DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koeda (US 2014/0297226 A1) (hereinafter Koeda).
Regarding claim 1, Koeda teaches a method for controlling a measuring device [sample analysis method using a sample measuring apparatus] (see Abstract) comprising:
selecting a sample to be examined [transport section 27 transports racks on which sample containers each containing a sample are placed, to the measurement section 26; transport section 27 transports a sample rack in accordance with the operation schedule] (Para [0032, 0077], see Fig. 2);
creating conditions under which the sample is to be examined by the measuring device; and establishing measured values regarding properties of the sample [measurement section 26 to perform measurements in accordance with the measurement order information] (Para [0036], see Fig. 2);
wherein the method steps are autonomously controlled by a controller [information processing unit; control program for executing a function of causing the sample measuring apparatus to start measurement of a sample, receiving measurement data, and transmitting the received measurement data] (Para [0007, 0030], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Koeda as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the controller autonomously selects the sample to be examined [information processing unit 20 creates operation schedules for mechanism parts of the measurement section 26 and the transport section 27 such that measurement in accordance with the measurement order information can be performed, and transmits the created operation schedules to the measurement section 26 and the transport section 2] (Para [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Koeda as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the controller selects the sample to be examined based on conditions established at an earlier time by the measuring device [measurement order information based on result of reading bar code of a transported sample container; bar code reader 26a part of measurement section 26] (Para [0077], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Koeda as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the controller selects the sample to be examined based on measured values established at an earlier time by the measuring device [virtual IPU extracts measurement data stored and determines whether processing result indicates a normal value; when sample is normal, sample can be used as target for re-measurement (Para [0139-0142], see Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 5, Koeda as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising repeating the establishing of the measured values when it is detected by the controller that the established measured values are outside a plausible range [abnormal value from failed IPU leads to use of alternate system; operation confirmation of alternate system performed by remeasuring sample that has been measured] (Para [0037-0040, 0137]).
Regarding claim 6, Koeda as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the controller accesses a database [storage section 22 having data] (Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Koeda as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the database comprises a plurality of information about material properties and measurement methods, and wherein the controller controls the measuring device autonomously based on the plurality of information [upon receiving measurement order information, IPU 20 stores measurement order information in storage section 22 and causes measurement section 26 to perform measurement in accordance with the measurement order information; IPU 20 stores obtained measurement data in storage section 22] (Para [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, Koeda as applied to claim 6 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the controller updates the database after establishing the measured values [upon receiving measurement order information, IPU 20 stores measurement order information in storage section 22] (Para [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, Koeda teaches a measuring device [sample analysis system] configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (see Rejection of Claim 1 above).
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855