DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 received on 3/18/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 15, 29- 30 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 12-20, 23-24, 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao et al. (US 20220053424)
Regarding claim 1, Bao teaches a sensing node (UE, fig 3A, 7), comprising:
one or more memories (memory 340, fig 3A);
one or more transceivers (transceiver 310, fig 3A); and
one or more processors (processor 332, fig 3a) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (fig 3a, para 79-80), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured (fig 7, para 150: fig 7 illustrates an example signaling and processing flow 700 for determining and reporting positioning information) to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a sensing management entity (location server 706, fig 7), a sensing configuration that is associated with a sensing session (PRS measurement configuration 741, fig 7; para 154: at stage 740, the location server 706 may send PRS measurement configuration messages 741 to the TRP 704 and/or to the UE 702) and comprises one or more rules for determination of one or more sensing parameters for the sensing session based on an energy saving mode of the sensing node (para 154: the UE-bound messages 741 may dynamically configure the UE 702 for measuring PRS, or skipping measuring PRS, based on relative timing of the PRS and a DRX ON time, e.g., according to one or more of the behaviors shown in Table 1),
wherein the one or more sensing parameters are adapted from a set of sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration, or wherein the one or more sensing parameters are selected from a set of candidate sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration (para 154: the UE 702 may be configured to use any statically configured behavior as a default behavior to be followed in the absence of dynamic configuration information received from the location server 706, the UE 702 may be configured to override any statically configured behavior in response to receiving conflicting dynamic configuration information from the location server 706; para 166: when a UE is configured with multiple DRX groups, measurement configurations for DL-PRS need to be defined across the multiple DRX groups, a UE needs to know which DL-PRS occasions it is expected to measure when it is configured with multiple DRX groups); and
selectively perform transmission operations, reception operations, or both, associated with the sensing session in accordance with the one or more sensing parameters (receive PRS 761, measure positioning signals 770, positioning reporting 791, fig 7; 157-160: the UE may implement one of the measurement behaviors in accordance with whether the DL-PRS from stage 760 is scheduled to arrive fully within a DRX ON time, partially within and partially outside a DRX ON time, or fully outside a DRX ON time (fully in a DRX OFF time), the UE 702 sends an L1/L2 positioning report 791 and/or an L3 positioning report 792 (e.g., a measurement report) in accordance with a static and/or dynamic positioning reporting configuration of the UE 702 and timing of the report relative to a DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 15, Bao teaches a sensing management entity (server, fig 3c, 7), comprising:
one or more memories (memory 396, fig 3c);
one or more transceivers (transceiver 390, fig 3c); and
one or more processors (processor 394, fig 3c) communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (fig 3c, para 79-80), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured (fig 7, para 150: fig 7 illustrates an example signaling and processing flow 700 for determining and reporting positioning information) to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing node (UE 702, fig 7), a sensing configuration that is associated with a sensing session (PRS measurement configuration 741, fig 7; para 154: at stage 740, the location server 706 may send PRS measurement configuration messages 741 to the TRP 704 and/or to the UE 702) and comprises one or more rules for determination of one or more sensing parameters for the sensing session based on an energy saving mode of the sensing node (para 154: the UE-bound messages 741 may dynamically configure the UE 702 for measuring PRS, or skipping measuring PRS, based on relative timing of the PRS and a DRX ON time, e.g., according to one or more of the behaviors shown in Table 1),
wherein the one or more sensing parameters are adapted from a set of sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration, or wherein the one or more sensing parameters are selected from a set of candidate sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration (para 154: the UE 702 may be configured to use any statically configured behavior as a default behavior to be followed in the absence of dynamic configuration information received from the location server 706, the UE 702 may be configured to override any statically configured behavior in response to receiving conflicting dynamic configuration information from the location server 706; para 166: when a UE is configured with multiple DRX groups, measurement configurations for DL-PRS need to be defined across the multiple DRX groups, a UE needs to know which DL-PRS occasions it is expected to measure when it is configured with multiple DRX groups); and
receive, via the one or more transceivers, one or more measurement reports associated with the sensing session based on the sensing configuration (receive PRS 761, measure positioning signals 770, positioning reporting 791, fig 7; 157-160: the UE may implement one of the measurement behaviors in accordance with whether the DL-PRS from stage 760 is scheduled to arrive fully within a DRX ON time, partially within and partially outside a DRX ON time, or fully outside a DRX ON time (fully in a DRX OFF time), the UE 702 sends an L1/L2 positioning report 791 and/or an L3 positioning report 792 (e.g., a measurement report) in accordance with a static and/or dynamic positioning reporting configuration of the UE 702 and timing of the report relative to a DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 29, Bao teaches a method of operating a sensing node (UE 702, fig 7, para 150: fig 7 illustrates an example signaling and processing flow 700 for determining and reporting positioning information), comprising:
receiving, from a sensing management entity (location server 706, fig 7), a sensing configuration that is associated with a sensing session (PRS measurement configuration 741, fig 7; para 154: at stage 740, the location server 706 may send PRS measurement configuration messages 741 to the TRP 704 and/or to the UE 702) and comprises one or more rules for determination of one or more sensing parameters for the sensing session based on an energy saving mode of the sensing node (para 154: the UE-bound messages 741 may dynamically configure the UE 702 for measuring PRS, or skipping measuring PRS, based on relative timing of the PRS and a DRX ON time, e.g., according to one or more of the behaviors shown in Table 1),
wherein the one or more sensing parameters are adapted from a set of sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration, or wherein the one or more sensing parameters are selected from a set of candidate sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration (para 154: The UE 702 may be configured to use any statically configured behavior as a default behavior to be followed in the absence of dynamic configuration information received from the location server 706. The UE 702 may be configured to override any statically configured behavior in response to receiving conflicting dynamic configuration information from the location server 706; para 166: when a UE is configured with multiple DRX groups, measurement configurations for DL-PRS need to be defined across the multiple DRX groups. That is, a UE needs to know which DL-PRS occasions it is expected to measure when it is configured with multiple DRX groups); and
selectively performing transmission operations, reception operations, or both, associated with the sensing session in accordance with the one or more sensing parameters (receive PRS 761, measure positioning signals 770, positioning reporting 791, fig 7; 157-160: the UE may implement one of the measurement behaviors in accordance with whether the DL-PRS from stage 760 is scheduled to arrive fully within a DRX ON time, partially within and partially outside a DRX ON time, or fully outside a DRX ON time (fully in a DRX OFF time), the UE 702 sends an L1/L2 positioning report 791 and/or an L3 positioning report 792 (e.g., a measurement report) in accordance with a static and/or dynamic positioning reporting configuration of the UE 702 and timing of the report relative to a DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 30, Bao teaches a method of operating a sensing management entity (server 706, fig 7, para 150: fig 7 illustrates an example signaling and processing flow 700 for determining and reporting positioning information), comprising:
transmitting, to a sensing node (UE 702, fig 7), a sensing configuration that is associated with a sensing session (PRS measurement configuration 741, fig 7; para 154: at stage 740, the location server 706 may send PRS measurement configuration messages 741 to the TRP 704 and/or to the UE 702) and comprises one or more rules for determination of one or more sensing parameters for the sensing session based on an energy saving mode of the sensing node (para 154: the UE-bound messages 741 may dynamically configure the UE 702 for measuring PRS, or skipping measuring PRS, based on relative timing of the PRS and a DRX ON time, e.g., according to one or more of the behaviors shown in Table 1),
wherein the one or more sensing parameters are adapted from a set of sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration, or wherein the one or more sensing parameters are selected from a set of candidate sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration (para 154: the UE 702 may be configured to use any statically configured behavior as a default behavior to be followed in the absence of dynamic configuration information received from the location server 706, the UE 702 may be configured to override any statically configured behavior in response to receiving conflicting dynamic configuration information from the location server 706; para 166: when a UE is configured with multiple DRX groups, measurement configurations for DL-PRS need to be defined across the multiple DRX groups, a UE needs to know which DL-PRS occasions it is expected to measure when it is configured with multiple DRX groups); and
receiving one or more measurement reports associated with the sensing session based on the sensing configuration (receive PRS 761, measure positioning signals 770, positioning reporting 791, fig 7; 157-160: the UE may implement one of the measurement behaviors in accordance with whether the DL-PRS from stage 760 is scheduled to arrive fully within a DRX ON time, partially within and partially outside a DRX ON time, or fully outside a DRX ON time (fully in a DRX OFF time), the UE 702 sends an L1/L2 positioning report 791 and/or an L3 positioning report 792 (e.g., a measurement report) in accordance with a static and/or dynamic positioning reporting configuration of the UE 702 and timing of the report relative to a DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 2 and 16, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more rules comprise a rule for implementing the one or more sensing parameters during the sensing session whenever the energy saving mode is active (para 154: the UE 702, the UE-bound messages 741 may dynamically configure the UE 702 for measuring PRS, or skipping measuring PRS, based on relative timing of the PRS and a DRX ON time, e.g., according to one or more of the behaviors shown in Table 1; para 158: the UE may implement one of the measurement behaviors in accordance with whether the DL-PRS from stage 760 is scheduled to arrive fully within a DRX ON time, partially within and partially outside a DRX ON time, or fully outside a DRX ON time (fully in a DRX OFF time); para 148).
Regarding claim 3 and 17, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more rules comprise a set of rules for implementing the one or more sensing parameters in response to a set of triggering events (para 156: at stage 755, a trigger/activation message 756 may be sent from the TRP 704 to the UE 702, the trigger/activation message 756 may be DCI to trigger aperiodic PRS measurement and/or may activate semipersistent PRS measurement, the message 756 may indicate what PRS to measure and how to report (e.g., available slot, channel, etc.)).
Regarding claim 4 and 18, Bao further teaches wherein the set of rules comprises: a fifth rule for implementing the one or more sensing parameters in response to an energy saving mode transition (table 1 describes the measurement behavior for the overlap condition (timing related parameter) of DL-PRS occasion partially overlaps with DRX-ON time, behavior 2.b – measure only DL-PRS resources within the DRX ON time).
Regarding claim 5, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more processors (processor 332, fig 3a), either alone or in combination, are further configured (fig 7) to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, an indication of an energy saving mode capability of the sensing node to a sensing management entity (para 152: at stage 720, the UE 702 may send one or more measurement and reporting suggested configuration/capability messages 721 to the location server 706. The message(s) 721 may indicate a configuration of the UE 702 regarding measurement behavior for measuring positioning signals (e.g., PRS) in view of DRX mode operation of the UE 702),
wherein the sensing configuration is based on the energy saving mode capability of the sensing node (para 153: the configuration message 732 may provide information for receiving PRS, such as DL-PRS and/or UL-PRS (e.g., depending on the capabilities of the UE 702)).
Regarding claim 6 and 20, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more sensing parameters are associated with a discontinuous reception mode (DRX) mode of the sensing node (para 152, 154: the message(s) 721 may indicate a configuration of the UE 702 regarding measurement behavior for measuring positioning signals (e.g., PRS) in view of DRX mode operation of the UE 702, the UE-bound messages 741 may dynamically configure the UE 702 for measuring PRS, or skipping measuring PRS, based on relative timing of the PRS and a DRX ON time).
Regarding claim 9 and 23, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more rules comprise:
a first rule for implementing a first set of sensing parameters for a first energy saving mode type (fig 10, design column, reuse DL-PRS + one DRX group design per group, the measurement configuration can be a single configuration for all DRX groups; also, table 1 showing different rules (behaviors) for DL-PRS occasion overlapping with DRX ON time, DRX OFF time), and
a second rule for implementing a second set of sensing parameters for a second energy saving mode type (fig 10, design column, reuse DL-PRS + one DRX group design per group, the measurement configuration can be one configuration per DRX group (e.g. for one group, measure all PRS, for another group, measure a subset of PRS; also, table 1 showing different rules (behaviors) for DL-PRS occasion overlapping with DRX ON time, DRX OFF time), wherein
the one or more sensing parameters are based on a respective energy saving mode type corresponding to the energy saving mode of the sensing node (table 10, design column describing different DRX group with different configuration; table 1 measurement behavior of skipping or measuring based on DL-PRS overlapping with DRX ON or DRX OFF time).
Regarding claim 10 and 24, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more rules comprise: a second rule for implementing the one or more sensing parameters in association with the sensing session corresponding to a downlink sensing session (fig 10, downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) measurement configurations for multiple DRX groups; Para 166).
Regarding claim 12 and 26, Bao further teaches wherein the sensing session is aperiodic or semi-persistent or periodic (para 156: at stage 755, a trigger/activation message 756 may be sent from the TRP 704 to the UE 702, the trigger/activation message 756 may be DCI to trigger aperiodic PRS measurement and/or may activate semipersistent PRS measurement).
Regarding claim 13 and 27, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more sensing parameters are adapted from the set of sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration (para 154: the UE 702 may be configured to use any statically configured behavior as a default behavior to be followed in the absence of dynamic configuration information received from the location server 706, the UE 702 may be configured to override any statically configured behavior in response to receiving conflicting dynamic configuration information from the location server 706).
Regarding claim 14 and 28, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more sensing parameters are selected from the set of candidate sensing parameters indicated by the sensing configuration (para 166: when a UE is configured with multiple DRX groups, measurement configurations for DL-PRS need to be defined across the multiple DRX groups, a UE needs to know which DL-PRS occasions it is expected to measure when it is configured with multiple DRX groups).
Regarding claim 19, Bao further teaches wherein the one or more processors (processor 394, fig 3c), either alone or in combination, are further configured (fig 7) to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, an indication of an energy saving mode capability of the sensing node (para 152: at stage 720, the UE 702 may send one or more measurement and reporting suggested configuration/capability messages 721 to the location server 706. The message(s) 721 may indicate a configuration of the UE 702 regarding measurement behavior for measuring positioning signals (e.g., PRS) in view of DRX mode operation of the UE 702),
wherein the sensing configuration is based on the energy saving mode capability of the sensing node (para 153: the configuration message 732 may provide information for receiving PRS, such as DL-PRS and/or UL-PRS (e.g., depending on the capabilities of the UE 702)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (US 20220053424) in view of Kuo et al. (US 20240334230)
Regarding claim 11 and 25, Bao teaches the limitations of the parent claim. Bao fails to teach the sensing (positioning) session to be monostatic or bistatic. Kuo is directed to configuration of sensing signal and sensing results reporting.
Kuo further teaches wherein the one or more rules comprise:
a first rule for implementing the one or more sensing parameters in association with a monostatic sensing session (para 74: UE that can support both sensing signal transmission and sensing signal measurement may be configured by the BS to perform monostatic sensing; para 28: monostatic sensing may include a first antenna(s) for transmitting a sensing signal and a co-located second antenna(s) for receiving the sensing signal), or
a second rule for implementing the one or more sensing parameters in association with a bistatic sensing session corresponding to a downlink sensing session (para 74: a UE that can only support sensing signal transmission may be configured by the BS to act only as the transmitter in bistatic sensing; para 28: in instance of bistatic sensing, two separate antennas are used for transmitting and receiving, and the transmitting antenna(s) are in a different location than the receiving antenna(s)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine position measurement with DRX mode as taught by Bao with sensing session configuration as taught by Kuo for the benefit of detecting the presence of a condition or an object as taught by Kuo in para 60.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 21-22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 1/10/2026