DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the amendment filed on 07-27-2026. Claims 1, 10 and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Traynor et al. (US 2024/0419240).in view of Vanne et al. (US PAT. 11,375,333).
Consider Claim 1, Traynor teaches a spatial audio adjustment system for an amusement ride(see fig. 2), comprising:
a ride vehicle(see fig. 1); one or more motion sensors (see fig. 2(120))coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to generate motion data(see paragraphs [0028]) of a guest during a ride cycle of the amusement ride (see fig. 2 and paragraphs [0038], [0039]); one or more audio output devices coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to: one or more audio output devices coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to: output a spatial audio signal based on audio control instructions(see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0038], [0039]);
a controller(see figs. 2-3) configured to: receive the motion data; generate audio control instructions based at least on the motion data (paragraphs[0028]); and one or more audio output devices coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to: output a spatial audio signal based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs[0038]); but Traynor does not explicitly teach determine a change in distance between the one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest based on the motion data; and generate the audio control instructions based at least on the determined change in distance.
However, Vanne teaches controller(see fig. 3) configured to :receive the motion data; determine a change in distance between the one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest based on the motion data(se fig. 4); and generate the audio control instructions based at least on the determined change in distance(see figs. 1-8 and col.5, line 9-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Vanne in to the teaching of Traynor to provide a reproduce spatial audio based on head-to-torso orientation, are described. The method includes determining a head-to-source orientation and a head-to-torso orientation based on head orientation data generated by a head tracking device. Determining the head-to-torso orientation includes determining torso movements based on movements of the head. The torso can be determined to move when the head movements meet a head movement condition, such as a predetermined angle of movement or pattern of movement. A binaural audio filter that is based on a head-related transfer function corresponding to both the head-to-source orientation and the head-to-torso orientation is applied to an audio input signal to generate an audio output signal. The audio output signal is played to accurately recreate spatial audio having sounds emitted to the user by a sound source.
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the one or more audio output devices comprise a left speaker and a right speaker(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0029]]); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the audio control instructions change an audio distribution between the left speaker and the right speaker based on the motion data being indicative of the guest changing position relative to the left speaker and the right speaker during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0029],[0036]).
Consider Claims 4 and 5, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the spatial audio signal is output during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0038], [0039]); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the spatial audio signal is output during a subsequent ride cycle, and wherein the motion data is used to predict guest movement during the subsequent ride cycle(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs[0032], [0036], [0037]).
Consider Claims 6 and 7, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system comprising one or more user input devices configured to accept user input of the guest, and wherein the controller is configured to: receive the user input from the one or more user input devices; and generate the audio control instructions based on the user input(paragraphs[0028], [0031], [0034], [0036]); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the user input comprises an indication of a height of the guest, a spatial audio preference of the guest, or both(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0024], [0034], [0036]);.
Consider Claims 8 and 9, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the one or more user input devices comprise buttons, sliders, graphical user interfaces (GUIs), or a combination thereof(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0024], [0034], [0036]); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the one or more audio output devices are configured to output a calibration audio signal, and wherein the user input comprises calibration data responsive to the calibration audio signal(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0024], [0034], [0036]);
Consider Claim 10, Traynor teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable code that when executed by a processor(se fig.2(32)), causes the processor(see figs. 1-3 and paragraphs[0035],[0036]) to:
receive(see paragraph[0009]) simulated motion data of a guest during a ride cycle of an amusement ride(see figs.1-3); generate audio control instructions based at least on the simulated motion data(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0025], [0028], [0030]);
and transmit the audio control instructions to theone or more audio output devices to cause the one or more audio output devices to output a spatial audio signal based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs[0030], [0038]); but Traynor does not explicitly teach determine that the simulated motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest.
However, Vanne teaches determine(see fig. 3) that the simulated motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest; generate(see fig. 4) audio control instructions based at least on the change in distance; and transmit the audio control instructions to the one or more audio output devices to cause the one or more audio output devices to output a spatial audio signal based on the audio control instructions (see figs. 1-8 and col.5, line 9-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Vanne in to the teaching of Traynor to provide a reproduce spatial audio based on head-to-torso orientation, are described. The method includes determining a head-to-source orientation and a head-to-torso orientation based on head orientation data generated by a head tracking device. Determining the head-to-torso orientation includes determining torso movements based on movements of the head. The torso can be determined to move when the head movements meet a head movement condition, such as a predetermined angle of movement or pattern of movement. A binaural audio filter that is based on a head-related transfer function corresponding to both the head-to-source orientation and the head-to-torso orientation is applied to an audio input signal to generate an audio output signal. The audio output signal is played to accurately recreate spatial audio having sounds emitted to the user by a sound source.
Consider Claims 11 and 12, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the simulated motion data comprises a model of movements of the guest during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0030], [0034], [0036]); and the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the model comprises simulation of forces experienced by the guest during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0024], [0034], [0036]);
Consider Claims 13 and 14, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the one or more audio output devices comprise a left speaker and a right speaker(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0029]);
and the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the audio control instructions change an audio distribution between the left speaker and the right speaker based on the simulated motion data being indicative of the guest changing position relative to the left speaker and the right speaker during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0036]).
Consider Claim 15, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the processor-executable code, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: receive motion sensor data of the guest during the ride cycle of the amusement ride from one or more motion sensors coupled to a ride vehicle; and wherein: the audio control instructions are generated based on the motion sensor data and the simulated motion data(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0024], [0034], [0036]).
Consider Claim 16, Traynor teaches a method for adjusting spatial audio for an amusement ride(see figs. 1-2), comprising:
receiving, via a processor(see fig. 2), motion data of one or more guests during a ride cycle of the amusement ride from one or more motion sensors(see fig. 2(120)) coupled to a ride vehicle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0038], [0039]);
generating, via the processor, audio control instructions based at least on the motion data( paragraphs[0028]; and transmitting, via the processor(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs [0028]); the audio control instructions to the one or more audio output devices configured to output a spatial audio output based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 1-7 and paragraphs[0038], [0039]); but Traynor does not explicitly teach determining, via the processor, that the motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of a guest of the one or more guests; generating, via the processor, audio control instructions based at least on the change in distance.
However, Vanne teaches determining(see fig. 3), via the processor, that the motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of a guest of the one or more guests(see fig. 4) ;generating, via the processor, audio control instructions based at least on the change in distance; and transmitting, via the processor, the audio control instructions to the one or more audio output devices configured to output a spatial audio output based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 1-8 and col.5, line 9-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Vanne in to the teaching of Traynor to provide a reproduce spatial audio based on head-to-torso orientation, are described. The method includes determining a head-to-source orientation and a head-to-torso orientation based on head orientation data generated by a head tracking device. Determining the head-to-torso orientation includes determining torso movements based on movements of the head. The torso can be determined to move when the head movements meet a head movement condition, such as a predetermined angle of movement or pattern of movement. A binaural audio filter that is based on a head-related transfer function corresponding to both the head-to-source orientation and the head-to-torso orientation is applied to an audio input signal to generate an audio output signal. The audio output signal is played to accurately recreate spatial audio having sounds emitted to the user by a sound source.
Consider Claims 17 and 18, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the method wherein the one or more audio output devices comprise one or more speakers coupled to the ride vehicle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0028]); and the method wherein the audio control instructions change an audio distribution between the one or more speakers based on the motion data being indicative of the one or more guests changing position relative to the one or more speakers during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0028], [0036]).
Consider Claims 19 and 20, Traynor as modified by Vanne teaches the method wherein the motion data of the one or more guests comprises respective motion data for each of the one or more guests(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0028]); and the method wherein generating the audio control instructions based at least on the motion data comprises generating respective audio control instructions for each of the one or more guests based at least on the respective motion data(see figs. 2-7 and paragraphs[0022], [0028], [0036]).
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Giraldi (US PAT. 12,443,196).in view of Vanne et al. (US PAT. 11,375,333).
Consider Claim 1, Giraldi teaches a spatial audio adjustment system for an amusement ride(see figs. 1-3B), comprising:
a ride vehicle(see figs. 1-3B); one or more motion sensors coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to generate motion data of a guest during a ride cycle of the amusement ride(see figs. 1-3B and col.4, line 5-col. 6, line 67);
one or more audio output devices coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to: output a spatial audio signal based on audio control instructions; and
a controller(see fig. 4) configured to:
receive the motion data; generate audio control instructions based at least on the motion data; and one or more audio output devices coupled to the ride vehicle and configured to: output a spatial audio signal based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67); but Giraldi does not explicitly teach determine a change in distance between the one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest based on the motion data; and generate the audio control instructions based at least on the determined change in distance.
However, Vanne teaches controller(see fig. 3) configured to :receive the motion data; determine a change in distance between the one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest based on the motion data(se fig. 4); and generate the audio control instructions based at least on the determined change in distance(see figs. 1-8 and col.5, line 9-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Vanne in to the teaching of Giraldi to provide a reproduce spatial audio based on head-to-torso orientation, are described. The method includes determining a head-to-source orientation and a head-to-torso orientation based on head orientation data generated by a head tracking device. Determining the head-to-torso orientation includes determining torso movements based on movements of the head. The torso can be determined to move when the head movements meet a head movement condition, such as a predetermined angle of movement or pattern of movement. A binaural audio filter that is based on a head-related transfer function corresponding to both the head-to-source orientation and the head-to-torso orientation is applied to an audio input signal to generate an audio output signal. The audio output signal is played to accurately recreate spatial audio having sounds emitted to the user by a sound source.
Consider Claims 2-and 3, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the one or more audio output devices comprise a left speaker and a right speaker(see figs. 1-3B and col.5, line 5-col. 6, line 67); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the audio control instructions change an audio distribution between the left speaker and the right speaker based on the motion data being indicative of the guest changing position relative to the left speaker and the right speaker during the ride cycle(see figs. 1-3B and col.5, line 5-col. 6, line 67).
Consider Claims 4-and 5, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the spatial audio signal is output during the ride cycle(see figs. 1-3B and col.5, line 5-col. 6, line 67); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the spatial audio signal is output during a subsequent ride cycle, and wherein the motion data is used to predict guest movement during the subsequent ride cycle(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67)..
Consider Claims 6-and 7, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system comprising one or more user input devices configured to accept user input of the guest, and wherein the controller is configured to: receive the user input from the one or more user input devices; and generate the audio control instructions based on the user input(see figs. 1-3B and col.5, line 5-col. 6, line 67); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the user input comprises an indication of a height of the guest, a spatial audio preference of the guest, or both(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67)..
Consider Claims 8-and 9, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the one or more user input devices comprise buttons, sliders, graphical user interfaces (GUIs), or a combination thereof(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67); and the spatial audio adjustment system wherein the one or more audio output devices are configured to output a calibration audio signal, and wherein the user input comprises calibration data responsive to the calibration audio signal(see figs. 1-3B and col.5, line 5-col. 6, line 67).
Consider Claim 10, Giraldi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable code that when executed by a processor, causes the processor (see figs. 1-3B and Col.15, line 4-col. 16, line 67) to:
receive simulated motion data of a guest during a ride cycle of an amusement ride; generate audio control instructions based at least on the simulated motion data(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 9, line 67); and transmit the audio control instructions to the one or more audio output devices to cause the one or more audio output devices to output a spatial audio signal based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67); but Giraldi does not explicitly teach determine that the simulated motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest.
However, Vanne teaches determine(see fig. 3) that the simulated motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of the guest; generate(see fig. 4) audio control instructions based at least on the change in distance; and transmit the audio control instructions to the one or more audio output devices to cause the one or more audio output devices to output a spatial audio signal based on the audio control instructions (see figs. 1-8 and col.5, line 9-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Giraldi in to the teaching of Traynor to provide a reproduce spatial audio based on head-to-torso orientation, are described. The method includes determining a head-to-source orientation and a head-to-torso orientation based on head orientation data generated by a head tracking device. Determining the head-to-torso orientation includes determining torso movements based on movements of the head. The torso can be determined to move when the head movements meet a head movement condition, such as a predetermined angle of movement or pattern of movement. A binaural audio filter that is based on a head-related transfer function corresponding to both the head-to-source orientation and the head-to-torso orientation is applied to an audio input signal to generate an audio output signal. The audio output signal is played to accurately recreate spatial audio having sounds emitted to the user by a sound source.
Consider Claims 11 and 12, Giraldi teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the simulated motion data comprises a model of movements of the guest during the ride cycle(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67); and the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the model comprises simulation of forces experienced by the guest during the ride cycle(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67).
Consider Claims 13 and 14, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the one or more audio output devices comprise a left speaker and a right speaker(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67); and the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the audio control instructions change an audio distribution between the left speaker and the right speaker based on the simulated motion data being indicative of the guest changing position relative to the left speaker and the right speaker during the ride cycle(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67).
Consider Claim 15, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein the processor-executable code, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: receive motion sensor data of the guest during the ride cycle of the amusement ride from one or more motion sensors coupled to a ride vehicle; and wherein: the audio control instructions are generated based on the motion sensor data and the simulated motion data(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67).
Consider Claim 16, Giraldi teaches a method for adjusting spatial audio for an amusement ride(see figs. 1-3B), comprising:
receiving, via a processor(see figs. 1-3B and Col.15, line 4-col. 16, line 67), motion data of one or more guests during a ride cycle of the amusement ride from one or more motion sensors coupled to a ride vehicle; generating, via the processor, audio control instructions based at least on the motion data(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67); and transmitting, via the processor, the audio control instructions to one or more audio output devices configured to output a spatial audio output based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67); but Giraldi does not explicitly teach determining, via the processor, that the motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of a guest of the one or more guests; generating, via the processor, audio control instructions based at least on the change in distance.
However, Vanne teaches determining(see fig. 3), via the processor, that the motion data is indicative of a change in distance between one or more audio output devices and a head of a guest of the one or more guests(see fig. 4) ;generating, via the processor, audio control instructions based at least on the change in distance; and transmitting, via the processor, the audio control instructions to the one or more audio output devices configured to output a spatial audio output based on the audio control instructions(see figs. 1-8 and col.5, line 9-col. 6, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Vanne in to the teaching of Giraldi to provide a reproduce spatial audio based on head-to-torso orientation, are described. The method includes determining a head-to-source orientation and a head-to-torso orientation based on head orientation data generated by a head tracking device. Determining the head-to-torso orientation includes determining torso movements based on movements of the head. The torso can be determined to move when the head movements meet a head movement condition, such as a predetermined angle of movement or pattern of movement. A binaural audio filter that is based on a head-related transfer function corresponding to both the head-to-source orientation and the head-to-torso orientation is applied to an audio input signal to generate an audio output signal. The audio output signal is played to accurately recreate spatial audio having sounds emitted to the user by a sound source.
Consider Claims 17-and 18, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the method wherein the one or more audio output devices comprise one or more speakers coupled to the ride vehicle(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67); and the method wherein the audio control instructions change an audio distribution between the one or more speakers based on the motion data being indicative of the one or more guests changing position relative to the one or more speakers during the ride cycle(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67).
Consider Claims 19-and 20, Giraldi as modified by Vanne teaches the method wherein the motion data of the one or more guests comprises respective motion data for each of the one or more guests(see figs. 1-3B and Col.5, line-col. 6, line 67); and the method wherein generating the audio control instructions based at least on the motion data comprises generating respective audio control instructions for each of the one or more guests based at least on the respective motion data(see figs. 2-6 and col.10, line 15-col. 11, line 67).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Hall et al.(US 2018/0255285) is cited to show other SPATIAL AUDIO ADJUSTMENT SYSTEM FOR AN AMUSEMENT RIDE.
11. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M, can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2651 Patent Examiner
US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 08-14-2026