DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, 15-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng et al (US 2023/0047987 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tseng discloses a method of wireless communication (Fig. 5) performed by a first network node (Fig. 1, UE 106), comprising:
receiving information that indicates an expected unavailability (73rd and 276th paragraphs and Fig. 5, Service Available Period or SAP may be configured to a UE to indicate a stop/pause moment of the service or to indicate when the service may not be available to the UE) of a second network node (Fig. 1, satellite 104) or a network interface (Fig. 6, transceiver 620) between the first network node and the second network node (Fig. 1, UE 106 and satellite 104);
determining, in accordance with the received information, that a state of the second network node or the network interface between the first network node and the second network node is an unavailable state (76th paragraph, after receiving the SAP, UE may calculate, estimate, or monitor available time period which may include the indicated stop time of the associated RAN. Fig. 2 illustrates the determined service unavailable period 208 according to the received SAP); and
maintaining an application layer configuration associated with the second network node or the network interface while the state of the second network node or the network interface is the unavailable state (Fig. 5 and 277th paragraph, UE may maintain Access Stratum layer configuration of the UE while the UE is out of a coverage area of the serving RAN. The AS layer configuration may include UE inactive AS context).
Regarding claim 2, Tseng discloses that wherein the received information indicates a change to the expected unavailability of the second network node or the network interface over time (73rd and 276th paragraphs and Fig. 5, Service Available Period or SAP may be configured to a UE to indicate a stop/pause moment of the service or to indicate when the service may not be available to the UE) in accordance with a movement of a satellite associated with the first network node or the second network node (Fig. 1, satellite 104 is moving out of coverage area of UE 106 or UE 106 is moving out of coverage area of satellite 104).
Regarding claim 3, Tseng discloses that wherein the information that indicates the expected unavailability of the second network node or the network interface is received from an information node periodically (276th paragraph, receiving, from a serving cell, satellite information regarding a coverage area of a serving RAN) or in response to a request from the first network node (alternative).
Regarding claim 5, Tseng discloses prohibiting one or more procedures while the state of the second network node or the network interface between the first network node and the second network node is the unavailable state (79th paragraph, UE stops uplink transmission service and/or downlink reception service when service is not available).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng discloses triggering one or more procedures related to managing the network interface between the first network node and the second network node while the state of the second network node or the network interface between the first network node and the second network node is the unavailable state (83rd paragraph, UE may determine to implement an Idle mode during the service unavailable period 208. In idle mode, UE turns off its transceiver for most of the time to conserve battery power).
Regarding claim 7, Tseng discloses that wherein the received information indicates the state of the second network node or the network interface and a duration associated with the state, a location associated with the state, or a time of a next change to the state (73rd paragraph, SAP may indicate a stop/pause moment of the service, when the service may not be available. SAP may indicate time span in which the service is available).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng discloses that wherein the information that indicates the expected unavailability of the second network node or the network interface (73rd and 276th paragraphs and Fig. 5, Service Available Period or SAP may be configured to a UE to indicate a stop/pause moment of the service or to indicate when the service may not be available to the UE) is associated with a trigger related to one or more of a movement of a satellite associated with the first network node or the second network node, a configured timing, a location associated with a satellite (Fig. 1, location and movement of satellite 104 triggered service available/unavailable periods), or a periodic timer expiring.
Regarding claim 11, Tseng discloses that wherein the information that indicates the expected unavailability of the second network node or the network interface between the first network node and the second network node (Fig. 5, block 502) is associated with a setup message for the network interface or a configuration update message (83rd paragraph, based on service cycle configuration, UE may expect SAPs to appear continuously and/or periodically. Herein, SAP includes service unavailable period).
Regarding claim 12, Tseng discloses determining, in accordance with the received information, that the state of the network interface has changed from the unavailable state to an available state; and communicating with the second network node over the network interface in accordance with the application layer configuration responsive to the state of the second network node or the network interface changing to the available state (Fig. 2, UE transmits uplink data or receive downlink data in service available period 206 in each TP2).
Regarding claim 15, Tseng discloses that wherein communication with the second network node over the network interface is associated with an identifier or a name associated with the second network node (106th paragraph, satellite ID).
Regarding claim 16, Tseng discloses that wherein communication with the second network node over the network interface is associated with a key parameter associated with the second network node (106th paragraph, UE may obtain ephemeris information of satellite).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Tseng discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 6), comprising:
one or more memories (Fig. 6, memory 628); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 6, processor 626 coupled to memory 628), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive information that indicates an expected unavailability (73rd and 276th paragraphs and Fig. 5, Service Available Period or SAP may be configured to a UE to indicate a stop/pause moment of the service or to indicate when the service may not be available to the UE) of a second network node (Fig. 1, satellite 104) or a network interface (Fig. 6, transceiver 620) between the first network node and the second network node (Fig. 1, UE 106 and satellite 104);
determine, in accordance with the received information, that a state of the second network node or the network interface between the first network node and the second network node is an unavailable state (76th paragraph, after receiving the SAP, UE may calculate, estimate, or monitor available time period which may include the indicated stop time of the associated RAN. Fig. 2 illustrates the determined service unavailable period 208 according to the received SAP); and
maintain an application layer configuration associated with the second network node or the network interface while the state of the second network node or the network interface is the unavailable state (Fig. 5 and 277th paragraph, UE may maintain Access Stratum layer configuration of the UE while the UE is out of a coverage area of the serving RAN. The AS layer configuration may include UE inactive AS context).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Chen et al (US 2025/0105913 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng discloses indicating service available/unavailable periods to UE for out of coverage area (Figs. 1 and 5). Tseng does not disclose transmitting, to the second network node, a message indicating the state of the second network node or the network interface between the first network node and the second network node. Chen discloses that the UE transmitting to satellite 1008 a message indicating the status of UE operating mode (Fig. 10, block 1060, switching from S&F to normal mode). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting UE’s switching mode in Tseng’s system, as suggested by Chen, to indicate the operating status of the UE.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng in view of Serravalle, Francesca (WO 2009/022750 A2).
Regarding claim 13, Tseng discloses that UE communicating with satellite (Fig. 1). Tseng does not disclose that wherein communication with the second network node over the network interface is associated with a transport network layer (TNL) identifier associated with the second network node. Serravalle discloses transport network layer identifier of a node (page 18, line 10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include TNL identifier for a node in Tseng’s system, as suggested by Serravalle, to identify a specific application of a node enabling process to process communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 14, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Edge et al (US 2023/0362704 A1), same assignee, discloses reporting generalized unavailability period for access to a wireless network (Figs. 8-9).
Wu et al (US 2024/0187090 A1), same assignee, discloses handling interruption in satellite based communications (Figs. 8-15).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472