DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, in claim 4, at line 2, the phrase “meta-structures” is unclear because it is not clear what is included in the structure of a meta-structure reflector, and therefore, it is unclear what is intended to be claimed by the phrase. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is rejected based on its dependence from claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 14-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mertz (US 5,995,071).
Regarding claim 1, Mertz discloses a near-eye display system (Figs. 2-7) comprising: a reflective liquid crystal display (LCD) panel configured to generate a display image (20; Column 3, Lines 14-21); display optics configure to project the display image to a user (11; Column 2, Line 61 to Column 3, Line 13); and one or more light sources positioned on a same side of the reflective LCD panel as the display optics and configured to illuminate the reflective LCD panel to generate the display image (25; Column 3, Lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 2, Mertz further discloses wherein the reflective LCD panel comprises: a first substrate (37; Column 3, Lines 22-42); pixel drive circuits formed on the first substrate (Column 3, Lines 22-42); one or more reflectors on the pixel drive circuits (38 & 47; Column 3, Lines 22-42); a second substrate transparent to visible light (33; Column 3, Lines 22-42—note that an LCD screen is considered to characteristically include a transparent substrate); and a liquid crystal material layer between the second substrate and the one or more reflectors (Column 3, Lines 22-42).
Regarding claim 3, Mertz further discloses wherein the one or more reflectors are configured to reflect incident light from the one or more light sources towards the display optics at angles within an acceptance cone of the display optics of the near-eye display system (38 & 47; Column 3, Line 43 to Column 4, Line 32).
Regarding claim 4, Mertz further discloses wherein the one or more reflectors include specular metal reflectors or diffractive reflectors (Column 3, Lines 43-65).
Regarding claim 5, Mertz further discloses wherein the specular metal reflectors are used as pixel electrodes of pixels of the reflective LCD panel (Column 3, Lines 22-42).
Regarding claim 6, Mertz further discloses wherein the one or more reflectors include a plurality of reflectors having different tilt angles with respect to the first substrate (Column 3, Line 43 to Column 5, Line 26).
Regarding claim 7, Mertz further discloses wherein the plurality of reflectors are configured to reflect incident light from the one or more light sources towards the display optics at angles aligned with chief ray angles of pixels of the reflective LCD panel (Column 3, Line 43 to Column 5, Line 26).
Regarding claim 8, Mertz further discloses wherein the reflective LCD panel further comprises a planarization layer on the one or more reflectors (33; Column 3, Lines 22-42).
Regarding claim 14, Mertz further discloses wherein the one or more light sources are positioned at peripheral regions of the near-eye display system to illuminate the reflective LCD panel at oblique angles such that light reflected by a front surface of the reflective LCD panel is not collected and projected to the user by the display optics (Fig. 7, 254 & 255 & 256; Column 5, Lines 27-64).
Regarding claim 15, Mertz further discloses wherein the one or more light sources include a plurality of light sources configured to be switched on or off to generate a light pattern for illuminating the reflective LCD panel (Fig. 7, 254 & 255 & 256; Column 5, Lines 27-64).
Regarding claim 17, Mertz further discloses wherein the near-eye display system includes a virtual reality headset (Column 1, Lines 11-46; Column 2, Lines 16-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 18-19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mertz (US 5,995,071).
Regarding claim 12, Mertz teaches the invention of claim 2, including pixels with circuitry (Column 3, Lines 22-42), but is silent as to thin film transistors. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention would have reasonably contemplated having the driving circuitry for the display pixels include a thin film transistor since to make the device of Mertz circuitry would need to be provided and thin film transistors are known small scale switching circuits common in the art of display panels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the pixel circuitry of Mertz be modified to have thin film transistors since thin film transistors are known small scale switching circuits common in the art of display panels in order to manufacture the device of Mertz.
Regarding claims 18-19, Mertz teaches the invention of claim 1, including wherein the reflective LCD panel is a near-eye display system (Column 1, Lines 11-46; Column 2, Lines 16-38), but is silent as to the resolution of the display. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably contemplated at the time of filing having the LCD display have a resolution greater than 2000 pixels per inch in order to maximize the fineness of the image displayed to the user since the display is small and very close to the user’s eye such that text is readable to a user and since a screen resolution would have to be selected to manufacture the device of Mertz. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Mertz to have the reflective LCD display have a resolution greater than 2000 pixels per inch in order to maximize the fineness of the image displayed to the user such that text is readable since the display is small and very close to the user’s eye and in order to manufacture the device of Mertz.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 13, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, regarding claim 9, the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests the limitation wherein a color filter layer between the one or more reflectors and the second substrate.
Specifically, regarding claim 10, the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests the limitation wherein the first substate and the second substrate are curved.
Specifically, regarding claim 11, the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests the limitation wherein the one or more reflectors form a concave-shaped reflective surface configured to collimate or concentrate incident light.
Specifically, regarding claim 13, the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests the limitation wherein the first substrate includes a semiconductor substrate; and the pixel drive circuits include complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) circuits.
Specifically, regarding claim 16, the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests the limitation wherein a light pattern generator between the one or more light sources and the reflective LCD panel, the light pattern generator configured to convert light from the one or more light sources into a light pattern for illuminating the reflective LCD panel.
Specifically, regarding claim 20, the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests the limitation wherein a ratio between an active pixel area and a total pixel area of each pixel of pixels of the reflective LCD panel is greater than 80%.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879