DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Publication: US 2011/0234631 A1) in view of Krumm et al. (Publication: US 2007/0006098 A1), and Markey et al. (Publication: US 9,734,722 B1).
Regarding claim 1, see rejection on claim 21.
Regarding claim 2, see rejection on claim 12.
Regarding claim 3, see rejection on claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, see rejection on claim 14.
Regarding claim 5, see rejection on claim 15.
Regarding claim 6, see rejection on claim 16.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 6.
Kim discloses receiving a shadow display trigger instruction [0055] - In block 835, a VO registration unit of the AR system selects and register a virtual object (VO) with the real world image, and in block 840, a shadow image registration unit of the AR system generates a shadow image(s) for the selected VO based on at least one of the light source information, the pose information, the weather information, and/or the geographical information.); and
superimposing, based on the shadow display trigger instruction, the shadow information on other information [0055] - In block 835, a VO registration unit of the AR system selects and register a virtual object (VO) with the real world image, and in block 840, a shadow image registration unit of the AR system generates a shadow image(s) for the selected VO based on at least one of the light source information, the pose information, the weather information, and/or the geographical information. In block 845, the AR image generating unit of the AR system generates an AR image by superimposing the captured real world image with the image(s) of the virtual object(s) and its shadow image(s).).
Krumm discloses instruction from a user ([0069] - At 712, device operation and the presentation of data can be initiated according to manual selections of the user.)
Information of a map for display ([0050] - which GPS fix node 322 also receives data from the GPS shadow node 306. Processing this received information, the GPS fix node 322 can compute the user location also considering the GPS shadow information. The GPS fix node 322 also passes data to the GPS reliability node 312. See Fig. 9.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view Krumm with instruction from a user Information of a map for display as taught by Krumm. The motivation for doing is to enable to obtain information/data more efficiently.
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 6.
Kim discloses wherein a first display region on a display interface corresponding to the shadow region has a different grayscale relative to a second display region on the display interface,a different color relative to the second display region, a different saturation relative to the second display region, or a different superimposed pattern relative to [0044] - the shadow image registration unit may generate darker and more clearly-defined shadow image(s) for real-world images captured in rural areas and lighter and blurry shadow image(s) for real-world images captured in downtown areas. Clouds in cloudy weather and high-storey buildings of downtown areas may scatter the rays from the sun, thereby preventing casting of a clearly-defined dark shadow. The shadow image registration unit may further consider the weather information and/or the geographical information in performing shading operations on a registered image of a virtual object(s)
[0017] AR generator 120 may be configured to generate a virtual shadow image(s) of the virtual object(s) whose image(s) are to be overlaid onto the real-world image captured by image capture unit 110, “first display region, second display region”.
[0014] - FIG. 1, an AR system 100 may include an image capture unit 110 configured to capture a real-world image, an AR generator 120 configured to generate an AR image by overlaying the captured real-world image with the image(s) of one or more virtual object(s) and their respective virtual shadow images, and a display unit 130 configured to display the augmented reality image generated by AR generator 120.).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 6.
Kim discloses wherein the shadow information further
[0019] - to generate the virtual shadow images based on the estimated location. In one embodiment, AR generator 120 may be configured to estimate the position of the real-world light source based on the location, the time, and the date the real-world image was captured by image capture unit 110. AR generator 120 may at least partially obtain such information on the location, the time, and/or the date from camera unit 110 and/or an external device (e.g., a server). The technical details on (a) estimating the location of the sun and (b) generating virtual shadow images and AR images.
[0045] there may be instances where the pose (and thus, the point of view) of an image capture unit is changed by a user or by some other means. an AR generator may track such changes in the pose of an image capture unit (e.g., 110) and re-register a registered virtual object (e.g., update the relationship between a camera reference frame (e.g., x.sub.c, y.sub.c, and z.sub.c) and a real-world reference frame (e.g., x.sub.w, y.sub.w, and z.sub.w)). A shadow image registration unit (e.g., 520) of the AR generator may generate a new virtual shadow image based on the re-registration. the VO registration unit may perform tracking by periodically or intermittently receiving pose information updates from a pose detection unit (e.g., 320) installed in the image capture unit, “display a change of the shadow” .
[0014] - FIG. 1, an AR system 100 may include an image capture unit 110 configured to capture a real-world image, an AR generator 120 configured to generate an AR image by overlaying the captured real-world image with the image(s) of one or more virtual object(s) and their respective virtual shadow images, and a display unit 130 configured to display the augmented reality image generated by AR generator 120.).
Regarding claim 10, see rejection on claim 20.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection on claim 21.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Kim discloses to cause the apparatus to:generate the shadow information; or[0002] - The device further includes a shadow image registration unit that receives the light source information generated from the light source information generating unit. The shadow image registration unit generates a shadow image of a virtual object overlaid onto the real-world image base
d on the light source information generated from the light source information generating unit.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Kim discloses wherein the shadow information further comprises at least one of:
shadow degree information indicating a shadow degree of the shadow region: confidencelevel information indicating a reliability degree of the shadow region; or
[0002]- the shadow image registration unit generates a shadow image of a virtual object overlaid onto the real-world image based on the light source information generated from the light source information generating unit.
[0055] - In block 835, a VO registration unit of the AR system selects and register a virtual object (VO) with the real world image, and in block 840, a shadow image registration unit of the AR system generates a shadow image(s) for the selected VO based on at least one of the light source information, the pose information, the weather information, and/or the geographical information.
[0017] AR generator 120 may be configured to generate a virtual shadow image(s) of the virtual object(s) whose image(s) are to be overlaid onto the real-world image captured by image capture unit 110. The virtual object(s) may be pre-stored in AR generator 120, or may be received by AR generator 120 from an external device (e.g., a server). In one embodiment, AR generator 120 may be configured to generate virtual shadow images whose size, shape, direction, and/or intensity conform to or is consistent with the real-world shadow images of real objects in the real-world image.
).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Krumm discloses to further store the information in a data structure for storing an event in the map ([0048] The location node 304 connects to provide lat/long/alt data to a GPS shadow node 306, which data can be used to access GPS shadow data (or maps) for associated lat/long locations, and structures at those locations. The GPS shadow mapping data is stored in a GPS shadow log store 307.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view Krumm with store the information in a data structure for storing an event in the map as taught by Krumm. The motivation for doing is to enable to obtain information/data more efficiently.
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Kim discloses processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to send the shadow information ([0044] - wherein the shadow image registration unit is further configured to receive at least one of weather information and geographical information for the real-world image from a server).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Kim discloses to display the shadow region based on the shadow information ([0014] - FIG. 1, an AR system 100 may include an image capture unit 110 configured to capture a real-world image, an AR generator 120 configured to generate an AR image by overlaying the captured real-world image with the image(s) of one or more virtual object(s) and their respective virtual shadow images, and a display unit 130 configured to display the augmented reality image generated by AR generator 120.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 16.
Kim discloses receive a shadow display trigger instruction [0055] - In block 835, a VO registration unit of the AR system selects and register a virtual object (VO) with the real world image, and in block 840, a shadow image registration unit of the AR system generates a shadow image(s) for the selected VO based on at least one of the light source information, the pose information, the weather information, and/or the geographical information.); and
superimpose[0055] - In block 835, a VO registration unit of the AR system selects and register a virtual object (VO) with the real world image, and in block 840, a shadow image registration unit of the AR system generates a shadow image(s) for the selected VO based on at least one of the light source information, the pose information, the weather information, and/or the geographical information. In block 845, the AR image generating unit of the AR system generates an AR image by superimposing the captured real world image with the image(s) of the virtual object(s) and its shadow image(s).).
Krumm discloses instruction from the user ([0069] - At 712, device operation and the presentation of data can be initiated according to manual selections of the user.)
Information of the map for display ([0050] - which GPS fix node 322 also receives data from the GPS shadow node 306. Processing this received information, the GPS fix node 322 can compute the user location also considering the GPS shadow information. The GPS fix node 322 also passes data to the GPS reliability node 312. See Fig. 9.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view Krumm with instruction from a user Information of a map for display as taught by Krumm. The motivation for doing is to enable to obtain information/data more efficiently.
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 16.
Kim discloses wherein a first display region on a display interface corresponding to the shadow region has a different grayscale relative to a second display region on the display interface, a different color relative to the second display region,a different saturation relative to the second display region, or a different superimposed pattern relative to [0044] - the shadow image registration unit may generate darker and more clearly-defined shadow image(s) for real-world images captured in rural areas and lighter and blurry shadow image(s) for real-world images captured in downtown areas. Clouds in cloudy weather and high-storey buildings of downtown areas may scatter the rays from the sun, thereby preventing casting of a clearly-defined dark shadow. The shadow image registration unit may further consider the weather information and/or the geographical information in performing shading operations on a registered image of a virtual object(s)
[0017] AR generator 120 may be configured to generate a virtual shadow image(s) of the virtual object(s) whose image(s) are to be overlaid onto the real-world image captured by image capture unit 110, “first display region, second display region”.
[0014] - FIG. 1, an AR system 100 may include an image capture unit 110 configured to capture a real-world image, an AR generator 120 configured to generate an AR image by overlaying the captured real-world image with the image(s) of one or more virtual object(s) and their respective virtual shadow images, and a display unit 130 configured to display the augmented reality image generated by AR generator 120.),
wherein the shadow information further comprises time information indicating a time period in which the shadow region exists, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to display the change of the shadow region based on the time information (
[0019] - to generate the virtual shadow images based on the estimated location. In one embodiment, AR generator 120 may be configured to estimate the position of the real-world light source based on the location, the time, and the date the real-world image was captured by image capture unit 110. AR generator 120 may at least partially obtain such information on the location, the time, and/or the date from camera unit 110 and/or an external device (e.g., a server). The technical details on (a) estimating the location of the sun and (b) generating virtual shadow images and AR images.
[0045] there may be instances where the pose (and thus, the point of view) of an image capture unit is changed by a user or by some other means. an AR generator may track such changes in the pose of an image capture unit (e.g., 110) and re-register a registered virtual object (e.g., update the relationship between a camera reference frame (e.g., x.sub.c, y.sub.c, and z.sub.c) and a real-world reference frame (e.g., x.sub.w, y.sub.w, and z.sub.w)). A shadow image registration unit (e.g., 520) of the AR generator may generate a new virtual shadow image based on the re-registration. the VO registration unit may perform tracking by periodically or intermittently receiving pose information updates from a pose detection unit (e.g., 320) installed in the image capture unit, “display a change of the shadow” .
[0014] - FIG. 1, an AR system 100 may include an image capture unit 110 configured to capture a real-world image, an AR generator 120 configured to generate an AR image by overlaying the captured real-world image with the image(s) of one or more virtual object(s) and their respective virtual shadow images, and a display unit 130 configured to display the augmented reality image generated by AR generator 120.).
19. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Krumm, Markey disclose all the limitation of claim 11.
Krumm discloses obtain travel information [0080] Referring now to FIG. 15, there is illustrated a methodology of context mapping. A third application builds a map and clickable links to help automatically annotate a trip based on GPS coordinates. At 1500, a GPS-enabled computing device is provided. It is not required that the GPS capability be integrated into the computing device; however, such combined capabilities provide a much more convenient application of the subject invention. At 1502, the computing device continually monitors its location using GPS, and processes the GPS signals to generate lat/long coordinates. At 1504, the device user is identified and associated with the location data. At 1506, the computing device is employed to access a network of existing websites (e.g., the Internet), using the lat/long coordinates as search terms to find websites that process the coordinates. User preferences, as accessed, can also be used to filter and further define the user context at this location. In other words, for each set of coordinates, the user context can be defined in terms of nearby streets, nearby businesses, environment, and so on. At 1508, the context information is used to generate a map of where the user has been, and in more robust implementations, predictions on where the user is likely to head. At 1510, the map can be annotated according to user preferences, and stored.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view Krumm with obtain travel information
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses non-transitory computer-executable instructions and that, when executed by a processor, cause an apparatus to ([059], [0048], Fig. 7A – AR systems, instructions stored in memory and executed by the processor to perform: ):
obtain shadow information that indicates a shadow region of a location and that comprises location information, wherein the location information indicates a geographical location of the shadow region( [0045] In addition, there may be instances where the pose (and thus, the point of view) of an image capture unit is changed by a user or by some other means. In one embodiment, an AR generator may track such changes in the pose of an image capture unit (e.g., 110) and re-register a registered virtual object (e.g., update the relationship between a camera reference frame (e.g., x.sub.c, y.sub.c, and z.sub.c) and a real-world reference frame (e.g., x.sub.w, y.sub.w, and z.sub.w)). A shadow image registration unit (e.g., 520) of the AR generator may generate a new virtual shadow image based on the re-registration.
[0055] - a shadow image registration unit of the AR system generates a shadow image(s) for the selected VO based on at least one of the light source information, the pose information, the weather information, and/or the geographical information. In block 845, the AR image generating unit of the AR system generates an AR image by superimposing the captured real world image with the image(s) of the virtual object(s) and its shadow image(s).) .
Kim does not Krumm discloses
store the information as map data ([0048] The location node 304 connects to provide lat/long/alt data to a GPS shadow node 306, which data can be used to access GPS shadow data (or maps) for associated lat/long locations, and structures at those locations. The GPS shadow mapping data is stored in a GPS shadow log store 307.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim with Shadow region on a map; store the shadow information as map data as taught by Krumm. The motivation for doing is to enable to obtain information/data more efficiently.
Kim in view of Krumm do not however Markey discloses
Shadow region on a map (column 17 lines 15 to 45 - the graphics rendering engine 230 and the airplane modeling engine 210 operate in concert to generate an image representative of a shadow of the airplane 102 on the map image, “shadow”. Shadow on a map.
) ;
store the shadow information (column 17 lines 15 to 45 - the graphics rendering engine 230 and the airplane modeling engine 210 operate in concert to generate an image representative of a shadow of the airplane 102 on the map image, “shadow”. Shadow on a map stores in the computer memory implied in the display, Fig. 14A.
);
dynamically display, on the map, a change of the shadow region over a predefined time period, wherein a playback progress of the change of the shadow region is controlled by a user of the map (
column 17 lines 15 to 45 - the graphics rendering engine 230 and the airplane modeling engine 210 operate in concert to generate an image representative of a shadow of the airplane 102 on the map image, “shadow”.
Column 9 lines 10 to 15 and column 28 lines 34 to 60 - the graphics rendering engine 230 may operate in concert with the progress slider engine 226 to generate an image of a progress indicator bar with a slider as illustrated by elements 1408, 1410, and 1428 of FIGS. 14A and 14D. In particular, a highlighted portion 1090 of the progress indicator bar 1408 may indicate a percentage of travel that has been completed by the airplane 102. The slider may be used to view a past position, a current position, and/or a future position of the airplane that is in-flight. So user can use the slider to view a past position of the airplane, “wherein a playback progress of the change of the shadow region is controlled by a user of the map”, further a predefined time period can be read because user can use the slider to slide back to a predefined time period to view the changes of the shadow region. Slider enables the dynamic display as the user slide left and right.
).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view Krumm with Shadow region on a map; stores the shadow information; dynamically display, on the map, a change of the shadow region over a predefined time period, wherein a playback progress of the change of the shadow region is controlled by a user of the map as taught by Markey. The motivation for doing is to enable to enhance user experience.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant asserts “Claims 1-19 and 21 are allowable over the combination of Kim and Krumm because the combination of Kim and Krumm fails to dynamically display, on the map, a change of the shadow region with time over a predefined time period, wherein a playback progress of the change of the shadow region is controlled by a user of the map. Claim 1 reads: 1. A method comprising: obtaining shadow information that indicates a shadow region of a location, and that comprises location information, wherein the location information indicates a geographical location of the shadow region on a map; storing the shadow information as map data; and dynamically displaying, on the map, a change of the shadow region with time over a predefined time period, wherein a playback progress of the change of the shadow region is controlled by a user of the map.”
The argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Markey reference.
Regarding claims 2 – 10, 12 - 18, and 20, the Applicant asserts that they are not obvious over based on their dependency from independent claims 1, and 11 respectively. The examiner cannot concur with the Applicant respectfully from same reason noted in the examiner’s response to argument asserted from claims 1, and 11 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ming Wu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616