DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 07/15/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the receipt of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 06/02/2026. Claims 36, 41-42, 44, 49-50, and 52 have been amended. Claims 1-35, 39-40, 47-48, and 55 have been canceled. Claims 36-38, 41-46, and 49-54 are currently pending in the present application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 36-38, 41-46, and 49-54 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2020/0229104 A1 herein MolavianJazi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-38, 42-46, and 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran et al. (US 2018/0368081 herein Akkarakaran), and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (US 2020/0229104 A1 herein MolavianJazi).
Regarding claim 36, Akkarakaran teaches an apparatus comprising processing circuitry (read as UE 120 may include processor components, and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0047]) configured to:
process, based on signals received from a network (read as network 100) (Akkarakaran - Figure 1, [0041]), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (read as uplink data channel such as physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) (Akkarakaran - [0085]) including a plurality of beams over which PUSCH repetitions should be transmitted, wherein the PUSCH configuration schedules transmission of the PUSCH repetitions over the plurality of beams (read as the plurality of signals are transmitted on different beams and the UE 505 may use a maximum transmit power corresponding to a particular signal such as an uplink control signal; UE 505 may fill up the packet with PHR reports for multiple slots, beams, waveforms, or any combination thereof; PHR transmission may be dynamically triggered by the base station 510 wherein the trigger could be in DCI scheduling for an uplink data channel such as PUSCH and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0090] and [0102]);
determine a first power headroom report (PHR) based on a first power control parameter set corresponding to a first one or more PUSCH repetitions (read as UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power; UE 505 may transmit the PHR on an uplink control channel and may transmit the PHR as part of uplink control information that is included on an uplink data channel; first report may correspond to a first beam) (Akkarakaran - [0091], [0098]); and
determine a second PHR based on a second power control parameter set corresponding to a second one or more PUSCH repetitions (read as UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams; the PHR may be associated with multiple repetitions of the uplink transmission; UE 505 may report using a PHR, a plurality of reports such as plurality of PHRs corresponding to a plurality of beams; a second report may correspond to a second beam) (Akkarakaran - [0094], [0095], and [0098]).
However, Akkarakaran fails to teach generate, for transmission to the network, a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) comprising the first PHR and the second PHR.
In the related art, MolavianJazi teaches generate, for transmission to the network, a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) comprising the first PHR and the second PHR (read as UE may be configured in a PHR MAC-CE format with a number of PHRs per serving cell and/or uplink carrier in which a number of PHRs may be one or may be more than one; a MAC-CE may activate two or more PUCCH SpatialRelationInfo values (e.g., from among a list of 8 ore more configured PUCCH SpatialRelationInfo values) for each PUCCH resource, for each PUCCH resource set, or for all resource sets) (MolavianJazi – [0067], [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi into the teachings of Akkarakaran for the purpose of receiving uplink power control parameters for uplink power control.
Regarding claim 37 as applied to claim 36, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR and second PHR are actual PHRs based on actual PUSCH transmissions (read as one or more signals may include an uplink data channel signal such as physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) signal; UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power) (Akkarakaran - [0085], and [0091]).
Regarding claim 38 as applied to claim 36, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR is an actual PHR based on actual PUSCH transmissions and the second PHR is a virtual PHR based on configured PUSCH transmissions (read as UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams; the reference beam, such as a configuration for the reference beam, may be signaled to the UE 505) (Akkarakaran - [0094]).
Regarding claim 42 as applied to claim 35, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR is reported as a differential between a value of a baseline PHR and a value the first PHR and the second PHR is reported as a differential between the value of the baseline PHR and a value the second PHR (read as power headroom value may be calculated as a difference between a maximum transmit power and a transmit power that would have been used without power constraints, which may be an unconstrained transmit power for a single signal or a sum of unconstrained transmit powers for multiple signals, such as higher priority signals) (Akkarakaran - [0087]).
Regarding claim 43 as applied to claim 36, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the PUSCH configuration comprises a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission that schedules transmission of the PUSCH repetitions over the plurality of beams (read as PHR transmission may be triggered aperiodically by padding conditions; the trigger could be in DCI scheduling for an uplink data channel (PUSCH), in DCI scheduling a downlink data channel (PDSCH) and a corresponding ACK on an uplink control channel PUCCH, in the MAC-CE of the scheduled downlink data channel (PDSCH), and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0102]).
Regarding claim 44, Akkarakaran teaches a user equipment (UE) (read as UE 120 may include processor components, and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0047]), comprising:
a transceiver (read as transceiver function) (Akkarkaran - [0038] configured to communicate with a network (read as connectivity for or to a network such as a wide area network or a cellular network; network 100) (Akkarkaran - [0039], [0041]); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver (read as UE 120 may be included housing 120; that houses components of UE 120, such as processor components, and/or the like; controller/processor 240 and 280) (Akkarkaran - Figure 2, [0047], [0057]-[0058]) and configured to:
process, based on signals received from a network (read as network 100) (Akkarakaran - Figure 1, [0041]), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (read as uplink data channel such as physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) (Akkarakaran - [0085]) including a plurality of beams over which PUSCH repetitions should be transmitted, wherein the PUSCH configuration schedules transmission of the PUSCH repetitions over the plurality of beams (read as the plurality of signals are transmitted on different beams and the UE 505 may use a maximum transmit power corresponding to a particular signal such as an uplink control signal; UE 505 may fill up the packet with PHR reports for multiple slots, beams, waveforms, or any combination thereof; PHR transmission may be dynamically triggered by the base station 510 wherein the trigger could be in DCI scheduling for an uplink data channel such as PUSCH and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0090] and [0102]);
determine a first power headroom report (PHR) based on a first power control parameter set corresponding to a first one or more PUSCH repetitions (read as UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power; UE 505 may transmit the PHR on an uplink control channel and may transmit the PHR as part of uplink control information that is included on an uplink data channel; first report may correspond to a first beam) (Akkarakaran - [0091], [0098]); and
determine a second PHR based on a second power control parameter set corresponding to a second one or more PUSCH repetitions (read as UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams; the PHR may be associated with multiple repetitions of the uplink transmission; UE 505 may report using a PHR, a plurality of reports such as plurality of PHRs corresponding to a plurality of beams; a second report may correspond to a second beam) (Akkarakaran - [0094], [0095], and [0098]).
However, Akkarakaran fails to teach generate, for transmission to the network, a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) comprising the first PHR and the second PHR.
In the related art, MolavianJazi teaches generate, for transmission to the network, a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) comprising the first PHR and the second PHR (read as UE may be configured in a PHR MAC-CE format with a number of PHRs per serving cell and/or uplink carrier in which a number of PHRs may be one or may be more than one; a MAC-CE may activate two or more PUCCH SpatialRelationInfo values (e.g., from among a list of 8 or more configured PUCCH SpatialRelationInfo values) for each PUCCH resource, for each PUCCH resource set, or for all resource sets) (MolavianJazi – [0067], [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi into the teachings of Akkarakaran for the purpose of receiving uplink power control parameters for uplink power control.
Regarding claim 45 as applied to claim 44, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR and second PHR are actual PHRs based on actual PUSCH transmissions (read as one or more signals may include an uplink data channel signal such as physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) signal; UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power) (Akkarakaran - [0085], and [0091]).
Regarding claim 46 as applied to claim 44, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR is an actual PHR based on actual PUSCH transmissions and the second PHR is a virtual PHR based on configured PUSCH transmissions (read as UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams; the reference beam, such as a configuration for the reference beam, may be signaled to the UE 505) (Akkarakaran - [0094]).
Regarding claim 50 as applied to claim 44, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR is reported as a differential between a value of a baseline PHR and a value the first PHR and the second PHR is reported as a differential between the value of the baseline PHR and a value the second PHR (read as power headroom value may be calculated as a difference between a maximum transmit power and a transmit power that would have been used without power constraints, which may be an unconstrained transmit power for a single signal or a sum of unconstrained transmit powers for multiple signals, such as higher priority signals) (Akkarakaran - [0087]).
Regarding claim 51 as applied to claim 44, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the PUSCH configuration comprises a single downlink control information (DCI) transmission that schedules transmission of the PUSCH repetitions over the plurality of beams (read as PHR transmission may be triggered aperiodically by padding conditions; the trigger could be in DCI scheduling for an uplink data channel (PUSCH), in DCI scheduling a downlink data channel (PDSCH) and a corresponding ACK on an uplink control channel PUCCH, in the MAC-CE of the scheduled downlink data channel (PDSCH), and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0102]).
Regarding claim 52, Akkarakaran teaches a method, comprising:
receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration (read as uplink data channel such as physical uplink shared channel PUSCH) (Akkarakaran - [0085]) including a plurality of beams over which PUSCH repetitions should be transmitted, wherein the PUSCH configuration schedules transmission of the PUSCH repetitions over the plurality of beams (read as the plurality of signals are transmitted on different beams and the UE 505 may use a maximum transmit power corresponding to a particular signal such as an uplink control signal; UE 505 may fill up the packet with PHR reports for multiple slots, beams, waveforms, or any combination thereof; PHR transmission may be dynamically triggered by the base station 510 wherein the trigger could be in DCI scheduling for an uplink data channel such as PUSCH and/or the like) (Akkarakaran - [0090] and [0102]);
determining a first power headroom report (PHR) based on a first power control parameter set corresponding to a first one or more PUSCH repetitions (read as UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power; UE 505 may transmit the PHR on an uplink control channel and may transmit the PHR as part of uplink control information that is included on an uplink data channel; first report may correspond to a first beam) (Akkarakaran - [0091], [0098]); and
determining a second PHR based on a second power control parameter set corresponding to a second one or more PUSCH repetitions (read as UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams; the PHR may be associated with multiple repetitions of the uplink transmission; UE 505 may report using a PHR, a plurality of reports such as plurality of PHRs corresponding to a plurality of beams; a second report may correspond to a second beam) (Akkarakaran - [0094], [0095], and [0098]).
However, Akkarakaran fails to teach transmitting a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) to the network comprising the first PHR and the second PHR.
In the related art, MolavianJazi teaches transmitting a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) to the network comprising the first PHR and the second PHR (read as UE may be configured in a PHR MAC-CE format with a number of PHRs per serving cell and/or uplink carrier in which a number of PHRs may be one or may be more than one; a MAC-CE may activate two or more PUCCH SpatialRelationInfo values (e.g., from among a list of 8 ore more configured PUCCH SpatialRelationInfo values) for each PUCCH resource, for each PUCCH resource set, or for all resource sets) (MolavianJazi – [0067], [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi into the teachings of Akkarakaran for the purpose of receiving uplink power control parameters for uplink power control.
Regarding claim 53 as applied to claim 52, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR and second PHR are actual PHRs based on actual PUSCH transmissions (read as one or more signals may include an uplink data channel signal such as physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) signal; UE 505 may transmit a power headroom report (PHR) that indicates a power headroom value determined based at least in part on the maximum transmit power) (Akkarakaran - [0085], and [0091]).
Regarding claim 54 as applied to claim 52, Akkarakaran as modified by MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first PHR is an actual PHR based on actual PUSCH transmissions and the second PHR is a virtual PHR based on configured PUSCH transmissions (read as UE 505 may transmit PHRs corresponding to all of the different configured beams; the reference beam, such as a configuration for the reference beam, may be signaled to the UE 505) (Akkarakaran - [0094]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 41 and 49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648