Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-13,15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAXÉR et al (US 20200382256 A1) hereinafter as FAXÉR in view of Huang et al (US 20220369352 A1) hereinafter as Huang.
Regarding claim(s) 1,10,13, FAXÉR discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors being configured to, individually or collectively, based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories ((See Fig(s). 5, host 24 with memory 46, processor 44),
receive a plurality of physical downlink control channels (PDCCHs) corresponding to a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), each of the plurality of PDCCHs conveying a respective downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a respective one of the plurality of PDSCHs, each of the plurality of PDSCHs associated with an actual redundancy version value of a set of redundancy version values, wherein the respective DCI (See Fig(s). 3, See ¶ 8,49, A wireless device first decodes a PDCCH and if a PDCCH is decoded successfully, it then decodes the corresponding PDSCH based on the decoded DCI in the PDCCH…. See ¶ 63,66, 185, the processing circuitry is further configured to set a redundancy version field to a predefined value as part of the indication, for CSI reporting, of the configuration of the PUSCH without the associated shared channel data.);
omits an indication of the actual redundancy version value, and the one or more processors are further configured to obtain the actual redundancy version value based on a predetermined deterministic function (See ¶ 64, 70, 186, the indication, for CSI reporting, of the configuration of the PUSCH without the associated shared channel data is indicated in downlink control information, DCI, that is configured to omit an indication of a transport block size for the shared channel data.).
Faxer further discloses the one or more processors are further configured to: store the plurality of PDCCHs corresponding to the plurality of PDSCHs corresponding to the set of redundancy version values in the one or more memories See Fig(s). 5, host 24 with memory 46, processor 44 for storage of redundancy versions).
FAXÉR fails to disclose an indicated redundancy version value, and the one or more processors are further configured to map the indicated redundancy version value to the actual redundancy version value using a predetermined sequence that includes all elements of the set of redundancy version values, or includes a redundancy version pattern indicator value, and the one or more processors are further configured to identify one of at least two sequences of the actual redundancy version value based on the redundancy version pattern indicator value;
soft combine the stored plurality of PDCCHs to produce a soft combined PDCCH; and decode a soft combined DCI of the soft combined PDCCH.
Huang discloses includes an indicated redundancy version value, and the one or more processors are further configured See ¶ 79, A UE determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. … See ¶ 290, In some aspects concurrent channels may be established based on pulse position or offsets. In some aspects concurrent channels may be established based on time hopping sequences. In some aspects concurrent channels may be established based on pulse repetition frequencies, pulse positions or offsets, and time hopping sequences.) ;
soft combine the stored plurality of PDCCHs to produce a soft combined PDCCH; and decode a soft combined DCI of the soft combined PDCCH (See ¶ 217, 225-227, for a pair of PDCCH candidates comprising PDCCH1 and PDCCH2, UE may perform soft-combining for the pair of PDCCH candidates.).
Soft combining of PDCCH allows for scheduling using same PDSCH with same DCI format and thus reducing overall bandwidth usage.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Huang within FAXÉR, so as to improve bandwidth efficiency.
Claim(s) 2,14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAXÉR et al (US 20200382256 A1) hereinafter as FAXÉR in view of Huang et al (US 20220369352 A1) hereinafter as Huang, further in view of Reial et al (US 20210185683 A1 hereinafter as Reial.
Regarding claim(s) 2,14, Reial discloses wherein in an instance where the respective DCI omits the indication of the actual redundancy version value, the one or more processors are further configured to recognize that all DCI scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs within a given remaining minimum system information (RMSI) transmission time interval (TTI) are identical (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 44. The PBCH also informs the UE about the RMSI numerology. FIG. 2 shows an example of a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and RMSI transmission. In this example, the UE receives at least one SS Block and at least one redundancy version (RV) of the NR-PDSCH every 20 ms, while the Transmission Time Interval (TTI) of the RMSI is, e.g., 80 ms.).
RMSI maintains the critical system information with Synchronization Signal (SS) block.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Reial within FAXÉR, so RMSI maintains the critical system information with Synchronization Signal (SS) block between devices of interest to optimize device synchronization timing.
Regarding claim(s) 3,15, FAXÉR discloses wherein the predetermined deterministic function yields the actual redundancy version value based on a location in time of the respective one of the plurality of PDSCHs (See ¶ 63, the processing circuitry is further configured to set a redundancy version field to a predefined value as part of the indication, for CSI reporting, of the configuration of the PUSCH without the associated shared channel data.).
Regarding claim(s) 4,11,16, FAXÉR discloses wherein the predetermined deterministic function maps a system frame number to the actual redundancy version value (See ¶ 66).
Regarding claim(s) 5,17, FAXÉR discloses wherein the predetermined deterministic function is a modulo operation that is a function of a system frame number and a quantity of all elements of the set of redundancy version values (See ¶ 189, According to one or more embodiments, the processing circuitry 68 is further configured to set a redundancy version field to a predefined value as part of the indication, for CSI reporting, of the configuration of the PUSCH without the associated shared channel data.).
Regarding claim(s) 6,18, Huang discloses wherein the system frame number is a first system frame number of a given PDCCH or a second system frame number of a given PDSCH, and the first system frame number is different from the second system frame number (See ¶ 79). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 7,19, Huang discloses wherein in an instance where the respective DCI includes the indicated redundancy version value, the one or more processors are further configured to at least one of: utilize a cyclic function to map the indicated redundancy version value to the actual redundancy version value, or utilize a table that stores the indicated redundancy version value and a corresponding actual redundancy version value to map the indicated redundancy version value to the actual redundancy version value (See ¶ 56,Table 7.3.1.1). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 8,12,20, Huang discloses wherein in an instance where the respective DCI includes the redundancy version pattern indicator value, the redundancy version pattern indicator value indicates one of a predetermined plurality of redundancy version patterns for a corresponding plurality of use cases (See ¶ 79, A UE determines a PDCCH monitoring occasion on an active DL BWP from the PDCCH monitoring periodicity, the PDCCH monitoring offset, and the PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot. . Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 9, FAXÉR discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: store the plurality of PDSCHs associated with the set of redundancy version values in the one or more memories See Fig(s). 5, host 24 with memory 46, processor 44),;
Huang discloses soft combine the plurality of PDSCHs stored in the one or more memories, based on the actual redundancy version value respectively attributed to each of the plurality of PDSCHs stored in the one or more memories, to produce a soft combined PDSCH (See ¶ 217, 225-227, for a pair of PDCCH candidates comprising PDCCH1 and PDCCH2, UE may perform soft-combining for the pair of PDCCH candidates. For non-pair of PDCCH candidates, UE may not perform soft-combining for two PDCCH candidates.). and
Reial discloses decode a soft combined remaining minimum system information (RMSI) and/or other system information (OSI) of the soft combined PDSCH (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 44. The PBCH also informs the UE about the RMSI numerology. FIG. 2 shows an example of a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and RMSI transmission. In this example, the UE receives at least one SS Block and at least one redundancy version (RV) of the NR-PDSCH every 20 ms, while the Transmission Time Interval (TTI) of the RMSI is, e.g., 80 ms.). Reasons for combining same as claim 2.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411