DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated October 20, 2025. Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed October 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Even with the addition of the limitation “so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels” into independent claims 1 and 6, the rejection of the claims remains proper. Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose the following limitation: “so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels”. However, the Examiner respectfully does not agree because Futamura (US 2012/0316733) explicitly teaches varying braking force between left and right wheels during a turning state in order to improve turning performance (see at least para. [0006] of Futamura which discloses “when braking is performed by this device, it assists the yaw moment by performing control in accordance with the turning state (for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the rate of change in this steering angle) of the vehicle so as to vary the braking force between the left and right front wheels, and so as to also vary the braking force between the left and right rear wheels, so that an improvement in the turning performance of the vehicle can be achieved”). Examiner interprets that during a turning state, one of the left and right wheels may be an inner wheel and the other may be an outer wheel depending on the turning direction. Therefore, varying braking force between left and right wheels during the turning action will result in a braking force of inner wheels that is greater than a braking force of outer wheels according to at least one during direction. This is evidence that a functional relationship between the wheels is present. Applicant’s newly added limitation merely describes Futamura’ s braking force distribution. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle control device of Yoshizawa to include the newly added limitation of controlling the braking force so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels as taught in Futamura with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve turning stability and maneuverability. In a turning state, varying braking force between left and right wheels as taught by Futamura results in a braking force of inner wheels being greater than a braking force of outer wheels, based on the direction of the turn. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection under 35 USC §103 is maintained as outlined below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, the amendments and arguments made to the claims fail to overcome the prior art. The rejections under 35 USC §103 are maintained as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa (US 2020/0312059) in view of Futamura (US 2012/0316733) and further in view of Macpherson (US 2019/0193698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizawa discloses A vehicle control device (see at least para.
[0041] – [0042] of Yoshizawa which discloses an “Example of Control Apparatus” and “the electronic control unit 50” and see at least para. [0044] of Yoshizawa which discloses “the electronic control unit 50 may calculate the tire forces F generated at the tires of the wheels 3 on the basis of the detection signals from the tire-force sensors 31 of the wheels 3”), comprising:
a turning state detection part (Fig. 1, 55 and see at least para. [0031] of Yoshizawa which discloses “The turning-state detector 55 may detect the turning state of the vehicle 1”) for detecting whether a vehicle is in a turning state based on a driving state of the vehicle (see at least para. [0046] of Yoshizawa which discloses “the turning-state detector 55 may detect the turning state of the vehicle 1 on the basis of at least one information item among the lateral acceleration ay or the yaw acceleration ω of the vehicle 1 detected by the state quantity sensor 23 and the steering angle of the steering wheel detected by the steering angle sensor 39”, *Examiner interprets this as detecting whether vehicle is in turning state based on driving state).
Yoshizawa may not explicitly disclose a vehicle speed detection part for detecting whether
a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold; a braking force distribution control part for distributing and controlling a braking force of each wheel of the vehicle based on the driving state and the vehicle speed; and a brake noise detection part for detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels, wherein when the braking force distribution control part controls the braking force so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels and when the vehicle is in the turning state and the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, a braking force distribution control of the braking force distribution control part is suppressed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Futamura discloses a vehicle speed detection part
(Fig. 1, 4 and see at least para. [0053] of Futamura which discloses a “vehicle speed detecting device) 4 that detects the speed of the vehicle”) for detecting whether a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold (see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”);
a braking force distribution control part (Fig. 1, 2/10 and see at least para. [0052] of Futamura which discloses “The braking control section 2 decides the amounts of braking force control to be applied to the front and rear, left and right wheels of a vehicle in accordance with the running state of the vehicle. The braking device 10 controls the braking force”) for distributing and controlling a braking force of each wheel (see at least para. [0052] of Futamura which discloses “The braking device 10 controls the braking force of each wheel based on the amounts of braking force control for each wheel decided by the braking control section 2”) of the vehicle based on the driving state and the vehicle speed (see at least para. [0030] of Futamura which discloses “applying braking force to left and right wheels based on the running state of a vehicle. This vehicle turning control device is provided with: a steering amount detecting device that detects an amount of steering of the vehicle; a vehicle speed detecting device that detects or estimates a speed of the vehicle”);
wherein when the braking force distribution control part controls the braking force (Fig. 1, 2/10 and see at least para. [0052] of Futamura which discloses “The braking control section 2 decides the amounts of braking force control to be applied to the front and rear, left and right wheels of a vehicle in accordance with the running state of the vehicle. The braking device 10 controls the braking force”) so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels (see at least para. [0006] of Futamura which discloses “when braking is performed by this device, it assists the yaw moment by performing control in accordance with the turning state (for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the rate of change in this steering angle) of the vehicle so as to vary the braking force between the left and right front wheels, and so as to also vary the braking force between the left and right rear wheels, so that an improvement in the turning performance of the vehicle can be achieved”, * Examiner interprets that during a turning state, one of the left and right wheels may be an inner wheel and the other may be an outer wheel depending on the turning direction. Therefore, varying braking force between left and right wheels during the turning action will result in a braking force of inner wheels that is greater than a braking force of outer wheels according to at least one during direction).
and when the vehicle is in the turning state (see at least para. [0006] of Futamura which discloses “the turning state (for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the rate of change in this steering angle) of the vehicle so as to vary the braking force between the left and right front wheels, and so as to also vary the braking force between the left and right rear wheels, so that an improvement in the turning performance of the vehicle can be achieved”) and the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold (see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”), the braking force distribution control part is suppressed (see at least para. [0205] of Futamura which discloses “it is possible to suppress the braking force“).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control device of Yoshizawa to include a vehicle speed detection part for detecting whether a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold; a braking force distribution control part for distributing and controlling a braking force of each wheel of the vehicle based on the driving state and the vehicle speed; and a brake noise detection part for detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels, wherein the braking force distribution control part controls the braking force so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels and the vehicle is in the turning state and the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, as taught in Futamura with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective control of the braking force in situations that may include the vehicle turning at low speeds and in order to improve turning stability and maneuverability. See para. [0126] and para. [0006] of Futamura for motivation.
Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura, may not explicitly disclose a brake noise detection
part for detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels, and when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, a braking force distribution control of the braking force distribution control part is suppressed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Macpherson discloses a brake noise detection part
(Fig. 1, 115 and see at least para. [0017] of Macpherson which discloses “noise and/or vibration sensors 115 that are configured to detect high frequency brake noise”, *Examiner interprets the sensor 115 to be the brake noise detection part) for detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels (see at least para. [0023] of Macpherson which discloses “sounds/vibrations corresponding to wheel noise or axle groan are detected by the noise/vibration sensor 115 (step 303), the controller 101 defines or adjusts a problematic range for the wheel or axle (i.e., a range of braking pressure values corresponding to the noise or groan) (step 305)”), when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, a braking force distribution control of the braking force distribution control part is suppressed (see at least para. [0025] of Macpherson which discloses “maintain the defined range of braking pressures and to determine an adjusted braking pressure for a particular wheel/axle and compensatory braking pressure(s) for the other wheels/axle of the vehicle in real-time“ and “noise when pressures lower than 10 bar are applied to the front axle wheels of the vehicle. Accordingly, the look-up table has been defined/configured to apply no braking pressure to the front axle wheels until the target deceleration and the detected input rod travel/displacement reach a magnitude where an equal pressure applied to both the front axle wheels and the rear axle wheels of the vehicle in order to achieve the target deceleration exceeds the defined range of problematic braking pressures for the front axle wheels”, *Examiner interprets the pressures occurring in real-time to be brake noises occurring in a plurality of times and the application of no braking pressure is suppression of the braking force control part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the vehicle
control device of Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura to include a brake noise detection part for detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels, and when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, a braking force distribution control of the braking force distribution control part is suppressed, as taught in Macpherson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively eliminate brake noise in situations in which the vehicle may turn at low speeds. See para. [0017] and [0023] of Macpherson for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoshizawa, Futamura and Macpherson discloses
further comprising: a braking device that applies the braking force to the vehicle based on a driver's operation on a brake operating part (see at least para. [0027] of Yoshizawa which discloses “The brake control unit may detect the operated amount of the braking pedal and monitor the rotating speed of each wheel 3 to estimate the braking torque of the wheel 3 or the braking force of the tire”, *Examiner interprets the brake control unit to be the braking device), wherein when the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold (see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”).
Futamura further discloses and when the braking force distribution control is terminated,
the braking device generates the braking force corresponding to an operation of the brake operating part (see at least para. [0011] of Futamura which discloses “it is also possible for there to be further provided a disabling mechanism that, when the vehicle is in a predetermined running state, disables the second braking force control amount that was decided by the second braking force control amount operating section. (17) In the vehicle turning control device according to the above-described (15) or (16), it is also possible for the second braking force control amount operating section to be configured to decide the second braking force control amount based on the detection signals from the steering amount detecting device such that a gain becomes high as the speed of the vehicle decreases.
”, *Examiner interprets disabling the braking force to be terminating the braking force distribution control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the vehicle control device of Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura and Macpherson to include when the braking force distribution control is terminated,
the braking device generates the braking force corresponding to an operation of the brake operating part, as further taught by Futamura with a reasonable expectation of success in order to efficiently generate the appropriate braking force corresponding to the operation of the brake operating part. See para. [0011] of Futamura for motivation.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yoshizawa, Futamura and Macpherson discloses
wherein the brake noise detection part comprises: a sound pressure sensor (Fig. 1, 115 and see at least para. [0017] of Macpherson which discloses “one or more noise and/or vibration sensors 115 that are configured to detect high frequency brake noise and/or low frequency axle “moan” indicative of a noise, vibration, or harshness (NVH) condition of the vehicle”) that detects the brake noise (see at least para. [0023] of Macpherson which discloses “sounds/vibrations corresponding to wheel noise or axle groan are detected by the noise/vibration sensor 115 (step 303)”, *Examiner interprets sensor 115 to be a sound pressure sensor that detects brake noise) and an unsprung acceleration sensor (Fig. 1, 23 and see at least para. [0024] of Yoshizawa which discloses “sensor 23 may include a known velocity sensor, a known lateral accelerometer”, *Examiner interprets sensor 23 to be the unsprung acceleration sensor since it is known in the art that an accelerometer is an unsprung acceleration sensor) that detects unsprung acceleration of the vehicle (see at least para. [0024] of Yoshizawa which discloses “The state quantity sensor 23 may include a known velocity sensor, a known lateral accelerometer, or a known yaw accelerometer, etc. Alternatively, the state quantity sensor 23 may include at least one sensor that comprehensively detects the various quantities”), wherein the vehicle control device further comprises a determining part that determines the brake noise (Fig. 1, 115 and see at least para. [0017] of Macpherson which discloses “noise and/or vibration sensors 115 that are configured to detect high frequency brake noise”, *Examiner interprets the sensor 115 to be the brake noise detection part) based on detection results of the sound pressure sensor and the unsprung acceleration sensor, wherein when the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold (see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”); and when the determining part determines that the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times, the braking force distribution control part suppresses the braking force distribution control (see at least para. [0025] of Macpherson which discloses “maintain the defined range of braking pressures and to determine an adjusted braking pressure for a particular wheel/axle and compensatory braking pressure(s) for the other wheels/axle of the vehicle in real-time“ and “noise when pressures lower than 10 bar are applied to the front axle wheels of the vehicle. Accordingly, the look-up table has been defined/configured to apply no braking pressure to the front axle wheels until the target deceleration and the detected input rod travel/displacement reach a magnitude where an equal pressure applied to both the front axle wheels and the rear axle wheels of the vehicle in order to achieve the target deceleration exceeds the defined range of problematic braking pressures for the front axle wheels”, *Examiner interprets the pressures occurring in real-time to be brake noises occurring in a plurality of times and the application of no braking pressure is suppression of the braking force control part).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshizawa discloses
detecting whether a vehicle is in a turning state based on a driving state of the vehicle (Fig.
1, 55 and see at least para. [0031] of Yoshizawa which discloses “The turning-state detector 55 may detect the turning state of the vehicle 1” and see at least para. [0046] of Yoshizawa which discloses “the turning-state detector 55 may detect the turning state of the vehicle 1 on the basis of at least one information item among the lateral acceleration ay or the yaw acceleration ω of the vehicle 1 detected by the state quantity sensor 23 and the steering angle of the steering wheel detected by the steering angle sensor 39”, *Examiner interprets this as detecting whether vehicle is in turning state based on driving state).
Yoshizawa may not explicitly disclose detecting whether a vehicle speed of the vehicle is
equal to or less than a predetermined threshold; distributing and controlling a braking force of each wheel of the vehicle based on the driving state and the vehicle speed to perform a braking force distribution control; detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels; in controlling the braking force so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels, when the vehicle is in the turning state and the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold and when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, suppressing the braking force distribution control.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Futamura discloses
detecting whether a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined
threshold (Fig. 1, 4 and see at least para. [0053] of Futamura which discloses a “vehicle speed detecting device) 4 that detects the speed of the vehicle” and see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”);
distributing and controlling a braking force (Fig. 1, 2/10 and see at least para. [0052] of
Futamura which discloses “The braking control section 2 decides the amounts of braking force control to be applied to the front and rear, left and right wheels of a vehicle in accordance with the running state of the vehicle. The braking device 10 controls the braking force”) of each wheel (see at least para. [0052] of Futamura which discloses “The braking device 10 controls the braking force of each wheel based on the amounts of braking force control for each wheel decided by the braking control section 2”) of the vehicle based on the driving state and the vehicle speed (see at least para. [0030] of Futamura which discloses “applying braking force to left and right wheels based on the running state of a vehicle. This vehicle turning control device is provided with: a steering amount detecting device that detects an amount of steering of the vehicle; a vehicle speed detecting device that detects or estimates a speed of the vehicle”) to perform a braking force distribution control (Fig. 1, 2/10 and see at least para. [0052] of Futamura which discloses “The braking control section 2 decides the amounts of braking force control to be applied to the front and rear, left and right wheels of a vehicle in accordance with the running state of the vehicle. The braking device 10 controls the braking force”);
in controlling the braking force so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels (see at least para. [0006] of Futamura which discloses “when braking is performed by this device, it assists the yaw moment by performing control in accordance with the turning state (for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the rate of change in this steering angle) of the vehicle so as to vary the braking force between the left and right front wheels, and so as to also vary the braking force between the left and right rear wheels, so that an improvement in the turning performance of the vehicle can be achieved”, * Examiner interprets that during a turning state, one of the left and right wheels may be an inner wheel and the other may be an outer wheel depending on the turning direction. Therefore, varying braking force between left and right wheels during the turning action will result in a braking force of inner wheels that is greater than a braking force of outer wheels according to at least one during direction), when the vehicle is in the turning state (see at least para. [0006] of Futamura which discloses “the turning state (for example, the steering angle of the steering wheel and the rate of change in this steering angle) of the vehicle so as to vary the braking force between the left and right front wheels, and so as to also vary the braking force between the left and right rear wheels, so that an improvement in the turning performance of the vehicle can be achieved”) and the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold (see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”), suppressing the braking force distribution control (see at least para. [0205] of Futamura which discloses “it is possible to suppress the braking force“).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control device of Yoshizawa to include detecting whether a vehicle speed of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined threshold; distributing and controlling a braking force of each wheel of the vehicle based on the driving state and the vehicle speed to perform a braking force distribution control; detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels; in controlling the braking force so that a braking force of inner wheels of the vehicle is greater than a braking force of outer wheels, when the vehicle is in the turning state and the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, as taught in Futamura with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective control of the braking force in situations that may include the vehicle turning at low speeds and in order to improve turning stability and maneuverability. See para. [0126] and para. [0006] of Futamura for motivation.
Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura, may not explicitly disclose detecting a brake noise of
each of the wheels; and when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, suppressing the braking force distribution control.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Macpherson discloses detecting a brake noise of
each of the wheels (Fig. 1, 115 and see at least para. [0017] of Macpherson which discloses “noise and/or vibration sensors 115 that are configured to detect high frequency brake noise”, *Examiner interprets the sensor 115 to be the brake noise detection part and see at least para. [0023] of Macpherson which discloses “sounds/vibrations corresponding to wheel noise or axle groan are detected by the noise/vibration sensor 115 (step 303), the controller 101 defines or adjusts a problematic range for the wheel or axle (i.e., a range of braking pressure values corresponding to the noise or groan) (step 305)”), and when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, suppressing the braking force distribution control (see at least para. [0025] of Macpherson which discloses “maintain the defined range of braking pressures and to determine an adjusted braking pressure for a particular wheel/axle and compensatory braking pressure(s) for the other wheels/axle of the vehicle in real-time“ and “noise when pressures lower than 10 bar are applied to the front axle wheels of the vehicle. Accordingly, the look-up table has been defined/configured to apply no braking pressure to the front axle wheels until the target deceleration and the detected input rod travel/displacement reach a magnitude where an equal pressure applied to both the front axle wheels and the rear axle wheels of the vehicle in order to achieve the target deceleration exceeds the defined range of problematic braking pressures for the front axle wheels”, *Examiner interprets the pressures occurring in real-time to be brake noises occurring in a plurality of times and the application of no braking pressure is suppression of the braking force control part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the vehicle
control device of Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura to include detecting a brake noise of each of the wheels; and when the brake noise occurs for a plurality of times within a predetermined time, suppressing the braking force distribution control, as taught in Macpherson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively eliminate brake noise in situations in which the vehicle may turn at low speeds. See para. [0017] and [0023] of Macpherson for motivation.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa (US 2020/0312059) in view of Futamura (US 2012/0316733) in view of Macpherson (US 2019/0193698 A1) and further in view of Inagaki (US 2020/0339136).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yoshizawa, Futamura and Macpherson discloses
the vehicle control device wherein when the vehicle speed is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold (see at least para. [0106] of Futamura which discloses “the region where the vehicle speed is less than a predetermined value” and see at least para. [0157] of Futamura which discloses “the predetermined value is set to a return speed that forms a threshold value”) and the braking force distribution control is suppressed (see at least para. [0205] of Futamura which discloses “it is possible to suppress the braking force“)
Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura and Macpherson, may not explicitly disclose further
comprising: a power switch configured to cause a driving source of the vehicle to operate according to the driver's operation, the braking force distribution control part maintains a state in which the braking force distribution control executed by the braking force distribution control part is suppressed until the power switch is turned off.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Inagaki discloses a power switch (Fig. 2, 22 and see
at least para. [0057] of Inagaki which discloses “power switch 22 is a switch for starting the engine of the vehicle. In case where a vehicle is driven by a motor as a driving source, the switch is used to start the motor generator”) configured to cause a driving source (see at least para. [0057] of Inagaki which discloses “a driving source”) of the vehicle to operate according to the driver's operation (see at least para. [0057] of Inagaki which discloses “The power switch 22 is a switch for starting the engine of the vehicle. In case where a vehicle is driven by a motor as a driving source, the switch is used to start the motor generator”, *Examiner interprets the driver’s operation to be the result of the vehicle being driven by the motor), the braking force distribution control part maintains a state in which the braking force distribution control executed by the braking force distribution control part is suppressed until the power switch is turned off (see at least para. [0065] of Inagaki which discloses “The heat management ECU 10 may determine that the vehicle is starting when the signal of the power switch 22 has been turned on”, *Examiner interprets that in the alternative, the braking control part will be suppressed until the power switch 22 is turned off since when switch 22 is turned on, the vehicle is starting and not braking).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control device of Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura and Macpherson to include further comprising: a power switch configured to cause a driving source of the vehicle to operate according to the driver's operation, the braking force distribution control part maintains a state in which the braking force distribution control executed by the braking force distribution control part is suppressed until the power switch is turned off, as taught in Inagaki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively contribute to the ability to suppress any brake noise that may continue to exist. See para. [0065] – [0066] of Inagaki for motivation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa (US 2020/0312059) in view of Futamura (US 2012/0316733) in view of Macpherson (US 2019/0193698 A1) in view of Inagaki (US 2020/0339136) and further in view of Abe (US 2021/0301918).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura, Macpherson and Inagaki discloses
an automatic parking control part configured to at least control a steering device (see at least para. [0046] of Yoshizawa which discloses “the steering angle of the steering wheel detected by the steering angle sensor”) of the vehicle according to the driving state of the vehicle to move the vehicle to a parking position, wherein when the braking force distribution control is suppressed (see at least para. [0205] of Futamura which discloses “it is possible to suppress the braking force“) while the automatic parking control part is performing an automatic parking control, the steering device is controlled so that a turning radius of the vehicle is smaller than a current turning radius (see at least para. [0046] of Yoshizawa which discloses “a process of generating a warning in a mode that differs depending on the turning state of the vehicle 1 when any of the wheels 3 is estimated to be in a limit state. Here, the term “limit state” of the wheel 3 may refer to a state in which the wheel 3 is in a domain of possible slipping”, *Examiner interprets the turning state that is in the limit state to be a situation in which the turning radius will be smaller than the current turning radius because of the possible slipping).
Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura, Macpherson and Inagaki may not explicitly disclose an
automatic parking control part configured to at least control devices of the vehicle according to the driving state of the vehicle to move the vehicle to a parking position, while the automatic parking control part is performing an automatic parking control.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Abe discloses an automatic parking control part
(Fig. 3, 7 and see at least para. [0039] which discloses “the automatic parking range control means 7 provided in the vehicle”) configured to at least control devices of the vehicle according to the driving state of the vehicle to move the vehicle to a parking position, while the automatic parking control part is performing an automatic parking control (see at least para. [0039] of Abe which discloses “the range of the vehicle V is automatically switched to the parking range (P) by the automatic parking range control means 7 provided in the vehicle V. In this case, the shift member 1 is not physically rotated, but the range is changed from the current position of the shift member 1 set by being rotated (a position for the D range) to the parking range (P)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle control device of Yoshizawa, as modified by Futamura, Macpherson and Inagaki to include an automatic parking control part configured to at least control devices of the vehicle according to the driving state of the vehicle to move the vehicle to a parking position, while the automatic parking control part is performing an automatic parking control, as taught in Abe with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively facilitate control of the steering device of the vehicle according to the driving state of the vehicle to move the vehicle to a parking position. See para. [0039] of Abe for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakagawara (US 2013/0060412A1) discloses assistance to the braking force and the above-mentioned assistance to the steering force are lost. Accordingly, in the second phase in which the voltage of light electric battery decreases, the assistances to the braking force and the steering force are decreased gradually, and finally reduced to almost zero. Hamada (US 2004/0260447 A1) discloses executing BFD control in which braking force on rear wheels is lowered in comparison with braking force on front wheels, is improved with respect to the starting of the BFD control. The vehicle to be equipped with the control device has front and rear wheels, a braking system generating braking forces on the respective wheels; means of acquiring a value involved with rear wheel braking forces including a sensor monitoring a braking action by a driver of the vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/January 14, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662