DETAILED ACTION
The following Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed 3/18/2024.
Status of the claims: Claims 1-6 are hereby examined below.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “tilt-determining means to determine said tilt setting”, “adjustment-determining means to determine an adjustment value as a function of tilt setting” and “adjustment-application means to produce said daylight signal” as are recited in claim 1 and “characterizing means” as recited in claim 4.
Examiner believes the tilt-determining means to be a shaft encoder, potentiometer or two-axis accelerometer as set forth in paragraph [0118]. Examiner believes the adjustment-determining means to be steps executed by a microcontroller, an analog to digital converter or an analog circuit as set forth in paragraphs [0122][0123][0124]. Examiner believes the adjustment-application means to be steps performed by a microcontroller as set forth in paragraph [0129]. Examiner believes the “characterizing means” to be an Application Programming Interface to an online source of weather information, an imaging device or multi-spectral sensor as set forth in paragraph [0169].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “an adjustment-determining means to determine an adjustment value as a function of said tilt setting”. It is unclear how this is accomplished based on the specification as the specification only generally states that the adjustment-determining means could consist of operating steps executed by a microcontroller to evaluate a mathematical function or execute a look-up table on the basis of the tilt setting signal. Based on these generic scenarios, it is unclear what the adjustment-determining means is comprised of, how it operates or what exactly it does. It is further unclear what “an adjustment value as a function of said tilt setting” means. How are the adjustment value and tilt setting related? Similarly, it is unclear just exactly what the adjustment application means is as it is also steps executed by a microcontroller.
Claim 3 recites “said function depends on a location of said sensor relative to said blind”. It is unclear what “said function” is referring to. Is it is referring to “an adjustment value as a function of said tilt setting”? If so, then in what manner does the function depend on the location of the sensor relative to the blind? Claim 4 states that the adjustment value depends on the information characterizing a sky condition. In what way does it depend on this information?
Claim 5 states that the characterizing means includes a multi-spectral sensor. Is the multi-spectral sensor also the sensor to sense a component of daylight in claim 1.
Dependent claims are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claims are being examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Popat US 2019/0257686.
As best understood, in regard to claim 1, Popat ‘686 disclose a daylight-sensing system to produce a daylight signal in response to daylight admitted by a horizontal venetian blind (21A, Fig 4), said blind having an adjustable slat tilt setting, said system including: a sensor (22, Fig. 2A) to sense a component of said admitted daylight (29, 30, 31 Fig. 4), said sensor (22) producing a sensor signal (paragraph [0222]); tilt-determining means (encoder coupled to motor shaft, paragraph [0942]) to determine said tilt setting, adjustment-determining means (controller 23, Fig. 1) to determine an adjustment value as a function of said tilt setting; and adjustment-application means (controller 23, Fig. 1) to produce said daylight signal by applying said adjustment value to said sensor signal. (paragraph [0228] discloses that encoded software or firmware (as program steps) adjust the shading device based on the output of the sensor 22)
As best understood, in regard to claim 2, Popat ‘686 discloses: wherein said slat tilt setting is adjustable between an open setting (Fig 3A, paragraph [0255]) and a closed setting (Fig. 3B, paragraph [0256]), and wherein said adjustment value reduces said daylight signal as said tilt setting is adjusted toward said closed setting (paragraph [0228]).
As best understood, in regard to claim 3, Popat ‘686 discloses: wherein said function (of adjusting) depends on a location of said sensor (22, Fig. 4) relative to said blind (21A, Fig. 4). (The light detected by the sensor will depend on where it is located in relation to the blind)
As best understood, in regard to claim 4 Barnes et al ‘399 disclose: said system includes characterizing means (sensor 22, Fig 2A) to obtain information characterizing a sky condition (sunlight); and said adjustment value depends on said information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popat US 2019/0257686.
As best understood, in regard to claim 5, the embodiment of Fig. 2A of Popat ‘686 fails to disclose: said characterizing means includes a multi-spectral sensor.
However, Figure 30 of Popat ‘686 discloses a characterizing means includes a multi-spectral sensor (22B). (paragraph [0057])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Popat ‘686 Fig. 2A to make the sensor be a multi-spectral sensor as taught by Popat ‘686 Figure 30, as such is shown to be effective for determining high angle glare and excessively bright daylight. (paragraph [0564])
As best understood, claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popat US 2019/0257686 in view of Barnes et al US 2021/0180399.
As best understood, in regard to claim 6, Popat ‘686 fails to disclose: said system includes characterizing means to obtain information characterizing a sky condition; and said adjustment value depends on said information.
Barnes et al ‘399 discloses: wherein said characterizing means includes an interface to a source of weather information. (paragraph [0092)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the device of Popat ‘686 to include an interface to a source of weather information as taught by Barnes et al ‘399 as such is known to be useful in conjunction with a sunlight sensor for the tilt control of a blind device. (paragraph [0092])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634