DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species A3 (Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11) in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not provide any statement/reasons indicating traversal of the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01). Claim(s) 8 and 12-13 is/are withdrawn as being drawn to nonelected Groups and Species. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are examined herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a separating unit configured to” in at least claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0062-0065] and Figs. 5A-C of Applicant’s published application.
“a mechanism configured to adjust an interval between the mold and the substrate …, and configured to perform the imprint processing” in at least claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0031-0034] and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s published application.
“a forming unit configured to” at least claims 4, 6 and 10-11 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0046-0051] of Applicant’s published application.
Other Claim interpretation:
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under the following conditions. The process/manner of using the apparatus and/or the material worked upon by the apparatus is/are viewed as recitation(s) of intended use and is/are given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (See MPEP §§ 2114 II and 2115 for further details). For apparatuses, the claim limitations will define structural limitations (See MPEP §§ 2114-2115) or functional limitations properly recited (See MPEP § 2173.05 (g)). The “imprint material”, “substrate”, “removal film”, “organic film”, “foreign substance”, and “removal film and the adjustment film are made of a thermosetting resin” are the materials worked upon by the apparatus failing to add structure to the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a dispenser configured to supply the imprint material on the organic film from which the removal film is separated” which is indefinite because it contradicts the limitations “an imprint material on a substrate on which a removal film for removing an organic film and a foreign substance” and “the substrate to which the imprint material is supplied”. It is unclear to the examiner if the imprint material is supplied on the organic film or on the substrate. It is unclear to the examiner if the removal film removes or separates from the organic film. According to Figs. 4E and 4F of Applicant’s published application, the removal film does not remove the organic film from the substrate and the imprint material is applied on the organic film after the removal film is separated from the organic film. Thus, the limitations are also indefinite because they are inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure.
Claim(s) 2-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 1 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “an inside of the chamber is maintained at a cleanliness higher than a cleanliness of a clean room” which is indefinite. The language states a cleaning result/function obtained by the apparatus without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. Applicant’s specification (e.g. [0028], [0058] and original claim 2-3 of applicant’s published application) fails to disclose the specific structure in the apparatus that allows the apparatus to have the claimed result/capability. Last but not least, the term “a cleanliness higher than a cleanliness of a clean room” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “a cleanliness higher than a cleanliness of a clean room” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For instance, the determination of “a cleanliness of a clean room” is subjective. Thus, the scope of claim 2 is unclear. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g). Claim 2 cannot be evaluated with respect to prior art at this time as the examiner cannot reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed invention and cannot make a proper comparison between the claims and the prior art due to the 112 (b) issues explained above.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “an inside of the chamber is maintained at a cleanliness of not less than class 2” which is indefinite. The language states a cleaning result/function obtained by the apparatus without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. Applicant’s specification (e.g. [0028], [0058] and original claim 2-3 of applicant’s published application) fails to disclose the specific structure in the apparatus that allows the apparatus to have the claimed result/capability. Thus, the scope of claim 3 is unclear. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g). Claim 3 cannot be evaluated with respect to prior art at this time as the examiner cannot reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed invention and cannot make a proper comparison between the claims and the prior art due to the 112 (b) issues explained above.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “an adjustment film is formed between the organic film and the removal film …” which is indefinite. The language states a forming result/function obtained by the apparatus without setting forth well-defined boundaries of the invention. It is unclear the specific structure in the claimed apparatus that allows the apparatus to have the claimed result/function. According to Applicant’s specification (e.g. [0047] of applicant’s published application), the forming unit needs to be configured with the claimed function for the apparatus to achieve the claimed result/function. Thus, the scope of claim 5 is unclear. See MPEP §§ 2173.03 and 2173.05 (g). Claims 5-7 cannot be evaluated with respect to prior art at this time as the examiner cannot reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed invention and cannot make a proper comparison between the claims and the prior art due to the 112 (b) issues explained above.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 5 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20100320631) in view of Toru (JP H02206114A with English machine translation - attached).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Suzuki discloses an imprint apparatus that performs, by using a mold, imprint processing of forming a pattern on an imprint material on a substrate (P0005, Fig. 1) on which a removal film for removing an organic film and a foreign substance is formed (the taught substrate is capable of receiving a removal film for removing an organic film and a foreign substance: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115), the apparatus comprising:
a substrate stage (11A) configured to hold the substrate (P0021, Fig. 1);
…
a pre-imprint inspection part (101) configured to detect foreign substances on the substrate (P0023-0024, Fig. 1);
a processing unit including a dispenser (15) configured to supply the imprint material on the … substrate and a mechanism (103) configured to adjust an interval between the mold and the substrate to which the imprint material is supplied, and configured to perform the imprint processing (P0022, Fig. 1); and
a chamber (10) configured to accommodate the substrate stage, the pre-imprint inspection part, and the processing unit, wherein the pre-imprint inspection part and the processing unit respectively perform the detection and the imprint processing in the chamber (P0022, Fig. 1).
Suzuki fails to disclose a separating unit configured to perform separation processing of separating the removal film from the substrate held on the substrate stage.
In analogous art, cleaning of substrates without damaging the substrates by removing a removal film easily and safely, Toru discloses the technique of including a separating unit configured to perform separation processing of separating a removal film (1) from a substrate (2), wherein the separating unit includes a template (4) having adhesiveness (3) and performs the separation processing by bringing the template into contact with the removal film and separating the template in contact with the removal film for the benefit(s) of removing the removal film easily and safely (Abstract, pg. 1, Fig. 1).
Since Suzuki teaches to detect foreign substances on the substrate held on a substrate stage (P0023-0024, Fig. 1) and to allow cleaning of foreign substances from the mold in the same chamber (Abstract, P0004-0005), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Suzuki in view of Toru by incorporating the separating unit of Toru in the chamber of Suzuki and configuring the separation unit of Toru to perform separation processing of separating a removal film from the substrate held on the substrate stage for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of allowing the removal of foreign substance from the substrate after their detection without damaging the substrates by removing the removal film easily and safely as suggested by Toru.
Claim(s) 4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Toru as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murayama (US 20150004790) and Takamasa (JP H0774137A – of record).
Regarding claim 4, Toru further implicitly discloses incorporating a forming unit configured to perform processing of forming the organic film (1) on the substrate (Abstract). However, Toru teaches to use the organic film as the removal film.
In the same field of endeavor, imprinting apparatuses, Murayama discloses the technique of using an organic film formation in order to improve adhesion between the substrate to the imprint material (P0137).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the apparatus of the combination in view of Murayama by including to the chamber a forming unit configured to perform processing of forming the organic film on the substrate and using the organic film as an adhesion layer instead of the removal layer for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of improving adhesion between the substrate to the imprint material as suggested by Murayama.
In analogous art, cleaning of substrates without damaging the substrates by removing a removal film easily and safely, Takamasa discloses the technique of the technique of including a forming unit (Abstract, Fig. 1) configured for forming a removal film (3) on a substrate (1) and a means (Fig. 2) for separating the removal film from the substrate (1), wherein the removal film (3) is made of a thermosetting resin (polyurethane solution 2) for the benefit(s) of removing particles (4) from the substrate efficiently and eliminating contamination (Abstract, Figs. 1-2 and accompanying text).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further have modified the apparatus of the combination in view of Murayama by configuring the forming unit to perform processing of the thermosetting removal film on the organic film for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of removing foreign particles from the organic film efficiently and eliminating contamination as suggested by Takamasa.
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki, as modified in claim 4 above, further discloses/suggests wherein the substrate stage includes a first stage (11B) and a second stage (11A), the forming unit performs the processing while the substrate is held on the first stage, and the separating unit and the processing unit respectively perform the separation processing and the imprint processing while the substrate is held on the second stage for the benefit(s) of performing applying separating material (removal film), cleaning of the substrate (separation of the removal film), and imprinting in parallel and in the same processing chamber (abstract, P0004-0005).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki, as modified in claim 11 above, further discloses/suggests wherein
the chamber (10) accommodates the forming unit, and the forming unit, the separating unit, and the processing unit respectively perform the processing (formation of the films), the separation processing (cleaning), and the imprint processing (imprinting) in the same chamber (abstract, P0004-0005).
Conclusion
Additional prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered to be pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
Shudo (US 20170368726) discloses the technique of using an environment at ISO cleanliness no less than class 2 during an operation of an imprint apparatus (P0064).
Namikawa (US 20050042958) discloses the use of thermoset resin a suitable material for cleaning sheets configured to clean foreign particles away from substrates and the incorporation of another adhesive layer to optimize/control adhesiveness (Abstract, P0004, claim 3).
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743