Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the methodology applied to each intended parameter is substantially similar. This is not found persuasive because there are diverse methods of determining which also were restricted.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the techniques are implemented as alternative or complementary modes within a single apparatus. This is not found persuasive because while a machine may be made/programmed to perform various techniques, the techniques themselves may still be different from one another.
For example, Cyclic Voltammetry typically applies a triangular potential sweep to the working electrode and measures the resulting current. In contrast, Impedance spectroscopy applies a small AC signal over a range of frequencies and measures the resulting voltage. Data is plotted as Nyquist or Bode plots. While the former is useful to reveal Redox potentials and formal potentials of electroactive species, reaction reversibility and kinetics, and Charge transfer rates and electrochemical surface area while the latter is used for Charge-transfer resistance, ohmic resistance, double-layer capacitance, diffusion processes or Degradation features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-7, 13-15 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 16, 2026.
Claim 21 is directed to species F where a parameter is indicative of a liquid leak or a liquid.
Information Disclosure Statement
Any references cited in the PCT international search report by the USPTO have been considered, but will not be listed on any patent resulting from this application if they were not provided on a separate list in compliance with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1). In order to have the references printed on such resulting patent, a separate listing, preferably on a PTO/SB/08 form, must be filed within the set period for reply to this Office action. The exception is SchÖnfeldt (U.S. Publication No. US 20200105424) and Matsiev (U.S. Publication No. 20020178787) which have been cited by the examiner on a PTO-892.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheung (U.S. Publication No. 20210348960). Cheung teaches an ex-situ system for measuring liquid-container relationships (See Fig. 10 where an ex-situ system [electrodes on an outer surface of the container 1001] for measuring liquid container relationships [determining a usage level of the container contents], paras. 0032, 0063), the system comprising: a series of spaced electrodes mounted on an exterior surface of a liquid containing structure (FIG. 10 shows container 1001 with a plurality of sense electrode pairs 1002-1005 for determining a usage level of the container contents. Each electrode pair 1002-1005 has an associated point level (for example, 75%, 50%, 25%, and Empty) similar to point level 151 as shown in FIG. 1, para. 0063), wherein each adjacent pair of electrodes of the series of spaced electrodes form a circuit with a segment of the liquid-containing structure spanning therebetween (As will be discussed, each electrode pair 1002-1005 may be selectively connected to a measuring circuit to obtain measurements indicative of the equivalent capacitance of the selected electrode pair, para. 0064. Also See Fig.2 wherein a circuit formed by a pair of electrodes, para. 0035); and a computing device configured to detect a change in an electrical signal from each circuit and associate said change with a change in a liquid-container parameter (based on the measured capacitance from measuring circuit 1107, processor 1105 determines whether the usage level is above or below the point level of the selected electrode pair. If the usage level is below the point level, processor 1105 may select the next electrode pair physically below the previous electrode pair and initiate another measurement. This may be repeated until the lowest positioned electrode pair (for example, pair 1005 as shown in FIG. 10) is reached, para. 0069 and Fig.11).
Regarding claim 2, Cheung teaches the liquid-container parameter comprises a liquid level of the liquid-containing structure (based on the measured capacitance from measuring circuit 1107, processor 1105 determines whether the usage level is above or below the point level of the selected electrode pair. If the usage level is below the point level, processor 1105 may select the next electrode pair physically below the previous electrode pair and initiate another measurement. This may be repeated until the lowest positioned electrode pair (for example, pair 1005 as shown in FIG. 10) is reached, para. 0069 and Fig.11).
Regarding claim 9, each adjacent pair of electrodes of the series of spaced electrodes forms a secondary circuit with a portion of a volume of the liquid containing structure corresponding to the respective segment (See Fig. 10 wherein each adjacent pair of electrodes of the series of spaced electrodes forms a secondary circuit with a portion of a volume [ e.g., 75%, 50%, 25%] of the liquid-containing structure corresponding to the respective segment), and the computing device is configured to detect a change in an electrical signal from each secondary circuit and associate said change with a change in the liquid-container parameter (based on the measured capacitance from measuring circuit 1107, processor 1105 determines whether the usage level is above or below the point level of the selected electrode pair. If the usage level is below the point level, processor 1105 may select the next electrode pair physically below the previous electrode pair and initiate another measurement. This may be repeated until the lowest positioned electrode pair (for example, pair 1005 as shown in FIG. 10) is reached, para. 0069 and Fig.11 ).
Regarding claim 16, Cheung discloses a method of detecting a change in a liquid-container parameter (determining a usage level of the container contents, para. 0063), the method comprising: operating a process including filling a liquid-containing structure with a quantity of liquid (the container contents may comprise a variety of liquids or granular solids including, but not limited to, hand cleaners, fragrant oils, water, coffee, and the like, para. 0029), wherein the liquid-containing structure is associated with a series of spaced electrodes mounted along and electrically coupled with a side of the liquid-containing structure (See Fig. 10 where the liquid-containing structure 1001 is associated with a series of spaced electrodes [ electrode pairs 1002-1005] mounted along and electrically coupled with a side of the liquid containing structure 1001, para. 0063); conducting an electrical signal through a series of circuits defined by corresponding adjacent pairs of electrodes of the series of spaced electrodes and a segments of the liquid-containing structure spanning therebetween (Measuring circuit 1107 is electrically connected to a selected electrode pair via electrode selector 1102 ( as configured by processor 1105) so that the selected electrode pair can be charged and measured as previously discussed with FIGS. 6A-E and 7. Electrode sensor 1102 may assume different forms including an analog multiplexer or electrical switch, para. 0067); and detecting a change in the electrical signal from one or more circuits of the series of circuits; and associating said change with a change in a liquid-container parameter (Based on the measured capacitance from measuring circuit 1107, processor 1105 determines whether the usage level is above or below the point level of the selected electrode pair. If the usage level is below the point level, processor 1105 may select the next electrode pair physically below the previous electrode pair and initiate another measurement. This may be repeated until the lowest positioned electrode pair (for example, pair 1005 as shown in FIG. 10) is reached, para. 0069).
Regarding claim 18, Cheung discloses wherein the liquid container parameter comprises one or more of a liquid level of the liquid-containing structure, a liquid corrosivity of a liquid of the liquid-containing structure, a liquid species of a liquid of the liquid-containing structure, a coating health of a coating of the liquid-containing structure, a void fraction of the liquid-containing structure, or an indication of a liquid leak of a liquid of the liquid-containing structure (structure (based on the measured capacitance from measuring circuit 1107, processor 1105 determines whether the usage level is above or below the point level of the selected electrode pair. If the usage level is below the point level, processor 1105 may select the next electrode pair physically below the previous electrode pair and initiate another measurement. This may be repeated until the lowest positioned electrode pair (for example, pair 1005 as shown in FIG. 10) is reached, para. 0069 and Fig.11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (U.S. Publication No. 20210348960) in view of Keller (U.S. Publication No. 20230168268). Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for each circuit is associated with a baseline electrical resistance through the corresponding segment of the liquid-containing structure, and the change in the electric signal from each circuit is based on a change in a measured electrical resistance between two adjacent electrodes and through the liquid-containing structure relative to the corresponding baseline electrical resistance for said circuit. Keller teaches each circuit is associated with a baseline electrical resistance through the corresponding segment of the liquid-containing structure, and the change in the electric signal from each circuit is based on a change in a measured electrical resistance between two adjacent electrodes and through the liquid containing structure relative to the corresponding baseline electrical resistance for said circuit (the probe and reference element act as pair of electrodes. Again, an AC voltage and alternating current or DC voltage and direct current are applied. As soon as there is a liquid between the electrodes, it forms a part of an electric circuit, causing current to flow. Electrical resistance or conductivity is measured and compared to a preset value in order to determine presence of liquid, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include each circuit associated with a baseline electrical resistance through the corresponding segment of the liquid-containing structure, and the change in the electric signal from each circuit is based on a change in a measured electrical resistance between two adjacent electrodes and through the liquid-containing structure relative to the corresponding baseline electrical resistance for said circuit as taught by Keller for the purpose of being able to locate the leakage and take respective measures to correct the deficiency in a fluidic system (Keller, para. 0011).
Regarding claim 10, Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for each secondary circuit is associated with a baseline electrical resistance through the corresponding portion of the volume of the liquid-containing structure, and the change in the electric signal from each secondary circuit is based on a change in a measured electrical resistance between two adjacent electrodes and through the corresponding portion of the volume of the liquid-containing structure relative to the corresponding baseline electrical resistance for said secondary circuit. Keller teaches each secondary circuit is associated with a baseline electrical resistance through the corresponding portion of the volume of the liquid-containing structure, and the change in the electric signal from each secondary circuit is based on a change in a measured electrical resistance between two adjacent electrodes and through the corresponding portion of the volume of the liquid-containing structure relative to the corresponding baseline electrical resistance for said secondary circuit (the probe and reference element act as pair of electrodes. Again, an AC voltage and alternating current or DC voltage and direct current are applied. As soon as there is a liquid between the electrodes, it forms a part of an electric circuit, causing current to flow. Electrical resistance or conductivity is measured and compared to a preset value in order to determine presence of liquid, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include each secondary circuit is associated with a baseline electrical resistance through the corresponding portion of the volume of the liquid-containing structure, and the change in the electric signal from each secondary circuit is based on a change in a measured electrical resistance between two adjacent electrodes and through the corresponding portion of the volume of the liquid-containing structure relative to the corresponding baseline electrical resistance for said secondary circuit as taught by Keller for the purpose of being to locate the leakage and take respective measures to correct the deficiency in a fluidic system (Keller, para. 0011).
Regarding 11, Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the computing device is configured to detect and monitors changes of electrical resistance values between the adjacent electrodes. Keller teaches the computing device is configured to detect and monitors changes of electrical resistance values between the adjacent electrodes (the probe and reference element act as pair of electrodes. Again, an AC voltage and alternating current or DC voltage and direct current are applied. As soon as there is a liquid between the electrodes, it forms a part of an electric circuit, causing current to flow. Electrical resistance or conductivity is measured and compared to a preset value in order to determine presence of liquid, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Keller. The motivation being to locate the leakage and take respective measures to correct the deficiency in a fluidic system (Keller, para. 0011).
Regarding claim 19, Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the detecting further comprises detecting a change in the electrical resistance of the electrical signal, and the associating further comprises correlating a magnitude of the change in the electrical resistance with a magnitude of the change in the liquid-container parameter. Keller teaches the detecting further comprises detecting a change in the electrical resistance of the electrical signal, and the associating further comprises correlating a magnitude of the change in the electrical resistance with a magnitude of the change in the liquid-container parameter (the probe and reference element act as pair of electrodes. Again, an AC voltage and alternating current or DC voltage and direct current are applied. As soon as there is a liquid between the electrodes, it forms a part of an electric circuit, causing current to flow. Electrical resistance or conductivity is measured and compared to a preset value in order to determine presence of liquid, para. 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Keller. The motivation being to locate the leakage and take respective measures to correct the deficiency in a fluidic system (Keller, para. 0011).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (U.S. Publication No. 20210348960) in view of Bauer (U.S. Patent No. 6278281). Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for detecting the change in the electrical signal using an impedance spectroscopy technique, wherein the impedance spectroscopy technique monitors changes of electrical resistance values between the adjacent electrodes in different signal frequencies.
Bauer is in the field of monitoring the condition of working fluids (col. 2, lines 4-6) and teaches the computing device is configured to detect the change in the electrical signal using an impedance spectroscopy technique, wherein the impedance spectroscopy technique monitors changes of electrical resistance values between the adjacent electrodes in different signal frequencies (The present invention provides a useful and novel technique of employing AC electro-impedance spectroscopy to monitor the condition of working fluids, col. 2, lines 2-6. The present invention employs a low level oscillating voltage signal across the plates or spaced electrodes of a capacitor immersed in the fluid to be monitored and measures the current of the signal applied at a first or high frequency associated with the bulk impedance of the fluid and at a second low frequency associated with the electrochemical properties of the surface of the electrode and determines the difference of the first and second measured currents, col. 2, lines 9-18. Referring to FIGS. 12 through 15, Bode plots are presented for measurements of resistance in Ohms as a function of the frequency of the applied AC voltage to the probe 12, col. 7, lines 23-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Bauer for the purpose of being to employ AC electro-impedance spectroscopy to monitor the condition of working fluids (Bauer, col. 2, lines 2-5) and as a simple low cost technique (Bauer, col. 1, line 64).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (U.S. Publication No. 20210348960) in view of Matsiev (U.S. Publication No. 20020178787). Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for each circuit is further defined by a portion of a volume of the liquid-containing structure corresponding to the respective segment such that the portion of the volume and the corresponding segment of the liquid-containing structure form a parallel resistive circuit. Matsiev is in the field of measuring a property of a fluid composition (para. 0009) and teaches each circuit is further defined by a portion of a volume of the liquid-containing structure corresponding to the respective segment such that the portion of the volume and the corresponding segment of the liquid containing structure form a parallel resistive circuit (Because the tuning fork tine 22 is submerged within the liquid being tested, an electric field 27 associated with each tine 22 does not concentrate in between the electrodes 24 or within the quartz crystal 24, but instead interacts outside the tine 22 with the surrounding liquid. This increased electrical coupling allows the tuning fork 20 to measure accurately the electrical properties of the liquid as well as its physical properties, and it can measure both types of properties simultaneously if so desired, para. 0043. The representative circuit shown in FIG. 4b adds a parallel resistor Rp in parallel to capacitor Cp to illustrate a circuit that measures conductivity as well as dielectric constant and viscosity, preferably by comparing the equivalent resistance found in a given liquid with a known resistance found via calibration, para. 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Matsiev for the purpose of being able to provide a method for measuring a property of a fluid composition using a tuning fork resonator (Matsiev, para, 0009).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheung (U.S. Publication No. 20210348960) in view of SchÖnfeldt (U.S. Publication No. US 20200105424). Cheung teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the liquid comprises a fissile molten salt material. SchÖnfeldt is in the field of molten salt nuclear fission reactors (para. 0001) and teaches the liquid comprises a fissile molten salt material (the invention relates to the use of the molten salt with the moderator, which is also employed in the methods of the invention, para. 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date to modify the method of Cheung to include the liquid comprises a fissile molten salt material as taught by SchÖnfeldt. The motivation being to provide a moderator in a molten salt reactor (MSR), which allows the construction of small-scale reactors (SchÖnfeldt, para. 0053).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McGinnis (U.S. Patent No. 6377052) teaches using impedance spectroscopy for monitoring fluids.
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852