DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Lee et al., W0 2020/159261 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1, 19, and 20, Lee discloses a wireless device, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to: receive control signaling that indicates a configuration comprising a first set of one or more parameters for an automatic repeat request procedure associated with a radio link control entity of the wireless device [fig. 12: steps S1200, S1204; paragraphs 0246, 0254], wherein at least one parameter of the first set of one or more parameters is associated with a plurality of values [wherein each of the uplink grants relate to a number of retransmission]; select a value of the plurality of values for the automatic repeat request procedure based at least in part on a second set of one or more parameters [fig. 12: step S1210; paragraph 0258]; receive at least one negative acknowledgment for at least one protocol data unit of a set of one or more protocol data units associated with the radio link control entity of the wireless device [fig. 12: step S1214; paragraph 0262]; and perform one or more operations based at least in part on the at least one negative acknowledgment and the selected value of the plurality of values for the automatic repeat request procedure, wherein the one or more operations includes a drop of the at least one protocol data unit, a retransmission of the at least one protocol data unit, or a declaration of a radio link failure [paragraph 0262; fig. 12: step S1220; paragraph 0268].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Applicant’s submission of prior art, Kanamarlapudi et al., WO 2014/025755 (hereinafter Kanamarlapudi).
Regarding claim2, Lee does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to: transmit, via the radio link control entity of the wireless device, an indication to a second radio link control entity of a second wireless device for updating a reception window associated with the set of one or more protocol data units, wherein the one or more operations are performed further based at least in part on the indication. However, Kanamarlapudi teaches this limitation [fig. 7; paragraphs 0076-0086].
Before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee to include the teaching of Kanamarlapudi. The motivation for this modification would have been combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Kanamarlapudi teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device to: generate a control protocol data unit comprising a set of one or more fields, wherein at least one field of the set of one or more fields comprises the indication, wherein updating the reception window corresponds to moving the reception window according to at least one sequence number; transmit, to the second wireless device, the control protocol data unit; and update a sequence number associated with at least one second protocol data unit based at least in part on the indication, wherein the sequence number corresponds to the at least one sequence number [fig. 7; paragraphs 0076-0086].
Regarding claim 4, Kanamarlapudi teaches wherein the indication serves as a trigger to update a third set of one or more parameters associated with the second radio link control entity of the second wireless device, and wherein the third set of one or more parameters comprises a sequence number parameter associated with the set of one or more protocol data units, a reassembly parameter associated with the set of one or more protocol data units, or a status parameter associated with the set of one or more protocol data units [fig. 7; paragraphs 0076-0086].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al, US Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0323711, disclose good cell quality criteria.
Wang et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0088550, disclose conditionally handling hybrid automatic repeat request process in configuration grant activation procedure.
/EAW/
February 17, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644