Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20080197342 A1) in view of Murayama et al. (US 20070001596 A1).
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 6F of Lee et al. teaches a light emitting display apparatus comprising:
an insulating layer (310; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0037) arranged on a substrate (301; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035), the insulating layer including a trench (308; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035);
a first electrode (331; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0038) arranged on the insulating layer;
a light emitting layer (332; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) arranged on the insulating layer and the first electrode;
a separator (314; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0039) arranged between the insulating layer and the light emitting layer, the separator covering at least one sidewall of the trench; and
a second electrode (333; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) arranged on the light emitting layer,
wherein the separator includes a recess portion (308; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035).
Lee et al. does not teach the recess portion having at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate.
FIG. 5 of Murayama et al. teaches a partially horizontal concave portion (15a; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) on an interlayer insulation film (15; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) and a first protection layer (18; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085).
Lee et al. and Murayama et al. are both analogous to the invention in that they involve display devices with layers and trenches. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that the recess portion has at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate. This allows the insulation of the light emitting layers to be maintained in a satisfactory manner (paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 1. FIG. 6F of Lee et al. further teaches the apparatus wherein the recess portion (308; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035) is positioned at a same level on a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the trench (308, 310; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035, paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 1. FIG. 6F of Lee et al. further teaches the apparatus wherein at least a portion of a lower surface of the trench (308, 310; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035, paragraph 0037) is arranged at a lower level than a lower surface of the separator (314; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 6. FIG. 6F of Lee et al. further teaches the apparatus wherein a portion of the light emitting layer (332; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) is arranged on a lower surface of the trench (308, 310; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035, paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 1. FIG. 6F of Lee et al. further teaches the apparatus wherein the separator (314; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0039) comprises one end covering at least a portion of the first electrode (331; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0038).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakamoto (US 20180006267 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 1. Neither Lee et al. nor Murayama et al. teach the apparatus wherein the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator that are alternately stacked on one another.
FIG. 3 of Sakamoto teaches a two-part interlayer insulating film (315, 317; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) between a gate insulating film (309; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) and a light emitting layer (331; FIG. 3; paragraph 0054).
Lee et al., Murayama et al., and Sakamoto are all analogous to the invention in that they involve display devices with layers and trenches. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator that are alternately stacked on one another. This is a known structure for this kind of layer (paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and further in view of Sakamoto teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 2. Neither Lee et al. nor Murayama et al. teach the apparatus wherein:
the first separator comprises silicon nitride; and
the second separator comprises silicon oxide.
FIG. 3 of Sakamoto teaches the interlayer insulating films (315, 317; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) being made of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that one separator comprises silicon nitride and the other comprises silicon oxide. These are known insulating inorganic materials (paragraph 0040).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 10693099 B2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 1. Neither Lee et al. nor Murayama et al. teach the apparatus wherein the light emitting layer comprises a charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion.
FIG. 7 of Kim et al. teaches a charge generating layer (CGL; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29) between a first light emitting layer (EL1; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29) and a second light emitting layer (EL2; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29), with said charge generation layer being disconnected at a trench and recess area (FIG. 7).
Lee et al., Murayama et al., and Kim et al. are all analogous to the invention in that they involve display devices with layers and trenches. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that the light emitting layer comprises a charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion. This gives the light emitting layers an electrical source (column 6, lines 47-51).
Regarding claim 13, FIG. 6F of Lee et al. teaches a light emitting display apparatus comprising:
an insulating layer (310; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0037) arranged on a substrate (301; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035), the insulating layer including a trench (308; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035);
a first electrode (331; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0038) arranged on the insulating layer;
a light emitting layer (332; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) arranged on the insulating layer and the first electrode;
a separator (314; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0039) arranged between the insulating layer and the light emitting layer, the separator covering at least one sidewall of the trench; and
a second electrode (333; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) arranged on the light emitting layer,
wherein the separator includes a recess portion (308; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035).
Lee et al. does not teach the recess portion having at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate, and the light emitting layer includes a charge generation layer that is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion.
FIG. 5 of Murayama et al. teaches a partially horizontal concave portion (15a; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) on an interlayer insulation film (15; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) and a first protection layer (18; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085). Murayama et al. does not teach the light emitting layer including a charge generation layer that is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion.
FIG. 7 of Kim et al. teaches a charge generating layer (CGL; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29) between a first light emitting layer (EL1; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29) and a second light emitting layer (EL2; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29), with said charge generation layer being disconnected at a trench and recess area (FIG. 7).
Lee et al., Murayama et al., and Kim et al. are all analogous to the invention in that they involve display devices with layers and trenches. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that the recess portion has at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate and the light emitting layer comprises a charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion. These allow the insulation of the light emitting layers to be maintained in a satisfactory manner (Murayama et al., paragraph 0085) and give the light emitting layers an electrical source (Kim et al., column 6, lines 47-51).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and Kim et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20210043705 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and further in view of Kim et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 13. Neither Lee et al., Murayama et al., nor Kim et al. teach the apparatus wherein a disconnected portion of the charge generation layer is arranged on a lower surface of the trench.
FIG. 4 of Lim et al. teaches a disconnected portion of a charge generating layer (131b; FIG. 4; paragraph 0090) at the bottom of a trench (T; FIG. 4; paragraph 0090).
Lee et al., Murayama et al., Kim et al., and Lim et al. are all analogous to the invention in that they involve display devices with layers and trenches. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that a disconnected portion of the charge generation layer is arranged on a lower surface of the trench. This must be disconnected because of a step difference of the trench (paragraph 0090).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and Kim et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Sakamoto.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and further in view of Kim et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 13. Neither Lee et al., Murayama et al., nor Kim et al. teach the apparatus wherein the separator comprises:
a first separator including silicon nitride; and
a second separator alternately stacked with the first separator, the second separator including silicon oxide.
FIG. 3 of Sakamoto teaches a two-part interlayer insulating film (315, 317; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) between a gate insulating film (309; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) and a light emitting layer (331; FIG. 3; paragraph 0054), with the interlayer insulating films being made of silicon nitride and silicon oxide (paragraph 0067).
Lee et al., Murayama et al., Kim et al., and Sakamoto are all analogous to the invention in that they involve display devices with layers and trenches. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. so that the separator comprises a first separator including silicon nitride and a second separator including silicon oxide that are alternately stacked on one another. This is a known structure for this kind of layer (paragraph 0067) made of known insulating inorganic materials (paragraph 0040).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-10, 14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and further in view of Sakamoto teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 2. Lee et al. does not teach the apparatus wherein the recess portion is defined concavely in a horizontal direction on the substrate in at least a portion of the second separator.
None of the prior art sources teach this limitation. Therefore, it would be improper in hindsight to modify Lee et al. to include the apparatus wherein the recess portion is defined concavely in a horizontal direction on the substrate in at least a portion of the second separator.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. teaches the light emitting display apparatus of claim 1. Lee et al. does not teach the apparatus wherein the recess portion comprises:
a first recess portion adjacent to a bottom surface of the trench; and
a second recess portion spaced apart from the first recess portion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the substrate.
FIG. 5 of Murayama et al. teaches a partially horizontal concave portion (15a; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) on an interlayer insulation film (15; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) and a first protection layer (18; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085). Murayama does not teach a second recess portion spaced apart from the first recess portion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the substrate.
None of the prior art sources teach this limitation. Therefore, it would be improper in hindsight to modify Lee et al. to include a second recess portion spaced apart from the first recess portion in a vertical direction perpendicular to the substrate.
Claims 9 and 10 are dependent on claim 8 and are therefore allowed.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and further in view of Kim et al. teach the light emitting display apparatus of claim 13. Lee et al. does not teach the apparatus wherein:
the recess portion comprises a plurality of recess portions arranged along the sidewall of the trench in a vertical direction perpendicular to the substrate; and
the charge generation layer is disconnected between a first recess portion arranged at an uppermost end of the recess portions and a second recess portion arranged at a lowermost end of the recess portions.
None of the prior art sources teach this limitation. Therefore, it would be improper in hindsight to modify Lee et al. to include the recess portion comprising a plurality of recess portions arranged along the sidewall of the trench in a vertical direction perpendicular to the substrate and the charge generation layer being disconnected between a first recess portion arranged at an uppermost end of the recess portions and a second recess portion arranged at a lowermost end of the recess portions.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee et al. in view of Murayama et al. and further in view of Kim et al. and Sakamoto teach the light emitting display apparatus of claim 16. Lee et al. does not teach the apparatus wherein the recess portion is defined concavely in a horizontal direction on the substrate in at least a portion of the second separator.
None of the prior art sources teach this limitation. Therefore, it would be improper in hindsight to modify Lee et al. to include the apparatus wherein the recess portion is defined concavely in a horizontal direction on the substrate in at least a portion of the second separator.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 18, FIG. 6F of Lee et al. teaches a light emitting display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (301; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035) having a plurality of pixels (P; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040);
an insulating layer (310; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0037) arranged on the substrate, the insulating layer including a trench (308; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0035);
a first electrode (331; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0038) arranged on the insulating layer;
a light emitting layer (332; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) arranged on the insulating layer and the first electrode;
a separator (314; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0039) arranged between the insulating layer and the light emitting layer, the separator covering at least one sidewall of the trench; and
a second electrode (333; FIG. 6F; paragraph 0040) arranged on the light emitting layer.
Lee et al. does not teach the plurality of pixels including first to third pixels, and an encapsulation layer arranged on the second electrode, wherein the separator includes at least one first separator and at least one second separator that are formed alternately stacked on one another, the second separator includes a recess portion having at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate, and the light emitting layer includes a charge generation layer that is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion.
FIG. 5 of Murayama et al. teaches a protection layer (19; FIG. 5; paragraph 0044) encompassing the upper layer electrode (28; FIG. 5; paragraph 0040) and a partially horizontal concave portion (15a; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) on an interlayer insulation film (15; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085) and a first protection layer (18; FIG. 5; paragraph 0085). Murayama et al. does not teach the separator including at least one first separator and at least one second separator that are formed alternately stacked on one another, the second separator including a recess portion having at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate, and the light emitting layer including a charge generation layer that is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion.
FIG. 3 of Sakamoto teaches a two-part interlayer insulating film (315, 317; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) between a gate insulating film (309; FIG. 3; paragraph 0067) and a light emitting layer (331; FIG. 3; paragraph 0054). Sakamoto does not teach the second separator including a recess portion having at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate and the light emitting layer including a charge generation layer that is disconnected inside the trench, including in a region overlapping the recess portion.
FIG. 7 of Kim et al. teaches a charge generating layer (CGL; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29) between a first light emitting layer (EL1; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29) and a second light emitting layer (EL2; FIG. 7; column 5, lines 25-29), with said charge generation layer being disconnected at a trench and recess area (FIG. 7). Kim et al. does not teach a second separator including a recess portion having at least a portion concavely defined in a horizontal direction on the substrate.
None of the prior art sources teach this limitation. Therefore, it would be improper in hindsight to modify Lee et al. to include the apparatus wherein the recess portion is defined concavely in a horizontal direction on the substrate in at least a portion of the second separator.
Claims 19 and 20 would be allowed as they are dependent on claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Baik et al. (US 20190058022 A1) concerns an organic light emitting display device that includes and insulating layer, electrodes, and a light emitting layer. Kang (US 20060076887 A1) concerns an organic electroluminescence display device with insulating layers and electrodes.
/J.A.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817