Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012199798 to Yoshida in view of US 20230305469 to Shirai.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses an image reading device having a document transport path having a transport direction (Paragraph 13; image reading device 200; paragraph 13, 46; path 240 for document transporting in a direction) , the image reading device comprising:
a reading section positioned in the document transport path and configured to read an image of a document transported along the document transport path in the transport direction (paragraph 17, 27, 75; see Fig. 2 showing reading unit 271 position on transport path and reading image of document transported in path in the direction); and
a rotation member that is provided with, on a peripheral surface, at least two background sections having colors different in brightness from each other (paragraph 17-18; background member 307 (rotation member) is provided on its surface with white and black (colors different in brightness) background sections 307a/b; background member 307 rotates), that is provided at a position facing the reading section (paragraph 30; background member 307 faces the reading unit 271), and that, by rotating, changes a position of the background section with respect to a reading position of the reading section (paragraph 25, 28; background member 307 is rotated to change between position having white color or black color with respect to position of reading unit 271), wherein
one of the at least two background sections faces the reading section during reading of the image of the document by the reading section (paragraph 28, 30, 32, 34; one of white or black member 307a/b faces the reading unit 271 during reading of document).
However Yoshida does not disclose the rotation member is separable from the reading section.
Shirai discloses the rotation member is separable from the reading section (paragraph 65, 107-109; rotating member 51; paragraph 406, 409; rotating member 51 can be moved upward (separated) in association with guide member 72A that can be moved upward (separable) from the sheet path R thereby separating from reading unit 222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yoshida as taught by Shirai to provide separable rotation member.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide access to the sheet in the path by separating the rotation member in order for user to respond to paper jamming (paragraph 406, 203).
Regarding claim 2, Shirai discloses the image reading device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a guide member that is provided upstream of the rotation member in the transport direction and that guides the document between the reading section and the rotation member (see Fig. 25; paragraph 224, 408-410; guide member 72A that guides sheet is upstream of the rotating member 51 in transport direction (left to right see Fig. 15) that faces the image reading section 222 as shown in Fig. 25; see Fig. 3 showing guide on left side that guides sheet between the image reading section 222 on lower side and rotating member 51 on top), wherein
the guide member is separable from the transport path (paragraph 409; guide member 72A can be moved upward (separable) from the sheet path R).
Regarding claim 3, Shirai discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein
the rotation member separates from the reading section in association with separation of the guide member from the transport path (paragraph 406, 409; rotating member 51 can be moved upward (separated) in association with guide member 72A that can be moved upward (separable) from the sheet path R).
Regarding claim 10, Shira discloses the image reading device according to claim 1, wherein the rotation member includes a first rotation roller having , as the background section, a peripheral surface of a first color and a second rotation roller having, as the background section, a peripheral surface of a second color that is different than the first color (paragraph 65, 107-109; rotating member 51 (first rotation roller) includes on its background surface a white plate HK (first color); paragraph 65, 102, 107-109; rotating member 52 (second rotation roller) which has same structure as first rotation member 51 includes on its surface a color calibration plate EK which is different from white).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida does not disclose the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the rotation member comprises calibration reference section for performing color calibration of the reading section.
Shirai discloses wherein the rotation member comprises a calibration reference section for performing color calibration of the reading section (paragraph 107-108, 110-111; color calibration plate EK on the rotating member 51 is used to color calibrate the reading unit 222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of YOshida as taught by Shirai to provide color calibration of reading unit.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide high quality image reading unit by adding calibration plate for performing calibration using the rotation member in addition to being used as background member for reading documents (paragraph 108-111).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida discloses an image reading device having a document transport path having a transport direction (Paragraph 13; image reading device 200; paragraph 13, 46; path 240 for document transporting in a direction), the image reading device, comprising:
a first reading section positioned in the document transport path and configured to read an image of a first surface of document transported along the document transport path in the transport direction (paragraph 17, 21, 27, 75; see Fig. 2 showing first reading unit 271 position on upstream side of transport path and reading image of first surface of document transported in path in the direction by roller 206),
a first rotation member that is provided with at least two background sections having colors different in brightness from each other (paragraph 17-18; first background member 307 (rotation member) located upstream is provided on its surface with white and black (colors different in brightness) background sections 307a/b; background member 307 rotates), that is provided at a position facing the first reading section (paragraph 30; first background member 307 faces the first reading unit 271), and that, by rotating, changes a position of the background section with respect to a reading position of the first reading section (paragraph 25, 28; background member 307 is rotated to change between position having white color or black color with respect to position of first reading unit 271), one of the at least two background sections of the first rotation member facing the first reading section during reading of the image of the first surface of the document by the first reading section (paragraph 28, 30, 32, 34; one of white or black member 307a/b faces the first reading unit 271 during reading of first surface of document);
a second reading section that is provided downstream of the first reading section in the transport direction and that is configured to read an image of a second surface of the document transported by the transport section (paragraph 13, 17, 21, 27, 75; see Fig. 2 showing second reading unit 271 position on downstream side of transport path and reading image of second surface of document transported in path in the direction by roller 242); and
a second rotation member that is provided with at least two background sections having colors different in brightness from each other (paragraph 17-18; second background member 307 (rotation member) located downstream is provided on its surface with white and black (colors different in brightness) background sections 307a/b; background member 307 rotates), that is provided at a position facing the second reading section (paragraph 30; second background member 307 faces the second reading unit 271), and that, by rotating, changes a position of the background section with respect to a reading position of the second reading section (paragraph 25, 28; second background member 307 is rotated to change between position having white color or black color with respect to position of second reading unit 271), one of the at least two background sections of the second rotation member faces the second reading section during reading of the image of the second surface of the document by the second reading section (paragraph 28, 30, 32, 34; one of white or black member 307a/b faces the second reading unit 271 during reading of second surface of document), wherein
one of the at least two background sections of the first rotation member faces the first reading section during reading of the image of the first surface of the document by the first reading section (paragraph 28, 30, 32, 34; one of white or black member 307a/b of first background member faces the first reading unit 271 during reading of first surface of document).
However Yoshida does not disclose at least one of the first reading section or the first rotation member is separable from the other and at least one of the second reading section or the second rotation member is separable from the other.
Shirai discloses at least one of the first reading section or the first rotation member is separable from the other (paragraph 104, 209-212; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 51 (first rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the image reading unit 222 (first reading section)) and at least one of the second reading section or the second rotation member is separable from the other (paragraph 102, 104, 209-212, 415; rotating member 52(second rotation member) is similar to rotating member 51; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 52 (second rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the image reading unit 221 (second reading section)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yoshida as taught by Shirai to provide separable rotation member.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide access to the sheet in the path by separating the rotation member in order for user to respond to paper jamming (paragraph 406, 203).
Regarding claim 15, Shirai discloses the image reading device according to claim 13, wherein the first reading section is fixed and the first rotation member is separable from the first reading section and the second reading section is fixed and the second rotation member is separable from the second reading section (paragraph 104, 209-212; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 51 (first rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the fixed image reading unit 222 (first reading section); paragraph 102, 104, 209-212, 415; rotating member 52(second rotation member) is similar to rotating member 51; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 52 (second rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the fixed image reading unit 221 (second reading section)).
Claim(s) 4, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012199798 to Yoshida in view of US 20230305469 to Shirai in view of JP H07250211 to Ohara.
Regarding claim 4, Shirai does not disclose the image reading device according to claim 3, wherein the guide member separates from the transport path by contact with the transported document.
Ohara discloses wherein the guide member separates from the transport path by contact with the transported document (paragraph 23-24; second driven roller 17(guide member) goes up in Fig. 3c from transport path when document (book) contacts the second driven roller 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yoshida as taught by Ohara to provide guide member that is separating from the path by document contact.
The motivation to combine the references is to allow reading of thick documents without using large glass reading surface by transporting the document and allow the thick document to be transported into the image reading section by providing guide member that moves up based on contact of document (paragraph 5, 7, 23-24).
Regarding claim 6, Ohara discloses he image reading device according to claim 2, further comprising:
a pressing member for elastically pressing the guide member toward the transport path (paragraph 15; second driven roller 17(guide member) is pressed by spring 18 (pressing member) elastically in direction b which is toward the transport path in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Ohara discloses the image reading device according to claim 2, wherein the guide member has a roller whose peripheral surface is a curved surface (paragraph 15; roller 17 is circular roller as seen in Fig. 3 which is curved peripheral surface).
Regarding claim 8, Ohara discloses the image reading device according to claim 7, wherein the roller is a drive roller rotated by a first drive source (paragraph 15, 23; drive device (first drive source) provides drive to second driven roller 17(guide member) via belt 13).
Regarding claim 9, Ohara discloses the image reading device according to claim 8, wherein the first and second transport rollers are driven by power of the first drive source (paragraph 15, 16, 23; the drive device of first driven roller 11 and second driven roller 17 drives belt 13 to transport document).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012199798 to Yoshida in view of US 20230305469 to Shirai in view of US 20150055157 to Hamano.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida does not disclose the image reading device according to claim 10, wherein the first rotation roller and the second rotation roller are drive rollers rotated by power of a drive source.
Hamano discloses wherein the first rotation roller and the second rotation roller are drive rollers rotated by power of a drive source (paragraph 88; first platen roller 5 and second platen roller 5’ are rotated by same drive source (motor m4)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yoshida as taught by Hamano to provide a single drive source for the first and second rotation roller.
The motivation to combine the references is to simplify and reduce amount of motors needed to operate the image reading device by sharing one motor for both rotation rollers which can then reduce the wait time for scanning when foreign matter is to be detected by driving both rotation rollers at same time (paragraph 7, 88).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012199798 to Yoshida in view of US 20230305469 to Shirai in view of US 20080239416 to Kato.
Regarding claim 14, Shirai does not disclose the image reading device according to claim 13, wherein the first surface is an upper surface and the second surface is a lower surface (paragraph 288-289; if the upper reading unit and lower reading unit are inverted, then the first surface read by upper reading unit is the upper surface and the second surface ready by lower reading unit is lower surface). However Shirai does not disclose the first rotation member is fixed and the first reading section is separable from the first rotation member, and the second reading section is fixed and the second rotation member is separable from the second reading section.
Kato discloses the first rotation member is fixed and the first reading section is separable from the first rotation member, and the second reading section is fixed and the second rotation member is separable from the second reading section (paragraph 205-208; in open state of Fig. 21 platen roller 225 in lower unit 301 (first rotation member) is fixed and image sensor 312 in upper unit 302 (first reading section) is separable and platen roller 225 in upper unit 301 (second rotation member) is separable and image sensor 312 in lower unit 302 (second reading section) is fixed ) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Shirai as taught by Kato to provide separation between the reading sections and the rotation members.
The motivation to combine the references is to separate/open the upper unit relative to lower unit such that access is provided to resolve jamming of paper and to allow inside access for cleaning of rollers, the sensor and path (paragraph 93-94).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012199798 to Yoshida in view of US 20230305469 to Shirai further in view US 4970606 to Shima.
Regarding claim 17, Yoshida does not disclose the image reading device according to Claim 1, the rotation member being separable from the reading section by force applied by a thickness of a document within the image reading device.
Shima discloses the rotation member being separable from the reading section by force applied by a thickness of a document within the image reading device (column 5, lines 20-35, 44-57; platen roller 28 is moved upward (separated) from the sensor 5 (Reading) by force of document hitting the platen roller due to its thickness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yoshida as taught by Shima to provide separable rotation member based on document thickness.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide smooth transport of documents and eliminate the jamming of documents by rotation member moving up (column 5, lines 31-38).
Regarding claim 18, Shima discloses the image reading device according to Claim 13, the first rotation member being separable from the first reading section by force applied by a thickness of a document within the image reading device (column 5, lines 20-35, 44-57; platen roller 28 is moved upward (separated) from the sensor 5 (Reading) by force of document hitting the platen roller due to its thickness). However Shima does not disclose the second rotation member being separable from the first reading section also by force applied by the thickness of the document within the image reading device.
Yoshida discloses the second rotation member (paragraph 17-18; second background member 307 (rotation member) located downstream). In view of the teachings of Shima that causes the force of document to separate the rotation member from the reading section, it would have been obvious to provide the same mechanism on the second rotation member to separate it from the reading section due to force of the document.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Yoshida as taught by Shima to provide separable second rotation rotation member based on document thickness.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide smooth transport of documents and eliminate the jamming of documents by rotation member moving up (column 5, lines 31-38).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regards to independent claim 19, the closest prior art of US 20230305469 to Shirai discloses an image reading device (paragraph 230; inspection device 200), comprising:
a transport section configured to transport a document (paragraph 231, 233; transport roller(transport section) including driving roller 31a for transporting sheet P);
a reading section configured to read an image of the document transported in a transport direction by the transport section (paragraph 56; lower image reading unit 222 reads image on sheet P transported); and
a rotation member that is provided with, on a peripheral surface, at least two background sections having colors different in brightness from each other (paragraph 65, 107-109; rotating member 51 includes on its surface a white plate HK and color calibration plate EK (two background sections); white color on white plate is brighter than any one of the color patches on calibration plate), that is provided at a position facing the reading section (paragraph 132; rotating member 51; rotating member 51 is positioned to face the image reading unit 222; see Fig. 3), and that, by rotating, changes a position of the background section with respect to a reading position of the reading section (paragraph 65, 110; the rotating member can rotate such that either one of white plate HK and color calibration plate EK faces the reading position of the image reading unit 222), wherein
the rotation member is separable from the reading section (paragraph 104, 209-212; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 51 can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the image reading unit 222);
a guide member that is provided upstream of the rotation member in the transport direction and that guides the document between the reading section and the rotation member (see Fig. 25; paragraph 224, 408-410; guide member 72A that guides sheet is upstream of the rotating member 51 in transport direction (left to right see Fig. 15) that faces the image reading section 222 as shown in Fig. 25; see Fig. 3 showing guide on left side that guides sheet between the image reading section 222 on lower side and rotating member 51 on top), wherein
the guide member is separable from a transport path along which the document is transported (paragraph 409; guide member 72A can be moved upward (separable) from the sheet path R);
wherein
the rotation member separates from the reading section in association with separation of the guide member from the transport path (paragraph 406, 409; rotating member 51 can be moved upward (separated) in association with guide member 72A that can be moved upward (separable) from the sheet path R).
JP H07250211 to Ohara discloses wherein the guide member separates from the transport path by contact with the transported document (paragraph 23-24; second driven roller 17(guide member) goes up in Fig. 3c from transport path when document (book) contacts the second driven roller 7).
In addition to the teachings of the claim 19 as a whole, the closest prior art of record failed to teach or suggest,
“wherein the guide member and the rotation member are integrated by a pair of coupling members positioned on one end side and on the other end side in the width direction of the document, and are configured to move integrally in a separation direction and
in a state where the document is not being transported, a relative arrangement of the rotation member and the reading section and a relative arrangement of the guide member and the transport path are determined in a state where a contacting surface of the coupling member contacts a contacted surface of the reading section”
.
With regards to independent claim 20, Shirai discloses an image reading device (paragraph 230; inspection device 200), comprising:
a transport section configured to transport a document (paragraph 231, 233; transport roller (transport section) including driving roller 31a for transporting sheet P);
a first reading section configured to read an image of a first surface of the document transported in a transport direction through a transport path by the transport section (paragraph 56; lower image reading unit 222 (first reading section) reads image of lower surface (first surface) on sheet P transported in direction shown in Fig. 1 via transport path R),
a first rotation member that is provided with at least two background sections having colors different in brightness from each other (paragraph 65, 107-109; rotating member 51 (first rotation member) includes on its surface a white plate HK and color calibration plate EK (two background sections); white color on white plate is brighter than any one of the color patches on calibration plate), that is provided at a position facing the first reading section (paragraph 132; rotating member 51; rotating member 51 is positioned to face the image reading unit 222; see Fig. 3), and that, by rotating, changes a position of the background section with respect to a reading position of the first reading section (paragraph 65, 110; the rotating member can rotate such that either one of white plate HK and color calibration plate EK faces the reading position of the image reading unit 222);
a second reading section that is provided downstream of the first reading section in the transport direction and that is configured to read an image of a second surface of the document transported by the transport section (paragraph 55, 287; upper image reading unit 221 (second reading section) is provided at downstream location 82 from the lower image reading unit 222 (first reading section) in transport direction shown in Fig. 1; upper image reading unit 221 reads upper surface of sheet (second surface) transported); and
a second rotation member that is provided with at least two background sections having colors different in brightness from each other (paragraph 65, 102, 107-109; rotating member 52 (second rotation member) which has same structure as first rotation member 51 includes on its surface a white plate HK and color calibration plate EK (two background sections); white color on white plate is brighter than any one of the color patches on calibration plate), that is provided at a position facing the second reading section (paragraph 65; rotating member 52 is at position shown in Fig. 1 facing the upper image reading unit 221), and that, by rotating, changes a position of the background section with respect to a reading position of the second reading section (paragraph 65, 102, 110; the rotating member 52 (similar structure to rotating member 51) can rotate such that either one of white plate HK and color calibration plate EK faces the reading position of the image reading unit 221), wherein
at least one of the first reading section or the first rotation member is separable from the other (paragraph 104, 209-212; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 51 (first rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the image reading unit 222 (first reading section)) and at least one of the second reading section or the second rotation member is separable from the other (paragraph 102, 104, 209-212, 415; rotating member 52(second rotation member) is similar to rotating member 51; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 52 (second rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the image reading unit 221 (second reading section));
wherein the first reading section is fixed and the first rotation member is separable from the first reading section and the second reading section is fixed and the second rotation member is separable from the second reading section (paragraph 104, 209-212; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 51 (first rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the fixed image reading unit 222 (first reading section); paragraph 102, 104, 209-212, 415; rotating member 52(second rotation member) is similar to rotating member 51; see Fig. 8a-8b; cooperating part 51W of rotating member 52 (second rotation member) can be moved up so as to separate the contact portion 56 from the light transmitting portion 63 of the fixed image reading unit 221 (second reading section)).
In addition to the teachings of the claim 20 as a whole, the closest prior art of record failed to teach or suggest,
“wherein the first surface is an upper surface and the second surface is a lower surface, and further comprising:
a first pressing member that resiliently pushes the first rotation member toward the first reading section and
a second pressing member that resiliently pushes the second rotation member toward the second reading section, wherein
a pressing force of the first pressing member is larger than a pressing force of the second pressing member”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
06/25/2026