Response to Amendment
2. This action is responsive to the amendments filed 8/3/2026. Claims 1-2 have been amended. Claims 13-14 were newly added. No claims have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s response with respect to the art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa et al. (Japanese Publication No.: JP 2009/183409 A) and further in view of Nemoto et al. (Japanese Publication: JP 2009/225876 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches a medical apparatus (e.g. Fig. 1A; paragraphs 0019-0020 – endoscope) comprising:
a driving source (e.g. Fig. 1A – drive unit of motor unit 32; paragraph 0021);
a base unit (e.g. Fig. 1A – drive unit of motor unit 32) including a coupling portion connected to the driving source (e.g. paragraph 0021 – drive coupling is driven by the driving unit);
a bendable unit (e.g. Fig. 1A – insertion portion 21 + insertion/extraction portion 26) removably attached to the base unit (e.g. paragraph 0024, - insertion portion 21 + insertion/extraction portion 26 is inserted into/removable from hole 33 of motor unit 32), the bendable unit (21 + 26) including:
a bending portion which is bendable (e.g. Fig. 1A – bending portion 23; paragraph 0020);
and a linear member configured to be coupled to the coupling portion (e.g. paragraph 0020) and configured to bend the bending portion by being driven by the driving source through the coupling portion (e.g. paragraph 0022);
an operation portion (e.g. Fig. 1A – operation unit 57) movable, in a state where the bendable unit is attached to the base unit (e.g. paragraphs 0042-0043), between a fixed position in which removal of the bendable unit from the base unit is restricted (e.g. paragraphs 0037, 0042) and a removal position in which removal of the bendable unit from the base unit is permitted (e.g. paragraphs 0038-0040);
and a deceleration mechanism including an output member that is driven by a force transmitted from the operation portion (e.g. paragraphs 0046-0048), wherein the coupling portion (e.g. paragraph 0021) includes:
wherein, in a case where the operation portion is moved from the fixed position toward the removal position, the retaining portion is switched from the retaining state to the releasing state (e.g. paragraph 0038),
and wherein, in a case where the operation portion is moved for a first movement amount, the output member is configured to be moved for a second movement amount that is smaller than the first movement amount (e.g. paragraph 0029).
However, Ishikawa does not explicitly teach wherein the coupling portion includes a retaining portion configured to be transitioned between a retaining state in which the retaining portion retains the linear member in a state where the bendable unit is attached to the base unit and a releasing state in which retaining of the linear member is released; and a switching portion configured to be moved by the output member and configured to switch the retaining portion between the retaining state and the releasing state,
wherein the retaining portion is in the retaining state when the operation portion is in the fixed position and the retaining portion is in the releasing state when the operation portion is in the removal position.
Nemoto, in a same field of endeavor of endoscopes, discloses wherein the coupling portion includes a retaining portion configured to be transitioned between a retaining state (e.g. paragraphs 0038-0042) in which the retaining portion retains the linear member in a state where the bendable unit is attached to the base unit (e.g. paragraph 0049) and a releasing state in which retaining of the linear member is released (e.g. paragraph 0051); and a switching portion configured to be moved by the output member (e.g. paragraphs 0043-0045) and configured to switch the retaining portion between the retaining state and the releasing state (e.g. paragraphs 0044-0045, 0051), wherein the retaining portion is in the retaining state when the operation portion is in the fixed position (e.g. paragraphs 0049-0050) and the retaining portion is in the releasing state when the operation portion is in the removal position (e.g. paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ishikawa to include wherein the coupling portion includes a retaining portion configured to be transitioned between a retaining state in which the retaining portion retains the linear member in a state where the bendable unit is attached to the base unit and a releasing state in which retaining of the linear member is released; and a switching portion configured to be moved by the output member and configured to switch the retaining portion between the retaining state and the releasing state,
wherein the retaining portion is in the retaining state when the operation portion is in the fixed position and the retaining portion is in the releasing state when the operation portion is in the removal position, as taught and suggested by Nemoto, in order to easily and reliably separate the detachable portions while also releasing the associated bending-wire connection (Nemoto, paragraphs 0018, 0054).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, and Ishikawa further teaches wherein the operation portion is rotatable (e.g. paragraphs 0042-0043) and wherein, in a case where the operation portion is rotated for a first rotation angle serving as the first movement amount (e.g. paragraph 0063), the output member is configured to be rotated (e.g. paragraphs 0048-0049) for a second rotation angle serving as the second movement amount that is smaller than the first rotation angle (e.g. paragraphs 0047, 0058, 0063).
Regarding claim 11, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, and Ishikawa further teaches and wherein the deceleration mechanism is disposed on the base unit (e.g. paragraphs 0021, 0042, 0051) and is configured to be moved by the operation portion in a state where the bendable unit is attached to the base unit (e.g. paragraphs 0021, 0043, 0064). Additionally, Nemoto further teaches wherein the operation portion is disposed on the bendable unit (e.g. paragraphs 0031, 0045).
Regarding claim 13, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 2 as discussed above, and Ishikawa further teaches wherein the bendable unit (21 + 26) is configured to be attached to and detached from the base unit along an attaching and detaching direction (e.g. paragraphs 0020-0024), and wherein the operation portion is rotatable about a rotation axis extending in the attaching and detaching direction (e.g. paragraphs 0027, 0043).
Regarding claim 14, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above, and Nemoto further teaches wherein the base unit includes a plurality of coupling portions each configured as the coupling portion (e.g. paragraphs 0038-0040), and each including a corresponding retaining portion (e.g. paragraphs 0040-0041), and wherein, in a case where the operation portion is moved from the fixed position toward the removal position (e.g. paragraphs 0045, 0051), the corresponding retaining portion of each of the plurality of coupling portions is switched from the retaining state to the releasing state (e.g. paragraphs 0049, 0051).
6. Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa and further in view of Nemoto and further in view of Stahler et al. (US Pub.: 2009/0024141 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 2 as discussed above. However, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto does not explicitly teach wherein the deceleration mechanism is a planetary gear mechanism which includes: an input portion configured to rotate in response to input of rotation of the operation portion; the output member; a fixed member fixed to the base unit; and a plurality of planetary gears, and wherein the output member is configured to output a rotation, transmitted from the input portion, to the switching portion.
Stahler, in a same field of endeavor of endoscopes/medical apparatuses, discloses wherein the deceleration mechanism is a planetary gear mechanism (e.g. Fig. 30 – planetary gear drive element 377; paragraphs 0218, 0227) which includes:
an input portion (e.g. Fig. 30 – sun gear 379) configured to rotate in response to input of rotation of the operation portion (e.g. paragraphs 0219, 0224);
the output member (e.g. paragraphs 0221, 0224);
a fixed member (e.g. Fig. 30 – ring gear 383) fixed to the base unit (e.g. paragraphs 0223, 0226);
and a plurality of planetary gears (e.g. Fig. 30 – planet gears 381), and wherein the output member is configured to output a rotation (e.g. paragraphs 0222, 0224-0225), transmitted from the input portion, to the switching portion (e.g. paragraphs 0222, 0224, 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ishikawa and Nemoto to incorporate wherein the deceleration mechanism is a planetary gear mechanism which includes: an input portion configured to rotate in response to input of rotation of the operation portion; the output member; a fixed member fixed to the base unit; and a plurality of planetary gears, and wherein the output member is configured to output a rotation, transmitted from the input portion, to the switching portion, as taught and suggested by Stahler, in order to provide finer rotational control of the output member by reducing the rotational speed of the output relative to the rotational input (Stahler, paragraphs 0204, 0227).
Regarding claim 4, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto in view of Stahler teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 3 as discussed above, and Stahler further teaches wherein the input portion is a sun gear (e.g. Fig. 30 – sun gear 379), wherein the output member is a planetary carrier (e.g. paragraphs 0221, 0224) configured to rotatably and revolvably support the plurality of planetary gears (e.g. paragraphs 0221, 0224-0225) that are meshed with the sun gear (e.g. paragraph 0221), and wherein the fixed member is an internal gear that is meshed with the plurality of planetary gears (e.g. paragraphs 0220-0221, 0224).
Regarding claim 5, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto in view of Stahler teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 3 as discussed above, and Stahler further teaches wherein the input portion is an internal gear (e.g. paragraphs 0220, 0222), wherein the output member is a planetary carrier (e.g. paragraphs 0221-0222, 0224) configured to rotatably and revolvably support the plurality of planetary gears (e.g. paragraphs 0221, 0224-0225) that are meshed with the internal gear (e.g. paragraphs 0220-0221), and wherein the fixed member is a sun gear that is meshed with the plurality of planetary gears (e.g. paragraphs 0221-0223).
Regarding claim 6, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto in view of Stahler teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 3 as discussed above, and Stahler further teaches wherein the input portion is a sun gear (e.g. paragraph 0223), wherein the output member is an internal gear that is meshed with the plurality of planetary gears (e.g. paragraphs 0220-0221, 0223), and wherein the fixed member is a planetary carrier configured to rotatably and revolvably support the plurality of planetary gears (e.g. paragraphs 0221-0223, 0225).
Regarding claim 7, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 2 as discussed above. However, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto does not explicitly teach wherein the deceleration mechanism includes: an input portion that is rotated in response to input of a rotation of the operation portion; the output member; and a stepped gear that is meshed respectively with the input portion and the output member, wherein the output member is configured to output a rotation, transmitted from the input portion, to the switching portion, and wherein the stepped gear includes: a first gear portion that has a first number of teeth and that is meshed with the input portion; and a second gear portion that has a second number of teeth smaller than the first number of teeth and that is meshed with the output member.
Stahler, in a same field of endeavor of endoscopes/medical apparatuses, discloses wherein the deceleration mechanism (e.g. paragraphs 0206, 0212) includes: an input portion that is rotated in response to input of a rotation of the operation portion (e.g. paragraphs 0208-0209); the output member (e.g. paragraphs 0211-0213); and a stepped gear that is meshed respectively with the input portion and the output member (e.g. paragraphs 0207, 0211), wherein the output member is configured to output a rotation, transmitted from the input portion, to the switching portion (e.g. paragraphs 0209, 0211-0213), and wherein the stepped gear (e.g. paragraphs 0207-0208) includes:
a first gear portion that has a first number of teeth and that is meshed with the input portion (e.g. paragraphs 0209, 0211); and a second gear portion that has a second number of teeth smaller than the first number of teeth and that is meshed with the output member (e.g. paragraphs 0210, 0212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ishikawa and Nemoto to incorporate wherein the deceleration mechanism includes: an input portion that is rotated in response to input of a rotation of the operation portion; the output member; and a stepped gear that is meshed respectively with the input portion and the output member, wherein the output member is configured to output a rotation, transmitted from the input portion, to the switching portion, and wherein the stepped gear includes: a first gear portion that has a first number of teeth and that is meshed with the input portion; and a second gear portion that has a second number of teeth smaller than the first number of teeth and that is meshed with the output member, as taught and suggested by Stahler, in order to obtain the predictable results of reduced output rotation as well as to provide finer rotational control (Stahler, paragraph 0212).
Regarding claim 8, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto in view of Stahler teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 7 as discussed above, and Stahler further teaches wherein the input portion includes an input gear portion that has a third number of teeth and that is meshed with the first gear portion (e.g. paragraphs 0219-0222), wherein the output member includes an output gear portion that has a fourth number of teeth and that is meshed with the second gear portion (e.g. paragraphs 0219-0223), and wherein a ratio of the fourth number of teeth to the third number of teeth is greater than a ratio of the second number of teeth to the first number of teeth (e.g. paragraphs 0222-0226).
Regarding claim 9, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto in view of Stahler teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 3 as discussed above, and Ishikawa further teaches wherein the input portion is configured to be engaged with the operation portion (e.g. paragraphs 0042-0044) and rotate concentrically and integrally with the operation portion (e.g. paragraphs 0043, 0063-0064).
Regarding claim 10, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto in view of Stahler teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 3 as discussed above, and Ishikawa further teaches wherein the switching portion (e.g. paragraphs 0028-0029, 0048-0049) includes:
a cam portion (e.g. Fig. 5A – lock cam 42; paragraph 0028) configured to switch the retaining portion between the retaining state and the releasing state by rotating (e.g. paragraphs 0028, 0037-0038). Additionally, Stahler further teaches and a cam gear (e.g. paragraphs 0219-0221) configured to rotate integrally with the cam portion, and wherein the output member includes an output gear that is meshed with the cam gear (e.g. paragraphs 0220-0221).
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa and further in view of Nemoto and further in view of Appling et al. (US Pub.: 2021/0212553 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto teaches the medical apparatus according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, Ishikawa in view of Nemoto does not explicitly teach wherein the retaining portion is a leaf spring configured to nip and retain the linear member in the retaining state.
Appling, in a same field of endeavor of endoscopes/medical apparatuses, discloses wherein the retaining portion is a leaf spring configured to nip and retain the linear member in the retaining state (e.g. Fig. 10A – leaf spring 126; paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Ishikawa and Nemoto to incorporate wherein the retaining portion is a leaf spring configured to nip and retain the linear member in the retaining state, as taught and suggested by Appling, in order to prevent wires from moving in the reverse direction while the device in use (Appling, paragraph 0063).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792