DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner Response to Arguments
Applicant Arguments: applicant's arguments that the cited references 3GPP and He do not disclose the limitations “executing, by the terminal device, neighbor cell radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met, wherein the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met comprises: executing, by the terminal device, first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion is not met; and executing, by the terminal device, second neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when both the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion are met” as cited independent claim 1 (See applicant’s response pages 7-12).
Examiner Response: Applicant arguments have been fully considered, unfortunately the arguments are not persuasive. The claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant’s specification ¶0033 discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited reference 3GPP3 discloses in page 6 and Section 6.1 that RRM relaxation can be considered for both fixed UEs and slightly moving UEs. Generally, both of them belong to "low mobility" case…Redcap UEs, it is straightforward that Redcap UEs who can perform RRM relaxation must fulfill "low mobility" criterion. … for Redcap neighbour cell RRM relaxation in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE, based … Case 2: both "low mobility" and "not-at-cell-edge" criteria are configured. Section 3.2 and Table 3.2-1 clearly disclose that Relax measurements when both triggering conditions are configured and either one of conditions is met or single condition is configured see table 3.2-1 below.
Based on applicant’s specification ¶0033 which discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited reference He’12243 clearly discloses in ¶0048-¶0049 that two triggering criteria may be defined for RRM relaxation… A first triggering criterion may involve low mobility… a second triggering criterion may involve not being at a cell edge (e.g., the UE is not located at a cell edge).
Based on applicant’s specification ¶0033 which discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited references:
3GPP1 clearly discloses respectively in Section 2.2 that the RRM relaxation criteria are:
3GPP2 clearly discloses respectively in Section 3.2 that the RRM relaxation criteria are:
Therefore, the cited references 3GPP1, 3GPP2, and 3GPP3, and He’12243 discloses the limitations above. The reasoning stated above also applies to other pending claims.
Examiner Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP1 (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #115-e, R2-2107413, 08/2021).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference 3GPP1 discloses a communication method applied to a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is configured with a first stationary criterion and a first not-at-cell-edge criterion (Section 2.2 discloses that a UE may be configured with either Rel-16 or Rel-17 RRM relaxation criteria, i.e. the following is a case for RRM relaxation configurations are supported: Both Rel-17 stationary and not-at-cell-edge criteria), the terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device (Section 1 discloses RRM relaxation for neighboring cells for RedCap devices), the method comprising: executing, by the terminal device, neighbor cell radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met (Section 2.1 discloses a UE in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE is allowed to relax RRM measurements on neighboring cells when it fulfills the criteria determining that the UE is in “low mobility” where low mobility criterion, as part or whole of Rel-17 stationary criterion in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE (See Annex page (Section 1)), wherein the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met comprises: executing, by the terminal device, first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion is not met; and executing, by the terminal device, second neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when both the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion are met (Based on applicant’s specification ¶0033 which discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited reference 3GPP1 discloses respectively in Section 2.2 that the RRM relaxation criteria are:
).
Regarding claim 9, the cited reference 3GPP1 discloses a communication device comprising a memory for storing a program and a processor (3GPP1 discloses a UE which is user equipment, the UE is a hardware which includes both memory and processor components), wherein the communication device is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the cited reference 3GPP1 discloses a chip comprising a processor,
wherein a device installed with the chip (3GPP1 discloses a UE which is user equipment, the UE is a hardware which includes both memory and processor components), is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP2 (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #115-e, R2-2109133, 08/2021).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference 3GPP2 discloses a communication method applied to a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is configured with a first stationary criterion and a first not-at-cell-edge criterion (Section 3.2 discloses that NW configures Rel-17 RRM relaxation for RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE, Rel-17 stationary criterion is mandatory, and Rel-17 not-at-cell-edge criterion is optional configuration), the terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device (Section 4.2 discloses RRM relaxation criterion for CONNECTED redcap UE), the method comprising: executing, by the terminal device, neighbor cell radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met (Section 3.4 discloses of performing measurement relaxation in each case: Both stationarity criterion and not-at-cell edge criterion are configured, and UE only fulfils the stationarity criteria), wherein the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met comprises: executing, by the terminal device, first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion is not met; and executing, by the terminal device, second neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when both the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion are met (Based on applicant’s specification ¶0033 which discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited reference. 3GPP2 clearly discloses respectively in Section 3.2 that the RRM relaxation criteria are:
).
Regarding claim 9, the cited reference 3GPP2 discloses a communication device comprising a memory for storing a program and a processor (3GPP2 discloses a UE which is user equipment, the UE is a hardware which includes both memory and processor components), wherein the communication device is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the cited reference 3GPP2 discloses a chip comprising a processor, wherein a device installed with the chip (3GPP2 discloses a UE which is user equipment, the UE is a hardware which includes both memory and processor components), is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP3 (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113e, R2-20xxxxx, 02/2021).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses a communication method appliedto a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is configured with a first stationary criterion and a first not-at-cell-edge criterion (Section 3.1 discloses that a network can configure the triggering criteria independently (i.e. both low-mobility and not-at-cell-edge) where Section 2.1 further discloses that RRM relaxation can be considered for both fixed UEs and slightly moving UEs. Generally, both of them belong to “low mobility” case), the terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device (Section 6.1 discloses Redcap UEs who can perform RRM relaxation), the method comprising: executing, by the terminal device, neighbor cell radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met (Section 6.1 discloses Redcap UEs who can perform RRM relaxation must fulfill “low mobility” criterion where Section 2.1 further discloses that RRM relaxation can be considered for both fixed UEs and slightly moving UEs. Generally, both of them belong to “low mobility” case), wherein the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met comprises: executing, by the terminal device, first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion is not met; and executing, by the terminal device, second neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when both the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion are met (Based on applicant’s specification ¶0033 discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited reference 3GPP3 discloses in page 6 and Section 6.1 that RRM relaxation can be considered for both fixed UEs and slightly moving UEs. Generally, both of them belong to "low mobility" case…Redcap UEs, it is straightforward that Redcap UEs who can perform RRM relaxation must fulfill "low mobility" criterion. … for Redcap neighbour cell RRM relaxation in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE, based … Case 2: both "low mobility" and "not-at-cell-edge" criteria are configured. Section 3.2 and Table 3.2-1 clearly disclose that Relax measurements when both triggering conditions are configured and either one of conditions is met or single condition is configured see table 3.2-1 below.
).
Regarding claim 3, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses all limitations of claim 2. 3GPP3 further discloses wherein the terminal device is further configured with first indication information, and the first indication information indicates that the terminal device executes neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation only when both the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion are met, the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met comprises: not executing, by the terminal device, first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion is not met (Section 3.2 and Table 3.2-1 which discloses a Method 1: Relax measurements when both triggering conditions are configured and a Method 2: Stop measurements when condition 1 is met).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses all limitations of claim 2. 3GPP3 further discloses that wherein the first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation is neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation which is executed by the terminal device in accordance with a relax requirement when the first stationary criterion is met (Section 6.1 discloses that RRM relaxation can be considered for both fixed UEs and slightly moving UEs. Generally, both of them belong to “low mobility” case and RRM
relaxation for “stationary devices”).
Regarding claim 5, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses all limitations of claim 2. 3GPP3 further discloses that wherein the first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation is neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation which is executed by the terminal device in accordance with a relax requirement when the first stationary criterion is met (Section 7 discloses that Network configures RRM relaxation parameters and UE informs the network the relaxation criteria is fulfilled to assist network to further decidewhether to enable UE RRM relaxation. Section 6.1 further discloses that RRM relaxation in RRC_IDLE/INACTIVE, based on … Case 2: both “low mobility” and “not-at-cell-edge” criteria are configured where RRM relaxation can be considered for both fixed UEs and slightly moving UEs. Generally, both of them belong to “low mobility” case).
Regarding claims 6-8, the cited reference He discloses all limitations of claim 1. He further discloses before the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation, receiving, by the terminal device, a first message, the first message comprising the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion (Claim 6) (Section 7.1 discloses that parameters for low-mobility/not-cell-edge criteria can also be configured via dedicated RRC signaling), wherein the first message further comprises first indication information (Claim 7) (Section 7.1 discloses that parameters for low-mobility/not-cell-edge criteria can also be configured via dedicated RRC signaling), and wherein the first message is a system message, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) message (Claim 8) (Section 7.1 discloses that parameters for low-mobility/not-cell-edge criteria can also be configured via dedicated RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 9, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses a communication device comprising a memory for storing a program and a processor (3GPP3 discloses a UE which is user equipment, the UE is a hardware which includes both memory and processor components), wherein the communication device is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as
claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 3. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 5. Therefore, the claim is subject to the
same rejection as claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 6. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 7. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 8. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses a chip comprising a processor,
wherein a device installed with the chip (3GPP3 discloses a UE which is user equipment, the UE is a hardware which includes both memory and processor components), is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 3. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He (US20220312243).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference He discloses a communication method applied to a terminal device (¶0006 discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE)), wherein the terminal device is configured with a first stationary criterion and a first not-at-cell-edge criterion (¶0071 discloses that the not-at-cell-edge criterion may be configured only when a stationary criterion is configured), the terminal device is a reduced capability terminal device (¶0061 discloses that the RRM measurement relaxation may occur when … the UE may be a reduced capability UE), the method comprising: executing, by the terminal device, neighbor cell radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met (¶0072 discloses that the UE may perform RRM measurements based at least in part on the first configuration associated with RRM measurement relaxation based at least in part on the UE being stationary), wherein the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met comprises: executing, by the terminal device, first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when the first stationary criterion is met and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion is not met; and executing, by the terminal device, second neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation when both the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion are met (Based on applicant’s specification ¶0033 which discloses that the stationary criterion is low mobility criterion. The cited reference He’12243 clearly discloses in ¶0048-¶0049 that two triggering criteria may be defined for RRM relaxation… A first triggering criterion may involve low mobility… a second triggering criterion may involve not being at a cell edge (e.g., the UE is not located at a cell edge)).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference He discloses all limitations of claim 2. He further discloses that wherein the first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation is neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation which is executed by the terminal device in accordance with a relax requirement when the first stationary criterion is met (¶0049 discloses that the network entity may further configure whether the UE needs to meet only one triggering criterion or both of the triggering criteria to perform the RRM relaxation. In other words, the network entity may further configure whether the UE is to be low mobility … in order to relax RRM measurements).
Regarding claim 5, the cited reference He discloses all limitations of claim 2. He further discloses that wherein the first neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation is neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation which is executed by the terminal device in accordance with a relax requirement when the first stationary criterion is met (¶0049 discloses when both the first triggering criterion and the second triggering criterion are configured for the UE, the network entity may further configure whether the UE needs to meet … both of the triggering criteria to perform the RRM relaxation. In other words, the network entity may further configure whether the UE is to be low mobility and not located at the cell edge in order to relax RRM measurements. ¶0055 discloses that when both the first triggering criterion and the second triggering criterion are configured and both triggering criteria are met, the second type of RRM relaxation may be applied for RRM measurements).
Regarding claims 6-8, the cited reference He discloses all limitations of claim 1. He further
discloses before the executing, by the terminal device, the neighbor cell RRM measurement relaxation, receiving, by the terminal device, a first message, the first message comprising the first stationary criterion and the first not-at-cell-edge criterion (Claim 6) (¶0083 discloses that the network entity may advertise the one or more configurations for RRM measurement relaxation in a cell. The one or more configurations may include a first configuration for stationary UEs (e.g., which may include fixed-location UEs and/or temporarily stationary UEs), a second configuration for low mobility UEs, and/or a third configuration for not-at-cell-edge UEs. ¶0082 discloses that the UE may receive the one or more configurations for RRM measurement relaxation via a SIB), wherein the first message further comprises first indication information (Claim 7) (¶0082 discloses that the network entity may advertise RRM measurement relaxation triggering criteria and parameters in the SIB), and wherein the first message is a system message, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a radio resource control (RRC) message (Claim 8) (¶0082 discloses that the network entity may advertise RRM measurement relaxation triggering criteria and parameters in the SIB).
Regarding claim 9, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses a communication device comprising a memory for storing a program and a processor (Fig. 2 discloses a a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network which includes a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) and the memory 282), wherein the communication device is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as
claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing
substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 5. Therefore, the claim is subject to the
same rejection as claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 6. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 7. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 8. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the cited reference 3GPP3 discloses a chip comprising a processor,
wherein a device installed with the chip (Fig. 2 discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network which includes a processor (e.g., the controller/processor 280) and the memory 282), is configured to perform substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to the communication device performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, the cited reference He discloses all limitations of claim 1. He further discloses that wherein the first stationary criterion is met in a case that a change in a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a serving cell of the terminal device does not exceed a preset range. (¶0048 discloses that A first triggering criterion may involve low mobility. The UE may be considered to be low mobility when a difference between a reference signal level (e.g., SrxlevRef) and a serving cell received signal level (e.g., Srxlev) is less than a delta value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US20220312243), in view of PRIYANTO et al (US20240196254).
Regarding claims 22-23, the cited reference He discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, He does not explicitly teach:
receiving, by the terminal device, user subscription information sent by a network
device, wherein the user subscription information comprises stationary state indication
information indicating whether the first stationary criterion is met (Claim 22).
the stationary state indication information is indicated as one bit (Claim 23).
In an analogous art PRIYANTO teaches:
receiving, by the terminal device, user subscription information sent by a network device, wherein the user subscription information comprises stationary state indication information indicating whether the first stationary criterion is met (Claim 22) (¶0051 discloses that the radio network 100 may transmit a message 402 comprising or identifying one or more criteria for use in the UE to determine stationary condition, or stationary status).
the stationary state indication information is indicated as one bit (Claim 23)(¶0074 discloses that the indication of stationary condition may be provided by one bit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of PRIYANTO which provides a solution for a wireless device to determine that it is in a stationary condition, so as to enable reduced signaling and processing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’ssupervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Informationregarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained fromeither Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462