Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinton et al (US 20180343073 A1) hereinafter as Hinton in view of Honkala et al (US 20230403182 A1) hereinafter as Honkala.
Regarding claim(s) 1,9,17, Hinton discloses a processing system (See Fig(s). 1) comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions (See Fig(s). 1, 5, See ¶ 45) and cause the processing system to:
generate a set of simulated channel information for a wireless signal propagating in a simulated physical space (See Fig(s). 1, 5, See ¶ abstract, 4,13-15, 25-26, calculate channel parameters for a radio channel simulator from postulated physical information about simulated motion of radio hardware (such as a radio transmitter and/or a receiver); signal attenuation (e.g. from walls, fog, free space path loss (FSPL), etc.); multipath (e.g. reflections from buildings, water or other large surfaces, etc.); and/or other environmental conditions in a postulated physical environment.).
Hinton fails to disclose generate a set of latent tensors based on the set of simulated channel information using a transformation machine learning model; generate a channel estimate based on the set of latent tensors using a decoder machine learning model; and take one or more actions based on the channel estimate.
Honkala discloses generate a set of latent tensors based on the set of simulated channel information using a transformation machine learning model (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ abstract, 4-6,79-80, , implement a machine learning model comprising at least one neural network and a transformation, wherein the transformation comprises at least one multiplicative layer or equalization; and input data into the machine learning model);
generate a channel estimate based on the set of latent tensors using a decoder machine learning model (See ¶ 84, a crude estimate of the channel (raw channel estimate) may be needed. To this end, the radio receiver 100 may calculate the raw channel estimate and interpolate it over the whole time-frequency); and take one or more actions based on the channel estimate (See Fig(s). 2, See ¶ 95, 192, based on the channel estimates a scaling of channel gain can be made).
Machine learning modeling with appropriate transformations can improve channel estimates with appropriate scaling of channel gains.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Honkala within Hinton, so as to improve overall channel transmission quality.
Regarding claim(s) 2,10, Honkala discloses wherein the transformation machine learning model comprises at least one of: (i) a transformer model, or (ii) a diffusion model (See Fig(s). 5 transformer model). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 3,11,18, Honkala discloses wherein, to generate the channel estimate, the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the processing system to: generate a vector representation based on processing the set of latent tensors using a vector quantization operation; and process the vector representation using the decoder machine learning model (See Fig(s). 2-3, See ¶ 84, 107, a crude estimate of the channel (raw channel estimate) may be needed. To this end, the radio receiver 100 may calculate the raw channel estimate and interpolate it over the whole time-frequency). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 4,12, Honkala discloses wherein the vector quantization operation comprises a learned codebook (See Fig(s). 2-3, See ¶ 54-56). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 5,13,19, Hinton discloses wherein: the simulated physical space corresponds to a real physical space, and the transformation machine learning model is site-specific to the real physical space (See ¶ abstract, 22).
Regarding claim(s) 6,14,20, Hinton discloses wherein, to take the one or more actions, the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the processing system to: (i) adjust one or more transmission parameters for wireless signals transmitted in the real physical space, or (ii) perform positioning for one or more objects in the real physical space (See ¶ 25, The channel simulator 106 produces, as output (using radio signals from the signal source 112 as input, as well as channel parameters from the channel parameter calculator 110 to modify the input signals).
Regarding claim(s) 7,15, Honkala discloses wherein the channel estimate comprises at least one of: (i) a channel frequency response, or (ii) a channel impulse response (See ¶ 84, the radio receiver 100 may calculate the raw channel estimate and interpolate it over the whole time-frequency grid using, for example, a simple nearest neighbor interpolation.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 8,16, Hinton discloses wherein the simulated channel information comprises simulated multipath components (See Fig(s). 4, See ¶ 11).
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411