DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in reply to the Amendment filed on August 26, 2026. Claims 1, 7, 8, 10 and 15 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. No further claims have been cancelled. Claim interpretation previously made under 35 USC 112(f) is maintained. The previous 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been overcome however a new rejection is presented herewith and discussed in greater detail below. Claims 1-16 are currently pending and have been fully examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 and 10-12 are Finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (2021/0114198).
In reference to claim 1, Lin discloses a multi-nut driver (100) comprising:
a handle (300) having an opening (i.e. lower opening of hole 3, as seen in Figure 1) and a hollow interior (3, Figure 1);
a reversible adapter (formed from elements 1 and 2) removably received in the opening of the handle, the reversible adapter including a first retention portion (114) at a first end (i.e. upper end of 1, as seen in Figure 3) and a second retention portion (214) at a second end opposite the first end (i.e. lower end of 2, as seen in Figure 3);
a first elongated shank (115) removably retained by the first retention portion (see Figures 1 and 3);
a second elongated shank (215) removably retained by the second retention portion (see Figures 1 and 3);
a socket (i.e. lower socket of T1, as seen in Figure 8) removably mounted on an exterior of the first elongated shank (Figures 1 and 8); and
wherein the first elongated shank protrudes from the reversible adapter (Figure 1) and into the hollow interior of the handle (Figure 5).
In reference to claim 3, Lin discloses that the reversible adapter includes a third retention portion (at 111 or at 211) on a side of the reversible adapter between the first end and the second end (see paragraph 23 and Figures 3 and 4).
In reference to claim 5, Lin discloses that the third retention portion is perpendicular to the first retention portion and the second retention portion (Figures 1-4).
In reference to claims 6 and 11, Lin discloses that the first retention portion and the second retention portion extend along a common axis (i.e. along axial direction A in Figure 1); and the reversible adapter further includes a third retention portion (again at 111 or 211) extending perpendicular (i.e. along radial direction R) to the common axis (Figures 2-4).
In reference to claims 7 and 12, Lin discloses a second socket (i.e. upper socket of T1, as seen in Figure 8) is supported along the exterior of the first elongated shank (115, see Figure 8), wherein the second socket is contained within the hollow interior of the handle (see Figure 5).
In reference to claim 10, Lin discloses a multi-nut driver (100) comprising:
a handle (300) having an opening (i.e. lower opening of hole 3, as seen in Figure 1) and a hollow interior (3, Figure 1);
a reversible adapter (formed from elements 1 and 2) removably received in the opening of the handle, the reversible adapter including a first retention portion (114) at a first end (i.e. upper end of 1, as seen in Figure 3), a second retention portion at a second end (i.e. lower end of 2, as seen in Figure 3) opposite the first end, and a third retention portion (at 111 or at 211) between the first end and the second end (Figures 1-4);
an elongated shank (formed from 115, 215 and I1) removably retainable by the first retention portion, the second retention portion, and the third retention portion (respectively, Figures 1-9);
a socket (i.e. lower socket of T1, as seen in Figure 8) removably mounted on an exterior of the elongated shank (at 215);
wherein the elongated shank (at 115), when retained by the first retention portion, protrudes from the reversible adapter and into the hollow interior of the handle (see Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 and 9 are Finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (2021/0114198).
In reference to claim 2, Lin discloses the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, and further discloses that the socket heads (T1-T3) may be of various sizes (paragraph 30) and that the handle opening is a hex socket (i.e. within polygonal part 31) to engage a bolt head having a hexagonal profile (i.e. at 11 and/or 21), but lacks explicitly disclosing that;
the handle opening is a 7/8" opening.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention with regards to dimension or desired size, e.g., to make the handle opening a 7/8" handle opening, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this situation, providing a 7/8" handle opening, allows for different sized sockets to be used, depending on the particular application at hand as needed by the user.
In reference to claim 8, Lin further disclose that the socket (T1) is a first socket (i.e. lower socket of T1 in Figure 8) further mounted to a first end of the first elongated shank (115, Figure 8), a second socket (i.e. upper socket of T1 in Figure 8), a fourth socket (i.e. lower socket of T2 in Figure 3) mounted to a first end of an exterior of the second elongated shank (215); a fifth socket (i.e. lower socket of T3 in Figure 3) and a sixth socket (i.e. upper socket of T3 in Figure 3) each supported along a length of the exterior of the second elongated shank (Figure 3), but lacks,
a third socket supported along a length of the exterior of the elongated shank.
However, the examiner notes that Lin discloses including, “At least one tool head (e.g., T1, T2, T3, and etc.)” thereby suggesting that more tool heads could be used because of the “etc.” (paragraph 23). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the number of double/reversible sockets such that additional sockets could be provided thereby meeting the limitation of including the third socket, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In this situation, by providing multiple double/reversible sockets, one can more easily engage with workpieces of different sizes.
In reference to claim 9, Lin discloses the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, and further discloses that the socket heads (T1-T3) may be of various sizes (paragraph 30), but lacks,
the first socket is a reversible socket having a 1/4" socket and a 5/16" socket;
the second socket is a reversible socket having a 3/8" socket and a 7/16" socket;
the third socket is a reversible socket having a 1/2" socket and a 9/16" socket;
the fourth socket is a reversible socket having a 7mm socket and an 8mm socket;
the fifth socket is a reversible socket having a 10mm socket and a 12mm socket; and
the sixth socket is a reversible socket having a 13mm socket and a 14mm socket.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the sockets with regards to dimension or desired size, e.g., providing that the first socket is a 1/4" socket and a 5/16" socket; the second socket as a 3/8" socket and a 7/16" socket; the third socket as a 1/2" socket and a 9/16" socket; the fourth socket as a 7mm socket and an 8mm socket; the fifth socket as a 10mm socket and a 12mm socket; and the sixth socket as a 13mm socket and a 14mm socket, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this situation, providing the various socket sizes one can more easily engage with workpieces of different sizes.
Claims 4 and 10-16 are Finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (2021/0114198) in view of Hwang (5842394).
In reference to claim 4, Lin discloses the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lacks,
the first elongated shank or the second elongated shank is removably retained by the third retention portion.
However, Hwang teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an adapter (1, which is similar to the adapter 1 and 2, of Lin) with a third retention portion (at 15) on a side of the adapter between a first end (11) and a second end (13, Figure 1), and wherein a first elongated shank (i.e. lower upper 21, as seen in Figure 1) or a second elongated shank (i.e. upper 21, as seen in Figure) is removably retained by the third retention portion (Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the adapter, of Lin, with the known technique of providing an adapter including the third retention portion that is located on a side of the adapter between a first end and a second end, as taught by Hwang, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can be used in a different manner where increased torsion force is required (Column 4, Lines 14-19).
In further reference to claim 10, Lin discloses a multi-nut driver (100) comprising:
a handle (300) having an opening (i.e. lower opening of hole 3, as seen in Figure 1) and a hollow interior (3, Figure 1);
a reversible adapter (formed from elements 1 and 2) removably received in the opening of the handle, the reversible adapter including a first retention portion (114) at a first end (i.e. upper end of 1, as seen in Figure 3), a second retention portion at a second end (i.e. lower end of 2, as seen in Figure 3) opposite the first end, and a third retention portion (at 111 or at 211) between the first end and the second end (Figures 1-4);
an elongated shank (formed from 115, 215 and I1) removably retainable by the first retention portion, the second retention portion, and the third retention portion (respectively, Figures 1-9);
a socket (i.e. lower socket of T1, as seen in Figure 8) removably mounted on an exterior of the elongated shank (at 215);
wherein the elongated shank (at 115), when retained by the first retention portion, protrudes from the reversible adapter and into the hollow interior of the handle (see Figure 5).
Assuming arguendo, that Lin lacks,
the elongated shank being removably retainable by the first retention portion, the second retention portion, and the third retention portion, then Hwang is used for such a teaching.
Hwang teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide an adapter (1, which is similar to the adapter 1 and 2, of Lin) with a third retention portion (at 15) on a side of the adapter between a first end (11) and a second end (13, Figure 1), and wherein an elongated shank (i.e. lower or upper 21, as seen in Figure 1) is removably retainable by a first retention portion (i.e. opening at 11 in Figure 1), a second retention portion (i.e. opening at 13 in Figure 1) and the third retention portion (15, Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the adapter, of Lin, with the known technique of providing an adapter including the third retention portion that is located on a side of the adapter, such that the elongated shank is removably retainable by the first retention portion, the second retention portion, and the third retention portion, as taught by Hwang, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can be used in a different manner where increased torsion force is required (Column 4, Lines 14-19).
In further reference to claim 11, Lin discloses that the first retention portion and the second retention portion extend along a common axis (i.e. along axial direction A in Figure 1); and the reversible adapter further includes a third retention portion (again at 111 or 211) extending perpendicular (i.e. along radial direction R) to the common axis (Figures 2-4).
In further reference to claim 12, Lin discloses that further comprising a second socket (i.e. upper socket of T1, as seen in Figure 8) supported along the exterior of the elongated shank (115), wherein the second socket, when the elongated shank is retained by the first retention portion, is contained within the hollow interior of the handle (Figures 3 and 5).
In reference to claim 13, Lin further comprising a second elongated shank (215) removably retainable by the first retention portion, the second retention portion, and Hwang also previously taught of providing a second elongated shank (lower or upper 21, as seen in Figure 1) that is removably retainable by the third retention portion (15, Figure 5).
In reference to claim 14, Hwang also taught of further comprising a third elongated shank (lower or upper 21, as seen in Figure 1) removably retainable by the first retention portion, the second retention portion, and the third retention portion (Figures 1 and 5).
In reference to claim 15, Lin further disclose that the socket (T1) is a first socket (i.e. lower socket of T1 in Figure 8) further mounted to a first end of the first elongated shank (115, Figure 8), a second socket (i.e. upper socket of T1 in Figure 8), a fourth socket (i.e. lower socket of T2 in Figure 3) mounted to a first end of an exterior of the second elongated shank (215); a fifth socket (i.e. lower socket of T3 in Figure 3) and a sixth socket (i.e. upper socket of T3 in Figure 3) each supported along a length of the exterior of the second elongated shank (Figure 3), but lacks,
a third socket supported along a length of the exterior of the elongated shank.
However, the examiner notes that Lin discloses including, “At least one tool head (e.g., T1, T2, T3, and etc.)” thereby suggesting that more tool heads could be used because of the “etc.” (paragraph 23). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the number of double/reversible sockets such that additional sockets could be provided thereby meeting the limitation of including the third socket, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In this situation, by providing multiple double/reversible sockets, one can more easily engage with workpieces of different sizes.
In reference to claim 16, Lin discloses the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, and further discloses that the socket heads (T1-T3) may be of various sizes (paragraphs 23 and 30), but lacks,
the first socket is a reversible socket having a 1/4" socket and a 5/16" socket;
the second socket is a reversible socket having a 3/8" socket and a 7/16" socket;
the third socket is a reversible socket having a 1/2" socket and a 9/16" socket;
the fourth socket is a reversible socket having a 7mm socket and an 8mm socket;
the fifth socket is a reversible socket having a 10mm socket and a 12mm socket; and
the sixth socket is a reversible socket having a 13mm socket and a 14mm socket.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the sockets with regards to dimension or desired size, e.g., providing that the first socket is a 1/4" socket and a 5/16" socket; the second socket as a 3/8" socket and a 7/16" socket; the third socket as a 1/2" socket and a 9/16" socket; the fourth socket as a 7mm socket and an 8mm socket; the fifth socket as a 10mm socket and a 12mm socket; and the sixth socket as a 13mm socket and a 14mm socket, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In this situation, providing the various socket sizes one can more easily engage with workpieces of different sizes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed August 26, 2026, with respect to amended claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections of claims 1-16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as previously applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter as specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Specifically, applicant amended claims 1 and 10 to require that the socket is removeable mounted on an exterior of the shank.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheesman (4798111) discloses a socket wrench having a single shank (16) connecting multiple sockets (18) to a handle (14, Figure 1 and 2).
Marleau (4399723) shows sockets having a radial hole (18) for connecting sockets perpendicularly (Figure 4).
Tseng (9943947) also shows sockets having a radial hole (318) for connecting sockets perpendicularly (Figures 9 and 14).
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723