and in a state in which a second force is acting on the lower housing, prevent the second force from being transmitted to the second motor” in combination of other limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-15 are allowed as being dependent from claim 1.
Conclusion
/XI WANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637