DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-5, 11-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0351379 A1, Lorsakul et al. (hereinafter Lorsakul) in view of US 2024/0379190 A1, Gross et al. (hereinafter Gross).
As to claim 1, Lorsakul discloses a method for feature aggregation comprising:
extracting, with an image encoder, an image feature representation of an input image, the image feature representation corresponding to a plurality of image patches of the input image (Fig 8: 805-815, input images being divided into image patches and encoded into discriminative features; pars 0004-0005, 0007-0008), and image feature elements of the image feature representation being logically organized in a plurality of dimensions (Fig 8: 820, Fig 9; pars 0007, 0012, 0016, 0097, 0100, feature representation being projected onto pixel space and classify each pixel space; pars 0080, 0088, 0090-0093, 0106, such pixels space being associated with foreground and/or background image feature elements);
for each image feature element set of a plurality of image feature element sets divided along a predetermined dimension of the plurality of dimensions in the image feature representation (pars 0005, 0007, 0010, 0012), and ; and determining an aggregated image feature representation of the input image based on a plurality of aggregated image feature elements determined for the plurality of image feature element sets, respectively (pars 0041-0044, 0049, 0054, 0069, 0077, 0090, 0092, 0106).
Lorsakul does not expressly teach selecting a first number of image feature elements from the image feature element set based on a ranking of corresponding image feature elements in the image feature element set and determining an aggregated image feature element by aggregating the selected first number of image feature elements.
Gross, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches selecting a first number of image feature elements from the image feature element set based on a ranking of corresponding image feature elements in the image feature element set (Fig 6; pars 0007, 0018, 0022-0023, 0025, 0029, features being aggregated by ranking and scores); determining an aggregated image feature element by aggregating the selected first number of image feature elements (Fig 6; pars 0007, 0018, 0022-0023, 0025, 0029, number of feature elements being selected based on ranking and score).
Therefore, consider Lorsakul and Gross’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Gross’s teachings in Lorsakul’s method to provide a ranking criterion for proper feature aggregation.
As to claim 2, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein for each image feature element set in the plurality of image feature element sets, the image feature elements are ranked in an order from large to small in value (Gross: pars 0109), and selecting the first number of image feature elements from the image feature element set comprises: selecting the first number of image feature elements that are ranked highly in the image feature element set (Gross: pars 0007, 0032, 0058, 0101).
As to claim 3, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of dimensions comprises a channel dimension (Lorsakul: pars 0009, 0084) and two spatial dimensions (Lorsakul: pars 0007, 0009-0010, 0012, 0014, two dimensional model/channel with two spatial dimensions (e.g. height and width)), and the predetermined dimension comprises the channel dimension (Lorsakul: pars 0009, 0014, 0017, predetermined maximum channel dimension).
As to claim 4, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the aggregated image feature element comprises: determining the aggregated image feature element by averaging the first number of image feature elements (Gross: pars 0025, 0051).
As to claim 5, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first number remains the same during a training procedure and an application procedure of the image encoder (Gross: pars 0007, 0032, 0058, 0101, the same number being remained when the ranking criterion remains the same).
As to claim 11, it is a device claim encompassed claim 1, Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claims 12-15, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 2-5, respectively.
As to claim 20, it recites a non-transitory CRM storing computer program executed to perform functions and features as recited in claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
Claims 6-8, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorsakul in view of Gross and further in view of US 2024/0153258 A1, Mangla et al. (hereinafter Mangla).
As to claim 6, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: extracting, with a text encoder, a text feature representation of an input text, the text feature representation corresponding to a plurality of text units of the input text, and text feature elements of the text feature representation being logically organized in the plurality of dimensions; for each text feature element set of a plurality of text feature element sets divided along the predetermined dimension of the plurality of dimensions in the text feature representation, selecting a second number of text feature elements from the text feature element set based on a ranking of corresponding text feature elements in the text feature element set, and determining an aggregated text feature element by aggregating the selected second number of text feature elements; and determining an aggregated text feature representation of the input text based on a plurality of aggregated text feature elements determined for the plurality of text feature element sets, respectively (see citations and rejection in claim 1).
Lorsakul as modified does not expressly teach the encoder being a text encoder, however, similar or equivalent operations have been applied to image data and features.
Mangla, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further disclose a text encoder working with an image encoder as a pair to provide a multimodal image/video and text multimodal system (Figs 1, 2A, 7; pars 0035-0036, 0038, 0050-0053).
Therefore, consider Lorsakul as modified and Mangla’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Mangla’s teachings on text encoder and image encoder pair in Lorsakul as modified’s method to enable a multimodal system including both image and text feature elements.
As to claim 7, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 6, wherein for each text feature element set in the plurality of text feature element sets, the text feature elements are ranked in an order from large to small in value, and selecting the second number of text feature elements from the text feature element set comprises:
selecting the second number of text feature elements that are ranked highly in the text feature element set (see rejection in claim 2 to apply the method for the image feature elements to the text feature elements).
As to claim 8, Lorsakul as modified discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the second number is set to a first value during a training procedure of the text encoder, and is set to a second value during an application procedure of the text encoder, the second value is less than the first value (see rejection in claim 3 to apply the method for the image feature elements to the text feature elements).
As to claims 16-18, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 6-8, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Prior art of record (Lorsakul, Mangla, and Gross) neither discloses alone nor teaches in combination functions and features recited in claim 9. Claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 9. Claim 10 depends from claim 9.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662