DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Amendment and Response filed 03/23/2026 has been entered and made of record. This application contains 20 pending claims.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
This necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action as stated below:
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the remarks filed on 3/23/26, the applicant mainly argued that “sensed element is suitable to alter the magnetic field of the integrated magnetic field sensor. A surface of the integrated magnetic field sensor is associated with the sensed element, and/or the integrated magnetic field sensor has a planar shape defining a main surface arranged in front of the sensed element…
The sensed element is not an external thing, but belongs by definition to the monitoring unit, i.e. the sensed element is an integral part of the monitoring unit. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not include any target object. Rather, Applicant's claim 1 clearly provides that the sensed element belongs to (is part of) the monitoring unit.
Based on the specification, the application discloses the magnetic sensor as a fluxgate associated with the sensed element and the sensed element described as a conductor 7 (fig. 1) or a rotation wheel (fig. 2).
A new rejection based on Paci et al. (US 20110210722, previously used in action mailed on 1/8/26) which directs toward a fluxgate associated with or to detect magnetic field of gears, wheels, encoders or carrying current conductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 recites the limitation "a method of claim 15". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Suggest change to “the method of claim 15”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paci et al. (US 20110210722), and further in view of Chiesi.
Regarding to claim 1, Paci discloses a monitoring unit comprising:
an integrated magnetic field sensor (abstract discloses integrated magnetic sensor for detecting an external magnetic field), said integrated magnetic field sensor comprising at least one excitation coil (fig. 9 and 11 shows excitation coil [2]) and at least one sensor coil (fig. 9 and 11 [3a-d]), both provided on one side of a first magnetic structure (fig. 9 and 11 [46]); and
a sensed element (fig. 16 and paragraph 0077 discloses wheels gears encoder or conductor with current I) associated with said integrated magnetic field sensor, said sensed element being suitable to alter the magnetic field of the integrated magnetic field sensor (paragraph 0076-77 discloses to detect external magnetic field of the sensed element as wheels, gears, conductor which alters the magnetic field of the sensor),
wherein a surface of said integrated magnetic field sensor is associated with the sensed element (fig. 10 shows the magnetic field to magnetic core 4 fig. 16 shows the sensor and the sensed element (wheels, gears, conductor) which indicates the surface of sensor associated with wheels, gears, conductor), and/or
wherein said integrated magnetic field sensor has a planar shape defining a main surface arranged in front of said sensed element (fig. 9, 11 and 16 shows the sensor has a planar shape defining a main surface arranged in front of said sensed element which is gears, wheels or conductor).
Furthermore, fig. 2 of Chiesi shows the same sensor that has a planar shape to detect the sensed element with H1 and H2 placed in front of the sensor.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would obvious to place the sensed element in front of the sensor to detect the target accurately.
Regarding to claim 2, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor has a planar shape (fig. 11 of Paci and fig. 2 of Chiesi show the sensor with planar shape), defining two, main surfaces (fig. 2 of Chiesi shows 101 with top surface contacted with 109 and bottom surface), arranged in front of the sensed element (fig. 2 of Chiesi shows sensor arranged in front of sensed element).
Regarding to claim 4, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor has a stack (fig. 11 show the sensor with a stack configuration) comprising at least one electrically insulating layer structure (fig. 11[21]) and at least one electrically conductive layer structure, wherein the at least one excitation coil and/or at least one sensor coil is at least partially formed by the at least one electrically conductive layer structure (paragraph 0053 of Paci discloses sensing coils 3a-3d and the exciting coil 2 can be formed in two successive metallization levels).
Regarding to claim 5, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the at least one excitation coil (fig. 11[2]) and/or the at least one sensor coil (fig. 11[3a-d]) comprises conductive windings (fig. 11 shows coils with conductive windings).
Regarding to claim 6, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is fixedly associated with the sensed element (fig. 16 of Paci shows to detect a current carrying conductor).
Regarding to claim 7, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is movably associated with the sensed element or vice versa (fig. 15-16 of Paci shows to detect a current carrying conductor, wheels or gears).
Paci in view of Chiesi does not disclose wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor (1) is movably associated with the sensed element (7) or vice versa.
Claims 6-9 are obvious variance of each other therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to have the integrated magnetic field sensor is movably associated with the sensed element or vice versa as a matter of intended use.
Regarding to claim 8, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the sensed element is rotatable around a rotation axis (fig. 15-16 of Paci shows to detect a current carrying conductor, wheels or gears).
Regarding to claim 9, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is disposed in proximity or is suitable to be placed in proximity with the sensed element ((fig. 15-16 of Paci and fig. 2 of Chiesi).
Regarding to claim 10, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the at least one excitation coil and/or the at least one sensor coil is provided at a distance or is suitable to be placed as to be at a distance from the sensed element equal or less to 20 μm.
Paci and Chiesi discloses the coils are placed near to each other and the excitation coil is overlap the sensing coils.
Even if Paci and Chiesi does not disclose wherein the at least one excitation coil and/or the at least one sensor coil is provided at a distance or is suitable to be placed as to be at a distance from the sensed element equal or less to 20 μm.
However, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to have the wherein the at least one excitation coil (2) and/or the at least one sensor coil (3) is provided at a distance or is suitable to be placed as to be at a distance from the sensed element (7) equal or less to 20 μm as a matter of design choice.
Regarding to claim 11, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the sensed element comprises an electrically conductive wiring structure (Fig. 16 shows of Paci the sensed element as an electrically conductive wiring structure).
Regarding to claim 12, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 11, wherein the sensed element comprises a stack of at least one electrically insulating layer structure and at least one electrically conductive layer structure, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is associated with at least a portion of said at least one electrically conductive layer structure (Fig. 16 shows of Paci the sensed element as an electrically conductive wiring structure, The conductor normally include the inner conductor and outer insulation)
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would obvious to a POSITA to detect the sensed element comprises a stack of at least one electrically insulating layer structure and at least one electrically conductive layer structure, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is associated with at least a portion of said at least one electrically conductive layer structure as a matter of intended use.
Regarding to claim 13, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 12, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is at least partially integrated in the stack (see fig. 11 of Paci).
Regarding to claim 14, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1, wherein the sensed element comprises at least one chamber, configured so that the electric current can flow from one portion to another portion, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is disposed on or in or in proximity with the at least one chamber (Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the sensor to detect the external magnetic field of Wheels gears or conductor).
Paci in view of Chiesi does not discloses the sensed element comprises at least one chamber, configured so that the electric current can flow from one portion to another portion, wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor is disposed on or in or in proximity with the at least one chamber.
However, at the time before the effective filing date, it would be obvious to a POSITA to have the sensor to detected the sensed element comprises at least one chamber as a matter of intended use.
Regarding to claim 15, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses a method for monitoring a sensed element with the monitoring unit according to claim 1, the method comprising the step of measuring at least one component of a magnetic field with the integrated magnetic field sensor, when the integrated magnetic field sensor and the sensed component are associated with each other (abstract discloses to detect a magnetic field or magnetic flux of external magnetic field).
Regarding to claim 16, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein at least one of the first magnetic structure (fig. 11[46] of Paci) and (fig. 16 shows conductor with current to generate magnetic field detected by the sensor wherein the magnetic field guided by flux concentrator 46).
Regarding to claim 17, Paci discloses a method of monitoring a sensed element comprising step of:
providing an integrated magnetic field sensor (abstract discloses integrated magnetic sensor for detecting an external magnetic field) comprising at least one excitation coil(fig. 9 and 11 shows excitation coil [2]) and at least one sensor coil (fig. 9 and 11 [3a-d]), both provided on one side of a first magnetic structure (fig. 9 and 11 [46]), said sensed element being suitable to alter the magnetic field of the integrated magnetic field sensor (paragraph 0076-77 discloses to detect external magnetic field of the sensed element as wheels, gears, conductor which alters the magnetic field of the sensor), wherein the integrated magnetic field sensor and the sensed element are associated one to each other altering the magnetic field provided by the integrated magnetic field sensor, and using the integrated magnetic field sensor to monitor the sensed element (fig. 16 and paragraph 0076-77 discloses to detect external magnetic field of the sensed element as wheels, gears, conductor);
wherein a surface of said integrated magnetic field sensor is associated with the sensed element (fig. 10 shows the magnetic field to magnetic core 4 fig. 16 shows the sensor and the sensed element (wheels, gears, conductor) which indicates the surface of sensor associated with wheels, gears, conductor), and/or
wherein said integrated magnetic field sensor has a planar shape defining a main surface arranged in front of said sensed element (fig. 9, 11 and 16 shows the sensor has a planar shape defining a main surface arranged in front of said sensed element which is gears, wheels or conductor).
Furthermore, fig. 2 of Chiesi shows the same sensor that has a planar shape to detect the sensed element with H1 and H2 placed in front of the sensor.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would obvious to place the sensed element in front of the sensor to detect the target accurately.
Regarding to claim 18, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the sensed element comprises a metallic body (paragraph 077 discloses mechanical members provided with the magnets, such as wheels, gears).
Regarding to claim 19, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having a computer program store therein to monitor a sensed element, wherein computer program, when being executed by one or a plurality of processors, is adapted to carry out or control a method according to claim 15 (paragraph 0076 of Paci discloses microprocessor).
Regarding to claim 20, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses program element for monitoring a sensed element, wherein the program element, when executed by one or a plurality of processors, is adapted to carry out or control a method according to claim 15 (paragraph 0076 of Paci discloses microprocessor).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paci in view of Chiesi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schulz.
Regarding to claim 3, Paci in view of Chiesi discloses the monitoring unit according to claim 1.
However, Paci in view of Chiesi does not discloses further comprising a second magnetic structure (fig. 11 [46] of Paci), wherein the at least one excitation coil and the at least one sensor coil are disposed between the first magnetic structure and the second magnetic structure.
Fig. 5 of Schulz discloses an integrated magnetic field sensor included the first magnetic structure 509 and the second magnetic structure 545 wherein the sensor coils 507, 509 and excitation coil 505 arranged between 509 and 545.
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date, it would obvious to a POSITA to incorporate Schulz into Paci in view of Chiesi in order to reduce energy required to drive the excitation coil to generate an alternating magnetic field (paragraph 0026 of Schulz).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SON T LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858