Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13th November 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
---------- ---------- ----------
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 21, as amended, are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,088,758 B2 (758 patent); and, unpatentable over claims 1 – 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,936,465 B2 (465 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following explanation.
The 758 patent independent claim 1 cites:
a system, comprising: a residential gateway comprising a gateway circuit to provide communication gateway functions and a first connector, wherein the first connector includes a universal serial bus Type-C connector, a broadband termination unit physically separate from the residential gateway and comprising a broadband termination circuit to terminate a broadband connection from a broadband network and a second connector, wherein the residential gateway serves as an interface between customer premises equipment devices and the broadband termination unit, a cable coupled directly to the first connector and directly to the second connector, wherein the residential gateway and the broadband termination unit are configured to communicate data via the cable, and wherein electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by either the broadband termination unit or the residential gateway.
The 758 patent independent claim 9 (similarly claims 12 and 14) cites:
a broadband termination unit terminating a broadband connection from a broadband network, comprising: a broadband termination circuit configured to communicate data to and from a broadband network connection, a universal serial bus Type-C connector, a data communication circuit configured to communicate data via the connector, and a voltage converter coupled to the connector and configured to generate a voltage at the connector that facilitates both communication with a residential gateway via the connector and supply of power via the connector to the residential gateway, wherein the residential gateway serves as an interface for customer premises equipment devices and the broadband termination unit.
The 465 patent independent claim 1 (similarly claim 23; also refer to claims 20 and 22) cites:
a system, comprising: a gateway device having a communication circuit to provide gateway communication functions and a connector, wherein the connector includes a universal serial bus Type-C connector, the gateway device being configured to electronically couple with a modem device that is physically separate from the gateway device, wherein the gateway device is configured to electronically couple to the modem device via a cable coupled to the connector, wherein the gateway device and the modem device are configured to communicate data via the cable, and wherein electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by the gateway device in a first configuration, wherein the electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by the modem device in a second configuration, wherein a source of the electrical power includes a power outlet.
The current application, as amended, independent claim 1 cites:
a system, comprising:
a communication circuit to provide communication functions and a connector, wherein the connector includes an Ethernet connector,
the system being configured to electronically couple with a device that is physically separate from the system, wherein the system is configured to electronically couple to the device via a cable coupled directly to the connector, wherein the system and the device are configured to communicate data via the cable, and wherein electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by either the system or the device.
From the underlined portions above, it is evident that the current application limitations reflect broadened versions of the parents 758 patent and 465 patent claims limitations regarding providing or receiving electrical power supply via a connector between/among electronically coupled devices.While the current application has amended to have an “Ethernet connector” instead of an original “USB-C connector,” the Ethernet connector feature is shown in Jonsson et al (US 2012/0060044 A1) which cites “an Ethernet switch in the power node 100A or 100B is coupled to the power node PLC and provides one or more Ethernet connections such as an Ethernet connection enabling functions of the power node and an Ethernet connection available to devices external to the power node” in paragraph 0028 and “The processor 212 may have these associations pre-programmed so that it can associate information received from a device through a particular ethernet connector 16A-D with a particular outlet 14A-C… The processor 212 may then identify that outlet 914B is sending power to the networked coffee pot 960 due to the proximity of the outlet 914B and the network connector 16B, and send the MAC address of the networked worked coffee pot, 01-23-45-67-89-AB, along with an identifier of outlet 914B, across the PLC network to a gateway 108 or to some other device that may gather information about the network 107 and/or allow a user to control devices on the home network 107 (elaborate)” in paragraph 0045 which is an obvious feature to replace the USB-C connector in the parents 758 and 465 patents to an Ethernet connector as taught by Jonsson et al to provide a stable connection with minimal signal loss.
Regarding the electronically coupled PCIe feature, Pratt et al (US 2013/0179622 A1) teaches feature of a system being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electronically coupled PCIe feature as taught by Pratt in the invention’s system / connector to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.
Therefore, the proper terminal disclaimer(s) is/are maintained required.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Essinger et al (US 2010/0177076 A1) in view of Pratt et al (US 2013/0179622 A1) and in further view of Shurki et al (US 2018/0331767 A1).
Claim 18. Essinger shows a gateway apparatus (fig. 9G: gateway), comprising:
a power input configured to receive power from a power outlet (fig. 9G: power source),
a communication circuit configured to communicate data to and from a network connection (fig. 9G: System ASIC),
an Ethernet connector (fig. 9G: Ethernet connector),
a data communication circuit configured to communicate data via the Ethernet connector (fig. 9G: Ethernet chipset), and
a voltage converter operatively coupled to power input and to the Ethernet connector (fig. 9G: Voltage Regulator), the voltage converter configured to generate a voltage that facilitates the Ethernet connector to provide both communication with a modem device via the Ethernet connector and a supply of power via the Ethernet connector to the modem device ([0264]: the NPT-based gateway device 5B comprising (i) an ASIC-implemented system control module 195, including a power management module 196, a microprocessor 197, flash memory 198 for gateway firmware 199 storage, program memory 200 for executing firmware programs during run-time, and a GPIO submodule 201 connected to an IEEE 802.15.4 modem transceiver 202, with all components being interfaced by way of a system bus 203 (ii) an impedance matching network 204 connected to an RF antenna structure (ANT) 205 and interfaced with a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) 206 which is interfaced to the IEEE 802.15.4 modem transceiver 202; (iii) a voltage regulation module 207 interfaced with the power management module 196 and to a power source wall plug module 208 having an AC/DC converter 209; and (iv) an Ethernet chipset 210 interfaced with the system ASIC 195 and an Ethernet connector 189 integrated with the housing, and including a flash memory 211 for storing firmware for the gateway device and its network translation services, a microcontroller 212 for executing firmware programs and instructions, and a GP/IO 213 for supporting I/O services).Essinger does not very expressly describe wherein the system being configured to electronically couple with the device using Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe).Pratt teaches feature of a system being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electronically coupled PCIe feature as taught by Pratt between the system and the device of Essinger to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.Essinger, modified by Pratt, does not expressly describe the system and the device are configured to communicate “PCIe signaling” via the cable as amended.Shurki teaches feature of a system and a device communicating PCIe signaling via a cable wherein electrical power is also supplied via the cable (fig. 2 and [0053]: the Ethernet cables 18 and PCIe cables 8 bypassing the power sourcing management unit 15 are connected to the same electrical port 19; these electrical ports may additionally transmit signals under the PCIe protocol).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PCIe signaling and power supplying cable as taught by Shurki in the gateway apparatus of Essinger, modified by Pratt, to facilitate compatibility with “hybrid” power-over-Ethernet mechanism.
Claim 20. Essinger shows a modem (fig. 9G: modem 202), comprising:
a power input configured to receive power from a power outlet (fig. 9G: power management),
a connector (fig. 9G: connection between chipset 210 and system ASIC 195),
a communication circuit coupled to the connector (fig. 9G: system ASIC 195), and
a voltage converter coupled to the connector and to the power input (fig. 9G: Voltage Regulator) and configured to generate an internal supply voltage based on a voltage at the connector, wherein the voltage is supplied, via an Ethernet cable, to a device that is physically separate from the modem ([0264]: the NPT-based gateway device 5B comprising (i) an ASIC-implemented system control module 195, including a power management module 196, a microprocessor 197, flash memory 198 for gateway firmware 199 storage, program memory 200 for executing firmware programs during run-time, and a GPIO submodule 201 connected to an IEEE 802.15.4 modem transceiver 202, with all components being interfaced by way of a system bus 203 (ii) an impedance matching network 204 connected to an RF antenna structure (ANT) 205 and interfaced with a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) 206 which is interfaced to the IEEE 802.15.4 modem transceiver 202; (iii) a voltage regulation module 207 interfaced with the power management module 196 and to a power source wall plug module 208 having an AC/DC converter 209; and (iv) an Ethernet chipset 210 interfaced with the system ASIC 195 and an Ethernet connector 189 integrated with the housing, and including a flash memory 211 for storing firmware for the gateway device and its network translation services, a microcontroller 212 for executing firmware programs and instructions, and a GP/IO 213 for supporting I/O services).
Essinger does not very expressly describe wherein the connector being configured for Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe).Pratt teaches feature of a system being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the PCIe feature as taught by Pratt in the connector of Essinger to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.Essinger, modified by Pratt, does not expressly describe the communication circuit communicates “PCIe signaling via the connector” wherein the “PCIe signaling and the voltage are supplied” as amended.Shurki teaches feature of a communication circuit that communicates PCIe signaling via a connector wherein the PCIe signaling and the voltage are supplied (fig. 2 and [0053]: the Ethernet cables 18 and PCIe cables 8 (connector included) bypassing the power sourcing management unit 15 are connected to the same electrical port 19 (e.g. voltage supply); these electrical ports may additionally transmit signals under the PCIe protocol).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PCIe signaling and voltage supplying connector as taught by Shurki in the modem of Essinger, modified by Pratt, to facilitate compatibility with “hybrid” power-over-Ethernet mechanism.
Claim 21. Essinger shows a method (abstract), comprising:
providing a communication connector at a first device (fig. 9G: chipset 210), wherein the communication connector includes an Ethernet connector (fig. 9G: Ethernet connector 189);
enabling electronic communication, via the communication connector, with a second device (fig. 9G: modem 202), the first device and the second device including a device type that is either a gateway device or a modem device (fig. 9B: gateway 5B and modem 202), a first device type of the first device being different than a second device type of the second device (fig. 9G: NPT-based gateway device 5B and IEEE 802.15.4 modem transceiver 202); and
providing power, from the first device to the second device, via the Ethernet connector, the power being received via a power outlet (fig. 9B: power source and voltage regulator).Essinger does not very expressly describe wherein the connector being configured for Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe).Pratt teaches feature of a connector being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the PCIe feature as taught by Pratt in between the first device and the second device, via the connector, of Essinger to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.
Essinger, modified by Pratt, does not expressly describe electronic communication of “PCIe signaling” via the communication connector “and an Ethernet cable” as amended.Shurki teaches feature of electronic communication of “PCIe signaling” via a communication connector and an Ethernet cable (fig. 2 and [0053]: the Ethernet cables 18 and PCIe cables 8 (connector included) bypassing the power sourcing management unit 15 are connected to the same electrical port 19; these electrical ports may additionally transmit signals under the PCIe protocol).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PCIe signaling and voltage supplying connector as taught by Shurki in the method of Essinger, modified by Pratt, to facilitate compatibility with “hybrid” power-over-Ethernet mechanism.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powers et al (US 2017/0093104 A1) in view of Jonsson et al (US 2012/0060044 A1) and Pratt et al (US 2013/0179622 A1) and in further view of Shurki et al (US 2018/0331767 A1).
Claim 1: Powers shows a system (figs. 1 and 3), comprising:
a communication circuit (fig. 4, connector adapter 200: USB Type-C connector insert 250) to provide communication functions and a connector (figs. 4 and 5), wherein the connector includes a universal serial bus Type-C connector (fig. 4 and [0031]: ground contacts 222 of MagSafe connector receptacle 210 may electrically connect to ground contacts and side ground contacts in USB Type-C connector insert 250),
the system being configured to electronically couple with a device that is physically separate from the system (fig. 3: the connector adapter 200 electronically connects a charger 110, via cable 312, that is physically separated from a laptop 100 device), wherein the system is configured to electronically couple to the device via a cable coupled directly to the connector ([0029]: cable 312 “magnetically” and “electronically” connects the connector adapter 200 (linked to charger 110) and the laptop 100 device), wherein the system and the device are configured to communicate data via the cable, and wherein electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by either the system or the device ([0040]: these interconnect paths provided by these adapters may be used to convey power, ground, signals, test points, and other voltage, current, data, or other information).Powers does not expressly describe wherein the connector as an “Ethernet” connector.Jonsson teaches an Ethernet connector that connects a modem and a gateway ([0028]: an Ethernet switch in the power node 100A or 100B is coupled to the power node PLC and provides one or more Ethernet connections such as an Ethernet connection enabling functions of the power node and an Ethernet connection available to devices external to the power node; [0045]: the processor 212 may have these associations pre-programmed so that it can associate information received from a device through a particular ethernet connector 16A-D with a particular outlet 14A-C… the processor 212 may then identify that outlet 914B is sending power to the networked coffee pot 960 due to the proximity of the outlet 914B and the network connector 16B, and send the MAC address of the networked worked coffee pot, 01-23-45-67-89-AB, along with an identifier of outlet 914B, across the PLC network to a gateway 108 or to some other device that may gather information about the network 107 and/or allow a user to control devices on the home network 107 (elaborate)).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the USB-C connector in the system of Powers to the Ethernet connector as taught by Jonsson to provide a stable connection with minimal signal loss.Powers, modified by Jonsson, does not very expressly describe wherein the system being configured to electronically couple with the device using Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe).Pratt teaches feature of a system being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electronically coupled PCIe feature as taught by Pratt between the system and the device of Powers, modified by Jonsson, to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.
Powers, modified by Jonsson and Pratt, does not expressly describe the system and the device are configured to communicate “PCIe signaling” via the cable as amended.Shurki teaches feature of a system and a device communicating PCIe signaling via a cable wherein electrical power is also supplied via the cable (fig. 2 and [0053]: the Ethernet cables 18 and PCIe cables 8 bypassing the power sourcing management unit 15 are connected to the same electrical port 19; these electrical ports may additionally transmit signals under the PCIe protocol).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PCIe signaling and power supplying cable as taught by Shurki in the gateway apparatus of Powers, modified by Jonsson and Pratt, to facilitate compatibility with “hybrid” power-over-Ethernet mechanism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Backman et al (US 2017/0060207 A1) in view of Jonsson et al (US 2012/0060044 A1) and Pratt et al (US 2013/0179622 A1) and in further view of Shurki et al (US 2018/0331767 A1).
Claim 1: Backman shows a system (fig. 2), comprising:
a communication circuit (fig. 2: interface 211 or 212) to provide communication functions and a connector ([0018]: the bi-directional power transfer interfaces 211, 212 and the connecting cable 230 may conform to USB Type-C specifications), wherein the connector includes a universal serial bus Type-C connector (see above), the system being configured to electronically couple with a device that is physically separate from the system (fig. 2: portable device 201 is electronically coupled to portable device 202 and they are physically separate), wherein the system is configured to electronically couple to the device via a cable coupled directly to the connector (fig. 2: cable 230),
wherein the system and the device are configured to communicate data via the cable, and wherein electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by either the system or the device ([0018]: the portable devices 201,202 may be configured to donate and/or receive battery charge through their respective bi-directional power transfer interfaces 211, 212 wherein the battery charge may be transferred from the first portable device 201 to the second portable device 202 or from the second portable device 202 to the first portable device 201; [0031]: the bi-directional power transfer interface 211, such as the USB Type-C may be configured to transmit data and power wherein after connecting the devices 201, the user may be prompted to choose the desired action, whether the device 201 should transfer data, synchronize the data or transfer power in the desired direction).Backman does not expressly describe wherein the connector as an “Ethernet” connector.Jonsson teaches an Ethernet connector that connects a modem and a gateway ([0028]: an Ethernet switch in the power node 100A or 100B is coupled to the power node PLC and provides one or more Ethernet connections such as an Ethernet connection enabling functions of the power node and an Ethernet connection available to devices external to the power node; [0045]: the processor 212 may have these associations pre-programmed so that it can associate information received from a device through a particular ethernet connector 16A-D with a particular outlet 14A-C… the processor 212 may then identify that outlet 914B is sending power to the networked coffee pot 960 due to the proximity of the outlet 914B and the network connector 16B, and send the MAC address of the networked worked coffee pot, 01-23-45-67-89-AB, along with an identifier of outlet 914B, across the PLC network to a gateway 108 or to some other device that may gather information about the network 107 and/or allow a user to control devices on the home network 107 (elaborate)).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the USB-C connector in the system of Backman to the Ethernet connector as taught by Jonsson to provide a stable connection with minimal signal loss.Backman, modified by Jonsson, does not very expressly describe wherein the system being configured to electronically couple with the device using Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe).Pratt teaches feature of a system being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electronically coupled PCIe feature as taught by Pratt between the system and the device of Backman, modified by Jonsson, to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.Backman, modified by Jonsson and Pratt, does not expressly describe the system and the device are configured to communicate “PCIe signaling” via the cable as amended.Shurki teaches feature of a system and a device communicating PCIe signaling via a cable wherein electrical power is also supplied via the cable (fig. 2 and [0053]: the Ethernet cables 18 and PCIe cables 8 bypassing the power sourcing management unit 15 are connected to the same electrical port 19; these electrical ports may additionally transmit signals under the PCIe protocol).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PCIe signaling and power supplying cable as taught by Shurki in the gateway apparatus of Backman, modified by Jonsson and Pratt, to facilitate compatibility with “hybrid” power-over-Ethernet mechanism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Koo (US 2016/0352101 A1) in view of Jonsson et al (US 2012/0060044 A1) and of Pratt et al (US 2013/0179622 A1) and in further view of Shurki et al (US 2018/0331767 A1).
Claim 1: Koo shows a system (fig. 2), comprising:
a communication circuit (fig. 2, in external devices 410, 420 and 430: USB I/O port 410a/420a/430a; fig. 4: USB port) to provide communication functions and a connector ([0054]: the first USB port 410a of the first external device 410 and the second USB port 420a of the second external device 420 may be implemented in the type-c form supporting an USB PD, thereby connecting to a first USB input/output port 502 and a second USB input/output port 503 of the electronic device 500), wherein the connector includes a universal serial bus Type-C connector, the system being configured to electronically couple with a device that is physically separate from the system (fig. 2: the system device 500 is electronically coupled to external devices 410, 420 and 430 and they are all physically separate), wherein the system is configured to electronically couple to the device via a cable coupled directly to the connector ([0004]: the USB Implementers Forum (USB-IF) has established standards for a new USB type-C connector and cable… the USB type-C connector and the cable support an USB Power Delivery (PD) standard to enable power supply up to 100 W; [0047]: the communication interface may be connected to a network through wireless or wired communication to communicate with the external device),
wherein the system and the device are configured to communicate data via the cable, and wherein electrical power is supplied, via the cable, by either the system or the device (fig. 2 and [0054]-[0055]: connecting to a first USB input/output port 502 and a second USB input/output port 503 of the electronic device 500 so as to enable bidirectional data communication and power input/output with the electronic device 500… connecting to a third USB output port 504 of the electronic device 500 so as to enable bidirectional data communication and power input/output with the electronic device 500).Koo does not expressly describe wherein the connector as an “Ethernet” connector.Jonsson teaches an Ethernet connector that connects a modem and a gateway ([0028]: an Ethernet switch in the power node 100A or 100B is coupled to the power node PLC and provides one or more Ethernet connections such as an Ethernet connection enabling functions of the power node and an Ethernet connection available to devices external to the power node; [0045]: the processor 212 may have these associations pre-programmed so that it can associate information received from a device through a particular ethernet connector 16A-D with a particular outlet 14A-C… the processor 212 may then identify that outlet 914B is sending power to the networked coffee pot 960 due to the proximity of the outlet 914B and the network connector 16B, and send the MAC address of the networked worked coffee pot, 01-23-45-67-89-AB, along with an identifier of outlet 914B, across the PLC network to a gateway 108 or to some other device that may gather information about the network 107 and/or allow a user to control devices on the home network 107 (elaborate)).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the USB-C connector in the system of Koo to the Ethernet connector as taught by Jonsson to provide a stable connection with minimal signal loss.
Koo, modified by Jonsson, does not very expressly describe wherein the system being configured to electronically couple with the device using Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe).Pratt teaches feature of a system being configured to electronically couple with a device using PCIe (fig. 5a and [0049]: a backplane 500 which comprises a power source 502, a CPU with an SPF connection 504 and multiple PCIe slots 506, each slot electronically coupled to a PCIe switch 22, and through the PCIe switch 22, the PCIe to PCI bridge 24).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the electronically coupled PCIe feature as taught by Pratt between the system and the device of Koo, modified by Jonsson, to improve signal quality and reduces noise and allow devices to be inserted or removed while the system is running without risking damage from voltage mismatches or current surges.Koo, modified by Jonsson and Pratt, does not expressly describe the system and the device are configured to communicate “PCIe signaling” via the cable as amended.Shurki teaches feature of a system and a device communicating PCIe signaling via a cable wherein electrical power is also supplied via the cable (fig. 2 and [0053]: the Ethernet cables 18 and PCIe cables 8 bypassing the power sourcing management unit 15 are connected to the same electrical port 19; these electrical ports may additionally transmit signals under the PCIe protocol).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PCIe signaling and power supplying cable as taught by Shurki in the gateway apparatus of Koo, modified by Jonsson and Pratt, to facilitate compatibility with “hybrid” power-over-Ethernet mechanism.
========== ========== ==========
Claims 2 – 10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Powers/Backman/Koo in view of Jonsson et al, Pratt et al and Shurki et al, and in further view of Essinger et al (US 2010/0177076 A1).
Claim 2. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein a supply voltage amount of the electrical power is adjustable.Essinger teaches feature of a supply voltage amount of electrical power being adjustable ([0188]: a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) to the transmit line to boost signal strength to increase range in noisy environments, and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) to the receiver to increase the gain of incoming signals, wherein the gain of these amplifiers is software-controlled so that the signal strength is dynamically changed/adjusted).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electrical power adjustable feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 3. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 2; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein a supplier of the electrical power is configured to increase an amount of the electrical power.Essinger teaches a supplier that is configured to increase an amount of electrical power ([0188]: a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) to the transmit line to boost signal strength to increase range in noisy environments, and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) to the receiver to increase the gain of incoming signals, wherein the gain of these amplifiers is software-controlled so that the signal strength is dynamically changed/adjusted – the “changeable/adjustable” power can be increased or decreased).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electrical power increase feature as taught by Essinger in the supplier of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 4. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt, Shurki and Essinger, shows the system of claim 3, wherein the supplier of the electrical power includes a particular power channel that is capable to carry the increase in the amount of the electrical power (Essinger, [0188]: a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) to the transmit line to boost signal strength to increase range in noisy environments, and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) to the receiver to increase the gain of incoming signals, wherein the gain of these amplifiers is software-controlled so that the signal strength is dynamically changed/adjusted).
Claim 5. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the electrical power is used, at least partially, to charge a battery.Essinger teaches electrical power being used to charge a battery (Essinger, fig. 12B and [0304]: a rechargeable battery 278).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the battery charging feature as taught by Essinger in the supplier of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 6. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the electrical power used at both a supplier of the electrical power and at a receiver of the electrical power.Essinger teaches electrical power being used to both a supplier of electrical power and a receiver of the electrical power (Essinger, [0211]: an impedance matching network 151 connected to a dipole or other type RF antenna structure (ANT 1) 152 and interfaced with a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) along the transmission line and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) 153 along the receiving line; [0303]: an electrical power plug connector 251 integrated with the housing, for supply electrical power to the device).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the electrical power supply feature as taught by Essinger in the supplier of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 7. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein in a first configuration, the system is configured to provide the electrical power to the device, and wherein in a second configuration, the device is configured to provide the electrical power to the system.Essinger teaches feature of an electrical power to a device, and wherein in a second configuration, the device is configured to provide the electrical power to the system (Essinger, [0211]: an impedance matching network 151 connected to a dipole or other type RF antenna structure (ANT 1) 152 and interfaced with a variable gain power amplifier (Out Tx) along the transmission line and a variable gain low-noise amplifier (LNA), (In Rx) 153 along the receiving line; [0303]: an electrical power plug connector 251 integrated with the housing, for supply electrical power to the device).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 8. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 7; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein upon detection of a change from the first configuration to the second configuration, switching from system providing the electrical power to the device to the device providing the electrical power to the system.Essinger teaches feature of upon detection of a change from a first configuration to the second configuration, switching from system providing an electrical power to a device to a device providing the electrical power to the system ([0188]: the gain of these amplifiers is software-controlled so that the signal strength is dynamically changed/adjusted, depending on the characteristics of the ambient environment).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 9. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the electrical power is sent to two or more devices components on a receiving side.Essinger teaches feature of electrical power being sent to two or more devices components on a receiving side (Essinger, [0102]: the back-end network 4 comprises a hub network 20B, a host PC-level computer system 21B for network management, and an application and database server 22B, each operable connected to the infrastructure of the Internet; [0216]: the phase of the electrical currents supplied from the transmitter to each of the sixteen array elements, can be varied in such a way that a directive radiation pattern).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 10. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 9; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the electrical power is sent to two or more devices components via a hub on the receiving side.Essinger teaches feature of electrical power being sent to two or more devices components via a hub on a receiving side (Essinger, [0102]: the back-end network 4 comprises a hub network 20B, a host PC-level computer system 21B for network management, and an application and database server 22B, each operable connected to the infrastructure of the Internet; [0216]: the phase of the electrical currents supplied from the transmitter to each of the sixteen array elements, can be varied in such a way that a directive radiation pattern).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 13. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the system and the device are configured for communicating data using an Ethernet type protocol.Essinger teaches communicating using an Ethernet type protocol (Essinger, [0112]: the coordinator device 6 is wirelessly connected to a plurality of subnetwork gateways 5B, each supporting IEEE 802.15.4 to Ethernet network protocol translation; [0263]: Ethernet connector).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
Claim 16. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the device comprises a power supply to be connected to a main power.Essinger teaches feature of a power supply being connected to a main power (Essinger, [0147]: a power source module including an electro-chemical battery).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Essinger in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to facilitate increased flexibility and improved redundancy.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Powers/Backman/Koo in view of Jonsson et al, Pratt et al, Shurki et al and Sefidvash, applied to claim 11, and in further view of Ware et al (US 2004/0183559 A1).
Claim 12. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt, Shurki and Sefidvash, shows the system of claim 11; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt, Shurki and Sefidvash, does not expressly describe wherein the one or more power signals may be sent over a high-speed pin or channel, wherein the one or more configuration channels indicate which channel and/or timing to use for the one or more power signals.Ware teaches feature of one or more power signals may be sent over a high-speed pin or channel, wherein the one or more configuration channels indicate which channel and/or timing to use for the one or more power signals ([0009]-[0010]: the high-speed pin electronics 204 include timing circuitry 206 to adjust the drive point and the sample point of signals).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature as taught by Ware in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt, Shurki and Sefidvash, to provide benefit of significantly faster data transfer rates, enabling applications that require real-time processing and enhancing overall system performance by allowing for large amounts of data to be transmitted quickly.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Powers/Backman/Koo in view of Jonsson et al, Pratt et al and Shurki et al, and in further view of Binder et al (US 2007/0173202 A1).
Claim 14. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the system comprises a direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter coupled to the connector to convert a voltage on the cable to an internal supply voltage level of the system.Binder teaches feature of a direct current/direct current converter coupled to a connector to convert a voltage on the cable to an internal supply voltage level of a system ([0246]: each such connected location needs to have an LPF 222b and a power converter such as DC/DC Converter 225, operative for converting the input voltage from the wire pair 201 to the application operational voltage or voltages).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC/DC converter as taught by Binder in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to minimize power losses.
Claim 15. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the device comprises a direct current/direct current converter configured to convert an internal supply voltage of the device to a voltage to be provided via the cable.Binder teaches feature of a device comprising a direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter configured to convert an internal supply voltage of the device to a voltage to be provided via a cable ([0246]: each such connected location needs to have an LPF 222b and a power converter such as DC/DC Converter 225, operative for converting the input voltage from the wire pair 201 to the application operational voltage or voltages).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the DC/DC converter as taught by Binder in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to minimize power losses.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Powers/Backman/Koo in view of Jonsson et al, Pratt et al and Shurki et al, and in further view of De Laat et al (US 2013/0142488 A1).
Claim 17. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein the device includes a fiber termination unit.De Laat teaches a fiber termination unit for electrical signal conversion ([0003]: such fiber termination units are commonly installed in homes as an end station of an optical fiber network).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fiber termination unit as taught by De Laat in the system of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to provide efficient cable management, protection of fiber optic links, easy access for maintenance, flexibility in connecting different fiber cables, cost-effective distribution of optical fibers, and a centralized point to manage and splice fiber connections within a network.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Powers/Backman/Koo in view of Jonsson et al, Pratt et al and Shurki et al, and in further view of Sefidvash (US 2008/0101479 A1).
Claim 11. Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, shows the system of claim 1; Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe wherein a supplier of the electrical power may include one or more configuration channels to control a multiplexer for selecting one or more power signals.Sefidvash teaches feature of a supplier of the electrical power may include one or more configuration channels to control a multiplexer for selecting one or more power signals ([0035]: the multiplexers 523 and 525 may be utilized to select which pins from the magnetic connector interface 527 may be coupled with the device 501, which may depend on the type of RJ45 connector utilized).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the multiplexer as taught by Sefidvash along in connection with the supplier of Powers/Backman/Koo, modified by Jonsson, Pratt and Shurki, to optimize resource utilization across various applications by allowing multiple data signals to share a single transmission medium.
---------- ---------- ----------
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 being unpatentable over Essinger et al in view of Pratt et al and Shurki et al, applied to claim 18, and in further view of Sefidvash (US 2008/0101479 A1).
Claim 19. Essinger, modified by Pratt and Shurki, shows the apparatus of claim 18; Essinger, modified by Pratt and Shurki, does not expressly describe the apparatus further comprising a multiplexer separating data communication through the Ethernet connector.
Sefidvash teaches a multiplexer that separates data communication through an Ethernet connector ([0035]: the multiplexers 523 and 525 may be utilized to select which pins from the magnetic connector interface 527 may be coupled with the device 501, which may depend on the type of RJ45 connector utilized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the multiplexer as taught by Sefidvash along in connection with the Ethernet connector of Essinger, modified by Pratt and Shurki, to optimize resource utilization across various applications by allowing multiple data signals to share a single transmission medium.
========== ========== ==========
Response to Arguments
The requested terminal disclaimer has not been filed by the applicant yet.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument – see Shurki.
The applicant is welcome to contact the examiner to discuss the case.
---------- ---------- ----------
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, this action is made Final. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XAVIER S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415 3rd January 2026