DETAILED ACTION
1. The pending claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 5-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated MIYAZAWA (U.S. 20150178029 A1 hereinafter, “MIYAZAWA”).
4. With respect to claim 1,
MIYAZAWA discloses
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a set of program instructions installed on and executed by a computer included in an information processing device, the information processing device further including a communication interface configured to communicate with a printing device, the set of program instructions, when executed by the computer, causing the information processing device to perform:
an acquiring process to acquire a database including a plurality of data tables (MIYAZAWA [0060], [0076] e.g. tables);
an image generation process to generate a print image (MIYAZAWA [0069], [0087] – [0088], [0103] – [0106], [0119] – [0125], [0145], [0184], [0189] – [0195], [0203] – [0204] e.g. print; image) in which a data image is incorporated, the data image representing a set of data designated by a user from one or more sets of data included in a selected data table (MIYAZAWA [0065] – [0066], [0074], [0092] e.g. selected service table) from among the plurality of data tables, the print image being to be printed by the printing device;
a first generation process to generate an image information file (MIYAZAWA [0009] – [0016], [0088], [0187] – [0189], claims 1-4 e.g. image, information, object; wherein each of the plural pieces of service-related information includes locational information indicating a location within a database that stores image data indicating a service object related to the service-related information) including image information to be used to render the print image;
a second generation process to generate a plurality of table files each being based on a respective (MIYAZAWA [0060], [0115] – [0119], [0131] e.g. respective tables) one of the plurality of data tables;
an integration process to integrate the image information file and the plurality of table files into a single extended image file (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106] e.g. combining, combined, table, image; [0104] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the communication selection screen information from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 supplies a combined data request including two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the communication selection screen information to the mediation server 50 in S110. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data request from the multifunction device 10, the CPU 72 acquires two pieces of image data identified by the two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the combined data request from the service OB table 76 and the face OB table 78 (see FIG. 3). Also, the CPU 72 generates the combined data indicating a combined OB by combining the two pieces of image data. Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112. [0106] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the combined data from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 generates display data indicating the communication selection screen (see SCS of FIG. 9) in S114. Specifically, the CPU 32 acquires the layout data (see FIG. 2) identified by the layout ID "LY2" from the memory 34. The CPU 32 describes a character string "Download Print" within the communication selection screen information in the area A4. Further, when a character string "Scan Upload" is included in the communication selection screen information, the CPU 32 describes the character string "Scan Upload" in the area AS. However, when the character string "Scan Upload" is not included in the communication selection screen information, the CPU 32 describes no character string in the area AS. Further, the CPU 32 describes the acquired combined data in the area A6. Accordingly, the display data is completed. The CPU 32 supplies the display data to the display unit 14 and causes the display unit 14 to display the communication selection screen SC5 of FIG. 9. The communication selection screen SC5 includes the character string "Download Print," the character string "Scan Upload," the combined OB, and the back button. The communication selection screen SC5 is a screen for selecting any one of image data downloading communication and image data uploading communication.); and
a saving process to save the extended image file in a saving folder (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106], [0128] – [0134] e.g. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112. [0128] – [0134] e.g. [0129] When the target SP server 100 acquires the FD information request from the mediation server 50, the target SP server 100 supplies Y pieces of FD information to the mediation server 50 in S234. The Y pieces of FD information are information on Y folders (that is, a folder name and a folder ID) stored in the target SP server 100 in association with the target account name "AN2.". [0134] When the target SP server 100 acquires the ULURL request from the mediation server 50, the target SP server 100 supplies a UL URL to the mediation server 50 in S262. The ULURL is a URL indicating a location within the folder identified by the folder ID "ID11," that is, a location in which image data to be uploaded from the multifunction device 10 is to be stored.).
5. With respect to claim 5,
MIYAZAWA discloses
a first temporary folder creation process to create a first temporary folder, wherein the first generation process temporarily stores the image information file in the first temporary folder (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106] e.g. combining, combined, table, image; [0104] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the communication selection screen information from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 supplies a combined data request including two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the communication selection screen information to the mediation server 50 in S110. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data request from the multifunction device 10, the CPU 72 acquires two pieces of image data identified by the two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the combined data request from the service OB table 76 and the face OB table 78 (see FIG. 3). Also, the CPU 72 generates the combined data indicating a combined OB by combining the two pieces of image data. Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112),
wherein the second generation process temporarily stores the plurality of table files in the first temporary folder,
wherein the integration process reads the image information file and the plurality of table files from the first temporary folder for use in generating the extended image file (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106] e.g. combining, combined, table, image; [0104] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the communication selection screen information from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 supplies a combined data request including two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the communication selection screen information to the mediation server 50 in S110. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data request from the multifunction device 10, the CPU 72 acquires two pieces of image data identified by the two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the combined data request from the service OB table 76 and the face OB table 78 (see FIG. 3). Also, the CPU 72 generates the combined data indicating a combined OB by combining the two pieces of image data. Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112).
6. With respect to claim 6,
MIYAZAWA discloses
a saving-folder reception process to receive an operation to designate the saving folder,
wherein the saving process saves the extended image file in the designated saving folder,
wherein the first temporary folder creation process creates the first temporary folder different from the saving folder (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106] e.g. combining, combined, table, image; [0104] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the communication selection screen information from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 supplies a combined data request including two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the communication selection screen information to the mediation server 50 in S110. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data request from the multifunction device 10, the CPU 72 acquires two pieces of image data identified by the two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the combined data request from the service OB table 76 and the face OB table 78 (see FIG. 3). Also, the CPU 72 generates the combined data indicating a combined OB by combining the two pieces of image data. Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112).
7. Claim 16 is same as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 2-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAWA in view of KAWASE (JP 2003270880 A hereinafter, “KAWASE”).
13. With respect to claim 2,
Although MIYAZAWA substantially teaches the claimed invention, MIYAZAWA does not explicitly indicate wherein the second generation process generates the plurality of table files in a file format compatible with a plurality of pieces of application software different from each other.
KAWASE teaches the limitations by stating wherein the second generation process generates the plurality of table files in a file format compatible (KAWASE page 14 e.g. It goes without saying that it can be configured to be compatible with image files and data formats other than the F format) with a plurality of pieces of application software different from each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, in view of the teachings of MIYAZAWA and KAWASE, to enabling the user to easily execute settings is provided (MIYAZAWA [0004]).
14. With respect to claim 3,
KAWASE further discloses wherein the integration process compresses the image information file and the plurality of table files in a predetermined compression format (KAWASE page 4 e.g. compressed) to generate the extended image file.
15. With respect to claim 4,
KAWASE further discloses
a filename determination process to determine a filename of the extended image file, the filename including a specific file extension different from a prescribed file extension of the predetermined compression format,
wherein the saving process saves the extended image file having the determined filename (KAWASE claim 3 e.g. 3. The image processing means determines, based on an extension included in a file name of the image data, whether the image requires gradation or an image requiring resolution. The image forming apparatus according to claim 2.).
16. With respect to claim 7,
KAWASE further discloses
a third generation process to generate a configuration file including name information, the name information specifying a filename of the image information file and a table name of the selected data table (KAWASE claim 3 e.g. 3. The image processing means determines, based on an extension included in a file name of the image data, whether the image requires gradation or an image requiring resolution. The image forming apparatus according to claim 2.),
wherein the integration process further integrates the configuration file as well as the image information file and the plurality of table files into the extended image file.
17. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAWA in view of CURCIO et al (CN 113330751 A hereinafter, “CURCIO”).
18. With respect to claim 8,
Although MIYAZAWA substantially teaches the claimed invention, MIYAZAWA does not explicitly indicate
a format reception process to receive an operation to designate a first file format or a second file format, the first file format being a container format, the second file format not being the container format,
wherein when the format reception process receives the operation to designate the first file format, the integration process is performed,
wherein when the format reception process receives the operation to designate the second file format, the integration process is not performed, and the saving process saves the image information file generated in the first generation process.
CURCIO teaches the limitations by stating
a format reception process to receive an operation to designate a first file format or a second file format, the first file format being a container format, the second file format not being the container format,
wherein when the format reception process receives the operation to designate the first file format, the integration process is performed,
wherein when the format reception process receives the operation to designate the second file format, the integration process is not performed, and the saving process saves the image information file generated in the first generation process (CURCIO pages 10-11 e.g. Matroska file format; container file format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, in view of the teachings of MIYAZAWA and CURCIO, to enabling the user to easily execute settings is provided (MIYAZAWA [0004]).
19. Claims 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAWA in view of MATSUOKA et al (JP 2017084012 A hereinafter, “MATSUOKA”).
20. With respect to claim 9,
Although MIYAZAWA substantially teaches the claimed invention, MIYAZAWA does not explicitly indicate
wherein the set of program instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to perform:
a decompression process to obtain the image information file and the plurality of table files from the extended image file by decompressing the extended image file; and
an object display process to display a print image object and a table object on a display provided in the information processing device, the print image object representing the print image and being rendered using the image information included in the image information file obtained in the decompression process, the table object representing a target data table and being rendered using one of the plurality of table files obtained in the decompression process.
MATSUOKA teaches the limitations by stating
wherein the set of program instructions, when executed by the computer, causes the information processing device to perform:
a decompression process to obtain the image information file and the plurality of table files from the extended image file by decompressing the extended image file; and
an object display process to display a print image object and a table object on a display provided in the information processing device, the print image object representing the print image and being rendered using the image information included in the image information file obtained in the decompression process, the table object representing a target data table and being rendered using one of the plurality of table files obtained in the decompression process (MATSUOKA pages 4, 6 e.g. decompressing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, in view of the teachings of MIYAZAWA and MATSUOKA, to enabling the user to easily execute settings is provided (MIYAZAWA [0004]).
21. With respect to claim 10,
MATSUOKA further discloses
a third generation process to generate a configuration file including name information, the name information specifying a filename (MATSUOKA pages 10 e.g. file name) of the image information file and a table name of the selected data table,
wherein the integration process further integrates the configuration file as well as the image information file and the plurality of table files into the extended image file,
wherein the decompression process further obtains the configuration file from the extended image file by decompressing the extended image file (MATSUOKA pages 4, 6 e.g. decompressing),
wherein the object display process identifies the selected data table on the basis of the table name specified in the configuration file obtained in the decompression process, and displays the table object representing the identified selected data table as the target data table.
22. With respect to claim 12,
MATSUOKA further discloses
a second temporary folder creation process to create a second temporary folder (MATSUOKA pages 9-10 e.g. folder),
wherein the decompression process temporarily stores, in the second temporary folder, the image information file and the plurality of table files both obtained through decompression of the extended image file (MATSUOKA pages 4, 6 e.g. decompressing).
23. With respect to claim 13,
MIYAZAWA further discloses wherein the second temporary folder creation process creates the second temporary folder different from the saving folder (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106] e.g. combining, combined, table, image; [0104] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the communication selection screen information from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 supplies a combined data request including two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the communication selection screen information to the mediation server 50 in S110. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data request from the multifunction device 10, the CPU 72 acquires two pieces of image data identified by the two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the combined data request from the service OB table 76 and the face OB table 78 (see FIG. 3). Also, the CPU 72 generates the combined data indicating a combined OB by combining the two pieces of image data. Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112).
24. With respect to claim 14,
MIYAZAWA further discloses
an image information reading process to read the image information from the image information file temporarily stored in the second temporary folder; and
a data table reading process to read the plurality of data tables from the plurality of table files temporarily stored in the second temporary folder,
wherein the print image object is rendered using the image information read in the image information reading process, and the table object is rendered using one of the plurality of data tables read in the data table reading process (MIYAZAWA [0103] – [0106] e.g. combining, combined, table, image; [0104] When the CPU 32 of the multifunction device 10 acquires the communication selection screen information from the mediation server 50, the CPU 32 supplies a combined data request including two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the communication selection screen information to the mediation server 50 in S110. [0105] When the CPU 72 of the mediation server 50 acquires the combined data request from the multifunction device 10, the CPU 72 acquires two pieces of image data identified by the two URLs "UF2" and "USE" within the combined data request from the service OB table 76 and the face OB table 78 (see FIG. 3). Also, the CPU 72 generates the combined data indicating a combined OB by combining the two pieces of image data. Then, the CPU 72 supplies the combined data to the multifunction device 10 in S 112).
25. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAWA in view of KETSUKA et al (US 20180364952 A1 hereinafter, “KETSUKA”).
26. With respect to claim 15,
Although MIYAZAWA substantially teaches the claimed invention, MIYAZAWA does not explicitly indicate wherein the print image is printed on a printing medium extending in a longitudinal direction in the printing device while the printing medium is being conveyed in the longitudinal direction.
KETSUKA teaches the limitations by stating wherein the print image is printed on a printing medium extending in a longitudinal direction in the printing device while the printing medium is being conveyed in the longitudinal direction (KETSUKA [0047] e.g. longitudinal direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, in view of the teachings of MIYAZAWA and KETSUKA, to enabling the user to easily execute settings is provided (MIYAZAWA [0004]).
27. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAWA in view of MATSUOKA, and further in view of ROBERTS et al (CN 1618065 A hereinafter, “ROBERTS”).
28. With respect to claim 11,
Although MIYAZAWA and MATSUOKA combination substantially teaches the claimed invention, they do not explicitly indicate
a selection reception process to receive a selection of a replacement data table from among the plurality of data tables while the display displays the table object; and
when the selection of the replacement data table is received in the selection reception process, replacing the table object displayed on the display with a second table object representing the replacement data table.
ROBERTS teaches the limitations by stating
a selection reception process to receive a selection of a replacement data table from among the plurality of data tables while the display displays the table object (ROBERTS pages 6-7 e.g. In this way, it can use the above example replacement table selected for the content of the image changes. in a similar way, the change of content can be selected for linking the link by providing the connecting replacement table can be text in the web page and select change of content, the text appears in the web page by providing a text block replacement table.); and
when the selection of the replacement data table is received in the selection reception process, replacing the table object displayed on the display with a second table object representing the replacement data table.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, in view of the teachings of MIYAZAWA, MATSUOKA and ROBERTS, to enabling the user to easily execute settings is provided (MIYAZAWA [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
29. The examiner requests, in response to this office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
30. When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the reference cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/SYLING YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
March 19, 2026