DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/18/2024.
Claims 1- 30 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 03/18/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vintola et al. (US 20190053091 A1); hereinafter “Vintola”; and in further view of Tsai et al. (US 20240179737 A1), hereinafter “Tsai”.
Regarding claim 1, Vintola teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the apparatus to [Vintola: Fig. 2; Par. 43 teaches of apparatus with memory, processor and antenna and transceiver]: provide a virtual cell configuration for a virtual cell comprised of an aggregation of a plurality of non-contiguous frequency resources, the virtual cell configuration comprising bandwidth aggregation information and access information of the virtual cell [Vintola: Fig. 5; Par. 44, 50- 60 teaches of enable communication of support for non-contiguous capability information which include non-contiguous carrier aggregation information and indication that support for communication; Par. 52- 53 further disclosed of capability information indicated for support carrier aggregation]; and communicate with the UE on the virtual cell based on the indication of the support for the bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 55 further teaches of UE communicated on updated assigned cell].
However, Vintola does not teach obtain, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell.
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches obtain, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Tsai: Fig. 19; Par. 75- 78; Par. 149 teaches of UE transmit supported of carrier aggregation for both contiguous and non-contiguous depending on its capabilities]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tsai for configuration for carrier aggregation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tsai in the Vintola system in order to provide adoption of carrier aggregation supported for non-contiguous carrier aggregation [Tsai: Par. 75].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches provide the virtual cell configuration for the virtual cell comprised of the aggregation of the plurality of non-contiguous frequency resources, the virtual cell configuration comprising the bandwidth aggregation information and the access information of the virtual cell [Vintola: Fig. 5; Par. 40 55 teaches of receiving aggregation information and capability information];
obtain, from the UE, the indication of support for the bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell Par. 52- 53 further disclosed of capability information indicated for support carrier aggregation; and
communicate with the UE on the virtual cell based on the indication of the support for the bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 55 further teaches of UE communicated on updated assigned cell].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein the virtual cell comprises a logical cell configured by flexible spectrum integration [Tsai: Par. 152 teaches of flexible spectrum ].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein the bandwidth aggregation information comprises one or more of a location, a bandwidth, or a duplex mode of each subband associated with the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 50-51 teaches the information included frequency bands information with predefined range value].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein the access information corresponds to one or more subbands associated with the virtual cell or a subband group associated with the virtual cell, wherein each subband of the virtual cell comprises one or more component carriers or a portion of a component carrier [Vintola: Par. 40 -55].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein the access information comprises:
access control information for accessing the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 40 -55],
Regarding claim 7, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches provide a first indication of system information for a first category of user equipments (UEs); and provide a second indication of the system information for a second category of UEs [Vintola: Par. 59 teaches assigned carrier aggregation for different UEs].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 7. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein the first category of UEs are configured to connect with all subbands of the virtual cell, wherein the second category of UEs are configured to connect with a subset of subbands of the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 59 further teaches assign outer portions of the spectrum allotments to UEs with full intra-band support in order to maximize the chance that a UE with limited intra-band support would be able to use more than one component carrier.]
Regarding claim 9, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches provide a joint indication of a common system information for a first category of user equipment (UEs) and a second category of UEs [Vintola: Par. 59 teaches assigned carrier aggregation for different UEs].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein a dedicated system information and paging resource configurations are provided separately to the first category of UEs and the second category of UEs [Vintola: Par. 59 teaches assigned carrier aggregation for different UEs].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches provide a gap indication of a retuning gap or a measurement gap to allow for reference signal measurements for a bandwidth part (BWP) outside of an active BWP [Tsai: par. 132 further teaches of UE configuring BWP for active BWP].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches obtain a UE capability indication indicating support for gapless bandwidth part (BWP) switching or gapless reference signal measurements for a BWP outside of an active BWP [Tsai: par. 132 further teaches of UE configuring BWP for active BWP].
Regarding claim 13, Vintola teaches A method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: [Vintola: Fig. 2; Par. 43 teaches of apparatus with memory, processor and antenna and transceiver]: providing a virtual cell configuration for a virtual cell comprised of an aggregation of a plurality of non-contiguous frequency resources, the virtual cell configuration comprising bandwidth aggregation information and access information of the virtual cell [Vintola: Fig. 5; Par. 44, 50- 60 teaches of enable communication of support for non-contiguous capability information which include non-contiguous carrier aggregation information and indication that support for communication; Par. 52- 53 further disclosed of capability information indicated for support carrier aggregation]; communicating with the UE on the virtual cell based on the indication of the support for the bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 55 further teaches of UE communicated on updated assigned cell].
However, Vintola does not teach obtaining, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell.
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches obtaining, from a user equipment (UE), an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Tsai: Fig. 19; Par. 75- 78; Par. 149 teaches of UE transmit supported of carrier aggregation for both contiguous and non-contiguous depending on its capabilities]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tsai for configuration for carrier aggregation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tsai in the Vintola system in order to provide adoption of carrier aggregation supported for non-contiguous carrier aggregation [Tsai: Par. 75].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Vintola in view of Tsai teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 13. Vintola in view of Tsai further teaches wherein the bandwidth aggregation information comprises one or more of a location, a bandwidth, or a duplex mode of each subband associated with the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 50-51 teaches the information included frequency bands information with predefined range value]; wherein the access information corresponds to one or more subbands associated with the virtual cell or a subband group associated with the virtual cell, wherein each subband of the virtual cell comprises one or more component carriers or a portion of a component carrier [Vintola: Par. 40 -55].
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, Vintola teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to cause the apparatus to: [Vintola: Fig. 2; Par. 43 teaches of apparatus with memory, processor and antenna and transceiver]: receive a virtual cell configuration for a virtual cell comprised of an aggregation of a plurality of non-contiguous frequency resources, the virtual cell configuration comprising bandwidth aggregation information and access information of the virtual cell [Vintola: Fig. 5; Par. 44, 50- 60 teaches of enable communication of support for non-contiguous capability information which include non-contiguous carrier aggregation information and indication that support for communication; Par. 52- 53 further disclosed of capability information indicated for support carrier aggregation]; communicate with the network entity on the virtual cell based on the indication of the support for the bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 55 further teaches of UE communicated on updated assigned cell].
However, Vintola does not teach transmit, to a network entity, an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell.
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmit, to a network entity, an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Tsai: Fig. 19; Par. 75- 78; Par. 149 teaches of UE transmit supported of carrier aggregation for both contiguous and non-contiguous depending on its capabilities]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tsai for configuration for carrier aggregation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tsai in the Vintola system in order to provide adoption of carrier aggregation supported for non-contiguous carrier aggregation [Tsai: Par. 75].
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 10.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 28, Vintola teaches A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: [Vintola: Fig. 2; Par. 43 teaches of apparatus with memory, processor and antenna and transceiver]: receiving a virtual cell configuration for a virtual cell comprised of an aggregation of a plurality of non-contiguous frequency resources, the virtual cell configuration comprising bandwidth aggregation information and access information of the virtual cell [Vintola: Fig. 5; Par. 44, 50- 60 teaches of enable communication of support for non-contiguous capability information which include non-contiguous carrier aggregation information and indication that support for communication; Par. 52- 53 further disclosed of capability information indicated for support carrier aggregation]; communicating with the network entity on the virtual cell based on the indication of the support for the bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Vintola: Par. 55 further teaches of UE communicated on updated assigned cell].
However, Vintola does not teach transmitting, to a network entity, an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell.
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmitting, to a network entity, an indication of support for bandwidth aggregation of the virtual cell [Tsai: Fig. 19; Par. 75- 78; Par. 149 teaches of UE transmit supported of carrier aggregation for both contiguous and non-contiguous depending on its capabilities]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Tsai for configuration for carrier aggregation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tsai in the Vintola system in order to provide adoption of carrier aggregation supported for non-contiguous carrier aggregation [Tsai: Par. 75].
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 14.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412