Response to Amendment
Applicant’s 12-22-2025 Amendment was received. Claims 1-6 were amended. New Claims 7-11 were presented. Claims 1-11 are pending and examined in this action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, “painting the plastic component,” of Claim 6, must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In re Claim 9, “wherein the height of the die is 105 percent to 150 percent of the height of the adhesive layer,” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant’s Para. 0016 states: Preferably the height of the cutting edges of the die corresponds at least to the height of the adhesive tape or adhesive film, preferably the height of the cutting edges of the die is somewhat higher than the height of the adhesive tape or adhesive film, particularly preferably about 105 percent to 150 percent of the height of the adhesive tape or adhesive film. While Applicant’s disclosure has support for the height of the die (which was interpreted as the overall height of the die) is larger than the adhesive layer in view of Applicant’s Fig. 1, there is no support for claim 9. This is because Applicants text states that it is the height of the cutting edge that is 105 percent to 150 percent of the height of the adhesive tape or film, and not the overall height of the die. As such, “wherein the height of the die is 105 percent to 150 percent of the height of the adhesive layer,” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 1, “wherein the at least one of the two surfaces having the adhesive tape or the adhesive film faces the die” is indefinite. Applicant has introduced a plastic component with “a surface.” The claim now appears to require two surfaces. Are these two surface separate from the previously introduced “a surface,” for a total of three surfaces? Or is the previously introduced “a surface” part of the two surfaces? This is unclear. Additionally, if two surfaces or even three surfaces are being claimed it is unclear which of the surfaces of the plastic component are being claimed. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107443482 A in view of JP 59023746 A and US 5,549,940 to Noone.
In re Claim 1, CN 107443482A teaches a method for producing a flat plastic component for a motor vehicle (see Fig. 1, #3 which is a PP material, PVC material, PET material or PE material with an adhesive – see translation, Pg. 1, bottom 7 lines) the method comprising:
placing a plastic component on a die (see Fig. 1, #3), wherein the plastic component has a surface having an adhesive layer (see translation, Pg. 1, bottom 7 lines teaching self-adhesive film), wherein the adhesive layer is an adhesive tape or an adhesive films applied thereto,
wherein the die includes a circumferential cutting edge configured to define an edge of each desired aperture,
placing a hold down component above the plastic component (see Fig. 1, #12 which is above #3), wherein the plastic component is disposed between an upper surface of the die and the hold down component (see Fig. 1, showing #3 between #2 and 312), wherein the hold down component is placed against a top surface of the plastic component (see the punch / upper die #1 moves “downward” #12 contacts he top surface of #3),
punching, with a punch (see Fig. 1) having a circumferential cutting edge, at least aperture in the plastic component that is placed on the die and defining a punched aperture (see Fig. 1, L1 defines the aperture), wherein the punched aperture extends through an entire height of the plastic component and of the adhesive tape of adhesive film (see Fig. 1, the punch punches through the entire workpiece),
wherein the punching includes pressing the plastic component against the die, from the surface facing away from the die by the punch, in order to punch out the at least one aperture (see Fig. 1 the punch #1 presses #3 against #2),
wherein the cutting edge of the punch and the cutting edge of the die correspond in position and shape to one another (#11 and #21 correspond in position and shape to one another in Fig. 1).
CN 107443482A is silent as to the position of the adhesive. As such, CN 107443482A does not teach wherein the at least one of the two surfaces having the adhesive tape or the adhesive film faces the die, wherein the surface having the adhesive laver is disposed against the die, and the hold down component is placed on an opposite surface of the plastic component having no adhesive laver.
However, JP 59023746 A teaches a punching device wherein “the adhesive layer 4 of the material 5 faces downward,” (see JP 59023746 A, Figs. 6-7 and translation). In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to orient the adhesive facing the “bottom” or away from the punch, as taught by JP 59023746 A. Doing so is the substation of one known workpiece orientation for another known workpiece orientation to achieve the result of punching out a workpiece with adhesive.
Additionally, Noone teaches that it is known to provide an automobile component that is a flat plastic component for a motor vehicle, at least one of two surfaces of the plastic component having an adhesive tape or an adhesive film applied thereto (see Noone Figs. 1 and 2, #10, which in Fig. 2 has apertures for the door handles; see also abstract and Col. 2, ll. 47-64 teaching “standard plastic sheet material with permanent adhesive backings for application to non-ferrous body panels; see also abstract).
In the same field of invention, automotive parts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to use the punch of modified CN 107443482A to make the emblems of Noone to attach to a car. Doing so is applying a known structure to a known product to achieve the result of producing a product that can be used to decorate a car.
In re Claim 2, modified CN 107443482A, in re Claim 1, teaches:
wherein the cutting edge of the die defines a die tip (see CN 107443482A, Fig. 1, #21) defined by a radially inward edge of a circumferential sloped surface, wherein the sloped surface of the die extends radially inwardly and upwardly toward the die tip (see CN 107443482A, #21, which has an sloped inward edge) and an opening, for receiving the punch, enclosed by the die tip (see CN 107443482A, Fig. 1, opening between #21/21), and/or
wherein the cutting edge of the punch defines a punch tip defined at a radially outward edge of a circumferential sloped surface (see CN 107443482A, Fig. 1, tip of #11), wherein the sloped surface of the punch extends radially outward and downwardly toward the punch tip (see CN 107443482A, Fig. 1, tip of #11, has an outwardly sloped surface).
In re Claim 4, modified CN 107443482 A, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the cutting edge of the die is disposed radially outwardly relative to the cutting edge of the punch (see CN 107443482 A, Fig. 1, when #11 is moved toward #22, the outer diameter of #22 is radially outwardly relative to #22).
In re Claim 5, modified CN 107443482 A, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein a height of the cutting edge of the die measured relative to an upper surface on which the plastic component is placed is equal or larger than a height of the adhesive tape layer (see annotated Fig. 1, below showing the cutting height of the punch is larger than the height of the workpiece, which includes the adhesive tape layer).
In re Claim 8, modified CN 107443482 A, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the height of the die is higher than the height of the adhesive layer (see annotated Fig. 1, under Claim 5, showing the height of #2 is larger than the “height” or thickness of the workpiece, which includes the adhesive layer.)
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107443482 A in view of JP 59023746 A and US 5,549,940 to Noone and further in view of JP 2007100029 A.
In re Claim 3, modified CN 107443482 A, in re Claim 1, is silent as to wherein the circumferential sloped surface of cutting edge of the die has an angle of 30 to 60 degrees from the die tip.
JP 2007100029 A teach that it is known in the art of cutting adhesive structures to provide a blade edge having a range of 20 degrees to 60 degrees (see JP 2007100029A teaches a “cutting blade 54 has an angle θ of 20 ° to 60 °”).
In the same field of invention, cutting blades for adhesive structures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to make the blade edge at an angle between 20 degrees and 60 degrees. Doing is combining prior art element according to known methods to yield the predictable results of cutting the workpiece (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
In re Claim 11, modified CN 107443482 A, in re Claim 3, teaches wherein the circumferential sloped surface of the cutting edge of the die has an angle of 45 degrees (see JP 2007100029A teaches a “cutting blade 54 has an angle θ of 20 ° to 60 °”).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107443482 A in view of JP 59023746 A and US 5,549,940 to Noone, and further in view of US 2006/0175855 to Yamamoto.
In re Claim 6, it is unclear if modified CN 107443482, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the method includes painting the plastic component before the punching of the at least one aperture.
However, Yamamoto teaches that it is known in the art of adhering structure to cars to paint the structures (see Yamamoto, Para 0004-0007). It would have been obvious to color the structures of modified Noone in any known manner, including painting a professional football team colors on the structure to be attached to the car, as taught by Yamamoto. Doing so is the use of a known technique (painting) to archive the results of providing the correct color that the user desires (see MPEP 2143, I, C).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107443482 A in view of JP 59023746 A, US 5,549,940 to Noone, and US 2006/0175855 to Yamamoto, and further in view of DE 20006585 U1.
In re Claim 7, modified CN 107443482, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the painting of the plastic component is performed before applying the adhesive layer to the plastic component.
However, DE 20006585 U1 teaches that it is known in the art of automotive trim pieces it is known to place adhesive on an painted part (see DE 20006585 U1, which states: As Figure 3 shows, the protective strip 2 is connected to a carrier material 3, here consisting of a transparent adhesive film, which in turn adheres to the paint layer.).
In the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to paint the plastic part before adding the adhesive to the part. Doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143, I, A).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107443482 A in view of JP 59023746 A and US 5,549,940 to Noone, and further in view of US 5,136,907 to Bakermans.
In re Claim 10, modified CN 107443482 A, in re Claim 4, does not teach wherein there is a radial distance of about 0.05 mm to 1 mm between the cutting edge of the die and the cutting edge of the punch.
However, Bakermans teaches that the punch clearance is 8 percent of the stock thickness (see Bakermans, Col 7, ll. 9-26 teaching punch clearance of 8 percent of the stock thickness). In other words, the punch clearance is a result effective variable. gap between the die and the punch is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing, date to provide a radial distance of about 0.05mm to 1 mm between the cutting edge of the die and the cutting edge of the punch, since it has been held that discovering an optimum result of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Here, one of ordinary skill in the art adjusts the punch clearance based on the thickness of the workpiece. For example, a 10 mm workpiece would have a punch clearance of 0.8mm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724