Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, 17-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20250139917) in view of Ke (CN 113220419).
With respect to claim 1, Sun et al. disclose a method of processing extended reality (XR) media data, the method comprising:
an optimizer system, at least one server device, and a first user equipment, the optimizer system being separate from the at least one server device and the first UE device (paragraph 148, The XR-C network element and the XR-M network element may be independent hardware devices, paragraph 188, The first network device [optimizer] and the second network device [server device] may be logical function devices, and may be deployed on a same physical device, or may be deployed on different physical devices. This is not limited. For example, the first network device is an XR control plane network element (for example, denoted as an XR-C network element), and the second network device is an XR media plane network element (for example, an XR-M network element), UE in Fig. 1 and UE in Fig. 2 shown separately from network devices);
determining, by the optimizer system, a first set of XR media data rendering tasks of the XR session to be performed by the at least one server device and a second set of XR media data rendering tasks of the XR session to be performed by the first UE device (paragraph 186, The terminal device receives division indication information from a first network device [optimizer], where the division indication information indicates that a portion of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device are to be rendered by a second network device [server], and/or the other portion of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device are to be rendered by the terminal device [UE]);
sending, by the optimizer system, a first set of instructions to the at least one server device representative of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks to cause the at least one server device to perform the first set of XR media data rendering tasks of the XR session (paragraph 187, After determining the rendering division for the to-be-rendered XR object in the XR call, the first network device may send the division indication information to the terminal device, to indicate that the terminal device and the second network device respectively render portions of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device) to generate intermediate rendering results (paragraph 190, the division indication information indicates that a rendering operation for the to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device is shared by the terminal device and the second network device, and the terminal device and the second network device each are responsible for a rendering operation on a portion of to-be-rendered XR objects); and
sending, by the optimizer system, a second set of instructions to the first UE device representative of the second set of XR media data rendering tasks to cause the first UE device to perform the second set of XR media data rendering tasks (paragraph 187, After determining the rendering division for the to-be-rendered XR object in the XR call, the first network device may send the division indication information to the terminal device, to indicate that the terminal device and the second network device respectively render portions of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device). However, Sun et al. do not expressly disclose receiving, by an optimizer system, a request for at least one server device to perform a first portion of XR media data rendering tasks and a first user equipment (UE) device to perform a second portion of XR media data rendering tasks of an XR session. Although Sun et al. disclose a second UE device communicating with the first UE device (paragraph 174, The UE #2 [second UE] may communicate, through the IMS network to which the UE #2 belongs, with the IMS network to which the UE #1 belongs, paragraph 342, the UE #1 sends the media data corresponding to the rendered XR object to the UE #2, and the network device sends the media data corresponding to the rendered XR object to the UE #2. The UE #2 performs merging processing); Sun et al. do not expressly disclose: determining, by a communication unit of the optimizer system, routing of input data received from a second UE device involved in the XR session and the intermediate rendering results to the first UE device to form determined routing data, the optimizer system being separate from the second UE device; and configuring, by the optimizer system, one or more network devices involved in transporting data of the XR session according to the determined routing data.
Ke, who also deals with split rendering, discloses a method for receiving, by an optimizer system, a request for at least one server device to perform a first portion of XR media data rendering tasks and a first user equipment (UE) device to perform a second portion of XR media data rendering tasks of an XR session (paragraph 39, The task splitting module splits the rendering instruction into multiple rendering sub-tasks and sends them to the task allocation module. The task allocation module sends the rendering sub-tasks to a suitable cloud rendering server, paragraph 42, The task allocation module calculates the allocation index of each cloud rendering server based on the remaining computing power and latency of each cloud rendering server, and sends the rendering subtask to the cloud rendering server with the highest allocation index). The cloud rendering server corresponds to one server device and a different cloud rendering server corresponds to the first user equipment device, based on the task being allocated due to computing power. Ke also discloses determining, by a communication unit of the optimizer system (paragraph 39, The coordination cloud server includes a task splitting module, a result receiving module, a result assembly module, and a task allocation module), routing of input data received from a second UE device involved in the XR session and the intermediate rendering results to the first UE device to form determined routing data (paragraph 39, The result assembly module integrates all calculation result data packets under the same rendering instruction and then feeds them back to the corresponding 3D simulation terminal), the optimizer system being separate from the second UE device (paragraph n0015, A 5G-based real-time 3D cloud rendering simulation system includes a 3D simulation terminal, a data transmission device, a coordination cloud server, and multiple cloud rendering servers, coordination cloud server is a different server, or separate from multiple cloud rendering servers); and configuring, by the optimizer system, one or more network devices involved in transporting data of the XR session according to the determined routing data (paragraph n0015, The coordination cloud server breaks down the rendering instructions into multiple rendering sub-tasks and assigns them to the cloud rendering servers. The cloud rendering servers are used for the computation and processing of the rendering sub-tasks, paragraph 39, The result receiving module receives the processed calculation result data packets from the cloud rendering server and sends them to the result assembly module. The result assembly module integrates all calculation result data packets under the same rendering instruction and then feeds them back to the corresponding 3D simulation terminal).
Sun et al. and Ke are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of receiving, by an optimizer system, a request for at least one server device to perform a first portion of XR media data rendering tasks and a first user equipment (UE) device to perform a second portion of XR media data rendering tasks of an XR session and determining, by a communication unit of the optimizer system, routing of input data received from a second UE device involved in the XR session and the intermediate rendering results to the first UE device to form determined routing data, the optimizer system being separate from the second UE device; and configuring, by the optimizer system, one or more network devices involved in transporting data of the XR session according to the determined routing data, as taught by Ke, to the Sun et al. system, because through algorithms, the rendering subtasks are sent to appropriate cloud rendering servers to make full use of the computing power of the cloud rendering servers. When integrating the calculation results, the system adopts the method of storing in the order of receipt and sending in the logical order to improve efficiency and thus achieve the real-time performance of cloud rendering (paragraph 25 of Ke).
With respect to claim 2, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises: determining a first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks to be performed by the at least one server device (Sun et al.: paragraph 191, the first portion of to-be-rendered XR objects may be the virtual conference room and the virtual person, and the second portion of to-be-rendered XR objects may be the virtual chair and the virtual desk); and determining a second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks to be performed by a second, different server device (Sun et al.: paragraph 193, Based on the division indication information, the terminal device renders the to-be-rendered XR object that is to be rendered by the terminal device in the XR call, and sends, to the second network device, the to-be-rendered XR object that is to be rendered by the second network device in the XR call, paragraph 194, That is, the terminal device renders the first portion of to-be-rendered XR objects, and sends the second portion of to-be-rendered XR objects to the second network device. That the terminal device sends the second portion of to-be-rendered XR objects to the second network device may be understood as that the terminal device sends, to the second network device, related data corresponding to the second portion of to-be-rendered XR objects).
With respect to claim 3, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the method of claim 2, wherein determining the first subset and the second subset comprises determining the first subset and the second subset by a split compute unit of the optimizer system (Sun et al.: paragraph 187, The first network device [optimizer] represents a network-side device that determines the rendering division, and corresponds to the network-side control device in the summary).
With respect to claim 4, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising receiving, by the optimizer system, compute capabilities of the at least one server device and the second, different server device (Sun et al.: paragraph 203, the terminal device sends processing capability information (that is, information about a processing capability) of the terminal device to the first network device), the compute capabilities including one or more of: available hardware including a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a network processing unit (NPU), or available random access memory (RAM); available software including one or more video encoder/decoders (CODECs) or neural network modules; compute pricing; energy consumption; battery status; or heat conditions (Sun et al.: paragraph 204, the processing capability of the terminal device includes available rendering computing power (available computing power for rendering) of the terminal device; or the processing capability of the terminal device includes available rendering computing power of the terminal device and a rendering division manner supported by the terminal device, paragraph 205, the available rendering computing power of the terminal device is determined by the terminal device based on a configuration status of a computing resource (for example, software and hardware resources) of the terminal device, or the available rendering computing power of the terminal device is determined by the terminal device based on an available or remaining computing resource of the terminal device).
With respect to claim 10, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose an optimizer system for processing extended reality (XR) media data (Sun et al.: paragraph 1009, FIG. 15 is a schematic diagram of another communication apparatus 1500 according to an embodiment of this application), the optimizer system comprising: a memory configured to store optimization configuration data (Sun et al.: paragraph 1010, The memory 1520 is configured to store the computer program or instructions and/or data); and a processing system comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry (Sun et al.: paragraph 1009, The apparatus 1500 includes a processor 1510. The processor 1510 is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in the memory 1520, or read data stored in the memory 1520, to perform the methods in the foregoing method embodiments), the processing system being configured to execute the method of claim 1; see rationale for rejection of claim 1.
With respect to claim 11, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the optimizer system of claim 10 for executing the method of claim 2; see rationale for rejection of claim 2.
With respect to claim 12, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the optimizer system of claim 11 for executing the method of claim 3; see rationale for rejection of claim 3.
With respect to claim 13, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the optimizer system of claim 11 for executing the method of claim 4; see rationale for rejection of claim 4.
With respect to claim 17, Sun et al. disclose a method of processing extended reality (XR) media data, the method comprising:
receiving, by a network rendering device configured to partially render XR media data and from an optimizer system, a set of instructions representative of a first set of XR media data rendering tasks to be performed on XR media data of an XR session, wherein a user equipment (UE) device participates in the XR session (paragraph 187, The first network device [optimizer] represents a network-side device that determines the rendering division, and corresponds to the network-side control device in the summary. The second network device [network rendering device] represents a network-side device that renders a portion of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device [UE], and corresponds to the network-side rendering device in the summary, 410, and 420. The rendering division means that the terminal device and the second network device respectively render portions of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device, that is, the to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device are rendered by the terminal device and the second network device, paragraph 189, The XR call (XR call) may also be referred to as XR communication (XR communication), an XR call service, or an XR session…The XR call of the terminal device is an XR call in which the terminal device participates, paragraph 190, The division indication information indicates that a rendering operation for the to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device is shared by the terminal device and the second network device, and the terminal device and the second network device each are responsible for a rendering operation on a portion of to-be-rendered XR objects), the optimizer system being separate from the network rendering device and the UE device (paragraph 148, The XR-C network element and the XR-M network element may be independent hardware devices, paragraph 188, The first network device and the second network device may be logical function devices, and may be deployed on a same physical device, or may be deployed on different physical devices. This is not limited. For example, the first network device is an XR control plane network element (for example, denoted as an XR-C network element), and the second network device is an XR media plane network element (for example, an XR-M network element), UE in Fig. 1 and UE in Fig. 2 shown separately from network devices);
receiving, by the network rendering device, the XR media data of the XR session (paragraph 190, The division indication information indicates that a portion of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device are to be rendered by the second network device…The division indication information indicates that the terminal device renders the first portion of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device and/or the second network device renders the second portion of to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device, paragraph 191, the to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call include a virtual conference room, a virtual person, a virtual chair, and a virtual desk. For example, the first portion of to-be-rendered XR objects may be the virtual conference room and the virtual person, and the second portion of to-be-rendered XR objects may be the virtual chair and the virtual desk);
performing, by the network rendering device, the first set of XR media data rendering tasks on the XR media data to form partially rendered XR media data (paragraph 190, the division indication information indicates that a rendering operation for the to-be-rendered XR objects in the XR call of the terminal device is shared by the terminal device and the second network device, and the terminal device and the second network device each are responsible for a rendering operation on a portion of to-be-rendered XR objects, paragraph 199, the second network device merges media data corresponding to a rendered XR object that the second network device is responsible for rendering and the media data corresponding to the rendered XR object that the terminal device is responsible for rendering); and
sending, by the network rendering device, the partially rendered XR media data to the UE device (paragraph 200, The second network device sends merged media data to a terminal device in the XR call). The merged media comprises the partially rendered XR media data from the second network device. However, Sun et al. do not expressly disclose the set of instructions are being provided in response to a request for the network rendering device to perform a first portion of XR media data rendering tasks and a user equipment (UE) device to perform a second portion of XR media data rendering tasks of the XR session.
Ke, who also deals with split rendering, discloses a method wherein the set of instructions are being provided in response to a request for the network rendering device to perform a first portion of XR media data rendering tasks and a user equipment (UE) device to perform a second portion of XR media data rendering tasks of the XR session (paragraph 39, The task splitting module splits the rendering instruction into multiple rendering sub-tasks and sends them to the task allocation module. The task allocation module sends the rendering sub-tasks to a suitable cloud rendering server, paragraph 42, The task allocation module calculates the allocation index of each cloud rendering server based on the remaining computing power and latency of each cloud rendering server, and sends the rendering subtask to the cloud rendering server with the highest allocation index). The cloud rendering server corresponds to a network rendering device and a different cloud rendering server corresponds to a user equipment device, based on the task being allocated due to computing power.
Sun et al. and Ke are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the set of instructions are being provided in response to a request for the network rendering device to perform a first portion of XR media data rendering tasks and a user equipment (UE) device to perform a second portion of XR media data rendering tasks of the XR session, as taught by Ke, to the Sun et al. system, because through algorithms, the rendering subtasks are sent to appropriate cloud rendering servers to make full use of the computing power of the cloud rendering servers. When integrating the calculation results, the system adopts the method of storing in the order of receipt and sending in the logical order to improve efficiency and thus achieve the real-time performance of cloud rendering (paragraph 25 of Ke).
With respect to claim 18, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising sending, to the optimizer system, compute capabilities of the network rendering device, the compute capabilities including one or more of: available hardware including a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a network processing unit (NPU), or available random access memory (RAM); available software including one or more video encoder/decoders (CODECs) or neural network modules; compute pricing; energy consumption; battery status; or heat conditions (Sun et al.: paragraph 204, the processing capability of the terminal device includes available rendering computing power (available computing power for rendering) of the terminal device; or the processing capability of the terminal device includes available rendering computing power of the terminal device and a rendering division manner supported by the terminal device, Sun et al.: paragraph 205, the available rendering computing power of the terminal device is determined by the terminal device based on a configuration status of a computing resource (for example, software and hardware resources) of the terminal device, or the available rendering computing power of the terminal device is determined by the terminal device based on an available or remaining computing resource of the terminal device).
With respect to claim 20, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose a network rendering device for partially rendering extended reality (XR) media data (Sun et al.: paragraph 1009, FIG. 15 is a schematic diagram of another communication apparatus 1500 according to an embodiment of this application), the network rendering device comprising: a memory configured to store XR media data (Sun et al.: paragraph 1010, The memory 1520 is configured to store the computer program or instructions and/or data); and a processing system comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry (Sun et al.: paragraph 1009, The apparatus 1500 includes a processor 1510. The processor 1510 is configured to execute a computer program or instructions stored in the memory 1520, or read data stored in the memory 1520, to perform the methods in the foregoing method embodiments), the processing system being configured to execute the method of claim 17; see rationale for rejection of claim 17.
With respect to claim 21, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the network rendering device of claim 20 for executing the method of claim 18; see rationale for rejection of claim 18.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20250139917) in view of Ke (CN 113220419) and further in view of Yip et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20220028172).
With respect to claim 5, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the method of claim 2. However, Sun et al. as modified by Ke do not expressly disclose determining the routing comprises determining one or more access networks and a core network through which the input data and the intermediate results are to be routed.
Yip et al., who also deal with extended reality, disclose a method wherein determining the routing comprises determining one or more access networks and a core network through which the input data and the intermediate results are to be routed (paragraph 302, The memory 1030 may store data and programs necessary for operations of the UE, paragraph 303, The processor 1010 may include a plurality of processors and execute a program stored in the memory 1030 to perform an operation of controlling the components of the UE, paragraph 308, The memory 1130 may store data and programs necessary for operations of the server, paragraph 309, The processor 1110 may include a plurality of processors and execute a program stored in the memory 1130 to perform an operation of controlling the components of the server, paragraph 335, the programs may be stored in an attachable storage device that may be accessed through a communication network such as the Internet, Intranet, a local area network (LAN), a wide LAN (WLAN), or a storage area network (SAN), or a communication network configured in a combination thereof). Accessing the programs (comprising input data and intermediate results) infers accessing the associated input data and intermediate results through the associated networks.
Sun et al., Ke, and Yip et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein determining the routing comprises determining one or more access networks and a core network through which the input data and the intermediate results are to be routed because this would allow remote access through the appropriate networks.
Claim(s) 6-8, 14-16, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20250139917) in view of Ke (CN 113220419) and further in view of Mikhail (U.S. PGPUB 20240029376).
With respect to claim 6, Sun et al. as modified by Ke disclose the method of claim 2. However, Sun et al. as modified by Ke do not expressly disclose: receiving first network measurements for connections between the first UE device and the at least one server device; and receiving second network measurements for connections between the first UE device and the second, different server device; wherein determining the first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises determining the first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks according to the first network measurements, and wherein determining the second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises determining the second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks according to the second network measurements.
Mikhail, who also deals with extended reality, disclose a method for receiving first network measurements for connections between the first UE device and the at least one server device (paragraph 37, Other information from the flow control component 242 may be provided to the render component 224…The parameters can include latency, delay, a measure of bandwidth, frames currently stored in a queue, or other parameters measured or perceived by the client 112); and
receiving second network measurements for connections between the first UE device and the second, different server device (paragraph 48, The computing environment 270 may also include one or more servers 102a, 102b, paragraph 50, FIG. 2C illustrates a separate web server 102a and file/application server 102b, those skilled in the art will recognize that the functions described with respect to servers 102b may be performed by a single server and/or a plurality of specialized servers, depending on implementation-specific needs and parameters, thus Mikhail discloses at least a second server for receiving measure of bandwidth);
wherein determining the first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises determining the first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks according to the first network measurements, and wherein determining the second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises determining the second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks according to the second network measurements (paragraph 72, the signal(s) 402, 418, and/or 422 sent from the client 112 can also include information about the client system including processing capabilities, memory, graphics processing capabilities, etc., information about latency or other environmental factors, or other information. With this information, the server 102 may determine whether to download the model 416 or what information or how the rendering may be split between the server 102 and the client 112).
Sun et al., Ke, and Mikhail are in the same field of endeavor, namely computer graphics.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method of receiving first network measurements for connections between the first UE device and the at least one server device; and receiving second network measurements for connections between the first UE device and the second, different server device; wherein determining the first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises determining the first subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks according to the first network measurements, and wherein determining the second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks comprises determining the second subset of the first set of XR media data rendering tasks according to the second network measurements, as taught by Mikhail, to the Sun et al. as modified by Ke system, because the system takes advantage of network communication valleys (where viewer movement and/or bandwidth fluctuations are minimal) to send more detailed rendering data from server 102 to client 112 and stay ahead of the viewing experience (paragraph 70 of Mikhail).
With respect to claim 7, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the method of claim 6, further comprising: initiating, by the optimizer system, the first network measurements (Sun et al.: paragraph 203, the first network device may determine the division indication information based on the processing capability information of the terminal device); and initiating, by the optimizer system, the second network measurements (Sun et al.: paragraph 203, the terminal device sends a registration message or a session call message to a third network device, to trigger the third network device to send the processing capability information of the terminal device to the first network device, where the registration message or the session request message includes the processing capability information of the terminal device). Mikhail discloses network measurements as a processing capability (paragraph 37, The parameters can include latency, delay, a measure of bandwidth, frames currently stored in a queue, or other parameters measured or perceived by the client 112); see rationale for rejection of claim 6.
With respect to claim 8, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the method of claim 6, further comprising: initiating, by the optimizer system, reporting of the first network measurements (Sun et al.: paragraph 203, the first network device may determine the division indication information based on the processing capability information of the terminal device); and initiating, by the optimizer system, reporting of the second network measurements (Sun et al.: paragraph 203, the terminal device sends a registration message or a session call message to a third network device, to trigger the third network device to send the processing capability information of the terminal device to the first network device, where the registration message or the session request message includes the processing capability information of the terminal device, as by initiating a call). Mikhail discloses network measurements as a processing capability (paragraph 37, The parameters can include latency, delay, a measure of bandwidth, frames currently stored in a queue, or other parameters measured or perceived by the client 112); see rationale for rejection of claim 6.
With respect to claim 14, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the optimizer system of claim 11 for executing the method of claim 6; see rationale for rejection of claim 6.
With respect to claim 15, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the optimizer system of claim 14 for executing the method of claim 7; see rationale for rejection of claim 7.
With respect to claim 16, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the optimizer system of claim 14 for executing the method of claim 8; see rationale for rejection of claim 8.
With respect to claim 19, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising sending network measurements for connections between the UE device and the network rendering device to the optimizer system (Mikhail: paragraph 37, Other information from the flow control component 242 may be provided to the render component 224…The parameters can include latency, delay, a measure of bandwidth, frames currently stored in a queue, or other parameters measured or perceived by the client 112); see rationale for rejection of claim 6.
With respect to claim 22, Sun et al. as modified by Ke and Mikhail disclose the network rendering device of claim 20 for executing the method of claim 19; see rationale for rejection of claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 17, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPUB 20190005605 to Westerhoff et al. for a method of generating render commands and processing render requests for client computers.
Conclusion
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
4/28/26