DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024, 12/18/2024, and 09/03/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The plurality of first electrode sheets arranged in the surface direction of the insulator sheet and the second electrode sheet forming one shield electrode facing the first electrode sheets (no plural electrode sheets are apparent in the drawings).
The plurality of first electrode sheets arranged in the surface direction of the insulator sheet, and the second electrode sheet forming one shield electrode facing the first electrode sheets (no plural first electrode sheets are apparent in the drawings).
The plurality of insulation terminal parts (10b1, 10b2, see para. 0079) of the insulator sheet (no distinct and plural terminal parts are apparent in drawings).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "each of the first electrode sheets has the first electrode terminal part, the second electrode terminal parts in a same number with the first electrode sheets…the second electrode terminal part is disposed to be overlapped with the insulation terminal part." in lines 5-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there were no previously introduced plurality of second electrode terminal parts. Additionally, applicant introduces a plurality of second electrode terminal parts and later introduces a singular second electrode terminal part. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear whether the second electrode terminal part is one of the plural second electrode terminal parts or an independent and distinct second electrode terminal part. Lastly, the claim introduces a plurality of insulation terminal parts then later ends the clause with a singular insulation terminal part. It is unclear which of the plurality of the insulation terminal parts is being claimed. Furthermore, claim 2 introduces a singular insulation terminal part. Thus, it is also unclear whether the plurality of insulation terminal parts introduced in claim 10 are additional terminal parts. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “the second electrode terminal part is not disposed to be overlapped with the remaining electrode terminal part” in lines 15-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it is unclear whether Applicant intends to refer to the first or the second electrode terminal part. No miscellaneous electrode terminal parts had been previously introduced. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa (US2020213772A1).
Claim 1
Hasegawa teaches: An electrostatic transducer (1), comprising:
an insulator sheet (24);
a first electrode sheet (12), disposed on a first surface of the insulator sheet (11);
a second electrode sheet (15) , disposed on a second surface of the insulator sheet (11);
a first lead wire (21), comprising: a first core wire (21b); and a first cover material (21a), covering the first core wire (21b), wherein the first lead wire (21) has a portion disposed to be overlapped with the first surface of the insulator sheet (11) and a portion disposed to be overlapped with the first electrode sheet (12);
a second lead wire (31) , comprising: a second core wire (31a); and a second cover material (31b), covering the second core wire (31a), wherein the second lead wire (31) has a portion disposed to be overlapped with the second surface of the insulator sheet (11) and a portion disposed to be overlapped with the second electrode sheet (15);
a first electrical joint part (123), electrically joining (see para. 0171) the first electrode sheet (12) and the first core wire (21b) of the first lead wire (21) in a first electrical joint region (region occupied by 123 as illustrated un Fig. 26) which is a region in a surface direction of the insulator sheet (11) and in which the first electrode sheet (12) and the first core wire (21b) of the first lead wire (21) are disposed to be overlapped;
a first insulation joint part (interface labeled ‘FIJP”), joining the insulator sheet (11) and the first cover material (21a) of the first lead wire (21) in a first insulation joint region (region occupied by FIJP) which is a region different from the first electrical joint region (region occupied by 123 as illustrated un Fig. 26) in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11) and in which the insulator sheet (11) and the first cover material (21a) of the first lead wire (21) are disposed to be overlapped;
a second electrical joint part (133), electrically joining the second electrode sheet (15) and the second core wire (31a) of the second lead wire (31) in a second electrical joint region (region occupied by 133) which is a region in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11) and in which the second electrode sheet (15) and the second core wire (31a) of the second lead wire (31) are disposed to be overlapped; and
a second insulation joint part (interface labeled ‘SIJP”), joining the insulator sheet (11) and the second cover material (31b) of the second lead wire (31) in a second insulation joint region (region occupied by SIJP) which is a region different from the second electrical joint region (region occupied by 133) in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11) and in which the insulator sheet (11) and the second cover material (31b) of the second lead wire (31) are disposed to be overlapped,
wherein the first electrical joint part (123) and the second electrical joint part (133) are disposed to be spaced apart in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11), and
the first insulation joint part (FIJP) and the second insulation joint part (SIJP) are disposed to be spaced apart in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11).
Hasegawa discloses the cover material of the lead wires 21 and 31 as comprising insulating material (para. 0000) but doesn’t specify that they contain thermoplastic material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a thermoplastic material as a cover for lead wires in an electrostatic transducer, since thermoplastic materials (such as polyethylene for example) are well known as insulation and protective coverings for electrical wires and cables, providing flexibility, electrical insulation, and manufacturability. Using such a material for the same purpose in a transducer environment would constitute a predictable substitution of one known material for another known to be suitable for that purpose.
As for the recited insulator sheet, Hasegawa discloses an insulator 24, and a dielectric layer 11 that may also be considered an insulator as it is formed of a thermoplastic elastomer (para. 0000). A person of ordinary skill in the art of the claimed invention would recognize this material as an effective insulator. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the claimed invention to have recognized Hasegawa’s dielectric layer 11 as reading on the claimed “insulator sheet”. Thermoplastic elastomers offer significant advantages as insulation sheets in electrostatic transducers, combing the flexibility and softness of elastomers with the processability of plastics. Key benefits of this material as an insulation sheet include cost-effectiveness, excellent electrical insulation, and high mechanical durability.
Claim 2/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the insulator sheet (11) comprises:
an insulation body part (11), formed in a planar shape (see fig. 26); and
an insulation terminal part (labeled “terminal part”), directly or indirectly connected with the insulation body part (11) and formed toward an outer side in a surface direction from a side edge of the insulation body part,
the first electrode sheet (12) comprises:
a first electrode body part (12), formed in a planar shape and disposed to be overlapped with the insulation body part (11); and a first electrode terminal part (labeled first electrode terminal part)), directly or indirectly connected with the first electrode body part (12), formed toward an outer side in the surface direction from a side edge of the first electrode body part (12), and disposed to be overlapped with the insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part),
the second electrode sheet (15) comprises:
a second electrode body part (15), formed in a planar shape and disposed to be overlapped with the insulation body part (11); and
a second electrode terminal part (labeled second electrode terminal part), directly or indirectly connected with the second electrode body part (15), formed toward an outer side in the surface direction from a side edge of the second electrode body part (15), and disposed to be overlapped with the insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part),
the first electrical joint part (123) and the first insulation joint part (FIJP are disposed in a lamination region of the insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part) and the first electrode terminal part (labeled first electrode terminal part), and
the second electrical joint part (labeled second electrode terminal part) and the second insulation joint part (SIJP) are disposed in a lamination region of the insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part) and the second electrode terminal part (labeled second electrode terminal part).
Claim 3/2/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 2, wherein the insulator sheet (11) is further provided with an insulation intermediate part (labeled insulation intermediate part) interposed between the insulation body part (11) and the insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part) in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11),
the first electrode sheet (12) is further provided with a first electrode intermediate part (labeled first electrode intermediate part) interposed between the first electrode body part (12) and the first electrode terminal part (labeled first electrode terminal part) in a surface direction of the first electrode sheet (12) and disposed to be overlapped with the insulation intermediate part (labeled insulation intermediate part), and
the second electrode sheet (15) is further provided with a second electrode intermediate part (labeled second electrode intermediate part) interposed between the second electrode body (15) part and the second electrode terminal part (labeled second electrode terminal part) in a surface direction of the second electrode sheet (15) and disposed to be overlapped with the insulation intermediate part (labeled insulation intermediate part).
Claim 4/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
a first joint limitation layer (22), disposed between the insulator sheet (11) and the first electrode sheet (12) in the first electrical joint region and limiting joining of the insulator sheet (11) and the first electrode sheet (12); and
a second joint limitation layer (32), disposed between the insulator sheet (11) and the second electrode sheet (15) in the second electrical joint region and limiting joining of the insulator sheet (11) and the second electrode sheet (15).
Claim 5/4/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 4, wherein a portion of the first joint limitation layer (22) is disposed between the insulator sheet (11) and the first cover material (21a) of the first lead wire (21) in the first insulation joint region (region occupied by FIJP),
the first insulation joint part (FIJP) is formed by a portion of the first joint limitation layer (22), a portion of the insulator sheet (11), and a portion of the first cover material (21a) of the first lead wire (21),
a portion of the second joint limitation layer (32) is disposed between the insulator sheet (11) and the second cover material (31b) of the second lead wire (31) in the second insulation joint region (region occupied by SIJP), and
the second insulation joint part is formed by a portion of the second joint limitation layer (32), a portion of the insulator sheet (11), and a portion of the second cover material (31b) of the second lead wire (31).
Claim 6/4/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first joint limitation layer (22) and the second joint limitation layer (32) are formed by a material having a softening point higher than a softening point of the insulator sheet (formed of a material having a softening point higher than that of the fusion material constituting the first main fusion layer 13, see para. 0093).
Claim 7/6/4/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first joint limitation layer (22) and the second joint limitation layer (32) are resin sheets formed by containing a thermoplastic material (formed of a resin sheet, a heat-resistant paper, or the like, see para. 0093).
Claim 8/4/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first joint limitation layer (22) is formed in an elongated shape, and a longitudinal end of the first joint limitation layer (22) is disposed on an end edge of the first electrode sheet (12), and
the second joint limitation layer (32) is formed in an elongated shape, and a longitudinal end of the second joint limitation layer (32) is disposed on an end edge of the second electrode sheet (15).
Claim 9/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 1, wherein a plurality of first electrode sheets (see Fig. 2) are arranged in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11), and
the second electrode sheet (15) forms one shield electrode facing the first electrode sheets (12).
Claim 10/2/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 2, wherein a plurality of first electrode sheets (see Fig. 2) are arranged in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11),
the second electrode sheet (15) forms one shield electrode facing the first electrode sheets (12),
the insulator sheet (11) has a plurality of insulation terminal parts (10b1, 10b2, see para. 0079),
each of the first electrode sheets (12) has the first electrode terminal part (labeled above in claim 2 section),
the second electrode terminal parts (labeled above in claim 2 section) in a same number with the first electrode sheets (12) are provided per second electrode sheet (15),
for each of the insulation terminal parts (10b1, 10b2, see para. 0079), the first electrode terminal part is disposed to be overlapped with the insulation terminal part, and the second electrode terminal part (labeled above in claim 2 section) is disposed to be overlapped with the insulation terminal part.
Claim 11/2/1
Hasegawa teaches: The electrostatic transducer as claimed in claim 2, wherein a plurality of first electrode sheets (12a, 12b, 12c) are arranged in the surface direction of the insulator sheet (11),
the second electrode sheet (15) forms one shield electrode facing the first electrode sheets (12a, 12b, 12c), the insulator sheet (11) has a plurality of insulation terminal parts (10b1, 10b2, see para. 0079), each of the first electrode sheets (12a, 12b, 12c) has the first electrode terminal part (labeled first electrode terminal part), one second electrode terminal part (labeled second electrode terminal part) is provided per second electrode sheet, the first electrode terminal part (labeled first electrode terminal part) is disposed to be overlapped with one insulation terminal part of the insulation terminal parts (10b1, 10b2, see para. 0079), and the second electrode terminal part (labeled second electrode terminal part) is disposed to be overlapped with the insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part), and
for a remaining insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part) of the insulation terminal parts (10b1, 10b2, see para. 0079), the first electrode terminal part (labeled first electrode terminal part) is disposed to be overlapped with the remaining insulation terminal part (labeled insulation terminal part), and the second electrode terminal part (labeled second electrode terminal part) is not disposed to be overlapped with the remaining electrode terminal part.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834