DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2024 follows the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiyama (US 2018/0115682).
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama teaches an image forming apparatus capable of performing color erasing print processing using a color erasable recording material (image forming apparatus 100; ¶¶ 0032-0036, Fig. 1), the image forming apparatus comprising:
a receiving interface (IF) configured to receive a print job (print job for removal; ¶ 0071, Fig. 6);
a notification IF configured to notify of information (display 21; ¶ 0055, Fig. 1); and
a controller having one or more processors which executes instructions stored in one or more memories (controller 28; ¶ 0068, Fig. 1), the controller being configured to:
cause, in a case where the receiving IF has received a print job for the color erasing print processing (print job for removal; ¶ 0071, Fig. 6, ¶ 0137), and a printing content of print data contained in the print job for the color erasing print processing does not satisfy a condition (Punch or Staple, Act 47: YES; ¶ 0140, Fig. 17), the notification IF to notify of a warning for the color erasing print processing (“The decoloring toner mode and the stapling processing cannot be set at the same time”; ¶ 0140, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 2, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in execution of the print job for the color erasing print processing, the controller performs adjustment such that the printing content satisfies the condition (staple processing changed to NDB to maintain decoloring toner mode; ¶ 0141).
Regarding claim 3, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, in execution of the print job for the color erasing print processing, the controller selects an adjustment content and performs adjustment based on the selected adjustment content such that the printing content satisfies the condition (operator selects “Decoloring toner+NDB” button 821; ¶ 0141, Figs. 11 and 17).
Regarding claim 4, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case of the notification of the warning and in response to selection of print processing using a non-color erasable recording material, the controller performs print processing without performing the color erasing print processing (monochrome mode with punch processing on medium; ¶¶ 0152-0153).
Regarding claim 5, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case of the notification of the warning and in response to selection of cancellation of the print job, the controller performs cancellation of the print job for the color erasing print processing (operator selects “Monochrome+Staple” button 822 and decoloring toner mode is canceled; ¶ 0142, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 6, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the controller receives a selection from a user in response to the warning by the notification IF and performs selection of the adjustment content based on the received selection (operator selects “Decoloring toner+NDB” button 821; ¶ 0141, Figs. 11 and 17).
Regarding claim 7, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the condition is an image size of the printing content, and wherein in a case where the image size exceeds a predetermined size, the notification IF notifies of a warning for the color erasing print processing (size of print job greater than a predetermined number; ¶ 0126, Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 9, Sugiyama teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the notification IF is a display (display 21; ¶ 0055, Fig. 1).
Claims 10-16 and 18 recite similar limitations as claims 1-7 and 9 thus, arguments similar to that presented above for claims 1-7 and 9 are equally applicable to claims 10-16 and 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saito et al. (US 2016/0103644) teaches an image forming apparatus that prints with decolorable material.
/KENT YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681