DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al (US 2025/0261246 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 18, Choi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 18, UE), comprising:
one or more memories (418th paragraph, UE may include a memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (418th paragraph and Fig. 18, UE may include a processor 1805), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) time configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols on one or more downlink or flexible symbols (59th paragraph and Fig. 12b, SBFD configuration 1 for the UE includes a number of symbols for each SBFD slot such as D slot or S slot among D slots and S slots. Herein, each D slot or S slot includes 14 symbols);
receive an SBFD frequency configuration that configures one or more downlink sub-bands in the one or more SBFD symbols (Fig. 12b, SBFD configuration 1 includes other DL sub-bands besides UL sub-band in each D slot having a number of SBFD symbols, e.g., 14 symbols) and one or more uplink sub-bands in the one or more SBFD symbols (Fig. 12b, SBFD configuration 1 includes a UL subband in each D slot having a number of SBFD symbols, e.g., 14 symbols);
receive a random access channel (RACH) configuration that configures one or more RACH occasions (ROs) in the one or more SBFD symbols (Fig. 13, RO is configured for each UL sub-band in each D slot having 14 SBFD symbols); and
transmit, on an uplink sub-band of the one or more uplink sub-bands, a RACH message (Figs. 11 and Fig. 13, UE transmits a preamble to gNB on UL sub-band 1310) on a valid RO of the one or more ROs (287th paragraph, UE may determine the RACH occasion is valid based on RACH occasion does not precede an SS/PBCH and starts after N gap symbols from last reception symbol of SS/PBCH), the valid RO being associated with a subset of a set of SBFD-aware user equipments (UEs) (Fig. 13, RACH occasion is valid for a number SBFD-capable UEs in SBFD configurations 13B, 13C, and 13D) or one or more RACH triggering events (284th – 288th and 296th – 305th paragraphs, RACH occasion is valid according to first PRACH configuration, according to no TDD DL/UL configuration information received, according to RACH does not precede an SS/PBCH and starts after N gap symbols from last reception symbol of SS/PBCH, etc…).
Regarding claims 2, 15, and 19, Choi discloses that wherein the valid RO is associated with the subset of the set of SBFD-aware UEs (Fig. 13, RACH occasion is valid for a number SBFD-capable UEs).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses that wherein the subset of the set of SBFD-aware UEs is
associated with a type of a subscription (254th paragraph, gNB may determine a type of a UE based on random access resource used by the UE. SBFD capble UE may transmit a PRACH through a separate random access resource for the SBFD capable UE).
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 20, Choi discloses that wherein the valid RO is associated with the one or more RACH triggering events (284th – 288th and 296th – 305th paragraphs, RACH occasion is valid according to first PRACH configuration, according to no TDD DL/UL configuration information received, according to RACH does not precede an SS/PBCH and starts after N gap symbols from last reception symbol of SS/PBCH, etc…).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses that wherein RACH configuration is one of a plurality of RACH configurations that correspond to respective subsets of the set of SBFD aware UEs or RACH triggering events (284th and 292nd paragraphs, first PRACH configuration and second PRACH configuration for SBFD capable UEs or triggering conditions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-11, 13, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in page 9 that Choi fails to disclose the valid RO being associated with a subset of a set of SBFD-aware user equipments (UEs) or one or more RACH triggering events. In particular, Choi’s illustration in Fig. 13 of a RO in connection with TDD and SBFD configuration does not identify a sub-group within SBFD capable UEs. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Choi discloses in Figs. 13B, 13C, and 13D, SBFD configurations for SBFD capable UEs. A subset of a set of SBFD-ware UEs, as recited in claim 1, can be, for example, 1 UE out of 5 UEs, 2 UEs out of 5 UEs, or 5 UEs out of 5UEs. Claim 1 does not recite that the subset can not be equal to the set. Choi discloses in Figs. 13B, 13C, and 13D, the ROs to be used by SBFD capable UEs in a network. At a moment of time, it can be 1 UE, 2 UEs, etc… out of hundreds or thousands of SBFD capable UEs, supported by the network, to use the SBFD configurations. Therefore, the SBFD configurations can be used for a number of UEs or a subset of UEs, among the UEs, supported by the network.
Applicant argues in page 9 that Choi describes validity conditions for RACH occasions, not RACH triggering events and/or the reason the UE initiated the RACH procedure. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not recite what the triggering events are. Claim 1 does not recite the reason the UE initiated the RACH procedure as stated by Applicant.
Examiner likes to emphasize that claim 1 recites “transmit, on an uplink sub-band of the one or more uplink sub-bands, a RACH message on a valid RO of the one or more ROs, the valid RO being associated with a subset of a set of SBFD-aware user equipments (UEs) or one or more RACH triggering events”. Therefore, one of the above limitations can be an alternative.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472