DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, replace “a subscription type” with --a type of a subscription--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al (US 2025/0261246 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 18, Choi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 18, UE), comprising:
one or more memories (418th paragraph, UE may include a memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (418th paragraph and Fig. 18, UE may include a processor 1805), the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to:
receive a sub-band full duplex (SBFD) time configuration that configures one or more SBFD symbols on one or more downlink or flexible symbols (59th paragraph and Fig. 12b, SBFD configuration 1 for the UE includes a number of symbols for each SBFD slot such as D slot or S slot among D slots and S slots. Herein, each D slot or S slot includes 14 symbols);
receive an SBFD frequency configuration that configures one or more downlink sub-bands in the one or more SBFD symbols (Fig. 12b, SBFD configuration 1 includes other DL sub-bands besides UL sub-band in each D slot having a number of SBFD symbols, e.g., 14 symbols) and one or more uplink sub-bands in the one or more SBFD symbols (Fig. 12b, SBFD configuration 1 includes a UL subband in each D slot having a number of SBFD symbols, e.g., 14 symbols);
receive a random access channel (RACH) configuration that configures one or more RACH occasions (ROs) in the one or more SBFD symbols (Fig. 13, RO is configured for each UL sub-band in each D slot having 14 SBFD symbols); and
transmit, on an uplink sub-band of the one or more uplink sub-bands, a RACH message (Figs. 11 and Fig. 13, UE transmits a preamble to gNB on UL sub-band 1310) on a valid RO of the one or more ROs (287th paragraph, UE may determine the RACH occasion is valid based on RACH occasion does not precede an SS/PBCH and starts after N gap symbols from last reception symbol of SS/PBCH), the valid RO being associated with a subset of a set of SBFD-aware user equipments (UEs) (Fig. 13, RACH occasion is valid for a number SBFD-capable UEs) or one or more RACH triggering events (284th – 288th and 296th – 305th paragraphs, RACH occasion is valid according to first PRACH configuration, according to no TDD DL/UL configuration information received, according to RACH does not precede an SS/PBCH and starts after N gap symbols from last reception symbol of SS/PBCH, etc…).
Regarding claims 2, 15, and 19, Choi discloses that wherein the valid RO is associated with the subset of the set of SBFD-aware UEs (Fig. 13, RACH occasion is valid for a number SBFD-capable UEs).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses that wherein the subset of the set of SBFD-aware UEs is
associated with a type of a subscription (254th paragraph, gNB may determine a type of a UE based on random access resource used by the UE. SBFD capble UE may transmit a PRACH through a separate random access resource for the SBFD capable UE).
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 20, Choi discloses that wherein the valid RO is associated with the one or more RACH triggering events (284th – 288th and 296th – 305th paragraphs, RACH occasion is valid according to first PRACH configuration, according to no TDD DL/UL configuration information received, according to RACH does not precede an SS/PBCH and starts after N gap symbols from last reception symbol of SS/PBCH, etc…).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses that wherein RACH configuration is one of a plurality of RACH configurations that correspond to respective subsets of the set of SBFD aware UEs or RACH triggering events (284th and 292nd paragraphs, first PRACH configuration and second PRACH configuration for SBFD capable UEs or triggering conditions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-11, 13, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Choi et al (US 2025/0301505 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses SBFD resource configuration for SBFD UEs (Figs. 13-18).
Gou et al (US 2024/0407010 A1), same field of endeavor, SBFD RACH access (Figs. 4-8).
Grant et al (US 2026/0046103 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses PRACH for SBFD UEs (Figs. 21-30).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472