DETAILED ACTION
Response To Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the cited reference Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1) fails to teach the feature of “a controller configured to control the switching circuit, based on a setting indicating which of the first frequency band and the second frequency band is to be used, to connect the first signal processing circuit with the second signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the first frequency band is to be used, and to connect the first signal processing circuit with the third signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the second frequency band is to be used”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sugawara clearly teaches the newly added limitations as seen in the below Office Action, especially pertaining to elements 1, 2, 3, and 6 of the below Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sugawara discloses a wireless communication device (figure 1, 100), comprising: a first signal processing circuit (Fig. 1, circuit 4) configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a first frequency band and a second frequency band, wherein the first frequency band is different than the second frequency band ([0043], a difference is made in the amount of electric power attenuation in the path from the input port of the power detecting circuit between the first frequence band and second frequency band),
a second signal processing module circuit (Fig. 1, circuit 1) configured to process the wireless signals in the first frequency band generated or demodulated by the signal processing circuit ([0039], first transmission circuit is structured so as the transmit signals in prescribed first frequency band, and second transmission circuit is structured so as to transmit signal in a prescribed second frequency band, which differs from the first frequency band),
a third signal processing circuit configured to process the wireless signals in the second frequency band generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit (Fig. 1, circuit 2),
a switching circuit (Fig. 1, 3) communicably coupled to the first signal processing circuit, the second signal processing circuit, and the third signal processing circuit (Fig. 1, switching circuit 3 is connected to signal processing circuits 4, 1 and 2),
a controller configured to control the switching circuit, based on a setting indicating which of the first frequency band and the second frequency band is to be used, to connect the first signal processing circuit with the second signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the first frequency band is to be used, and to connect the first signal processing circuit with the third signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the second frequency band is to be used ([0045] and Fig. 1, voltage comparison circuit 6 contains V1. V1 is a reference or threshold voltage. Comparison circuit 6 receives a voltage from power detecting circuit 5. Comparison circuit 6 compares V1 with the voltage received by power detecting circuit 5. When the voltage output of the power detecting circuit 5 is lower than V1, comparison circuit 6 sends an indication to the first switch circuit 3 to switch to the first connection terminal 3b (connecting to signal processing circuit 1).
When the voltage output of the power detecting circuit 5 is equal to or higher than V1, comparison circuit 6 sends an indication to the first switch circuit 3 to switch to the second connection terminal 3c (connecting to signal processing circuit 2).
Circuit 4 is analogous to “a first signal processing circuit”, circuit 1 is analogous to “a second signal processing circuit”, and circuit 2 is analogous to “a third signal processing circuit”.
Comparison circuit 6 is analogous to “a controller configured to control the switching circuit” as it can directly signal to switching circuit 3 to connect first circuit 4 to either second circuit 1 or third circuit 2.
The functionalities of voltage V1 and power detecting circuit 5 are analogous to “a setting indicating which of the first frequency band and the second frequency band is to be used”, because it directly determines which connection terminal (3b, 3c) the first signal processing circuit 4 will ultimately connect to (depending on whether V1’s value is surpassed by the voltage provided by power detecting circuit 5). If 3b is connected to, then first circuit 4 connects to second circuit 1. If 3c is connected to, then first circuit 4 connects to third circuit 3. [0069] discloses that V1 determines if a transmission signal that is to be processed and handled by the device is a first or second frequency band.
Regarding claim 2, Sugawara discloses wherein the [[first]] second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit comprise signal filter circuits (figure 1, 1b and 2b) configured to pass the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band, respectively ([0039]-[0040], a first transmission circuit, a first power amplifier and a first lo pass filter are connected in series between the input port and output port of the first transmission circuit and a second transmission circuit, a second power amplifier and a second lo pass filter are connected in series between the input port and output port of the second transmission circuit).
Regarding claim 3, Sugawara discloses wherein the [[first]] second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit comprise at least signal filter circuits configured to filter the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0040], first low pass filter and second low pass filter are provided to suppress unnecessary signals and coupler circuits configured to detect signal strengths of the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band, respectively ([0036], power detecting circuit is connected to the directional coupling circuit, the electric power of the transmission signal can be measured).
Regarding claim 4, Sugawara discloses an antenna-side switching circuit (figure 1, 7) configured to selectively connect any one of the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit to an antenna ([0038], antenna-use first connection terminal and antenna-use second connection terminal are respectively connected to output port of the first transmission circuit and the output port of the second transmission circuit).
Regarding claim 17, Sugawara teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to set a parameter including an output power of at least one of the first signal processing circuit, the second signal processing circuit, or the third signal processing circuit based on the setting (Fig. 1 and [0045-0046], after setting V1 is set, electric power attenuation (a parameter that controls power) of the first signal processing circuit 4 is set to A, a predefined parameter),
Regarding claim 18, Sugawara teaches:
wherein the second signal processing circuit comprises a signal filter circuit configured to pass wireless signals in the first frequency band ([0045] and Fig. 1, 1 is a signal transmission circuit),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara al. (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Wloczysiak (US 20190229775 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching that the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit are connected to first and second antennas, respectively. However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Wloczysiak teaches RF system can use a single diversity antenna (figure 3, 51) for transmitting and receiving signals ([0095], which is similar to Sugawara), and configured to use multiple antennas such that the first and second signal processing module circuits are connected to first and second antennas, respectively (Fig. 2 and [0086]-[0088], a particular antenna may be implemented to provide enhanced performance over certain frequency ranges that include one or more bands such that antenna 32 is connected to MB processing circuit 35 and HB processing circuit 36, and antenna 31 is connected to LB processing circuit 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Wloczsiak, in order to provide enhanced performance over certain frequency ranges.
Regarding claim 6, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the second signal processing circuit and third signal processing circuit are included in a set of signal processing circuits, configured to process [[the]] wireless signals in [[the]] different frequency bands, [[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is configured to be connected to any one of a plurality of signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits through the switching circuit, and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises:
additional signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively,
corresponding signal processing circuits included in the set and each connected to one of the additional signal processing circuits, the corresponding signal processing circuits configured to process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the additional signal processing circuits,
and a signal synthesis module circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis module circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input to [[and]] or output to and from the second-type additional signal processing circuits.
a signal synthesis circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to [[and]] or output from the additional signal processing circuits.
However, in the same field of invention, Wloczysiak teaches the second signal processing circuit and third signal processing circuit are included in a set of signal processing circuits, configured to process [[the]] wireless signals in [[the]] different frequency bands, [[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is configured to be connected to any one of a plurality of signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits through the switching circuit ([0096] In contrast to the RF system 25 of FIG. 2, the RF system 45 of FIG. 3 is electrically coupled to only one diversity antenna, which has an output that is split into multiple diversity receive signals associated with different frequency bands), and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises,
additional signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively ([0078] and [Fig. 2], 34, 35, 36 are processing circuits made to process multiple signals in LB, MB and HB inside system 25, respectively. ([0079], RF system 25 may include additional circuitry (such as additional processing circuitry or terminals connected as either input or output to the diversity module 30),
corresponding signal processing circuits included in the set and each connected to one of the additional signal processing circuits, the corresponding signal processing circuits configured to process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the additional signal processing circuits ([0079], RF system 25 may include additional circuitry (such as additional processing circuitry or terminals connected as either input or output to the diversity module 30) and,
a signal synthesis circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to [[and]] or output from the additional signal processing circuits ([0005], the mobile device includes at least one diversity antenna, a diversity module electrically coupled to the at least one diversity antenna, and an antenna switch module. The diversity module is electrically coupled to the at least one diversity antenna, and is configured to generate a high band (HB) signal, a mid-band (MB) signal, and a low band (LB) signal based on processing one or more diversity signals received from the at least one diversity antenna),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara in view of the limitations of Wloczysiak, in order to process signals from multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 7, Sugawara teaches that the second signal processing circuit and third signal processing circuit are included in a set of signal processing module circuits configured to process wireless signals in different frequency bands (Fig. 1, 1 and 2).
Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach the limitations:
wherein the first signal processing circuit is configured to be connected to any one of a plurality of signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits through the switching circuit, wherein the wireless communication device further comprises:
additional signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively;
and corresponding signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits and each connected to one of the additional signal processing circuits, the corresponding signal processing circuits configured to process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the additional signal processing circuits,
wherein each of the corresponding signal processing circuits comprises: a signal filter circuit configured to filter a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band[[,]]; and a pair of filter switching circuits configured to pass the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band via the signal filter circuit or via a path bypassing the signal filter circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Wloczysiak teaches:
wherein the first signal processing circuit is configured to be connected to any one of a plurality of signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits through the switching circuit (Fig. 2, signal processing circuits 35 and 36 are connected to antenna switch module of Fig. 1, which receives / processes signals) wherein the wireless communication device further comprises,
additional signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively (([0079], RF system 25 may include additional circuitry (such as additional signal processing circuitry or terminals connected as either input or output to the diversity module 30),
and corresponding signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits and each connected to one of the additional signal processing circuits, the corresponding signal processing circuits configured to process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the additional signal processing circuits (([0079], RF system 25 may include additional circuitry (such as additional signal processing circuitry or terminals connected as either input or output to the diversity module 30),
wherein each of the signal processing circuits comprises: a signal filter circuit configured to filter a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band, and a pair of filter switch module circuits configured to pass the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band via the signal filter circuit or via a path bypassing the signal filter circuit ([0061], the antenna switch module can also be configured to provide filtering and/or duplexing of signals after passing through signal processing circuitry. [0099] discloses that the signal processing circuits may include signal filters (LNAs) 61, 62 and 63 that correspond to the LB, MB and HB frequencies. [Fig. 3] shows that 33 is band selection switch that passes signals through either filters 55 or 56 depending on the type of signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara in view of the teachings of Wloczysiak, to filter multiple signals from multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 8, Sugawara discloses that the switching circuit (figure 1, 7) and the pair of filter switching circuits (figure 1, 1 and 2) are set to operate in cooperation with each other ([0038]-[0040], connection terminals 7b and 7c of the switch module circuit 7 connect to transmission circuits 1 and 2. which include filters 1b and 2b that suppress unnecessary signals. Thus, the two circuits connect, or operate in cooperation).
Regarding claim 9, Sugawara teaches wherein the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit are included in a set of signal processing module circuits (Fig. 1, 1 and 2) configured to process wireless signals in different frequency [[band]] bands, wherein the first signal processing circuit is configured to be connected to any one of a plurality of signal processing circuits included in the set of signal processing circuits through the switching circuit (Fig. 1, 1, 2 are connected to 4 via switching circuit 3).
Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing:
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band,
a corresponding signal processing circuit included in the set of signal processing circuits and connected to the additional signal processing circuit, the corresponding signal processing circuit configured to process the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band generated or demodulated by the additional signal processing circuit,
and a signal synthesis circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input to [[and]] or output from the additional signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Wloczysiak teaches:
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band (([0079], RF system 25 may include additional circuitry (such as additional signal processing circuitry as part of the diversity module 30),
a corresponding signal processing circuit included in the set of signal processing circuits and connected to the additional signal processing circuit, the corresponding signal processing circuit configured to process the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band generated or demodulated by the additional signal processing circuit (([0079], RF system 25 may include additional circuitry (such as additional signal processing circuitry or terminals as part of diversity module 30),
and a signal synthesis circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input to [[and]] or output from the additional signal processing circuit (Col. 7 [0093], the illustrated diversity module recombines LB and HB signals, while routing MB separately, meaning the signals are split. The LB and HB signals generated by the LB and HB processing circuits 34, 36 can be recombined, or output, using a low loss and low-cost diplexer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara, as per the teachings of Wloczysiak, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency bands.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Zhang (EP 3701659 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in one or more first portions of a 5 GHz frequency band and a 6 GHz frequency band, wherein the wireless communication devices further comprises:
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in one or more second portions of the 5 GHz band different from the one or more first portions of the 5 GHz band, [[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the second signal processing circuit and the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit being configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in one or more first portions of a 5 GHz frequency band and a 6 GHz frequency band ([0039] a communication device can be configured for operation in a frequency band of 5 GHz-7 GHz), wherein the wireless communication devices further comprises:
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in one or more second portions of the 5 GHz band different from the one or more first portions of the 5 GHz band, [[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the second signal processing circuit and the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit being configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit (Fig. 3, the RFIC, a processing circuit, is connected to reception circuits 41 through 47. According to [0040], reception circuits are examples of transfer circuits. The entire device is able to process 5-6 GHz signals according to [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Zhang, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Mori (US 20210143845 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in one or more portions of a 5 GHz frequency band and a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the wireless communication device further comprises:
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band,
a [[third]] further signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band, and wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the [[first]] second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit, the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit being configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Mori teaches that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in one or more portions of a 5 GHz frequency band ([0007], first transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a first communication band for a first communication system, the first communication band being included in the first frequency band; [0056], frequency range/frequency ranges within an unlicensed band of at least 5 gigahertz which is/are usable by communication systems), and a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the wireless communication device further comprises,
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band ([007], a second transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a second communication band for the first communication system, the second communication band being included in the second frequency band; [0058], UNII 5/6 is stated to be usable as a frequency band for the wireless communication device),
and a [[third]] further signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band ([0007], a third transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a third communication band for a second communication system different from the first communication system, the third communication band being included in the first frequency band),
[[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the [[first]] second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit, the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit being configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit ([0104] RFIC 3 is a circuit that processes radio frequency signals transmitted or received by antenna 2; the signals received by antenna 2 must pass through reception circuits 42 and 43, which include transfer circuits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Mori, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency bands (~5GHz and UNII-6).
Regarding claim 12, Sugawara teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1, circuits 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7 are inside communication device 100).
Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in one or more portions of a 5 GHz frequency band and a frequency band higher than a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the wireless communication device further comprises:
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band,
and a [[third]] further signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band, [[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the [[first]] second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit, the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit being configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Mori teaches that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in one or more portions of a 5 GHz frequency band ([007], first transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a first communication band for a first communication system, the first communication band being included in the first frequency band; [0056], frequency range/frequency ranges within an unlicensed band of at least 5 gigahertz which is/are usable by communication systems),
and a frequency band higher than a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the wireless communication device further comprises
an additional signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band ([007], a second transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a second communication band for the first communication system, the second communication band being included in the second frequency band; [0058], UNII-6/7 is stated to be usable as a frequency band for the wireless communication device),
and a [[third]] further signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band ([007], a third transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a third communication band for a second communication system different from the first communication system, the third communication band being included in the first frequency band), [[and]] wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the [[first]] second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit, the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit being configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit ([0104] RFIC 3 is a circuit that processes radio frequency signals transmitted or received by antenna 2; the signals received by antenna 2 must pass through reception circuits 42 and 43, which include transfer circuits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Mori, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency bands (~5GHz and UNII-6).
Claims 13-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara et al. (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Yoshikawa (US 20220322353 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in that it does not teach:
accepting or reading, by the CPU, a setting indicating which of a first frequency band and a second frequency band is to be used, wherein the first frequency band is different than the second frequency band,
controlling, by the CPU, a switching circuit of the wireless communication device, based on the setting, to connect a first signal processing circuit with a second signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the first frequency band is to be used, and to connect the first signal processing circuit with a third signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the second frequency band is to be used,
and controlling, by the CPU, the first signal processing circuit to generate or demodulate wireless signals in the first frequency band or the second frequency band,
and controlling, by the CPU, one of the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit connected to the first signal processing circuit to process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit,
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Yoshikawa teaches:
accepting or reading, by the CPU, a setting indicating which of a first frequency band and a second frequency band is to be used, wherein the first frequency band is different than the second frequency band ([0048], CPU can oversee and controls the functions of control unit, which controls communication apparatus 102. [0125] discloses that two bands can be chosen in dual mode by the communication apparatus 102. The CPU from [0048] must oversee it in some way)
controlling, by the CPU, a switching circuit of the wireless communication device, based on the setting, to connect a first signal processing circuit with a second signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the first frequency band is to be used ([0048], CPU can oversee and controls the functions of control unit, which controls communication apparatus 102. [0125] discloses that two bands can be chosen in dual mode by the communication apparatus 102. Thus the CPU from [0048] must accept and/or read this selection of frequency band. [0055] also discloses that that apparatus 102 may also include control units 201 corresponding to frequency bands. These units may further include circuitry that the CPU can control when a frequency switch is made),
and to connect the first signal processing circuit with a third signal processing circuit when the setting indicates that the second frequency band is to be used ([0048], CPU can oversee and controls the functions of control unit, which controls communication apparatus 102. [0125] discloses that two bands can be chosen in dual mode by the communication apparatus 102. Thus, the CPU from [0048] must accept and/or read this selection of frequency band. [0055] also discloses that that apparatus 102 may also include control units 201 corresponding to frequency bands. These units may further include circuitry that the CPU can control when a frequency switch is made),
and controlling, by the CPU, the first signal processing circuit to generate or demodulate wireless signals in the first frequency band or the second frequency band ([0048] and [0055], control unit 201 includes circuitry that may send or receive wireless signals throughout multiple frequency bands. The CPU from [0048] controls apparatus 102, which may further include multiple control units 201. Thus the CPU controls the processing of signals in both a first and secondary frequency band via circuitry),
and controlling, by the CPU, one of the second signal processing circuit and the third signal processing circuit connected to the first signal processing circuit to process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit ([0048] and [0055], control unit 201 includes circuitry that may send or receive wireless signals throughout multiple frequency bands. The CPU from [0048] controls apparatus 102, which may further include multiple control units 201. Thus, the CPU controls the processing of signals in both a first and secondary frequency band via circuitry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Sugawara in view of the teachings of Yoshikawa, in order to more efficiently process signals by being able to operate in both 5GHz and 6GHz frequencies through a CPU’s instructions.
Regarding claim 14, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching:
wherein the setting is accepted or read when the wireless communication device is initialized.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Yoshikawa teaches:
wherein the setting is accepted or read when the wireless communication device is initialized ([0061] and Fig. 4, upon the start / initialization of a communication apparatus 102, the apparatus at S402 determines if 6GHz is selected as a frequency band to be used, and accepts the setting, proceeding to steps either S403 or S406 depending on the selection shortly after the device has initialized or powered on),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Yoshikawa, in order to more efficiently store frequency preferences having them be accepted upon device initialization.
Regarding claim 15, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching:
wherein the setting is stored in a storage device,
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Yoshikawa teaches:
wherein the setting is stored in a storage device ([0031], [0046] and [0125], the setting for which frequency band to use is contained inside communication apparatus 102 and is also displayed on a display unit part of 102. Communication apparatus 102 further includes storage unit 301, thus the setting may be stored in storage unit 301),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Yoshikawa, in order to more efficiently store frequency preferences by storing them in a device.
Regarding claim 16, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching:
wherein the first frequency band includes a 6 GHz frequency band, and the second frequency band includes a 5 GHz frequency band,
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Yoshikawa discloses:
wherein the first frequency band includes a 6 GHz frequency band, and the second frequency band includes a 5 GHz frequency band ([0125], frequency bands may include 5GHz and 6GHz in dual band mode),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings ot Yoshikawa, in order to more efficiently process signals by being able to process both 5GHz and 6Ghz signals.
Regarding claim 19, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching:
wherein the setting includes a setting as to whether to use a 6 GHz frequency band,
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Yoshikawa teaches:
wherein the setting includes a setting as to whether to use a 6 GHz frequency band ([0061] and Fig. 4, upon the start / initialization of a communication apparatus 102, the apparatus at S402 determines if 6GHz is selected as a frequency band to be used, and accepts the setting, proceeding to steps either S403 or S406 depending on the selection shortly after the device has initialized or powered on),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to modify the limitations of Sugawara as per the teachings of Yoshikawa, in order to more efficiently process signals by giving the device a choice to choose 6 GHz frequencies to process.
Regarding claim 20, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching:
wherein accepting or reading the setting comprises accepting or reading the setting when the wireless communication device is turned on or reset.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Yoshikawa teaches:
wherein accepting or reading the setting comprises accepting or reading the setting when the wireless communication device is turned on or reset ([0061] and Fig. 4, upon the start / initialization of a communication apparatus 102, the apparatus at S402 determines if 6GHz is selected as a frequency band to be used, and accepts the setting, proceeding to steps either S403 or S406 depending on the selection shortly after the device has initialized or powered on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Sugawara with those of Yoshikawa in order to more efficiently process signals by being able to initializing the setting for preferred band by accepting it on startup of a device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN H. NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649