DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At present, the prior art to Sharrah et al. (U.S. Patent 9,816,661 B2) remains commensurate to the scope of the claims as stated by Applicant and as broadly interpreted by the Examiner [MPEP 2111], which is elucidated and expounded upon below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments concerning the limitation, “wherein the contact surface defines an axial offset height relative to the base measured axially along the arm axis, and wherein the contact surface defines a unique axial offset height in each of the plurality of deployed positions,” it should be noted that Applicant writes, “In contrast, Sharrah discloses a portable light 10 with deployable legs 30a, 30b that are pivotable such that the legs 30a, 30b remain at a single axial offset relative to the base 20 when measured relative to the axis of the telescoping pole 40,” but contends that Sharrah does not discloses the contact surface of the leg assembly defining a unique axial offset height in each of the deployed position. However, the claim language is merely claiming a “unique axial offset height in each of the deployed positions,” whereby unique is considered a broad and relative term. In other words, each of the contact surfaces of the leg assembly may be considered defining a unique axial offset height in each of the deployed positions in that they are at a certain distance along the arm axis. The claim language does not specifically detail that the uniqueness of each axial offset height are “different” from one another with respect to the arm axis.
All arguments hinge on the above and have been considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-27, 29-36, and 42-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,143,389. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both patent and application commonly recite the same limitations to the site light with the exception that the limitations are found in different claim combinations (e.g., Claims 21-22, 32 = Claim 1 of patent).
Claims 21-27, 29-36, and 42-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,674,673. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both patent and application commonly recite the same limitations to the site light with the exception that the limitations are found in different claim combinations (e.g., Claim 37 = Claim 14 of patent), as well as the patent teaching a power system with a battery terminal.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the site light of the present application to incorporated the power system with battery terminal, since such battery terminals are well known in the art for providing addition power options when AC inputs or plugs are unavailable.
Claims 21-27, 29-36, and 42-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,933,481. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both patent and application commonly recite the same limitations to the site light with the exception that the limitations are found in different claim combinations (e.g., Claims 21-23, 32-33 = Claim 1 of the patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharrah et al. (U.S. Patent 9,816,661 B2).
With regards to Claim 21, Sharrah discloses a site light [Figures 1-8] including:
A body [e.g., (20)], wherein the body includes a base [e.g., (22u) or (27)];
A telescopic arm assembly [e.g., (40)] coupled to the body, wherein the telescopic arm assembly defines an arm axis [note Figures 1-8: as defined by the longitudinal axis of the arm extension];
A light assembly [e.g., (70)] coupled to the telescopic arm and movable with respect to the body; and
A leg assembly [e.g., (30)] coupled to the body and including a contact surface [e.g., note surface(s) on (30a, 30b)], wherein the leg assembly is adjustable between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions [e.g., 2 legs are deployed in different positions], wherein the leg assembly includes a first lock mechanism [e.g., (32) // (32p, 32h)] configured to selectively secure the leg assembly in a respective one of the plurality of deployed positions, and a second lock mechanism [e.g., (34a)] configured to selectively secure the leg assembly in a stowed position, wherein the second lock mechanism is disengaged when the leg assembly is in one of the plurality of deployed positions [note Figures 1-8], and wherein the first lock mechanism is disengaged when the leg assembly is in the stowed position [note Figures 1-8]; and
Wherein the contact surface defines an axial offset height relative to the base measured axially along the arm axis [note Figures 1-8], and wherein the contact surface defines a unique axial offset height in each of the plurality of deployed positions [e.g., Figure 2D: each contact surface defines a unique axial offset height in each of the plurality of deployed positions that is unique/different with respect to the base or the light or the handle (60)].
With regards to Claim 22, Sharrah discloses the first lock mechanism and the second lock mechanism are individually actuatable [note Figures 1-8].
With regards to Claim 23, Sharrah discloses both the first lock mechanism and the second lock mechanism include an individually actuatable latch [note Figures 1-8].
With regards to Claim 24, Sharrah discloses one of the first lock mechanism and the second lock mechanism is mounted to the leg assembly, and wherein the other of the first lock mechanism and the second lock mechanism is mounted to the body [note Figures 1-8].
With regards to Claim 25, Sharrah discloses the first lock mechanism is mounted to the leg assembly [e.g., (32p, 32h)].
With regards to Claim 26, Sharrah discloses the second lock mechanism [e.g., (34a)] engages the leg proximate the contact surface [e.g., note the buttons on (30a, 30b)].
With regards to Claim 27, Sharrah discloses the first lock mechanism [e.g., (32p, 32h)] interacts with the leg proximate an end of the leg opposite the contact surface [note Figures 1-8 – end, as broadly interpreted].
With regards to Claim 29, Sharrah discloses the first lock mechanism [e.g., (32)] includes a lock element [e.g., (32)] pivotably coupled to the leg, and wherein the lock element is pivotable between an engaged position, in which the lock element engages the body, and a disengaged position, in which the lock element does not engage the body [note Figures 1-8, as broadly interpreted].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharrah et al. (U.S. Patent 9,816,661 B2).
With regards to Claim 30, Sharrah discloses the claimed invention as cited above. In addition, Sharrah teaches a light assembly/pod [e.g., (70)] including a housing [e.g., outside of (70)], a light module [e.g., “LEDs”] supported by the housing, a pivot bracket coupled to one end of the housing [e.g., (44a)], and a handle [e.g., (60)] opposite the pivot bracket, but does not specifically teach the light assembly includes a plurality of light pods movably coupled thereto.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have duplicated the light pod to be a plurality of light pods movably coupled thereto, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In this case, providing for a plurality of light pods movably coupled thereto would provide increased illumination in multiple directions as desired.
With regards to Claim 31, Sharrah discloses the pivot bracket providing two degrees of freedom [note Figures 1-8 and Column 7, Lines 48-52].
Claims 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibran (U.S. Patent 4,215,839 A) in view of Sharrah et al. (U.S. Patent 9,816,661 B2).
With regards to Claim 32, Gibran discloses a site light [Figures 1-13] including:
A body (10) including a plurality of tracks (12),
An assembly coupled to the body [see Abstract: “support of a camera or other apparatus”]; and
A plurality of leg assemblies (16), each leg assembly coupled to the body and operable independently of each other, wherein each leg assembly is independently adjustable between a stowed position and one or more deployed positions, wherein each leg assembly includes:
A first lock mechanism (30) configured to selectively secure the leg assembly in a respective one of the one or more deployed positions,
A second lock mechanism (34) configured to selectively secure the leg assembly in the stowed position,
A leg (16) with a first end movably coupled to and configured to move along a corresponding track of the body and a second end opposite the first end that defines a contact surface (54), and wherein moving the first end along the corresponding track causes the leg assembly to adjust between the stowed position and the one or more deployed positions [note Figures 1-13].
Gibran does not specifically teach the assembly being a light assembly, which is taught by Sharrah [note Figures 1-8: (70)].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Gibran to be a light assembly, which is commonly known as taught in principle by Sharrah. Such an obvious configuration is well-known and established with respect to light supports.
With regards to Claim 33, Gibran discloses the first lock mechanism (30) being adjustable between an unlocked configuration, in which the first end of the leg is movable along the corresponding track, and a locked configuration, in which the first end of the leg is not movable along the corresponding track [note Figures 1-13].
With regards to Claim 34, Gibran discloses the second lock mechanism (34) being configured to fix the second end of the leg relative to the track [note Figures 1-13].
With regards to Claim 35, Gibran discloses the track (12) defines a track volume, and wherein the second end of the leg is positioned within the track volume when the leg is in the stowed position [note Figures 1-13].
With regards to Claim 36, Gibran discloses the second end of the leg is not within the track volume when the leg (16) is in the one or more deployed positions [note Figures 1-13].
Allowable Subject Matter
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: With regards to Independent Claim 42, with the resolution of the double patenting rejection, the Applicant has sufficiently claimed and defined the site light including the body with a plurality of tracks, the light assembly coupled to the body, and the plurality of leg assemblies. The prior art fails to teach or suggest the combination of structural and functional limitations claimed therein, specifically to the details and dispositions of the plurality of tracks and/or the first and second lock mechanisms.
The prior art to Sharrah discloses a site light [Figures 1-8] including:
A body [e.g., (20)], wherein the body includes a base [e.g., (22) or (22L)];
A telescopic arm assembly [e.g., (40)] coupled to the body, wherein the telescopic arm defines an arm axis [note Figures 1-8];
A light assembly [e.g., (70)] coupled to the telescopic arm and movable with respect to the arm axis; and
A leg assembly [e.g., (30)] coupled to the body and including a contact surface [e.g., note surface(s) on (30a, 30b) – arbitrary], wherein the leg assembly is adjustable between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions [e.g., 2 legs are deployed in different positions], wherein the leg assembly includes a first lock mechanism [e.g., (32) // (32p, 32h)] configured to selectively secure the leg assembly in a respective one of the plurality of deployed positions, and a second lock mechanism [e.g., (34a)] configured to selectively secure the leg assembly in a stowed position, wherein the second lock mechanism is disengaged when the leg assembly is in one of the plurality of deployed positions [note Figures 1-8], and wherein the first lock mechanism is disengaged when the leg assembly is in the stowed position [note Figures 1-8], and
Wherein the contact surface defines an axial offset height relative to the base measured axially along (the) a longitudinal axis [note Figures 1-8], and wherein the contact surface defines a unique axial offset height in each of the plurality of deployed positions [note Figures 1-8: the contact surface each define a unique axial offset height in each of the plurality of deployed positions].
Sharrah does not specifically teach the plurality of tracks, and wherein
Each leg assembly includes a first lock mechanism mounted to and movable together with the leg assembly, where the first lock mechanism includes a lock element movably coupled to the leg, and wherein the lock element is movable between an engaged position, in which the lock element engages the body, and a disengaged position, in which the lock element does not engage the body), and
A leg with a first end movably coupled to and configured to move along a corresponding track of the body and a second end opposite the first end that defines a contact surface, and wherein moving the first end along the corresponding track causes the leg assembly to adjust between the stowed position and the one or more deployed positions.
Subsequent Claims 43-44 are allowed due to dependency.
Conclusion
Friday, March 13, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875