DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goi et al (20160347959) in view of Choi et al (6194124).
Goi teaches an active light beam curable inkjet magenta ink.
Goi, abstract, teaches the ink comprises at least a pigment, a polymer dispersing agent, a crystalline gelling agent, a photopolymerizable compound and a photopolymerization initiator, the pigment is a solid-solution of PV19 and PR202 which has been subjected to surface treatments with alumina and sulfonic acid.
Although the reference teach an initiator, the reference does not a specific photopolymerization initiator.
Choi teaches photosensitive ceramic compositions.
Choi, col. 8, teaches suitable photoinitiation systems are those which are thermally inactive but which generate free radicals upon exposure to actinic light at ambient temperature. These include 2,3-naphthacene-5,12-dione.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use 2,3-naphthacene-5,12-dione as taught by Choi as the photopolymerization initiator as taught by Goi as Choi teaches this compound generates free radicals upon exposure to actinic light at ambient temperature.
2,3-naphthacene-5,12-dione as taught by Choi reads on compound (2) as claimed in claim 1.
Further, Goi, table 1, pigment 8, teaches a pigment comprising PV19.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that the solid solution pigment can be mixed with the 2,3-naphthacene-5,12-dione first before adding other components.
Regarding claims 4-5, Goi, table 1, pigment 8, teaches a pigment comprising PV19.
PV19 is the same PV19 as claimed in claim 1 and therefore it would be expected that the PV19 as taught by the references would have the same diffraction spectrum as claimed in claims 4-5.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use 2,3-naphthacene-5,12-dione in an amount to ensure the product is completely cured.
Regarding claims 7-8, Goi, paragraph 44 of the PGPUB, teaches the active light beam-curable inkjet magenta ink may further contain a dispersion medium for dispersing a pigment as necessary.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that convention solvents can be used as a dispersion medium such as water.
Regarding claim 9, Goi, paragraph 42 of the PGPUB, teaches besides the above-mentioned polymer dispersing agents, for example, a stearylamine acetate and the like may also be added.
A stearylamine acetate is a resin that has an acid value of 130-145 mgKOH/g.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although Goi teaches an solid solution pigment, Goi does not teach the pigment comprising compound (1) as claimed in claims 2-3.
There is no motivation in the references to modify the pigment to obtain the pigment as claims 2-3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20210340395 teaches a water based ink.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 7/17/26