DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to the application filed on 8/26/2026.
2. Claims 1-6, and 13-25 are pending in the case. Claims 1 is an independent claim.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b)
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejections to Claims 3 is respectfully withdrawn in response to Applicant's amendment to these claims.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103
Regarding independent claim 1, applicant asserts that:
Independent claim 1 recites a system for remote communication. The system includes a first device. The first device includes a radio frequency circuit capable of communication at a first radio frequency and a receiver circuit capable of communication at a second radio frequency. The system further includes (i) a second device in communication with the first device over the first radio frequency and (ii) a stationary transmitter in communication with the first device over the second radio frequency, such that the first device is operational only when in proximity to the stationary transmitter.
Tuttle, Allen, Forster, Schmidt, Bieber, and Kobayashi do not disclose a device that includes a radio frequency circuit capable of communication at a first radio frequency and a receiver circuit capable of communication at a second radio frequency.
Tuttle only reports an RFID device that communicates on multiple frequency ranges using a single antenna structure. US 2016/0371518, [0006]-[0007]. An RFID interrogator powers the RFID device using a first frequency range and communicates data using a second frequency range. Id., [0038]. The single antenna structure of the RFID device receives multiple signals on different frequency ranges from the RFID interrogator using the single antenna structure to save space and weight. Id., [0028]. The RFID interrogator prompts the RFID device to retrieve "data (e.g., time stamp, unique RFID code, and so forth) from memory" and transmit a return signal through the single antenna structure to the RFID interrogator. Id., [0026]. Tuttle has only the single antenna, and does not have any receiver circuit distinct from the radio frequency circuit. The device in Tuttle does NOT include both a radio frequency circuit for communicating with a second device over a first radio frequency and a receiver circuit for communicating with a stationary transmitter over a second radio frequency, as recited in claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument that Tuttle, Allen, Forster, Schmidt, Bieber, and Kobayashi do not disclose a device that includes a radio frequency circuit capable of communication at a first radio frequency and a receiver circuit capable of communication at a second radio frequency, it is noted that during patent examination, the pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 75USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2005)”, (MPEP 2111) and that a reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)). (MPEP 2123)
Applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood the circuit support first radio and second radio frequencies where the circuit can be the same circuit. Tuttle paragraph [0029]-[0031] discloses “It should be noted that although dipole antennas are specifically depicted in the figures, other antennas are possible, such as log periodic dipole array, triband Yagi antennas, multiple parallel antennas joined at a common feedpoint (dipoles, patches, etc.), multiple antennas connected serially, and quarter wave dipoles, monopoles and whips.”. Thus, Tuttle, Allen, Forster, Schmidt, Bieber, and Kobayashi is considered to teach independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle, US Patent Publication No. 20160371518, filed on 5/12/2015 (hereinafter Tuttle) in view of Allen, US Patent Publication No. 20030220711, filed on 11/27/2003 (hereinafter Allen).
As for independent claim 1, Tuttle discloses a system for remote communication, the system comprising
a first device (RFID device) comprising a radio frequency circuit (radio frequency device) capable of communication at a first radio frequency (frequency ranges for communication) and a receiver circuit capable (radio frequency device) of communication at a second radio frequency (frequency ranges for communication);
(Tuttle paragraph [0007] discloses “In another aspect, the present disclosure provides a radio frequency identification (RFID) device using a single antenna for multiple resonant frequency ranges.”
Paragraph [0006]-[0007] discloses “the present disclosure includes a radio frequency device utilizing an antenna having a single antenna structure resonant on multiple resonant frequency ranges. The antenna can be configured to operate within multiple frequency ranges for communication according to respective protocols associated with the respective frequency ranges.”)
a second device (RFID interrogator) in communication with the first device (RFID device) over the first radio frequency (frequency ranges);
(Tuttle paragraph [0008] discloses “For example, an embodiment of the invention features an RFID system that includes an RFID interrogator having an interrogator antenna configured to operate within multiple frequency ranges. The system also includes an RFID device having an RFID circuit, and a device antenna coupled to the RFID circuit. The RFID device antenna can be configured to operate within multiple frequency ranges that match at least those of the interrogator antenna(s) for communicating with the RFID interrogator according to respective protocols associated with each respective frequency range.”)
RFID interrogator) in communication with the first device (RFID device) over the second radio frequency (first frequency range), such that the first device is operational (Powering the passive device)
(Tuttle paragraph [0038] discloses “In another embodiment, the first frequency range may be used to provide power from the RFID interrogator 4 to the RFID device 11, and the second frequency range may be used for communication according to a particular protocol. Powering the passive device 11 on the first frequency range, while simultaneously communicating over the second frequency range, has the advantage of enabling the device 11 to stay energized longer, to receive or transmit more data per session and to extend processing time. The device 11 can also be configured to receive power from the RFID interrogators 4, 25 at multiple frequency ranges.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose a system comprise
a stationary transmitter;
the first device is operational only when in proximity to the stationary transmitter.
However, Allen discloses a system
a stationary transmitter (Fixed choke-point interrogators);
the first device (RFID tag) is operational (tag circuits are turned on) only when in proximity (read zone) to the stationary transmitter (Fixed choke-point interrogators).
(Allen paragraph [0060] discloses “A wake up signal may also be employed, for example radio frequency, magnetic pulse or the like, and for example embedded in a floor or otherwise SO as to broadcast over a broad area so that as an RFID tag passes into the wake-up signal area, the tag circuits are turned on so as to remove a latency period when the tags enter into an interrogator read zone.”
Paragraph [0038] discloses “Fixed choke-point interrogators 20 are transceivers mounted to gateways or portals controlling entrance to, and exit from, distributors warehouses, loading docks, transports and the like. Each has a very limited range within which it may interact with an RFID tag.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allen with Tuttle for the benefit of having a stationary transmitter monitoring such that the first device is operational only when in proximity to the stationary transmitter. Further benefit to only enable the RFID tag when passing through the read-zone is to prolong the life of a battery in the RFID tag. Also, a stationary transmitter will allow tracking of the location of the RFID tag as it is passing the read-zone.
As for Claim 4, limitations of parent Claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system of ,
wherein
the first device (RFID device) comprises a battery power supply.
(Tuttle paragraph [0026] discloses “the exemplary RFID device includes device antenna and RFID circuit. The RFID circuit can include a transceiver, a processor, memory, and depending on whether or not RFID device is active, semi-active or passive, a battery.”)
As for claim 5, limitations of parent Claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system
wherein
the first radio frequency (radio frequency) and the second radio frequency (radio frequency) frequencies are non-overlapping (frequency ranges are selected that are non-harmonic, non-integer multiple or non-integer-fraction frequencies).
(Tuttle paragraph [0002] discloses “The present invention relates to a radio frequency identification (RFID) device using a single antenna for multiple resonant frequency ranges.”
Paragraph [0040] discloses “In designing and implementing the antennas and system, frequency ranges are selected that are non-harmonic, non-integer multiple or non-integer-fraction frequencies relative to the other selected frequency ranges. “
Tuttle discloses the first frequency range is dedicated to power up the RFID device and the second frequency range is dedicated for communication between the RFID reader and RFID device.)
As for claim 20, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses
the system wherein
the second device (RFID interrogator 25) includes a second communication antenna (configured with multiple antennas 21, 26); and
(Tuttle paragraph [0027] discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, another RFID interrogator 25 may be configured with multiple antennas 21, 26 that can be tuned to different respective frequencies or frequency ranges. For example, antenna 21 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 900 MHz, and antenna 26 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 2.45 GHz.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose the system wherein
the stationary transmitter includes a stationary antenna.
However, Allen discloses the system wherein
the stationary transmitter (Fixed choke-point interrogators) includes a stationary antenna (an interrogator transceiver might be placed with its antenna field covering an exit or entrance).
( Allen paragraph [0038] discloses “Fixed choke-point interrogators 20 are transceivers mounted to gateways or portals controlling entrance to, and exit from, distributors warehouses, loading docks, transports and the like. Each has a very limited range within which it may interact with an RFID tag.”
Paragraph [0005] discloses “It is further taught that an interrogator transceiver might be placed with its antenna field covering an exit or entrance into a merchandise storage area so as to check that properly scheduled product units are exiting or entering.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allen with Tuttle for the benefit of having a system an interrogator, a stationary transmitter, and a RFID tag device with separate antenna to power up the tag device while using a separate antenna for communication between the interrogator and the device. Further benefit to combine is to make the system more effective and increase the range of the wakeup zone and communication between tag device and interrogator.
As for claim 21, limitations of parent claim 20 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses
the system wherein
the second device (Another RFID interrogator 25) operates the communication antenna at a first power level (antenna 26 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 2.45 GHz) and the stationary transmitter operates the stationary antenna at a second power level (antenna 21 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 900 MHz) higher than the first power level (when selecting a frequency range to power the device 11, it can be advantageous to utilize the lowest available frequency range; Data can be sent at a higher frequency, which tends to balance the communication link.).
(Tuttle paragraph [0027] discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, in an exemplary system 20, the RFID interrogator 4 can be configured with antenna 9 that is designed to operate within multiple frequency ranges. Antenna 9 can be a multiband resonant antenna. Another RFID interrogator 25 may be configured with multiple antennas 21, 26 that can be tuned to different respective frequencies or frequency ranges. For example, antenna 21 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 900 MHz, and antenna 26 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 2.45 GHz.”
Paragraph [0039] discloses “The powering of the RFID device 11, as opposed to commands or data sent to and from the RFID device 11, is typically a range-limiting factor in the communications link between RFID interrogators 4, 25 and RFID device 11. Therefore, when selecting a frequency range to power the device 11, it can be advantageous to utilize the lowest available frequency range to minimize the effects of free-space path loss and to extend the range of the device 11. Data can be sent at a higher frequency, which tends to balance the communication link.”)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle in view of Allen in view of Forster, US Patent Publication No. 20060250245 , published on 5/9/2005 (hereinafter Forster).
As for Claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system, wherein
the receiver circuit (RFID device)
(Tuttle paragraph [0039] discloses “the powering of the RFID device, as opposed to commands or data sent to and from the RFID device, is typically a range-limiting factor in the communications link between RFID interrogators and RFID device.”)
The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not appear to explicitly disclose a system comprise
an AM receiver.
However, Forster discloses a system wherein
an AM receiver (an integrated circuit RF detector)(microcontroller having an AM modulated).
(Forster paragraph [0037] discloses “RF detector, for example, may be implemented as any type of conventional RF detector (e.g., a diode-based detector or an integrated circuit RF detector), as would be understood by one skilled in the art. In general, RF detector provides a baseband voltage, which represents the amplitude of the RF signal rectified and integrated over time to remove voltage changes at the RF frequency and recover voltage changes due to the baseband signal modulation.”
Paragraph [0060] discloses “a microcontroller having an AM modulated 850 MHz to 930 MHz”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Forster with Tuttle with Allen for the benefit of having a receiver circuit is an AM receiver to excite the RFID tag. Further benefit is to improve the range of the read-zone between an interrogator and an RFID device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle in view of Allen in view of Schmidt et al., US Patent Publication No. 20170220830, published on 8/3/2017 (hereinafter Schmidt)
As for Claim 3, limitations of parent Claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system, wherein
The
(Tuttle paragraph [0039] discloses “The powering of the RFID device 11, as opposed to commands or data sent to and from the RFID device 11, is typically a range-limiting factor in the communications link between RFID interrogators 4, 25 and RFID device 11.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose a system comprise
a stationary transmitter;
However, Allen discloses a system
a stationary transmitter (Fixed choke-point interrogators);
( Allen paragraph [0038] discloses “Fixed choke-point interrogators 20 are transceivers mounted to gateways or portals controlling entrance to, and exit from, distributors warehouses, loading docks, transports and the like. Each has a very limited range within which it may interact with an RFID tag.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose a system
broadcasts in a range from about 10 feet to about 100 feet.
However, Schmidt discloses a system
broadcasts in a range (monitor by the RFID scanner 530 )(proximity) from about 10 feet to about 100 feet (5 meters or 16.40 feet).
(Schmidt paragraph [0032] discloses “As illustrated in FIG. 5, a detectable RFID card 520 is within the proximity 532, and can therefore be detected and/or monitor by the RFID scanner 530 and/or RFID card monitor 110. However, an undetectable RFID card 550 is located outside the proximity 532, and therefore cannot be detected and/or monitored by the example RFID scanner 530 and/or RFID card monitor 110. If the undetectable RFID card 550 were physically located within the proximity 532, the card may become detectable and after a particular period of time (e.g., the period of time set for registering an RFID card with the RFID card monitor) within the proximity 532, then the previously undetectable RFID card 550 may become registered with the RFID card monitor 110. The proximity 532 may be any distance (e.g., 1 foot, 1 yard, 1 meter, 5 meters, etc.) from the RFID scanner 530 that may be wirelessly scanned by the RFID scanner 530. In some examples the size of the proximity 532 may be adjusted (e.g., via the interface 330 of FIG. 3)”
A conversion generates 5 meters to about 16.40 feet.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Schmidt with Tuttle and Allen for the benefit of having a transmitter to broadcasts in a range from about 10 feet to about 100 feet. Further benefit to having a system that can increase the broadcast range of an interrogator to increase the proximity detection range of the RFID tag.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle in view of Allen in view of Bieber et al., US Patent Application No. 20120050016, published on 3/1/2012 (hereinafter Bieber) in view of Kobayashi, US Patent Publication No. 20190080215, published on 3/14/2019 (hereinafter Kobayashi).
As for Claim 6, limitations of parent Claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system wherein
the first radio frequency (radio frequency; Data can be sent at a higher frequency) is radio frequency (radio frequency; frequency range to power the device) is
(Tuttle paragraph [0002] discloses “The present invention relates to a radio frequency identification (RFID) device using a single antenna for multiple resonant frequency ranges.”
Paragraph [0039] discloses “when selecting a frequency range to power the device, it can be advantageous to utilize the lowest available frequency range to minimize the effects of free-space path loss and to extend the range of the device. Data can be sent at a higher frequency, which tends to balance the communication link.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose
the first frequency is
the second frequency is .
However, Bieber discloses a system wherein
the second frequency (power-supply carrier) is about 868 MHz (868 MHz).
(Bieber paragraph [0033] discloses “Reading device 10 makes a power-supply carrier signal S.sub.rfid available, for example, at an RFID operating frequency of f.sub.rfid=868 MHz and modulates, where applicable, interrogation data M.sub.A onto the carrier signal S.sub.rfid to interrogate an identification number of transponder 20 and to read out the contents of memory 23 of transponder 20. Interrogation data M.sub.A is modulated onto the power-supply carrier signal S.sub.rfid only in phases, i.e., in a temporally not uninterrupted manner, meaning the power-supply carrier signal S.sub.rfid will in part be emitted also in non-modulated fashion.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle with Allen with Beiber for the benefit of having a system with the stationary transmits radio frequency to power up the RFID device . Further benefit to combine is to have a system with dedicated frequency to power up the device(s) to improve the planning and deployment of the stationary transmitter.
The combination of Tuttle, Allen, and Bieber does not explicitly discloses
the first frequency is about 915 MHz;
However, Kobayashi discloses a system wherein
the first frequency (communication distance) is about 915 MHz (915 MHz);
(Kobayashi paragraph [0074] discloses “Therefore, the number of turns of the conductor pattern is limited up to 1.75. The graph of FIG. 5A shows that, while the size of the magnetic field of the RFID tag of the present invention 1 at 915 MHz that is the operating frequency is a value over 100 (A.U.), the size of the magnetic field of the RFID tag of model 1 at 915 MHz that is the operating frequency is less than 10 (A.U.), resulting that the communication distance of the RFID tag of the present invention 1 can be increased as compared with that of the RFID tag of model 1.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kobayashi with Allen, Tuttle, Bieber, with Kobayashi for the benefit of having the system with assign lower frequency range to energize the RFID tag and assign higher frequency range for communication between the reader and RFID tag. Further benefit of having a non-overlapping frequency to prevent signal interference and to provide longer communication distance between an interrogator and RFID tag.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle in view of Allen in view of Shearer et al., US Patent Publication No. 20060281435, published on 12/14/2006 (hereinafter Shearer) In view of Reynolds, US Patent Publication No. 20070040687, published on 2/22/2007 (hereinafter Reynolds).
As for claim 13, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system wherein
the first device (RFID device 11) (RFID interrogator 25) receives (communicating over the second frequency range) while the first device is operational (Powering the passive device 11 on the first frequency range).
(Tuttle paragraph [0039] discloses “The powering of the RFID device 11, as opposed to commands or data sent to and from the RFID device 11, is typically a range-limiting factor in the communications link between RFID interrogators 4, 25 and RFID device 11. Therefore, when selecting a frequency range to power the device 11, it can be advantageous to utilize the lowest available frequency range to minimize the effects of free-space path loss and to extend the range of the device 11. Data can be sent at a higher frequency, which tends to balance the communication link.”
Paragraph [0038] discloses “In another embodiment, the first frequency range may be used to provide power from the RFID interrogator 4 to the RFID device 11, and the second frequency range may be used for communication according to a particular protocol. Powering the passive device 11 on the first frequency range, while simultaneously communicating over the second frequency range, has the advantage of enabling the device 11 to stay energized longer, to receive or transmit more data per session and to extend processing time. The device 11 can also be configured to receive power from the RFID interrogators 4, 25 at multiple frequency ranges.”)
The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not appear to explicitly disclose
further comprises an accelerometer;
an accelerometer reading.
However, Shearer discloses a system
further comprises an accelerometer;
(Shearer paragraph [0115] discloses “The core device 22 can include a sensor 32, as shown in FIG. 89. The sensor 32 can include a proximity sensor, an intrusion sensor, an environmental sensor, a chemical sensor, a biological sensor, a sensor in contact with an automobile, an occupancy sensor, a motion sensor, a position sensor, a metal detector, or a sensor 32 in contact with an aircraft. The sensor 32 can include an alarm connected to the power harvester 20 to power the alarm, a display connected to the power harvester 20 to power the display, a sensor 32 disposed in a building, an industrial automation sensor, a sensor 32 in contact with an elevator, a temperature sensor, a fire sensor, or an accelerometer.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle with Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system wherein the tag device have sensor such as an accelerometer to enable the system to support application such as tracking movements. Further benefit to combine is to enable the system with capability to power the tag device along with the accelerometer as with addition of the power harvester discloses with Shearer.
The combination of Tuttle, Allen, and Shearer does not appear to explicitly disclose
an accelerometer reading.
However, Reynolds discloses a system comprise
an accelerometer reading (FIG. 3 block 118).
(Reynolds paragraph [0018] discloses “FIG. 1 is a block diagram of embodiments of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 1, an RFID reader system 100 includes an RFID reader processor 102 electronically connected in a known manner to an antenna controller 104 via, e.g., a radio system 106. One or more antennas (Antenna #1, . . . , Antenna #n, collectively denoted 108) may be connected to the antenna controller 104. The RFID reader operates in a known manner to read RFID tags using the antennas. An orientation, inertial, or motion sensor 110-j is associated with some or all of the antennas 108. For example, sensor 110-1 may be associated with Antenna #1, sensor 110-k with Antenna #r, etc. Each sensor 110-j is connected to processor 102 so as to provide appropriate signals thereto. The sensors 110-j may also receive signals from the processor 102.”
FIG. 3 discloses an accelerometer sensor antenna at block 118.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle, Allen, Shearer with Reynolds for the benefit of having a system with capability to use separate antenna to read the accelerometer data from the RFID tag device. Further benefit to combining is to enable a system with capability to power the device with associated sensor on the device to enable the RFID with more usage applications.
Claims 14-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuttle in view of Allen in view of Shearer.
As for claim 14, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not appear to explicitly disclose
the radio frequency circuit comprises an on/off switch.
However, Shearer discloses a system wherein
the radio frequency circuit comprises an on/off switch.
(Shearer paragraph [0149] discloses “The core device 22 components block is the portion of the device that is receiving power from the device's power system. This block may be, but is not limited to, the devices listed in the subsequent pages of this document. It may be advantageous for the core device 22 components block to communicate with any of the blocks that are supplying power to it. This communication can include, but is not limited to, a feedback control signal such as a clock or an ON/OFF command. As an example, the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block.
[0234] If the RF power harvester 20 (and the alternative power source 24) is used as a backup to the primary power supply, a switch could be implemented into the system in order to switch the RF power harvester 20 (and the alternative power source 24) on when the primary source is lost. In this case, an antenna could be contained inside or placed on the outside of the device.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with the receiving integrated circuit with a switch to direct power source on the RFID tag device. Further benefit to combine is to make the system more efficient with power usage and reduce cost of the RFID tag.
As for claim 15, limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Shearer discloses the system wherein
the on/off switch is operated by the receiver circuit (the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block).
(Shearer paragraph [0112] discloses “There is shown an apparatus 10 for an application. The apparatus 10 comprises a core device 22 preferably having an integrated circuit 36 for the application. The apparatus 10 comprises a power harvester 20 connected to the core device 22 to power the core device 22.”
Paragraph [0149] discloses “The core device 22 components block is the portion of the device that is receiving power from the device's power system. This block may be, but is not limited to, the devices listed in the subsequent pages of this document. It may be advantageous for the core device 22 components block to communicate with any of the blocks that are supplying power to it. This communication can include, but is not limited to, a feedback control signal such as a clock or an ON/OFF command. As an example, the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with the receiving integrated circuit with a switch to direct power source on the RFID tag device. Further benefit to combine is to make the system more efficient with power usage and reduce cost of the RFID tag.
As for claim 16, limitations of parent claim 15 have been discussed above. Shearer discloses
the system wherein
the receiver circuit operates the on/off switch in response to a signal communicated from the stationary transmitter (RF energy is directed by a transmitter specifically designed to deliver RF energy for harvesting by the antenna) over the second radio frequency (the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block).
(Shearer paragraph [0149] discloses “The core device 22 components block is the portion of the device that is receiving power from the device's power system. This block may be, but is not limited to, the devices listed in the subsequent pages of this document. It may be advantageous for the core device 22 components block to communicate with any of the blocks that are supplying power to it. This communication can include, but is not limited to, a feedback control signal such as a clock or an ON/OFF command. As an example, the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block.”)
[0159] The second type of energy available is directed RF energy. This type of RF energy is directed by a transmitter specifically designed to deliver RF energy for harvesting by the antenna. The transmitter can be configured as a standalone device or integrated into an existing device.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with the receiving integrated circuit with a switch to direct power source on the RFID tag device. Further benefit to combine is to make the system more efficient with power usage and reduce cost of the RFID tag.
As for claim 17, limitations of parent claim 14 have been discussed above. Shearer discloses
the system wherein
the receiver circuit comprises a capacitor (FIG.30 Power Storage with a capacitor).
(Shearer paragraph [0050] discloses “FIG. 30 is a block diagram of an RF Power Harvesting block in communication with a Power Regulation and/or Power Storage Circuit and Power Storage block and used to supply power to Core Device Components.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with a capacitor to store energy. Further benefit to combine is to make the system more efficient with power usage when using radiated energy and when to store for future usage.
As for claim 18, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system wherein
the stationary transmitter communicates with the receiver circuit via AM signals within the second radio frequency (frequency range to power the device).
(Tuttle paragraph [0002] discloses “The present invention relates to a radio frequency identification (RFID) device using a single antenna for multiple resonant frequency ranges.”
Paragraph [0039] discloses “when selecting a frequency range to power the device, it can be advantageous to utilize the lowest available frequency range to minimize the effects of free-space path loss and to extend the range of the device. Data can be sent at a higher frequency, which tends to balance the communication link.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose
the stationary transmitter.
However, Allen discloses a system comprise
the stationary transmitter (Fixed choke-point interrogators).
( Allen paragraph [0038] discloses “Fixed choke-point interrogators 20 are transceivers mounted to gateways or portals controlling entrance to, and exit from, distributors warehouses, loading docks, transports and the like. Each has a very limited range within which it may interact with an RFID tag.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Allen with Tuttle for the benefit of having a stationary transmitter monitoring such that the first device is operational only when in proximity to the stationary transmitter. Further benefit to only enable the RFID tag with dedicated frequency to harvest energy when passing through the read-zone is to prolong the life of a battery in the RFID tag. Also, a stationary transmitter will allow tracking of the location of the RFID tag as it is passing the read-zone.
The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not appear to explicitly disclose the system wherein
communicates with the receiver circuit via AM signals
However, Shearer discloses the system wherein
communicates with the receiver circuit via AM signals (AM radio broadcast).
(Shearer paragraph [0158] discloses “The antenna is able to capture two types of available RF energy. The first type of energy exists as ambient RF energy. This type of RF surrounds us in our day-to-day lives and is usually generated to carry one way or two-way combinations of voice, video and data communications. The sources that the antenna can harvest from include, but are not limited to, medium-frequency AM radio broadcast, very-high-frequency (VHF) FM radio broadcast and television broadcast, ultra-high-frequency (UHF) broadcast, cellular base stations, wireless data access points, super-high-frequency (SHF) frequencies, and the industrial, scientific, and medical (ISM) bands. These sources cover transmission frequencies from 300 kHz to 30 GHz.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system capable of harvest energy using AM radio broadcast signal. Further benefit to combine is to effectively increase the range between the interrogator and RFID tag device when utilizing AM radio signal.
As for claim 19, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not appear to explicitly discloses the system wherein
the radio frequency circuit comprises a first communications antenna; and
the receiver circuit comprises a mobile turn-on antenna.
However, Shearer discloses the system wherein
the radio frequency circuit comprises a first communications antenna (an antenna B used for wireless one-way or two-way communication); and
the receiver circuit comprises a mobile turn-on antenna (a device that has an antenna A for use by the RF power harvester 20).
(Shearer paragraph [0112] discloses “There is shown an apparatus 10 for an application. The apparatus 10 comprises a core device 22 preferably having an integrated circuit 36 for the application. The apparatus 10 comprises a power harvester 20 connected to the core device 22 to power the core device 22.”
Paragraph [0157] discloses “The RF energy is retrieved from the environment by the use of the antenna. The antenna can be shared or standalone with respect to an antenna used for the device's wireless communication. FIGS. 54-56 show a device that has an antenna A for use by the RF power harvester 20 and an antenna B used for wireless one-way or two-way communication. FIGS. 57-59 show a device where the antenna is shared by both a device's communication module (within the core device 22 components) and the RF power harvester 20. In terms of form factor, the antenna used by the apparatus 10 can be a separate component or integrated directly into the form factor of the device.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with dedicate antenna to power the RFID device and dedicate antenna for communication between the interrogator and RFID tag device. Further benefit to combine is the system with reduce radio signal interference when planning for deployment of interrogators and RFID devices.
As for claim 22, limitations of parent claim 20 have been discussed above. The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not appear to explicitly discloses the system wherein
the receiver circuit includes a capacitor.
a power level sufficient to charge the capacitor.
However, Shearer discloses the system wherein
the receiver circuit (energy harvester) includes a capacitor (capacitor).
a power level sufficient to charge the capacitor (harvested power to flow into a storage device such as a capacitor).
(Shearer paragraph [0005] discloses “The present invention pertains to an apparatus for an application. The apparatus comprises a core device preferably having an integrated circuit for the application. The apparatus comprises a power harvester (preferably a radio frequency (RF) energy harvester) connected to the core device to power the core device.
[0050] FIG. 30 is a block diagram of an RF Power Harvesting block in communication with a Power Regulation and/or Power Storage Circuit and Power Storage block and used to supply power to Core Device Components.”
Paragraph [0126] discloses “As an example, a two-headed arrow between an RF power harvesting 20 block and a power regulation 26 and/or power storage circuit 28 block can represent a single wire that allows harvested power to flow into a storage device such as a capacitor. “)
As for claim 23, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Tuttle discloses the system wherein
the second device (RFID interrogator 25) includes a second communication antenna (RFID interrogator 25 may be configured with multiple antennas 21, 26);
(Tuttle paragraph [0027] discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, in an exemplary system 20, the RFID interrogator 4 can be configured with antenna 9 that is designed to operate within multiple frequency ranges. Antenna 9 can be a multiband resonant antenna. Another RFID interrogator 25 may be configured with multiple antennas 21, 26 that can be tuned to different respective frequencies or frequency ranges. For example, antenna 21 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 900 MHz, and antenna 26 may operate in a 100 MHz wide frequency range centered at 2.45 GHz.”)
Tuttle does not appear to explicitly disclose the system wherein
the stationary transmitter includes a stationary antenna.
However, Allen discloses the system wherein
the stationary transmitter (Fixed choke-point interrogators) includes a stationary antenna (a plurality of antennas on corresponding readers or interrogators 20 spaced apart in the direction of travel through portal 19).
( Allen paragraph [0038] discloses “Fixed choke-point interrogators 20 are transceivers mounted to gateways or portals controlling entrance to, and exit from, distributors warehouses, loading docks, transports and the like. Each has a very limited range within which it may interact with an RFID tag.”
Paragraph [0053] discloses “At any particular choke point, for example such as the choke point illustrated in FIG. 3a, the velocity and direction of a particular tag 12 through choke point portal 19 formed between walls 21 may be determined by the use of a plurality of antennas on corresponding readers or interrogators 20 spaced apart in the direction of travel through portal 19.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle with Allen for the benefit of having a system with a stationary transmitter to power up the RFID tag device while having an interrogator with multiple antennas. Further benefit to combine is to have a system with reduce radio signal interference when planning for deployment of interrogators and RFID devices.
The combination of Tuttle and Allen does not explicitly discloses the system wherein
comprises a first communications antenna;
comprises a mobile turn-on antenna;
However, Shearer discloses the system wherein
comprises a first communications antenna (an antenna B);
comprises a mobile turn-on antenna (an antenna A);
(Shearer paragraph [0112] discloses “There is shown an apparatus 10 for an application. The apparatus 10 comprises a core device 22 preferably having an integrated circuit 36 for the application. The apparatus 10 comprises a power harvester 20 connected to the core device 22 to power the core device 22.”
Paragraph [0157] discloses “The RF energy is retrieved from the environment by the use of the antenna. The antenna can be shared or standalone with respect to an antenna used for the device's wireless communication. FIGS. 54-56 show a device that has an antenna A for use by the RF power harvester 20 and an antenna B used for wireless one-way or two-way communication. FIGS. 57-59 show a device where the antenna is shared by both a device's communication module (within the core device 22 components) and the RF power harvester 20. In terms of form factor, the antenna used by the apparatus 10 can be a separate component or integrated directly into the form factor of the device.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with a stationary transmitter to power up the RFID tag device while having an interrogator with dedicated antenna for communication between the interrogator and the RFID tag device. Further benefit to combine is to have a system with reduce radio signal interference when planning for deployment of interrogators and RFID devices.
As for claim 24, limitations of parent claim 23 have been discussed above. Shearer discloses the system wherein
the radio frequency circuit comprises a switch (the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block).
(Shearer paragraph [0112] discloses “There is shown an apparatus 10 for an application. The apparatus 10 comprises a core device 22 preferably having an integrated circuit 36 for the application. The apparatus 10 comprises a power harvester 20 connected to the core device 22 to power the core device 22.”
Paragraph [0149] discloses “The core device 22 components block is the portion of the device that is receiving power from the device's power system. This block may be, but is not limited to, the devices listed in the subsequent pages of this document. It may be advantageous for the core device 22 components block to communicate with any of the blocks that are supplying power to it. This communication can include, but is not limited to, a feedback control signal such as a clock or an ON/OFF command. As an example, the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block.”; Paragraph [0234] discloses “If the RF power harvester 20 (and the alternative power source 24) is used as a backup to the primary power supply, a switch could be implemented into the system in order to switch the RF power harvester 20 (and the alternative power source 24) on when the primary source is lost. In this case, an antenna could be contained inside or placed on the outside of the device.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with a switch to enable energy from battery source or RF power harvest. Further benefit to combining is to have a system with alternative power source to maintain resilient communication between RFID tag device and interrogator.
As for claim 25, limitations of parent claim 24 have been discussed above. Shearer discloses
the system wherein
the stationary transmitter operates the stationary antenna at a power level sufficient (RF power harvester 20; a switch could be implemented) to turn the radio frequency circuit on or off by the switch (the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block).
(Shearer paragraph [0149] discloses “The core device 22 components block is the portion of the device that is receiving power from the device's power system. This block may be, but is not limited to, the devices listed in the subsequent pages of this document. It may be advantageous for the core device 22 components block to communicate with any of the blocks that are supplying power to it. This communication can include, but is not limited to, a feedback control signal such as a clock or an ON/OFF command. As an example, the device may want to turn off the alternative power sources 24 block if it is receiving sufficient power from the RF power harvesting 20 block.”
Paragraph [0234] discloses “If the RF power harvester 20 (and the alternative power source 24) is used as a backup to the primary power supply, a switch could be implemented into the system in order to switch the RF power harvester 20 (and the alternative power source 24) on when the primary source is lost. In this case, an antenna could be contained inside or placed on the outside of the device.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tuttle and Allen with Shearer for the benefit of having a system with a switch to enable energy from battery source or RF power harvest. Further benefit to combining is to have a system with alternative power source to maintain resilient communication between RFID tag device and interrogator.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646