DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 3/22/2022 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sugawara discloses a wireless communication device (figure 1, 100), comprising: signal processing circuits (figure 1, 4 and 5) configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a first frequency band and a second frequency band, wherein the first frequency band is different than the second frequency band ([0043], a difference is made in the amount of electric power attenuation in the path from the input port of the power detecting circuit between the first frequence band and second frequency band) first and second signal processing module circuits (Fig. 1, 1 and 2) communicably coupled to the signal processing circuits (figure 1, 4), the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band generated or demodulated by the signal processing circuits ([0039], first transmission circuit is structured so as the transmit signals in prescribed first frequency band, and second transmission circuit is structured so as to transmit signal in a prescribed second frequency band, which differs from the first frequency band) a switch module circuit (figure 1, 3) configured to selectively connect the signal processing circuits with any one of the first and second signal processing module circuits ([0038], common terminal 3a of the first switch circuit is connect to output port of signal transfer path 4a, input port of the first transmission circuit is connected to first connection terminal of the first switch circuit, and input port of the second transmission circuit is connected to the second connection terminal of the first switch circuit).
Regarding claim 2, Sugawara discloses wherein the first and second signal processing module circuits comprise signal filter circuits (figure 1, 1b and 2b) configured to pass the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band, respectively ([0039]-[0040], a first transmission circuit, a first power amplifier and a first lo pass filter are connected in series between the input port and output port of the first transmission circuit and a second transmission circuit, a second power amplifier and a second lo pass filter are connected in series between the input port and output port of the second transmission circuit).
Regarding claim 3, Sugawara discloses wherein the first and second signal processing module circuits comprise at least signal filter circuits configured to filter the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band ([0040], first low pass filter and second low pass filter are provided to suppress unnecessary signals and coupler circuits configured to detect signal strengths of the wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band, respectively ([0036], power detecting circuit is connected to the directional coupling circuit, the electric power of the transmission signal can be measured).
Regarding claim 4, Sugawara discloses an antenna-side switch module circuit (figure 1, 7) configured to selectively connect any one of the first and second signal processing module circuits to an antenna ([0038], antenna-use first connection terminal and antenna-use second connection terminal are respectively connected to output port of the first transmission circuit and the output port of the second transmission circuit).
Regarding claim 13, Sugawara discloses a control method executed by a central processing unit (CPU) of a wireless communication device, the CPU being configured to: generate or demodulate, using signal processing circuits of the wireless communication device, wireless signals in a first frequency band and a second frequency band (claim 1 / Col. 19 lines 28-32, second frequency band differs from the first), wherein the first frequency band is different than the second frequency band (claim 4 / col. 20 lines 25-28, a first reception circuit (21) that receives a signal in the first frequency band, a second reception circuit (22) that receives a signal in the second frequency band). Sugawara also discloses a method to respectively process, using the first and second signal processing modules of the wireless communication device that are communicably coupled to the signal processing circuits, wireless signals in the first frequency band and the second frequency band generated or demodulated by the signal processing circuits ([0020], Column 4, lines 42-50: "The wireless communication module, structured as described above … includes a first reception circuit that receives signals in the first frequency band, a second reception circuit that receives signals in the second frequency band). Sugawara then teaches a method to selectively connect, using a switch module circuit (Fig. 1, switch module circuit 3 connected to multiple circuits 1 and 2) of the wireless communication device that is communicably coupled to the signal processing circuit and the first and second signal processing module circuits, the signal processing circuit with any one of the first and second signal processing module circuits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara al. (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Wloczysiak (US 20190229775 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching that the first and second signal processing module circuits are connected to first and second antennas, respectively. However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Wloczysiak teaches RF system can use a single diversity antenna (figure 3, 51) for transmitting and receiving signals ([0095], which is similar to Sugawara), and configured to use multiple antennas such that the first and second signal processing module circuits are connected to first and second antennas, respectively (Fig. 2 and [0086]-[0088], a particular antenna may be implemented to provide enhanced performance over certain frequency ranges that include one or more bands such that antenna 32 is connected to MB processing circuit 35 and HB processing circuit 36, and antenna 31 is connected to LB processing circuit 34)Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara to connect the first and second signal processing circuits to a first and a second antenna, respectively, as per the teachings of Wloczsiak, in order to provide enhanced performance over certain frequency ranges .
Regarding claim 6, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the signal processing circuits include a first-type signal processing circuit, wherein the signal processing circuits include second-type signal processing circuits each connected to a single signal processing module circuits, included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively, the signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the different frequency bands generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuits, and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises a signal synthesis module circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis module circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to and from the second-type signal processing circuits.
However, in the same field of invention, Wloczysiak teaches that the signal processing circuits include a first-type signal processing circuit, wherein the signal processing circuits include second-type signal processing circuits each connected to a single signal processing module circuits, included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively, the signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the different frequency bands generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuits ([0005], the mobile device includes at least one diversity antenna, a diversity module electrically coupled to the at least one diversity antenna, and an antenna switch module. The diversity module is electrically coupled to the at least one diversity antenna, and is configured to generate a high band (HB) signal, a mid-band (MB) signal, and a low band (LB) signal based on processing one or more diversity signals received from the at least one diversity antenna), and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises a signal synthesis module circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis module circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to and from the second-type signal processing circuits ( [0096] In contrast to the RF system 25 of FIG. 2, the RF system 45 of FIG. 3 is electrically coupled to only one diversity antenna, which has an output that is split into multiple diversity receive signals associated with different frequency bands). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara in having the first and second signal processing module circuits included in a set of signal processing module circuits, wherein the signal processing circuits include a first-type signal processing circuit, wherein the signal processing circuits include second-type signal processing circuits each connected to a single signal processing module circuits, included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively, the signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the different frequency bands generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuits, and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises a signal synthesis module circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis module circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to and from the second-type signal processing circuits., as per teaching of Wloczysiak, in order to process signals from multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 7, Sugawara teaches that the first and second signal processing module circuits are included in a set of signal processing module circuits (Fig. 1, 1 and 2).
Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing wherein the signal processing circuits include second-type signal processing circuits each connected to a single signal processing module circuits, included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively, the signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the different frequency bands generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuits, and wherein the signal processing module circuits connected to the second-type signal processing circuits each comprise: a signal filter circuit configured to filter a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band, and a pair of filter switch module circuits configured to pass the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band via the signal filter circuit or via a path bypassing the signal filter circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Wloczysiak teaches that the signal processing circuits include second-type signal processing circuits each connected to a single signal processing module circuits (Fig. 2, signal processing circuits 35 and 36 are connected to antenna switch module of Fig. 1, which receives / processes signals), included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands (Fig. 2, circuits 35 and 36 process mid-band and high-band wireless signals), respectively, the signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the different frequency bands generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuits (Fig. 2, signal processing circuits 35 and 36 are connected to antenna switch module of Fig. 1, which receives / processes signals of both mid-band and high-band type) and wherein the signal processing module circuits connected to the second-type signal processing circuits each comprise: a signal filter circuit configured to filter a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band, and a pair of filter switch module circuits configured to pass the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band via the signal filter circuit or via a path bypassing the signal filter circuit ([0061], the antenna switch module can also be configured to provide filtering and/or duplexing of signals). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara in having the signal processing circuits include second-type signal processing circuits each connected to a single signal processing module circuits, included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuits configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in different frequency bands, respectively, the signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals in the different frequency bands generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuits, and wherein the signal processing module circuits connected to the second-type signal processing circuits each comprise: a signal filter circuit configured to filter a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band, and a pair of filter switch module circuits configured to pass the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band via the signal filter circuit or via a path bypassing the signal filter circuit, as per the teachings of Wloczysiak, to filter multiple signals from multiple frequency bands.
Regarding claim 8, Sugawara discloses that the switch module circuit (figure 1, 7) and the pair of filter switch module circuits (figure 1, 1 and 2) are set to operate in cooperation with each other ([0038]-[0040], connection terminals 7b and 7c of the switch module circuit 7 connect to transmission circuits 1 and 2. which include filters 1b and 2b that suppress unnecessary signals. Thus, the two circuits connect, or operate in cooperation).
Regarding claim 9, Sugawara teaches wherein the first and second signal processing module circuits are included in a set of signal processing module circuits (Fig. 1, 1 and 2), wherein the signal processing circuits include a first-type signal processing circuit (Fig. 1, 2). Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the signal processing circuits include a first-type signal processing circuit, wherein the signal processing circuits include a second-type signal processing circuit connected to a single signal processing module circuit, included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band, the single signal processing module circuit configured to process the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuit, and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises a signal synthesis module circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis module circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to and from the second-type signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Wloczysiak teaches that wherein the signal processing circuits include a second-type signal processing circuit (Fig. 2, 36 is a second type processing circuit for high band signals) connected to a single signal processing module circuit ([005], the antenna switch module is configured to receive/process the MB signal and the combined LB/HB signal from the diversity module, which includes the multiple signal processing circuits) included in the set of signal processing module circuits, the second-type signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a predetermined frequency band, the single signal processing module circuit configured to process the wireless signal in the predetermined frequency band generated or demodulated by the second-type signal processing circuit ([005], diversity module is configured to generate a high band (HB) signal, a mid band (MB) signal, and a low band (LB) signal based on processing one or more diversity signals received from the at least one diversity antenna), and wherein the wireless communication device further comprises a signal synthesis module circuit connected to an antenna, the signal synthesis module circuit configured to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to and from the second-type signal processing circuit (Col. 7 [0093], the illustrated diversity module recombines LB and HB signals, while routing MB separately, meaning the signals are split. The LB and HB signals generated by the LB and HB processing circuits 34, 36 can be recombined, or outputted, using a low loss and low-cost diplexer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara so that the switch module circuits include first and second type signal process circuits to generate or demodulate signals in predetermined frequency bands, alongside a signal synthesis module circuit in order to synthesize or split one or more wireless signals to be input and output to and from the second-type signal processing circuit, as per the teachings of Wloczysiak, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency bands.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Zhang (EP 3701659 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that signal processing circuits include a 6 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band and a 6 GHz frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a 5 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a relatively low frequency band of the 5 GHz band, and wherein the 6 GHz signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the 6 GHz signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches that signal processing circuits include a 6 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band and a 6 GHz frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a 5 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a relatively low frequency band of the 5 GHz band, and wherein the 6 GHz signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the 6 GHz signal processing circuit ([0039] a communication device can be configured for operation in a third frequency band of 6 GHz-7 GHz), wherein the signal processing circuits include a 5 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a relatively low frequency band of the 5 GHz band ([0039] the communication device can be configured for operation in a third frequency band of 5 GHz-5.9GHz), and wherein the 6 GHz signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits (Fig. 3, the RFIC, a processing circuit, is connected to reception circuits 41 through 47. According to [0040], reception circuits are examples of transfer circuits. The entire device is able to process 6 GHz signals according to [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara so that the signal processing circuits include a 6 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band and a 6 GHz frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a 5 GHz signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a relatively low frequency band of the 5 GHz band, and wherein the 6 GHz signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the 6 GHz signal processing circuit, as per the teachings of Zhang, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (EP 2894792 A1) in view of Mori (US 20210143845 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the signal processing circuits include a first signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band and a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a second signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band and a third signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band, and wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Mori teaches that the signal processing circuits include a first signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band ([0007], first transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a first communication band for a first communication system, the first communication band being included in the first frequency band; [0056], frequency range/frequency ranges within an unlicensed band of at least 5 gigahertz which is/are usable by communication systems), and a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a second signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band ([007], a second transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a second communication band for the first communication system, the second communication band being included in the second frequency band; [0058], UNII 5/6 is stated to be usable as a frequency band for the wireless communication device), and a third signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band ([0007], a third transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a third communication band for a second communication system different from the first communication system, the third communication band being included in the first frequency band), and wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit ([0104] RFIC 3 is a circuit that processes radio frequency signals transmitted or received by antenna 2; the signals received by antenna 2 must pass through reception circuits 42 and 43, which include transfer circuits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara so that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a ~5 GHz frequency band and a UNII-6 band, as per the teachings of Mori, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency bands (~5GHz and UNII-6).
Regarding claim 12, Sugawara teaches the wireless communication device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1, circuits 1, 2, 3, 4 and 7 are inside communication device 100). Sugawara differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing that the signal processing circuits include a first signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band and a frequency band higher than a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a second signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band and a third signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band, and wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit.
However, pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Mori teaches that the signal processing circuits include a first signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate wireless signals in a relatively high frequency band of a 5 GHz frequency band ([007], first transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a first communication band for a first communication system, the first communication band being included in the first frequency band; [0056], frequency range/frequency ranges within an unlicensed band of at least 5 gigahertz which is/are usable by communication systems),
and a frequency band higher than a UNII (Unlicensed National Information Infrastructure)-6 frequency band, wherein the signal processing circuits include a second signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band ([007], a second transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a second communication band for the first communication system, the second communication band being included in the second frequency band; [0058], UNII-6/7 is stated to be usable as a frequency band for the wireless communication device), and a third signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band ([007], a third transfer circuit that transfers a signal of a third communication band for a second communication system different from the first communication system, the third communication band being included in the first frequency band), and wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit ([0104] RFIC 3 is a circuit that processes radio frequency signals transmitted or received by antenna 2; the signals received by antenna 2 must pass through reception circuits 42 and 43, which include transfer circuits).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sugawara so that the first signal processing circuit is configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a UNII-5 frequency band and a third signal processing circuit configured to generate or demodulate a wireless signal in a 5 GHz frequency band, and wherein the first signal processing circuit is connected to the first and second signal processing module circuits configured to respectively process the wireless signals generated or demodulated by the first signal processing circuit, as per the teachings of Mori, in order to process multiple signals in multiple different frequency bands (~5GHz and UNII-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugawara (JP 2015133623 A) discloses a radio communication module that comprises: a directional coupling circuit; a first switch circuit 3 connected with a signal transmission line 4a of the directional coupling circuit; a first transmission circuit for a first frequency band and a second transmission circuit 2 for a second frequency band which are connected with the first switch circuit.
Takagi (JP 2009219023 A) discloses a radio signal processing section, a radio module and a mobile communication terminal include: a filter and amplifier corresponding to a plurality of frequency bands; a band switching circuit; a signal terminal for inputting/outputting a signal on which a high frequency signal and a control signal have been superimposed; and an inductor and capacitor for separating the high frequency signal and the control signal from the signal inputted/outputted by the signal terminal.
/BENJAMIN HUY DINH NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699