DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-18, as originally filed, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/9/2024 and 1/8/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Invocation of 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an acquisition unit that discriminates, an extraction unit that extracts, a measurement unit that measures, a relevance determination unit that determines, a region decision unit that decides, a drawing unit that draws, in claims 1, 12-13; a display control unit that passes in claim 2; the relevance determination unit determines in claim 6-9; the region decision unit decides in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7, 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0293725 Al, Ohshima et al. (hereinafter Ohshima) in view of US 2022/0405909 A1, Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
As to claim 1, Ohshima discloses a display processing device comprising:
an acquisition unit that discriminates a detection target and other targets of an object for each pixel of a captured image obtained by imaging the object based on the captured image (pars 0044, 0216, 0221, 0229-0231, 0291-0292, the image being divided or segmented based on object detected either in continuous segment or non-continuous segment with pixels at each point), and acquires a segmentation result Figs 32C, 35-36, selecting a plurality of continuous or non-continuous segments; pars 0044, 0048, 0229-0231, 0291-0292);
an extraction unit that extracts a region of the detection target from the segmentation result (pars 0229-0232, 0291-0292);
a measurement unit that measures a feature amount for determining a relevance between a plurality of regions of the detection targets in a case where a plurality of non-continuous regions of the detection targets are extracted (Figs 5:13, 7A, 36, distance measurement; pars 0048, 0054, 0073, 0110-0111, 0216, 0221, 0233, 0241, a plurality of non-continuous segments being selected or differentiated from others through measurement of distance in segment/region with defect objects);
a region decision unit that decides a target region to be displayed in an integrated display format among the plurality of regions of the detection targets based on an evaluation result determined by the relevance determination unit (Fig 6; pars 0106, 0119, 0130-0131, 0152-0154, 0230-0233, select regions/segments of the detection targets/objects to be displayed based on measurement results); and
a drawing unit that draws the target region in the display format (pars 0219, 0221, 0228, 0230, highlight the target region being displayed).
Ohshima does not expressly disclose a relevance determination unit that determines the relevance between the plurality of regions of the detection targets based on the feature amount.
Nevertheless, Wang, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches an acquisition unit that discriminates a detection target and other targets of an object for each pixel of a captured image obtained by imaging the object based on the captured image, and acquires a segmentation result (pars 0062, 0064, 0206, 0214-0215); and a relevance determination unit that determines the relevance between the plurality of regions of the detection targets based on the feature amount (pars 071-0072, 0079, 0088, 0096, 0103, 0111, size of the region with defect measured as feature amount by distances).
Therefore, consider Ohshima and Wang’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Wang’s teachings in Ohshima’s device to facilitate defect analysis involved different defect type, size, and classes/cluster.
As to claim 2, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a display control unit that passes information necessary for displaying the target region to a display unit to display the target region (Ohshima: Figs 5-6, 33-0034; pars 0064, 0066, 0070, 0104-0106, display control unit to display region of interest in the image).
As to claim 3, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 1, wherein the captured image is a transmission image captured by transmitting radiation through the object (Ohshima: pars 0080-0081, 0094).
As to claim 4, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 1, wherein the display format is at least one of a frame surrounding the target region (Ohshima: pars 0230-0231, selected frame), highlight display between the target region and other regions (Ohshima: pars 0231, highlighting display), or a mark indicating the target region (Wang: pars 0181, 0229, region marker).
As to claim 5, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 1, wherein the detection target is a defect (Ohshima: Fig 6; pars 0004-0005, 0053-0054, 0057, detect a defect).
As to claim 6, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 5, wherein the relevance determination unit determines a relevance for regions of detection targets having the same type of defects (Ohshima: Figs 20, 31-0032; pars 0058, 0174, 0212-0213, 0217, same type of defect associated with crack of the surface; Wang: par 0112).
As to claim 7, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 6, wherein the feature amount is a distance between the regions of the detection targets (Ohshima: pars 0048, 0054, 0073, 0110-0111, 0216, 0221, 0233, 0241; Wang: pars 0006, 0020, 0023, 0071).
As to claim 10, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 6, wherein the feature amount is positional information of the detection target (Ohshima: pars 0056-0058, 0062, 0094, defect position information; Wang: pars 0114, 0124, 0138, defect type, position, and dimension).
As to claim 11, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 6, wherein the feature amount is a regularity of the region of the detection target (Ohshima: pars 0145, 0180-0181, 0183, 0214, rectangular, tile, annular, and/or cross shapes; Wang: par 0138).
As to claim 12, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 6, wherein the region decision unit decides the target region and a sub-target region in the target region, which has a different occurrence density distribution of the detection target from other regions inside the target region (Fig 19; pars 0006, 0020-0021, 0023, 0056, 0073, 0079, 0088, different defect point density in different substrates), and the drawing unit draws the target region in a first display format and draws the sub-target region in a second display format (Ohshima: pars 0219, 0221, highlight with different colors/lines; Wang: pars 0058, 0138).
As to claim 13, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 5, wherein the target region includes defects of different types (Wang: par 112), and the drawing unit adds information indicating that the defects of different types are included in the target region (Ohshima: pars 0219, 0221).
As to claim 14, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 13, wherein the information is given by at least one of a display color (Ohshima: pars 0219, 0221), a line type (Ohshima: pars 0151, 0219, 0221, a curved or straight line), or a mark of a frame surrounding the target region (Wang: Fig 4; pars 0004-0006, 0009, 0011).
As to claim 15, Ohshima as modified discloses the display processing device according to claim 1, wherein the target region to be displayed in the integrated display format decided by the region decision unit includes target regions extracted as ones of at least two types different from each other (Ohshima: pars 0219, 0221; Wang: pars 0058, 0138, more than one colors and more than one type of lines).
As to claim 16, it is a method claim necessitated claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claim 17, it recites similar limitations as claim 16 with a broader scope. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
As to claim 18, it recites a non-transitory CRM storing program executed to perform functions and features of claim 16. Rejection of claim 16 is incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Prior art of record (Ohshima and Wang) neither discloses alone nor teaches in combination functions and features as recited in claim 8 and claim 9, respectively.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662