Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed March 18, 2024 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the balloon member attached to the distal portion of the hub (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “a balloon member attached to the distal portion of the hub.” Since claim 11 recites both a sheath hub and a dilator hub, the claim is not clear at to which hub is being referenced in the final paragraph of the claim. Furthermore, the final paragraph of the claim goes on to recite that the balloon member transitions from a deflated state adapted for delivery through the sheath to an inflated state when positioned distal to the sheath. This is only possible when the balloon is attached to the distal end of the dilator body, not the distal end of the dilator hub. Thus, for examination purposes, it was assumed that applicant intended to recite “dilator body” instead of either sheath hub or dilator hub in the final paragraph of claim 11.
As claims 12-18 depend from claim 11, they are likewise rejected.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites a “perforation device” while claim 11, from which claim 16 depends, recites a “puncturing device.” Para. 0003 of the specification describes that a device is provided for puncturing or perforating the septum. Thus, it is assumed that there is only one device (a perforation device as described in detail in the specification) that performs the puncturing. In response, the Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lenker et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0107208).
In regard to claims 1, 2, 10 and 11, Lenker et al. teach an introducer system 1600 used to penetrate the interatrial septum of the heart (see para. 0004) comprised of an axially elongate sheath 1602 having a sheath wall 1604, a central lumen and a sheath hub 1608 (see Fig. 11A and para. 0082). The introducer system 1600 also includes a dilator 1620 that has a proximal end portion and an opposite distal end portion where the distal end portion has a tapered distal tip 1628 and the dilator 1620 is received in the central lumen of the sheath 1602 (see Figs. 11A and 11B and para. 0082). Dilator 1620 has at least one lumen 1626 configured to accept guidewires, permit fluid passage or slidably pass the steerable access system (SAS), etc. (see para. 0082). Thus, dilator 1620 has a cylindrical wall defining an inner surface where the inner surface defines the lumen 1626 and Figure 11B shows that the lumen 1626 extends the entire length of the dilator 1620. Figure 11B also shows that the dilator 1620 has an outer surface having an outer diameter. Lenker et al. also teach an expandable enlargement 1612 affixed to or integrally to the exterior of the dilator 1620 (see Figs. 11A and 11B and para. 0082). The expandable enlargement 1612 can be controllably enlarged and can reduce in diameter and can be an expandable balloon (expandable membrane) (see para. 0082). Figure 11A demonstrates that the expandable enlargement 1612 is delivered through the sheath 1602 and expands when positioned distal to the sheath 1602. In regard to claims 4-6 and 13-15, Lenker et al. teach that radial enlargement of the expandable enlargement 1612 can occur due to pressurization or inflation by means of a fluid port on the proximal end and a fluid channel leading to a balloon (see para. 0082). With further respect to claim 11 and in regard to claims 7-9 and 16-18, Lenker et al. teach that the lumen 412 (1626) in the dilator 404 (1620) can house an electrical wire that connects to an electrode 410 proximate the distal tip of the dilator to generate energy and promote tissue penetration (see para. 0047 and Fig. 1). In regard to claims 19 and 20, it should be noted that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). Also, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Thus, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant application, the structure of Lenker et al. is capable of performing the method steps of “making a dilator” which essentially means assembling the structural elements.
a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenker et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0107208) in view of Alexander et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0142652).
In regard to claims 3 and 12, Lenker et al. are silent as to the material makeup of the expandable enlargement 1612 as a balloon. However, Alexander et al. teach a medical expansion component 420 that is a balloon adapted for dilation where the expansion component 420 is comprised of a balloon constructed from polyurethane or PEBAX (see para. 0044 and Fig. 4). Alexander et al. thus demonstrate that the use of polyurethane or PEBAX as the material for an expandable medical balloon is well known in the art. Furthermore, it is well settled that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is an obvious design selection for one of ordinary skill in the art. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Accordingly, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to fabricate the expandable enlargement 1612 as a balloon of Lenker et al. from either the polyurethane or the PEBAX disclosed by Alexander et al.
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794