DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 6, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tasch et al (WO 2024/042388).
With regards to claim 7, Tasch teaches a two part composition (title) that includes an epoxy resin and a curing agent (abstract) wherein the epoxy resin is a phenolic epoxy resin (page 6) and the curing agents include aliphatic amines (page 7). Tasch further teaches the composition to include diluents, corrosion inhibitors, and fillers (page 11). Tasch teaches the addition of a curing accelerator (page 7). Tasch teaches the first part of the composition to include the epoxy and the second part to include the curing agent (pages 1-2) which includes the curing accelerator (page 7). Tasch teaches that the diluent to be present in either the first or second part (page 18).
With regards to claim 8, Tasch teaches the filler to include talc and/or calcium carbonate (page 11).
With regards to claim 9, Tasch teaches the two part epoxy composition to include 3Ms SA9822 which has a mix weight ratio of 3.72B:1.0A (+ 10%).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofstetter et al (US 2015/0284608).
With regards to claim 7, Hofstetter teaches a two-component epoxy adhesive (abstract) containing a component A having an epoxy resin (abstract) and component B having an aliphatic amine and a phenalkylamine (abstract). Hofstetter teaches the epoxy to be a phenol compound (0051). Hofstetter further teaches the composition to include curing accelerators in component B (0028), fillers in either or both of components A and B (0122), and additives that can be either in component A or B (0104) to include diluents (0105), and stabilizers against oxidation (corrosion) (0106).
With regards to claim 8, Hofstetter teaches the filler to include talc or calcium carbonate (0100).
With regards to claim 9, Hofstetter teaches the A and B components to be mixed at a 1:1 ratio (0116).
With regards to claim 10, Hofstetter teaches the curing agent to include both an aliphatic amine and a phenalkyamine (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasch et al (WO 2024/042388) in view of Hofstetter et al (US 2015/0284608).
The disclosure of Tasch is adequately set forth in paragraph 4 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claim 10, Tasch does not teach the curing agent to include both an aliphatic amine and a phenalkylamine.
The disclosure of Hofstetter is adequately set forth in paragraph 5 above and is herein incorporated by reference. Hofstetter teaches the motivation for using both curing agents together to be because it provides an adhesive that is crash resistant, can be used to make repairs at points, cures at room temperature, and exhibits good mechanical strength (0012). Tasch and Hofstetter are analogous in the art of dual component epoxy compounds. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use both curing agents of Hofstetter in the composition of Tasch, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763